14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

I am preparing for Global Recession, Be cash rich

smartinvestor01
post Sep 8 2011, 09:23 AM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

Instead of recession, i think better to look forward for what will be happening to Malaysia in the year 2019..

Dont forget about the prediction those people made before..

We can see that:-
a) Inflation is running high;
b) Unemployment is fetching up;
c) Gov Expenditure getting more;
d) And, I believe certain Gov policy were also costly to be implemented..

Better be cautious for this..

Though they keep denying about this, from those above elements, it is possible to happen..

wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 09:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Sep 8 2011, 09:23 AM)
Instead of recession, i think better to look forward for what will be happening to Malaysia in the year 2019..

Though they keep denying about this, from those above elements, it is possible to happen..
True true - however those are things that we can affect little other than through our VOTES or via our legs (walking out).

Personally, my focus is on my OWN economy, not the country's or the world's. U'd be surprised that a few fellows in US are "enjoying the problems" of 2008 and up till now as their personal economy was incredibly fit & healthy, thus it's like a mega sales for them tongue.gif. Our mileage may vary here though heheh

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 8 2011, 09:49 AM
tchtax
post Sep 8 2011, 09:37 AM

638 posts

Instead of recession, i think better to look forward for what will be happening to Malaysia in the year 2019

What's gonna happen in 2019?
prophetjul
post Sep 8 2011, 09:39 AM

12,276 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Sep 8 2011, 09:37 AM)
What's gonna happen in 2019?
kevyeoh
post Sep 8 2011, 10:08 AM

4,720 posts

With dividend? when times are bad, are you sure you can still yield the same dividend return? Or unless you're talking about FD...maybe possible...

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:49 AM)
Folks,

I have enough emergency fund to last 2 years.  With dividend, I can last another 2 to 3 more years.  This is all without affecting my lifestyle or selling anything.

Dreamer
smartinvestor01
post Sep 8 2011, 10:39 AM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2011, 09:39 AM)
National News

I dont think cutting the subsidies is enough, there are many things that cannot be avoided..

According to www.transparency.org, our Corruption Perceptions Index is 4.4, while Singapore is 9.3, better than us..

Country recession and our country highly debt issue, i think highly debt issue is the worse part..

mois
post Sep 8 2011, 10:46 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

How about bond funds? It is going to survive through the recession? im talking about asean n malaysia bonds. not euro or US.
prophetjul
post Sep 8 2011, 10:48 AM

12,276 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Sep 8 2011, 10:39 AM)
National News

I dont think cutting the subsidies is enough, there are many things that cannot be avoided..

According to www.transparency.org, our Corruption Perceptions Index is 4.4, while Singapore is 9.3, better than us..

Country recession and our country highly debt issue, i think highly debt issue is the worse part..
Thats what happened to U.S............highly geared DEBT...... methinks our paternalistic
attitude of our politics has made it too late to turn around. Just look at the population of
civil servants.........last estimate at 1.6mil.
Our pop is only around 27mil....do you need 1 civil servant to serve 17 people?

next, if our attitude of deficit spending is not reeled in, EPF will be kaput...............

see the thread in real world section
fookeesan
post Sep 8 2011, 11:31 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 7 2011, 08:10 AM)
In the looming recession it is best for equity investors to reposition their shaeholding into financial and utilities stock. The past 4 recessions had taught investors to stick with reits and banks. I don't understand why forumers are advising people to flee the property market.
Could you please elaborate more ? rclxms.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 12:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2011, 10:48 AM)
Thats what happened to U.S............highly geared DEBT...... methinks our paternalistic
attitude of our politics has made it too late to turn around. Just look at the population of

next, if our attitude of deficit spending is not reeled in, EPF will be kaput...............

Heheh - bro, politicians live in bolehland lar, not real world tongue.gif
No bolehland thread/topic for politicians to share share in LYN?
Or perhaps their stuff cannot stand the light of day in public?
smartinvestor01
post Sep 8 2011, 02:46 PM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 8 2011, 10:46 AM)
How about bond funds? It is going to survive through the recession? im talking about asean n malaysia bonds. not euro or US.
If you are buying Malaysia bonds, you are facing credit risks.. During that time, your bonds are hard to sell..

Added on September 8, 2011, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2011, 10:48 AM)

Bravo, good quote about the statistics of 1 civil servant serving 17 people..

Well, its not that i want to say we private sectors are good, but we can really see the poor service from the gov agencies..

Last few days i made a call to follow up with a government agency, and guess what? They did not even intended to answer the phone.. Even after answer the phone, they talk fiercely..

If the government keep on rising the salary of those pension people, even declared bonus, sorry la, how long can our country stand? Imagine average all those pensioners can live a long live, then all the pensioners are creditors to the country...

This post has been edited by smartinvestor01: Sep 8 2011, 02:51 PM
mois
post Sep 8 2011, 03:22 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Sep 8 2011, 02:46 PM)
If you are buying Malaysia bonds, you are facing credit risks.. During that time, your bonds are hard to sell..

I bought bond funds from public mutual. Are you saying that i cannot sell my bond funds if there is credit risks? Because im not buying a particular bond, it is bond funds. So i guess there is no problem to sell through public mutual if got credit risk right?
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 04:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Added on September 8, 2011, 2:51 pm

Well, its not that i want to say we private sectors are good, but we can really see the poor service from the gov agencies..

Last few days i made a call to follow up with a government agency, and guess what? They did not even intended to answer the phone.. Even after answer the phone, they talk fiercely..

If the government keep on rising the salary of those pension people, even declared bonus, sorry la, how long can our country stand? Imagine average all those pensioners can live a long live, then all the pensioners are creditors to the country...
Reminds me of the "entitlement" mentality 'ala Greece, which makes USA's problem sup sup water in terms of Debt/GDP tongue.gif
DM3
post Sep 8 2011, 04:44 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

dunno how real the impact will be here, as forecast on car sales will peak in coming 2 mths and mx out in dec 2011. more ppl are rushing to buy more cars
dreamer101
post Sep 8 2011, 07:26 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 8 2011, 10:08 AM)
With dividend? when times are bad, are you sure you can still yield the same dividend return? Or unless you're talking about FD...maybe possible...
kevyeoh,

So, I still can last at least 2 years without selling and without income.

What is YOUR NUMBER??

How long can you last without income and not selling anything??

Dreamer
prophetjul
post Sep 8 2011, 09:45 PM

12,276 posts

You will quiver when you know that for budget 2011 of Rm240b,
Rm40b is for the salaries of gov servants, past and present.

If this goes on, how will the country sustain such practices?
edyek
post Sep 8 2011, 09:55 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2011, 09:45 PM)
You will quiver when you know that for budget 2011 of Rm240b,
Rm40b is for the salaries of gov servants, past and present.

If this goes on, how will the country sustain such practices?
Issue more 1 Malaysia bond. Create more creative tax for us to pay. biggrin.gif
dreamer101
post Sep 8 2011, 10:02 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 8 2011, 09:55 PM)
Issue more 1 Malaysia bond. Create more creative tax for us to pay.  biggrin.gif
edyek,

Increase LEGAL retirement age to 75. Keep the EPF money 20 years longer.. Sell the IDEA as helping RAKYAT to save for retirement..

Dreamer
edyek
post Sep 8 2011, 10:07 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 8 2011, 10:02 PM)
edyek,

Increase LEGAL retirement age to 75.  Keep the EPF money 20 years longer.. Sell the IDEA as helping RAKYAT to save for retirement..

Dreamer
rclxms.gif Brilliant too. From age 50 last time to 55. And yes, prolong it to 75 will make a big difference.

And I cannot imagine those old civil servants can work as efficient as those younger ones (and gov still need to pay them). Plus, more younger civil servants will join the boleh family. Thus more salary needed to be paid.

Cycle, cycle, cycle.
Gary1981
post Sep 9 2011, 12:27 AM

1,610 posts

Ill

will it be save to put money in bank locally by then?

This post has been edited by Gary1981: Sep 9 2011, 12:28 AM

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:10 AM