Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V13, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

h11g
post Oct 9 2011, 05:47 PM

2,114 posts

Guys I'm looking for a new laptop, need sifu's recommendation. Here are the requirements

1. Preferred Brand
- None

2. Budget
- RM3000, willing to go higher if it has better value

3. Usage
Accounting software, microsoft office suites, some light gaming.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size

5. Additional requirement
- Portability
- Slim in profile (something like macbook air) biggrin.gif

h11g
post Oct 9 2011, 06:05 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2011, 05:53 PM)
These 2 contradicts one another unfortunately laugh.gif

Closest would be:
Acer TimelineX 3830Tg, i3-2310M + Nvidia GT540M@RM1999[1.9kg]
Asus U36Sd-RX084v, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2999[1.78kg]; USB3.0 external OD, Asus optical mouse
Dell Vostro 3350, i5-2430M + AMD HD6490@RM2636[2.04kg], W7HB, backlit keyboard, Belkin HDMI cable, Belkin Radius 15.6" Backpack

...not slim though hehe~
any slim windows laptop then? For some reason i hate thick laptops. I can forgo the gaming part~! smile.gif

This post has been edited by h11g: Oct 9 2011, 06:07 PM
h11g
post Oct 9 2011, 09:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 9 2011, 06:20 PM)
Ultrabooks then nod.gif
Currently there's only one in the market:
Acer Aspire S3, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000@RM2599[1.35kg]

More are set to come though, Asus UX series, Toshiba Portege Z830, Lenovo's ultrabooks etc.
aspire s3 loses out on the u36 in terms of gaming power only right?
h11g
post Oct 11 2011, 09:40 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 11 2011, 08:57 AM)
3830Tg is still very common bro laugh.gif
Its 3820Tg that's hard to find haha

Added on October 11, 2011, 8:58 am

Yeah, the i5 variant of the N55sf is pretty much the best at the moment nod.gif
You might wanna wait out for the newer ones with refreshed processors, which is coming real soon (if not already)  laugh.gif
so it is better to wait awhile longer if we are not rushing right?
h11g
post Oct 20 2011, 10:08 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 20 2011, 01:08 AM)
The i5 variant comes with a HD+ screen, whereas the i7 variant only comes with a normal HD screen laugh.gif
bro n55sf comes with 15" screen right? specifically which model should be look at?N55sf battery can only last for 3 hours right? Also very interested in the samsung 7 series laptop. Any news on release date?
h11g
post Oct 20 2011, 11:08 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Oct 20 2011, 10:30 AM)
yep 15"
N55Sf-S2353v [black], i5-2430M + Nvidia GT555m (2GB) + 1600x900@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen]; USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer
Wow for this price it is a very tempting purchase.
h11g
post Oct 20 2011, 04:48 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Oct 20 2011, 11:08 AM)
Wow for this price it is a very tempting purchase.
where should i get N55Sf-S2353v? lyp or lyn?
h11g
post Oct 24 2011, 04:42 PM

2,114 posts

sifu if asus n55sf i5 vs lenovo v470 how does this 2 compare?
h11g
post Oct 25 2011, 12:16 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 24 2011, 04:45 PM)
Depends on what type of laptop you want?
The higher resolution screen in the N55sf would come in handy if you're into designing~ The GT555m of the N55sf is also way better than the IntelHD3000 of the V470...

The V470 has a lot of processing power, and wins in terms of portability nod.gif
how much is n55sf thicker compare to v470??
h11g
post Oct 26 2011, 04:03 PM

2,114 posts

Guys where is the best place to check out/buy lenovo notebooks? I'm leaning towards lenovo y470 or asus n45...

These are the two best candidates for 14" right?
h11g
post Oct 26 2011, 07:09 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 26 2011, 04:05 PM)
Best candidates for a sub RM3k gaming laptop yes  nod.gif
LYP is the place to go bro, try to ask from shops to shops, and don't forget to bargain ~
The next worthy laptop above 3k its alienate m14x?
h11g
post Oct 28 2011, 04:04 PM

2,114 posts

LENOVO IdeaPad Y570 Intel Core i7

2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2630 QM Processor
(Quad Core 2.0 up to 2.9 GHz, 1333MHz FSB, 6MB L3 Cache)with intel® Turbo Boost & Hyper-threading technologies
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
15.6” high-definition (1366x768), 16:9 widescreen
1GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M and Intel HD Graphic 3000
8GB DDR3 1333MHz memory
814GB Storage ( 750GB SATA+ 64GB SSD with RAID Drive Technology)
BluRay Drive
2.0 JBL® designed speakers (2x1.5W) with SRS® Premium Surround SoundTM
802.11b/g/n WiFi, 10/100/1000M LAN, Bluetooth®
2x USB2.0 , 1x USB 3.0, 1x USB eSATA Combo,
6-in-1 card reader (SD/SD-pro/MMC/MS/MS-pro/XD),
headphones, mic, VGA, HDMI, RJ-45, 2xMini-PCle
2.0M integrated web camera
5.95 lb (2.7kg) with 6-cell battery
385x22~35.7x255 (mm) (WxHxD)
Approx. 4hr with 6-cell battery
1-year Limited International Warranty Service

Guys is the above specced laptop a good buy? for mostly gaming and photo editing? Any comments are welcome. Thank you.
h11g
post Oct 28 2011, 05:38 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(darkside7 @ Oct 28 2011, 05:01 PM)
hello there, i wanted to buy a laptop, but u know, another two month will be 2012, a new year, so the laptop will be much different in term of their technology such as graphic card n processor as technology changes very fast. so should i buy laptop now or wait next year? sorry for the noob question. lol
depends on how urgent you need it then.
h11g
post Nov 10 2011, 11:35 AM

2,114 posts

sifu asus zenbook is out. ux31 @ 4.5k worth buying?
h11g
post Nov 10 2011, 11:53 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Nov 10 2011, 11:44 AM)
Review for Toshiba Portege Z835 is pretty good mang.. wait for that instead? ph34r.gif
yeah considering my options now. toshiba has 1.2 mp camera, then there is samsung series 7. but at 4.5k with i7 and 256gb ssd, quite tempting this zenbook
h11g
post Nov 17 2011, 09:29 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 17 2011, 04:33 PM)
At RM4K, can consider the Asus G53Sx, Sager NP8130..
is sager a good laptop bro?
h11g
post Nov 17 2011, 09:54 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 17 2011, 09:29 PM)
Sager offers the best bang-for-buck gaming laptops yo  rclxms.gif
Really bro? Where is the best place to get them?
h11g
post Nov 17 2011, 10:25 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 17 2011, 10:21 PM)
Here: http://www.illegear.com/5-notebooks
You can also PM Prince J for more details  nod.gif
so if going for 15" should look at sager np8130?
h11g
post Nov 17 2011, 11:01 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 17 2011, 10:43 PM)
There are many 15" Sager models, it all depends on which laptop you like more, and of course, your budget laugh.gif

Sager Configure Sager units here: http://www.illegear.com/
NP5160, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M + (1600x900)@RM2599, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2860QM]
NP5165, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT555M + (1920x1080)@RM3199, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2860QM]
NP8130, i5-2430M + Nvidia GTX560M + (1600x900)@RM3654, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2860QM]
NP8130, i5-2430M + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080)@RM4099, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2860QM]
NP8150, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080)@RM4899, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-2630M - i7-2960XM]
NP8150-S1, i7-2630QM + AMD HD6990M + (1920x1080)@RM6369, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-2630M - i7-2960XM] [GPU options: GTX485M, GTX580M]
NP3250, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2499, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2760QM]
bro thanks for your list, makes it a lot easier for me to compare.

so if lets say im going for NP8130, i5-2430M + Nvidia GTX560M + (1920x1080)@RM4099, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-2410M - i7-2860QM], does it mean this is the most value of money laptop out there ?
h11g
post Nov 17 2011, 11:21 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 17 2011, 11:15 PM)
Not really sure whether the GTX560m on the Sager is crippled or not, probably not haha laugh.gif

The G53Sx is cheaper though at RM4k with i7 and Full HD as well (according to lee_what sifu) hmm.gif
But it does have a crippled GTX560M though laugh.gif...
crippled gtx560m means inferior to the sager 1?

0.0485sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:48 PM