130 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V13, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

jorakman
post Nov 22 2011, 06:34 PM

106 posts

Hi. I would like to get a laptop

Been survey and find information online, these are models i consider:

Asus A43SA-VX011V (i5 2410 + AMD 6730M)
Asus A43SV-VX213V (i5 2410 + NV GT540M)
Toshiba Satellite L745 (i5 2430 + NV GT525M)

At first i want to buy A43SV-VX213V, but NV GT540M has many issues due to Optimus feature.

Between AMD 6730M and NV GT540M, which one is more reliable, stable and less problem? I hope to know which one is more reliable.
(Performance wise definitely AMD 6730M win, based on benchmark result)

Anyone currently using these 3 models or expert can share your opinion.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2011, 06:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(thatisazam @ Nov 22 2011, 05:13 PM)
Hi. My laptop broke down just nice when I'm taking my final year project.
It's time for new one so here's what I need:

1. Preferred Brand
- Asus / Toshiba

2. Budget
- 2.3k tops

3. Usage
- Study essentials (programming and office)
- Multimedia (heavy Photoshop and music lover)
- Download paradise (I need loads internal storage)

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
- 14" - 15.6" will do

Additional info would be:
- I don't care USB 2.0 or 3.0 as long got 3 ports.
- RAM 3GB and up only.
- Graphic card is a must. ATI preferable. nVIDIA only if RAM >= 4gb smile.gif
- Intel processor. i-series preferable.
- Operating system is optional. Win7 preferred (if it affects cost, I don't mind freeDos suggestions)

THANKS!
14"

15:

kchong84
post Nov 22 2011, 07:27 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Nov 22 2011, 09:55 AM)
few month old ~it is the first batch of a43TA...
if ur shop bring in the laptop very early..
that mean the laptop has been on every day as a demo set to display to customer..
== i don think it is worth to deal cos the laptop ON every day at less 8 hour right ?
Ya. He told me the Laptop is 2mths old and the Warranty is still 2 years. Definitely demo set open every day at least 8 hours. I think buy new 1 better... Thanks for you help.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2011, 07:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jorakman @ Nov 22 2011, 06:34 PM)
Hi. I would like to get a laptop

Been survey and find information online, these are models i consider:

Asus A43SA-VX011V  (i5 2410 + AMD 6730M)
Asus A43SV-VX213V  (i5 2410 + NV GT540M)
Toshiba Satellite L745  (i5 2430 + NV GT525M)

At first i want to buy A43SV-VX213V, but NV GT540M has many issues due to Optimus feature.

Between AMD 6730M and NV GT540M, which one is more reliable, stable and less problem?  I hope to know which one is more reliable.
(Performance wise definitely AMD 6730M win, based on benchmark result)

Anyone currently using these 3 models or expert can share your opinion.

Not sure whether the AMD-powered Asus has BACON (GPU switching) or not... I think it'll probably have it... BACON is relatively less optimized compared to Nvidia Optimus yo laugh.gif
Darkmage12
post Nov 22 2011, 07:59 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(megaman03 @ Nov 22 2011, 06:28 PM)
Thanks for the recommendations. Where can I buy the HP Dv6 at that price?
garage sales. This model already phased out so better be quick smile.gif
trustmeiamlegit
post Nov 22 2011, 08:19 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2011, 07:29 PM)
Not sure whether the AMD-powered Asus has BACON (GPU switching) or not... I think it'll probably have it... BACON is relatively less optimized compared to Nvidia Optimus yo laugh.gif
everytime i see the word bacon , i am immediately reminded of epic meal time ! looool

Added on November 22, 2011, 8:21 pm
best to visit ur local computer shops n see whether they still have it in stock..

This post has been edited by trustmeiamlegit: Nov 22 2011, 08:21 PM
moniqee
post Nov 22 2011, 08:59 PM

7,864 posts

u mean RM2599?? well from thundermatch but it's without extra freebies,ram or warranty

RM2800 is including 4gb ram add on, 3 years warranty, targus magnum bag, wireless mouse and 4gb thumbdrive from l0ui3 or thundermatch lowyat/1 utama/ other branches of thundermatch...
mmmbop
post Nov 23 2011, 10:23 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2011, 06:34 PM)
Angry birds is considered as super light gaming laugh.gif
I guess the Dell Vostro 3450 suits your requirements just nice thumbup.gif
Dell
Vostro 3450, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM2019, W7HB, Belkin Radius 15.6" Backpack
Vostro 3450, i5-2430M + Intel HD3000@RM2299, W7HB,backlit keyboard, Belkin Radius 15.6" Backpack

use the remaining money for warranty extension, upgrade to W7HP (if desired) as well as purchase of other accessories  nod.gif
Thanks for the recommendation. Yeah, not thinking of installing resource heavy games so far but not sure in the future.

But can you explain what exactly with the negative perception for Acer brand? I would like to know is it in terms of build quality alone, plastic etc or is it the system unstable etc? Cause the price is very tempting.

And is Dell really good? My colleague need to call the on-site service for her dell notebook in a single year. Not sure which model anyway
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2011, 12:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Nov 23 2011, 10:23 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation. Yeah, not thinking of installing resource heavy games so far but not sure in the future.

But can you explain what exactly with the negative perception for Acer brand? I would like to know is it in terms of build quality alone, plastic etc or is it the system unstable etc? Cause the price is very tempting.

And is Dell really good? My colleague need to call the on-site service for her dell notebook in a single year. Not sure which model anyway
Each brand offers different lineups of laptops e.g. budget, business, premium etc.
Just try not to expect too much from budget line laptops laugh.gif The manufacturer must've cut corners somewhere and thus resulting in the lower pricings...

And more often than not, whether a laptop lasts or not depends on how the user takes care of it nod.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 23 2011, 02:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 21 2011, 02:29 PM)
sifu what is the most portable 15" laptop?
Dell Latitude Z600 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jeff198083 @ Nov 22 2011, 10:07 AM)
1. No preffered brand
2. Budget below RM6000
3. Must have serial port
4. whatever screen size also can
Try find HP EliteBook 8560p.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 23 2011, 02:50 PM
h11g
post Nov 23 2011, 03:06 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 02:36 PM)
wow very thin and light~! but too bad unavailable.
lee_what2004
post Nov 23 2011, 03:09 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

It also cost more than gaming notebook biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2011, 03:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 02:36 PM)
Man, that one is gorgeous, how come I've never even heard of it before laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 23 2011, 03:30 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Here rarely mention Latitude notebook..
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2011, 03:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 03:30 PM)
Here rarely mention Latitude notebook..
True, but its not in Dell Malaysia also sad.gif
lonelystarz
post Nov 23 2011, 04:42 PM

112 posts

any negative reviews on A43sa-vx038v @ rm2299?
lee_what2004
post Nov 23 2011, 04:43 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Lack of feedback on that model..
lonelystarz
post Nov 23 2011, 04:57 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 23 2011, 04:43 PM)
Lack of feedback on that model..
hows the price? reasonable?
lee_what2004
post Nov 23 2011, 04:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

That's the retail price..
lonelystarz
post Nov 23 2011, 06:09 PM