14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

I am preparing for Global Recession, Be cash rich

keelim
post Sep 7 2011, 08:10 AM

941 posts

In the looming recession it is best for equity investors to reposition their shaeholding into financial and utilities stock. The past 4 recessions had taught investors to stick with reits and banks. I don't understand why forumers are advising people to flee the property market.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 7 2011, 08:19 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 7 2011, 08:10 AM)
In the looming recession it is best for equity investors to reposition their shaeholding into financial and utilities stock. The past 4 recessions had taught investors to stick with reits and banks. I don't understand why forumers are advising people to flee the property market.
I think it depends on WHY some investors / traders are in the property market gua
Those who bought in at a height... self explanatory
Those who bought at a good rental yield can sit on it and still make $.
edyek
post Sep 7 2011, 08:42 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Fabio1 @ Sep 6 2011, 10:56 PM)
Hi guys all Economist so called leaders World Bank, IMF, US Treasury and many more have indicated coming of World Recession, I personally foresee
this happening and I want take all precaution to avoid any financial crisis , whats your say.................
Dont see what is the fuss about. Im in land banking, and when recession comes comparing to building property and paper assets, land banking is much more a better choice.

Nevertheless, have sufficient cash in hand to bail out my current debt with the bank and still be able to purchase more land. And like @dreamer101, i still can live with my current lifestyle.

TSFabio1
post Sep 7 2011, 09:23 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:29 AM)
Fabio1,

So, how long can you SURVIVE without any income??

Dreamer
Listen guys my prediction and preparation to avoid any eventuality ,nothing looks good so better prepare
At least 3 years of basic cash

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:25 am1.Stocks with high foreign ownership are likely to experience a further selldown in the next few months as foreign funds reverse back to US Treasuries and fixed income, said analysts.

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:30 am
QUOTE(Fabio1 @ Sep 6 2011, 11:56 PM)
Hi guys all Economist so called leaders World Bank, IMF, US Treasury and many more have indicated coming of World Recession, I personally foresee
this happening and I want take all precaution to avoid any financial crisis , whats your say.................
We should explore recession proof investment kindly advise.
Hospital, Graveyard,Food,Coffin box industry even times are bad they dont die anything else guys

This post has been edited by Fabio1: Sep 7 2011, 09:30 AM
Gary1981
post Sep 7 2011, 09:36 AM

1,610 posts

I'm waiting to hit us. I love to purchase stuff @ bottom price and not ceiling price from the rich. All said, I will increase my luxury lifestyle, and not decrease or remain..because now me and my wiife live below luxury lifestyle.

I invested myself with further education, MBA. And diversed my career and my business.
trencher10
post Sep 7 2011, 10:19 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(Fabio1 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:23 AM)

We should explore recession proof investment kindly advise.
Hospital, Graveyard,Food,Coffin box industry even times are bad they dont die anything else guys
Actually, costly funeral services are not recession-proof. The reality of worryingly high-cost funeral services in the US are making people opt for eco- and cost-friendly alternatives. I think I saw this news piece on Al Jazeera.
tchtax
post Sep 7 2011, 11:09 AM

638 posts

You guys sound as though its the end of the world. I've been through 3 recessions in my lifetime. So far none of them have severe repercussions for Malaysia..although I agree that this one may be different due to financial structural issues which may take a longer time to fix. At the end of the day, the main thing is to keep your debts low, adjust your lifestyles if you have to....and the most important is to do what is necessary to keep your job. It;s not that bad because we're a commodity exporting country and the rest of the world still needs commodities. Yes we'll be affected in some ways but it won;t be as bad as the Western world.
wodenus
post Sep 7 2011, 11:11 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 7 2011, 03:49 AM)
Folks,

I have enough emergency fund to last 2 years.  With dividend, I can last another 2 to 3 more years.  This is all without affecting my lifestyle or selling anything.

Dreamer
So what happens if you run out?

barista
post Sep 7 2011, 11:13 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

I am already not living in luxury. So I don't think the effect is going to be big. I don't need to be luxurious. Just need to have peace of mine without having to live in fear that I am broke.
80toyshop
post Sep 7 2011, 11:16 AM

44 posts

getting my cash ready to vest in high dividends shares...
TSFabio1
post Sep 7 2011, 01:37 PM

1,447 posts

SINGAPORE/BEIJING (Reuters) - Singapore's finance minister said on Tuesday a global recession looked more likely than not and a Chinese official acknowledged China's growth may slow to a 10-year low, highlighting Asia's rising concern over its exposure to U.S. and European risks.
kparam77
post Sep 7 2011, 02:23 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Fabio1 @ Sep 6 2011, 10:56 PM)
Do budget, spend within the budget. hv some money as emergency fund, the rest put in investment, short term or long term.
monsta2011
post Sep 7 2011, 02:34 PM

432 posts

Something I noticed during the financial crisis in 2008 is that the McDonalds stocks are bullet proof. Quite logic ah biggrin.gif
dreamer101
post Sep 7 2011, 09:30 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 7 2011, 11:11 AM)
So what happens if you run out?
wodenus,

How LONG can you SURVIVE without selling anything??

Answer that FIRST...

Dreamer
Iceman74
post Sep 7 2011, 10:06 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Sep 7 2011, 11:09 AM)
You guys sound as though its the end of the world. I've been through 3 recessions in my lifetime. So far none of them have severe repercussions for Malaysia..although I agree that this one may be different due to financial structural issues which may take a longer time to fix. At the end of the day, the main thing is to keep your debts low, adjust your lifestyles if you have to....and the most important is to do what is necessary to keep your job. It;s not that bad because we're a commodity exporting country and the rest of the world still needs commodities. Yes we'll be affected in some ways but it won;t be as bad as the Western world.
ya lor.... why so takut? rclxub.gif
do all above & just spend wisely, work harder & you be alright smile.gif
TSFabio1
post Sep 8 2011, 12:55 AM

1,447 posts

Noted and well said
Bonescythe
post Sep 8 2011, 02:17 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:30 PM)
wodenus,

How LONG can you SURVIVE without selling anything??

Answer that FIRST...

Dreamer
5 days for me sad.gif
prophetjul
post Sep 8 2011, 07:47 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 7 2011, 08:10 AM)
Methinks its not time to reposition into finance stocks.
A recession means these stocks will suffer.............buy DURING the recession when they are killed..........
They will get killed because the property mkt will get killed........aka U.S in 2008.
Property mkt is almost always last to tank before a recession.......watch out for China

When property mkt get killed the speculators will become defunct..........

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Sep 8 2011, 07:50 AM
thenightcrusader
post Sep 8 2011, 08:44 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(80toyshop @ Sep 7 2011, 12:16 PM)
getting my cash ready to vest in high dividends shares...
hi 80toyshop,

don't mind me asking if you have any counters in mind?
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 09:18 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 8 2011, 07:47 AM)
Methinks its not time to reposition into finance stocks.
A recession means these stocks will suffer.............buy DURING the recession when they are killed..........
They will get killed because the property mkt will get killed........aka U.S in 2008.
Property mkt is almost always last to tank before a recession.......watch out for China

When property mkt get killed the speculators will become defunct..........

Yup yup - just like horror-slashers, ALWAYS wait and ensure the body of the killer is indeed dead before "jumping in".
Best to "shoot a few small shots" into the dead body (market) to ensure it's dead / flat-lined before "jumping in" laugh.gif

Sorry - too much slasher movies in my younger & dumber daze tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 8 2011, 09:18 AM

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:19 AM