I am preparing for Global Recession, Be cash rich

wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 11:04 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 15 2011, 11:02 AM)
They CAN sustain the 1.5% payment PROVIDED their sales continue to ride on the gold wave(it could be
TULIPS as long as its the intthing)
Imagine if gold price turns down 30% today and the flavour goes out of the window?
Yeah.
And now they using islamic "approach", "Hibah". Sigh.. i thought something different. Check check, same flers behind the scene.
Bonescythe
post Sep 15 2011, 11:54 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 15 2011, 10:54 AM)
The verdict is in. Gold taikor Prophetjul has spoken  rclxms.gif

BTW, just to share why/how i checked "Geneva" out:

Email a few months ago
------
Based on what i understand and know, it's a sucker's game for customers (or should i say greedy fools). Check this out - spells it out easily how their business model works:
http://www.guizai.com/finance/genneva-gold-investment
Here is how they operate:
1. They usually buy the gold from UOB bullion based on spot price and sell you at 20%-24% markup price
2. They paid their sales agent commission 1.5% for selling this program every time you renew monthly. A total of 18% a year.
3. They promised to buy from you 100% based on your last selling price and pay you 2% 30 days later (but refuse to write down in black and white invoice for 2% as payment but as rebate as discount)
4. The business is usually registered in Malaysia or a Condo address in Singapore with website full of spelling errors and no detailed mention of founders or their management team.

With the markup, they pay U with your own $ ;P. How long can this last? It depends on how many suckers continue buying.
Mama says dont pay $1.24 for something everyone is selling for $1, to make/sellback $0.02 per month AND it's not written in any contract

--------
On Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 10:46 PM, XXX <xxx> wrote:

Hi there, MK.

Gold Investment 1.5-2% Montly Interest Rate.... Too Good To Be True.

Recalled telling you one of my friends is doing this gold investment thing.
He was unable/ reluctant to give me the details one year ago but recently when we
met up, he told me the company name is Geneva/ Gineva.....
Giving upto 1.5-2% interest rate/ month based on the amout u buy.

When asked hw come they are willing to share the profit with buyers...
His answer is interesting: " These companies are buying many many kgs of GOLD
they got good rate....so when we buy ..the use our money for further purchase of gold."
Can GOLD be purchased at lower rate if bought in a bulk....???
Sounds news to me....GOLD is commodity...
Not any barangan in TESCO, Giant...MyDin? True/ False???

There are many stories on this Geneva/Gineva Gold investment online.

However, online resources aside, have you heard of this Geneva/Gineva?

I have to admit that this is not my field...as you read much more than I do on this
area. Kindly share your expert opinion.....before you share with Personal Money.

Whaahhhhhahahahaha
NIce stuff here. Eye opener, especially the blog
rakyat
post Sep 15 2011, 01:33 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Sep 14 2011, 11:32 PM)
SPOT ON. The key is how to preserve the value of your money.
"There is no ceiling for GOLD …because there is no floor in currencies." - Peter Schiff

Added on September 14, 2011, 11:42 pm
Robin, here's what thousands of people are doing today...
Buy Genneva Gold and use the monthly hibah (gift based on Shariah principles open to all communities) to pay whatever loans or children's education. Seriously. I'm one of them.... the children's education part I mean. At my age, it would be hell if still have housing loan in the current economic climate of uncertainties.  rclxub.gif

Sigh.

Added on September 14, 2011, 11:44 pm
Yeah, use Account 2 of EPF to the max!

Added on September 14, 2011, 11:50 pm
The answer is NO. Too tired now to summarize the discussion between wodenus and I.
Follow the thread at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=43622596

Goodnite. yawn.gif
Ponzie scheme using overpriced gold as an 'insurance'; mind you many 'educated' ppl fell for the ruse due to the insurance (you will not lose all your money since you already have a gold bar). Any1 looked at the purity of GXXXXXX gold?
Looks too shinning to be 999 more like 916.

Was GXXXXXX Gold ever called Swiss Gold? whistling.gif

Maverick2011
post Sep 15 2011, 09:47 PM

83 posts

Anybody with a sane mind will tell you this Genneva ( purposely make it sounds like Geneva?) is a PONZI scheme and cannot sustain. Please don't be so foolish guys. Do you seriosuly think a company can afford to pay to 20% to 30% annual interest? Sigh.........

Pls do not join or buy the gold sold by this company if you do not want to lose your hard earned money!

But, I know, the ponzi will continue...simply because people are greedy, and there are also enoug suckers around.

take care bros
Singh_Kalan
post Sep 15 2011, 10:09 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Sep 14 2011, 11:32 PM)
SPOT ON. The key is how to preserve the value of your money.
"There is no ceiling for GOLD …because there is no floor in currencies." - Peter Schiff
"There is no ceiling for Stock market either" - Singh Kalan
I think its stupid to buy gold at this time. People think gold is safe, it is not always true. As with any trades that has bubble up, it will burst.
rakyat
post Sep 15 2011, 10:28 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 15 2011, 10:09 PM)
I think its stupid to buy gold at this time.  People think gold is safe, it is not always true.  As with any trades that has bubble up, it will burst.
What is the Newton's law again?

Guyz nothing goes up indefinitely, if it did we would all be filthy rich.

Check back the historical chart of gold price and you will see that gold had never been an investment vehicle; it is more of a hedge against fiat money (inflation)

Over a 20 year period it is slightly higher then the avg inflation rate, only last 3 to 5 yrs had it provided decent returns
Robin Liew
post Sep 15 2011, 10:29 PM

290 posts

no recession

property fair in pnang n still got stu*** ppl buying

haha
Bonescythe
post Sep 15 2011, 10:59 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

EDit

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Sep 15 2011, 10:59 PM
prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 10:00 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 15 2011, 10:09 PM)
I think its stupid to buy gold at this time.  People think gold is safe, it is not always true.  As with any trades that has bubble up, it will burst.
Pray tell why IS gold a bubble? Qualify please...........

Added on September 16, 2011, 10:04 am
QUOTE(rakyat @ Sep 15 2011, 10:28 PM)

Over a 20 year period it is slightly higher then the avg inflation rate, only last 3 to 5 yrs had it provided decent returns
That right....you may wanna check yer prices over the last TEN years again...........

In USD terms 2002- $240 p OZ cometh 2011 - $1800 = 750%

In Ringgit terms 2002- Rm1150 cometh 2011 - Rm5700 = 495%

Methinks thats more than DECENT! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Sep 16 2011, 10:05 AM
sevendogz
post Sep 16 2011, 10:34 AM

1,276 posts

been reading some conspiracy stuff about united states of europe, it's scary
basically to reach their goal of US of Europe, they need to tank the economy so bad, or something catastrophic to change the europe ppl mind to support it
Kaka23
post Sep 16 2011, 11:03 AM

8,259 posts

Gold price below USD1800 level... hope can go lower
prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 11:04 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Sep 16 2011, 10:34 AM)
been reading some conspiracy stuff about united states of europe, it's scary
basically to reach their goal of US of Europe, they need to tank the economy so bad, or something catastrophic to change the europe ppl mind to support it
better believe it..........the world econs is controlled by one set of people

The BANKSTERS
cherroy
post Sep 16 2011, 05:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 16 2011, 10:00 AM)
Pray tell why IS gold a bubble?  Qualify please...........

Added on September 16, 2011, 10:04 am

That right....you may wanna check yer prices over the last TEN years again...........

In USD terms 2002- $240 p OZ  cometh 2011 - $1800    = 750%

In Ringgit terms  2002- Rm1150      cometh 2011 - Rm5700  = 495%

Methinks thats more than DECENT!    biggrin.gif
It depends how one calculates.

It also can be pointed up,
In USD term.
1970's
USD500 cometh 2011 USD1800 = 260%

35 years for 260% return, is not something very proud of, and definitely is not decent, nor even can catch up the inflation, nor beating FD rate by miles.

prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 06:05 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 16 2011, 05:17 PM)
It depends how one calculates.

It also can be pointed up,
In USD term.
1970's
USD500 cometh 2011 USD1800 = 260%

35 years for 260% return, is not something very proud of, and definitely is not decent, nor even can catch up the inflation, nor beating FD rate by miles.
i am only replying the fella who mentioned gold in last 3 to 5 yrs had provided decent returns

it was pretty decent from 10 years ago, no?

http://www.usagold.com/reference/prices/1970.html

Gold price in 1970 averaged approx $35, not $500

Just did a calculation 1970 $35 cometh 2011 $1850 COMPOUNDED returns = 10.16%

Whats FD from thence? Pretty decent no?

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Sep 16 2011, 06:23 PM
cherroy
post Sep 16 2011, 06:23 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 16 2011, 06:05 PM)
Gold price in 1970 averaged approx $35, not $500
i am only replying the fella who mentioned gold in last 3 to 5 yrs had provided decent returns

it was pretty decent from 10 years ago, no?
Yes, it is decent from 2003 to 2011. There is no doubt.
But next 3 to 5 years down the road, nobody knows.
It can even more magnificent, it can be pathetic as well.
Gold price during late 1979 to early 1980's was USD200-700.
Gold investor during that period suffer at least 20-25 years without any return, while at the same time, FD give you more than 200% return during this period, stock can register you at least 1000%, properties 1000% etc.

I don't mean to say gold is good or bad, what I want to highlight, a thing can be looked from different angle and can show you good/bad result from the different angle.

People can say stock is worth to invest, as stock has gain more than 100% from 2009 to 2011.
But another one can say, stock is not worth to invest, because from 2007 to 2011, stock still making a loss.
So a slight different angle or selective period of comparison, the outcome result is totally different.

While, whether it is decent for last 3 years, 5 years or 10 years, it doesn't give us a clue or any good indicator whether it is good or not to invest in it.

prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 06:26 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 16 2011, 06:23 PM)
Yes, it is decent from 2003 to 2011. There is no doubt.
But next 3 to 5 years down the road, nobody knows.
It can even more magnificent, it can be pathetic as well.
Gold price during late 1979 to early 1980's was USD200-700.
Gold investor during that period suffer at least 20-25 years without any return, while at the same time, FD give you more than 200% return during this period, stock can register you at least 1000%, properties 1000% etc.

I don't mean to say gold is good or bad, what I want to highlight, a thing can be looked from different angle and can show you good/bad result from the different angle.

People can say stock is worth to invest, as stock has gain more than 100% from 2009 to 2011.
But another one can say, stock is not worth to invest, because from 2007 to 2011, stock still making a loss.
So a slight different angle or selective period of comparison, the outcome result is totally different.

While, whether it is decent for last 3 years, 5 years or 10 years, it doesn't give us a clue or any good indicator whether it is good or not to invest in it.
No body mentioned about the FUTURE.............its about the past.

Look at my calculations above.........over 41 years since gold was FIXED in 1970 at $35,
the compounded returns pa is $10.16%. More than decent i say....................

Another 3, 5, 10 years could be Armageddon...............
cherroy
post Sep 16 2011, 06:28 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 16 2011, 06:05 PM)
Just did a calculation 1970 $35 cometh 2011 $1850  COMPOUNDED returns = 10.16%

Whats FD from thence?   Pretty decent no?
Locally, FD rate in the old day (1980's time) was around 7-9%.

US Fed fund rate during early 1980's was double digit aka >10%.

Added on September 16, 2011, 6:30 pm
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 16 2011, 06:26 PM)
No body mentioned about the FUTURE.............its about the past.

Look at my calculations above.........over 41 years since gold was FIXED  in 1970 at $35,
the compounded returns pa is $10.16%. More than decent i say....................

Another 3, 5, 10 years could be Armageddon...............
If from 1970's $35 to now $1800, is a 10.16% pa. return rate.
Then from 1980 $200/300 to now, is what rate then? smile.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 16 2011, 06:31 PM
prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 06:31 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 16 2011, 06:28 PM)

Do a calculation.........those high FD rates are only for short time i believe.

Even then gold's return over the last 41 years USD terms is 10.16%

Added on September 16, 2011, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 16 2011, 06:28 PM)

Added on September 16, 2011, 6:30 pm

If from 1970's $35 to now $1800, is a 10.16% pa. return rate.
Then from 1980 $200/300 to now, is what rate then?  smile.gif
Why take 1980? Why not take the base price when it was fixed?

Added on September 16, 2011, 6:33 pmIf 1980 you bought at $300, todate returns is still a DECENT 6% COMPOUNDED- not bad.......IMO

i just checked gold price at lowest in 1980 was $481

so returns based on $481 is 4.44%

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Sep 16 2011, 06:35 PM
cherroy
post Sep 16 2011, 06:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 16 2011, 06:31 PM)
Do a calculation.........those high FD rates are only for short time i believe.

Even then gold's return over the last 41 years USD terms is 10.16%
I am not saying FD beat gold, as FD is always the worst return rate one. smile.gif
Just selective period of using, then outcome result can be totally different.

I can use gold over the last 30 years return from early 1980's to now, can be as low as 5-6% pa. compounded.
Which mean comparable to FD rate only.
So for a person invest in gold and FD at the same time during early 1980's, the result can be the same.
prophetjul
post Sep 16 2011, 06:36 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 16 2011, 06:35 PM)
I am not saying FD beat gold, as FD is always the worst return rate one.  smile.gif
Just selective period of using, then outcome result can be totally different.

I can use gold over the last 30 years return from early 1980's to now, can be as low as 5-6% pa. compounded.
Which mean comparable to FD rate only.
So for a person invest in gold and FD at the same time during early 1980's, the result can be the same.
Pls show FD gave 6% compounded from 1980.............. wheres the data?

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:20 PM