SKY 1809
post Nov 11 2011, 08:41 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Nov 11 2011, 12:28 PM)
My bet will be on the down side too  rclxms.gif

We've seen a lower high, lets make it a lower low tonight  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
I bet tonight Dow would be up icon_rolleyes.gif
danmooncake
post Nov 11 2011, 08:43 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(machoman_13 @ Nov 11 2011, 04:23 PM)
US stock market still the "Dai Lou" in the world and it always impact the whole world market. To have a consolidate view on US, UK, AU, Canada, Singapore, Malaysia share market.

Whoa.. sorry not going to click that link. If you want, feel free to contribute here. wink.gif

Added on November 11, 2011, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 11 2011, 10:44 AM)
WTF do u mean by hiding in bunker & this thread is in semi retirement stage?
we here r no farking daytraders, we r here for the long term to earn the monkey, not the peanuts  brows.gif
I won't be here much, as sky1809 alwiz says, there is only 1 forumer in this thread  laugh.gif 

Not sure about the "we" part. I think you may speaking for yourself.
Not that I don't believe in long term investing but "long" is relative nowadays.

I'm of a believer that the days of the BUY and HOLD have change and may not be applicable anymore.

You really have to be very good stock picker or able to create a strong portfolio to withstand
the dynamics of the market. I've seen good companies been taken the cleaners just because of market conditions and investors basically end up FLAT even after 10 years.

Oh well, to each its own. laugh.gif

Added on November 11, 2011, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 11 2011, 08:41 PM)
You could be right.. 'coz futures are pointing north but we ended up the week down anyway.

But, I'll be keeping an eye on on that SP 1050-1055 line, going to look for opportunity to re-short later.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 11 2011, 08:58 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 11 2011, 08:58 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 11 2011, 08:43 PM)
Whoa.. sorry not going to click that link.  If you want, feel free to contribute here.  wink.gif

Not that I don't believe in long term investing but "long" is relative nowadays.

I'm of a believer that the days of the BUY and HOLD have change and may not be applicable anymore.

You really have to be very good stock picker or able to create a strong portfolio to withstand
the dynamics of the market. I've seen good companies been taken the cleaners just because of market conditions and investors basically end up FLAT even after 10 years.

Oh well, to each its own.  laugh.gif
Ya exactly .

I do not believe in long term either.

I had two stock hit 100% last month ( bought in the same month ) and I was too happy to take profit.

Some I took at 20% profit , ok lah in the current trend.

Moreover, we cannot short sell in Bolehland.

danmooncake
post Nov 11 2011, 09:05 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 11 2011, 08:58 PM)
Ya exactly .

I do not believe in long term either.

I had two stock hit 100% last month ( bought in the same month ) and I was too happy to take profit.

Some I took at 20% profit , ok lah in the current trend.

Moreover, we cannot short sell   short sell in Bolehland.
As for that part.. I believe they do allow that as part of that "regulated" process.
But, it seems pretty strict and only on certain counters. All of them seems too strong
and no volume to allow short sellers to take advantage of it.

To successful short anything, one have to take advantage of the down market when it happens and hit on
the bloated and high beta ones.

For example: This recent parabolic rise for HARVEST is good candidate. This looks like an awesome bull trapper.
So many people chasing this POS.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 11 2011, 09:07 PM
Myoswee
post Nov 11 2011, 09:11 PM

1,410 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 11 2011, 08:43 PM)
Whoa.. sorry not going to click that link.  If you want, feel free to contribute here.  wink.gif

Oh well, to each its own.  laugh.gif

Added on November 11, 2011, 8:56 pm

You could be right.. 'coz futures are pointing north but we ended up the week down anyway.

But, I'll be keeping an eye on on that SP 1050-1055 line, going to look for opportunity to re-short later.
U mean 1250 -1255 right? laugh.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 11 2011, 09:12 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 11 2011, 09:05 PM)
As for that part.. I believe they do allow that as part of that "regulated" process.
But, it seems pretty strict and only on certain counters. All of them seems too strong
and no volume to allow short sellers to take advantage of it.

To successful short anything, one have to take advantage of the down market when it happens and hit on
the bloated and high beta ones.

For example: This recent parabolic rise for HARVEST is good candidate.  This looks like an awesome bull trapper.
So many people chasing this POS.
I think they use " Harvest" to create the next Election Fund. rclxub.gif

Myoswee
post Nov 11 2011, 09:12 PM

1,410 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 11 2011, 08:41 PM)
Yeah, might gap up tonight,

Let's wait for the French drama coming soon thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post Nov 11 2011, 10:32 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Nov 11 2011, 09:11 PM)
U mean 1250 -1255 right? laugh.gif
Oh yeah.. my bad. Typo.
But, I wish we're at 1050-1055. This is a tremendous buying opportunity. drool.gif

Anyway, the next two weeks will be critical. If SP500 can't break above that 200MA (1275-1280),
it will be interesting to see if market can re-test Oct 4th low area (1075).

simonc
post Nov 11 2011, 10:35 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

Bull want to enjoy Christmas tongue.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 11 2011, 10:49 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(simonc @ Nov 11 2011, 10:35 PM)
waw so bullish icon_rolleyes.gif
danmooncake
post Nov 11 2011, 10:50 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(simonc @ Nov 11 2011, 10:35 PM)
Actually, it is Thanks Giving holidays first. They need this up before end of November to score another victory.

hmm.gif Looking over daily chart again, looks like the volatility is getting tighter and been squeezed.

SP500 1200 (low), SP1272 (high).

This will be 3rd attempt, to try to break that 200 MA ceiling. If bulls fail again, it will be really nasty.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 11 2011, 10:59 PM
simonc
post Nov 11 2011, 10:53 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 11 2011, 10:49 PM)
waw so bullish icon_rolleyes.gif
Between now to Christmas can flip flop few times one laugh.gif
danmooncake
post Nov 12 2011, 12:09 AM

10,123 posts

Closing for week of Nov 11
Dow 12153.68 +259.89 +2.19%
Nasdaq 2678.75 +53.60 +2.04%
S&P500 1263.85 +24.16 +1.95%

Wow.. got to hand it to the bulls tonight. The Oct consumer sentiments (64.2 vs. 60.9 prior) really boost the bulls confidence to take back what was lost on Wednesday.

Overall, pretty good closing. Dow is much stronger but SP500 still hasn't get over 200MA yet.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 12 2011, 05:41 AM
yok70
post Nov 13 2011, 02:38 AM

12,698 posts

The bull seems quite stubborn in this round, isn't it? Been waiting for it to crash for weeks, and it's still up there dancing, like sudah drink red-bull. biggrin.gif

rstusa
post Nov 14 2011, 04:50 PM

1,798 posts

I heard that if bought a US stock, when paying dividend to us it will deduct 30% tax, what tax is that? How can we claims back for the tax deducted?
simonc
post Nov 14 2011, 05:05 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Nov 14 2011, 04:50 PM)
I heard that if bought a US stock, when paying dividend to us it will deduct 30% tax, what tax is that? How can we claims back for the tax deducted?
Search the previous version of this thread. You fill in a form to avoid the tax since you are not US citizen.
For maybe DMC will answer you again biggrin.gif
rstusa
post Nov 14 2011, 05:33 PM

1,798 posts

Oic, is it the W-8BEN form ? So after filled out this form it won't charge the 30% tax anymore?
simonc
post Nov 14 2011, 05:43 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Nov 14 2011, 05:33 PM)
Oic, is it the W-8BEN form ? So after filled out this form it won't charge the 30% tax anymore?
Yea
Myoswee
post Nov 14 2011, 09:28 PM

1,410 posts

Obama ask china to grow up laugh.gif

Let's see what happen tonight?
danmooncake
post Nov 14 2011, 09:30 PM

10,123 posts

As a foreigner (when you fill that W8BEN), you don't pay capital gain.
But, you still have to pay the dividends tax (approx 15%). But, you're withold approx. 28% which you can claim it before the usual tax year end for US (April 15th).

Remember:
Capital Gain = no tax for foreigner
Dividends = yes (15%).

Note the difference!

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 14 2011, 09:31 PM

188 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:51 AM