125 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

Noctis Lucis
post Jul 6 2012, 01:07 PM

40 posts

guys, may i know what is input lag? just want to know whether i've experience it or not smile.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 6 2012, 02:28 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 6 2012, 02:42 AM)
oh ic...so is there anything else i need to take note in buying a new tv such as led or plasma? and which model that recommended to reduce the input lag perhaps? more opinion and advice is welcome and appreciate  notworthy.gif
Let me reiterate. What I meant is that don't choose or buy a TV simply based on motion overdrive features.
What you want from a TV used for gaming is one with the least input lag and least motion ghosting.

Added on July 6, 2012, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(Noctis Lucis @ Jul 6 2012, 01:07 PM)
guys, may i know what is input lag? just want to know whether i've experience it or not smile.gif
Play fighting games like Virtua Fighter 5, SF4 or Tekken where you need to input precise inputs for your attacks.
Also when you try to buffer certain moves for a string combo, your timing could be messed up drastically (remember, in fighting games.. even 50ms of input lag is horrible — something third-person shooters are okay with).

Racing games are not so bad, anything under 100ms is considerably okay still.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 6 2012, 02:32 PM
terryfu
post Jul 6 2012, 02:33 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 6 2012, 02:42 AM)
oh ic...so is there anything else i need to take note in buying a new tv such as led or plasma? and which model that recommended to reduce the input lag perhaps? more opinion and advice is welcome and appreciate  notworthy.gif
I doubt if you notice much difference. I played my ps3 on sony 32" bravia lcd (HD), philips 32" lcd (Full HD), Samsung 40" lcd, Samsung 51" plasma, and my personal Viewsonic 24" LCD Monitor. All looks good to me. All the motion, lag inputs, etc etc are just Marketing terms. Essentially all using either Samsung or Sharp screen anyway.

Btw, I don't own those tvs. I just lugged my PS3 around (even brought to a hotel coz cannot tahan being away for too long from gaming smile.gif )
gundamalpha
post Jul 6 2012, 03:49 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Actually input lag is very real but some might not notice if the tolerance is high enough and I'm one of them. However I have seen input lag test by comparing few displays side by side from the same source.
GamersFamilia
post Jul 6 2012, 04:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,816 posts

so its advisable to turn on the game mode ?
gundamalpha
post Jul 6 2012, 05:51 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jul 6 2012, 04:53 PM)
so its advisable to turn on the game mode ?
For most of the time yes, but stuffs like JRPGs not really affected by lags biggrin.gif
skypie
post Jul 7 2012, 02:11 AM

34 posts

guys want to ask something sorry not sure if it the right thread

can we take out our old HDD from ps3 and slot into a new ps3?

so dont need to do back up or transfer?
TSshahreza2000
post Jul 7 2012, 02:14 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(skypie @ Jul 7 2012, 02:11 AM)
guys want to ask something sorry not sure if it the right thread

can we take out our old HDD from ps3 and slot into a new ps3?

so dont need to do back up or transfer?
the new ps3 will reformat that old hdd
DrLaboo
post Jul 7 2012, 06:49 AM

♥ surprised buttsek ♥
1,004 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Jul 6 2012, 02:33 PM)
I doubt if you notice much difference. I played my ps3 on sony 32" bravia lcd (HD), philips 32" lcd (Full HD), Samsung 40" lcd, Samsung 51" plasma, and my personal Viewsonic 24" LCD Monitor. All looks good to me. All the motion, lag inputs, etc etc are just Marketing terms. Essentially all using either Samsung or Sharp screen anyway.

Btw, I don't own those tvs. I just lugged my PS3 around (even brought to a hotel coz cannot tahan being away for too long from gaming smile.gif )
most of the games i played during console time are FPS
and yes.. INPUT LAG is noticable..
when i play with

lg plasma + ps3 resolution full HD = noticable
led samsung + ps3 resolution full HD = really2 noticable
lg plasma + the lowest ps3 resolution setting + game mode = movement very fast and accurate
led samsung + the lowest ps3 resolution setting + game mode = movement fast and accurate

if u play alot of FPS u will notice, even it's just between few milliseconds

input lag is there la..
heck to make it noticable, u try playing the Bad Company 2 in Samsung LED 52inch dont turn the game mode, the play at ur PC monitor..
u will feel the movement in PC monitor will be much more lighter and accurate..
bluff u not mang laugh.gif

Added on July 7, 2012, 6:53 am
QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 6 2012, 05:47 AM)
now a days all lcd/led or plasma tv comes with a features call game mode, turn it on pretty much reduce the input lag... smile.gif
it wont reduce much..
if u want the maximum less lag input..
play game in Game Mode, then set your ps3 display setting to use the lowest resolution there is..
picture will be like shits..
but movement will be damn smooth and accurate..
i played BF3 at Metro by doing that..
owning all the time.. laugh.gif
then after so log watching picture like shit in low res, decided to play on PC..
amik kau full HD, ultra settings, no lag input shit whatsoever flex.gif

This post has been edited by DrLaboo: Jul 7 2012, 06:59 AM
goskype
post Jul 7 2012, 07:50 AM

355 posts

it wont reduce much..
play game in Game Mode, then set your ps3 display setting to use the lowest resolution there is..
owning all the time..  laugh.gif
then after so log watching picture like shit in low res, decided to play on PC..
amik kau full HD, ultra settings, no lag input shit whatsoever  flex.gif
Question for a pro like you

If I want to play LAN with my friend who has an Xbox360 , I just connect the LAN cable from the Xbox360 to my PS3 ? and connect the HDMI on my PC and connect the other HDMI cable to the T.V .

Am I doing this right ? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by goskype: Jul 7 2012, 07:50 AM
DrLaboo
post Jul 7 2012, 08:29 AM

♥ surprised buttsek ♥
1,004 posts

QUOTE(goskype @ Jul 7 2012, 07:50 AM)

If I want to play LAN with my friend who has an Xbox360 , I just connect the LAN cable from the Xbox360 to my PS3 ? and connect the HDMI on my PC and connect the other HDMI cable to the T.V .

Am I doing this right ?  laugh.gif
qudeenz360
post Jul 7 2012, 09:00 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(goskype @ Jul 7 2012, 07:50 AM)

drool.gif PS3 can connect nintendo wii laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSshahreza2000
post Jul 7 2012, 09:45 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(DrLaboo @ Jul 7 2012, 06:49 AM)
most of the games i played during console time are FPS
and yes.. INPUT LAG is noticable..
when i play with

lg plasma + ps3 resolution full HD = noticable
led samsung + ps3 resolution full HD = really2 noticable
lg plasma + the lowest ps3 resolution setting + game mode = movement very fast and accurate
led samsung + the lowest ps3 resolution setting + game mode = movement fast and accurate

if u play alot of FPS u will notice, even it's just between few milliseconds

input lag is there la..
heck to make it noticable, u try playing the Bad Company 2 in Samsung LED 52inch dont turn the game mode, the play at ur PC monitor..
u will feel the movement in PC monitor will be much more lighter and accurate.. 
bluff u not mang laugh.gif

it wont reduce much..
owning all the time..  laugh.gif
amik kau full HD, ultra settings, no lag input shit whatsoever  flex.gif
try rock band or guitar heroes rclxub.gif

trying to get the button pressed as accurate as the one displayed on tv... luckily the game has the settings to adjust (auto/manual) in regards to the display's input lag with the music instrument (for flawless play).

blah2blah
post Jul 7 2012, 09:53 AM

748 posts

QUOTE(goskype @ Jul 7 2012, 08:50 AM)

if 360 can connect to ps3 via LAN then it will be a dooms day.
qudeenz360
post Jul 7 2012, 10:18 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Jul 7 2012, 09:53 AM)
if 360 can connect to ps3 via LAN then it will be a dooms day.
Microsoft & sony dah BFF laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
blah2blah
post Jul 7 2012, 10:25 AM

748 posts

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Jul 7 2012, 11:18 AM)
Microsoft & sony dah BFF  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
console peace. no more war. BD rom can play at 360. psn monthly fees Usd60 annually. controller can use both side. hdd can swap here and there. hey not bad at all.
qudeenz360
post Jul 7 2012, 10:28 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Jul 7 2012, 10:25 AM)
console peace. no more war. BD rom can play at 360. psn monthly fees Usd60 annually. controller can use both side. hdd can swap here and there. hey not bad at all.
yeahh.... true story thumbup.gif
skypie
post Jul 7 2012, 12:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Jul 7 2012, 02:14 AM)
the new ps3 will reformat that old hdd
PPZ
post Jul 8 2012, 04:17 PM

736 posts

Did this today. Clean PS3 on the go. tongue.gif
Open the case and get ready. *Deep breath

How does it looks like from the inside

Took all the parts out for cleaning. Phew!!

Tools i used for the cleaning process.

Thanks for viewing!! tongue.gif biggrin.gif
deyamato
post Jul 8 2012, 04:22 PM

419 posts

thermal paste ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by deyamato: Jul 8 2012, 04:25 PM

125 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top