171 Pages « < 162 163 164 165 166 > » Bottom

Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V3, Updated on steps for reformat

mdduan
post Nov 7 2011, 03:58 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(soloinruds @ Nov 7 2011, 02:55 PM)
i think it can only be launch when your laptop is turned off by pressing the upper left button once.. then u can go thru your windows or anything u want to do from there..
i tried it once.. it can't even play my mp3 file. gave up already
doej
post Nov 7 2011, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(Mohammad.2mt @ Nov 7 2011, 02:07 PM)
The problem is that I do not want to install Ubuntu in a different partition
That page which we have to press F6 to turn off acpi.
By running linux(es) on virtual machine(s) your could get the
best out of both worlds, i.e. https://www.virtualbox.org/

...or by running windows on top of linux virtual machine.

You can run it from different partition, but the default option is that it
makes a virtual filesystem (one large file on default windows partion
so it is extremely easy setup).

There is plenty of cpu for that on asus laptops, only get's a little more memory
intensive, but memory is cheap and you can start with 4G easily.
soloinruds
post Nov 7 2011, 06:52 PM

63 posts

hi to 45sf users n sifu2.. smile.gif

when heavy n max setting graphic gaming.. i've found that :

1. nvidia graphic version 280.26 : consider smooth but got bit lagging .. highest temp at 82 c ..

2. nvidia graphic version 285.62 : consider smooth .. highest temperature at 86 c ..

anyone noticed?
Should i choose the 1st one if i still dun have the BF3?? hmm.gif

Can share ur opinions? smile.gif

This post has been edited by soloinruds: Nov 7 2011, 07:03 PM
tarex
post Nov 7 2011, 07:50 PM

this dude over clocked his GT555m on dell XPS 17 to the max shocking.gif

and his temps are not going over 79C shocking.gif

see the hole thing in here

i know there is difference between GT555m on dell and on N45

but did any body try it

http://forum.notebookreview.com/dell-xps-s...-555m-card.html
hahantu
post Nov 7 2011, 08:29 PM

169 posts

got my n55 just now rclxm9.gif thanks to all sifus for the recommendation notworthy.gif
justlbq
post Nov 7 2011, 09:01 PM

i finally success with installing Ubuntu 11.10.
i mounted Ubuntu 11.10.iso, and ran the wubi.
just set everything...and it requires restart.
after restart, press ESC. it will enter GRUB menu.
then choose Normal mode, enter "e“ to edit.
find the word "quiet splash". after the word "splash" write in:
nouveau.blacklist=1
then press F10.
it will then initialize and install liao.
note tat after it will reboot,
u will haf to add nouveau.blacklist=1 again at the grub at chosen OS.

after login,
1. ALT+F2
2. gksudo gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg

add in the nouveau.blacklist=1 behind the word "splash" again.
Save it.

Thanks to my fren Subk found this solution for me XD
Hope...u can ustand my explanation ^^"

This post has been edited by justlbq: Nov 7 2011, 09:30 PM
htpkevin
post Nov 7 2011, 09:25 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(tarex @ Nov 7 2011, 07:50 PM)
this dude over clocked his GT555m on dell XPS 17  to the max  shocking.gif

and his temps are not going over 79C shocking.gif
i know there is difference between GT555m on dell and on N45

but did any body try it 
http://forum.notebookreview.com/dell-xps-s...-555m-card.html
lol last time i OC til 730mhz my temp also around 79 only(i changed my thermal paste before). But didn't have the time to push it to the max xD. See if tonight i'm free then i push it again xD
Higuain
post Nov 7 2011, 09:46 PM

906 posts

so the xps gpu better than ours??
htpkevin
post Nov 7 2011, 09:53 PM

1,052 posts

I haven't try push it to the max. Should be able to do it tonight. But the problem is 285.62 keep crashing in 3dmark 06

and one more thing, their proc better than ours(for i5), so surely the mark will be lower. I hate nvidia for not giving GT555M a proper driver>.< keep crashing

This post has been edited by htpkevin: Nov 7 2011, 10:12 PM
CrikeyMate
post Nov 7 2011, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(fazz.lee7 @ Nov 2 2011, 10:28 PM)
Hi Guys,

First off all, thanks to everybody for the info regarding the N55SF...
I just got the N55SF last week, cannot tahan the poison... ha ha ha...

anyway, I am a noob thus do not dare to reformat and reinstall windows etc like all the sifus here, so I took the
easy way of uninstalling everything that is not 'Asus' nor things that I don't think will be of use (Oberon games etc).

But after the many uninstallations, I start to notice something peculiar, the volume button doesn't work, most of the asus software doesn't work, and sometimes windows explorer keep crashing.
not sure if I'm the only one having this issue, but I read somewhere that uninstalling the oberon games can cause this registry to go crazy.

So I did a system restore to a very very early point and things came back to normal.  I also don't dare to update windows (microsoft auto-update) as it makes the i5 turbo boost like crazy.

So, anybody else having the same issue?
hi,i just bought a n55sf which has the similar problems to yours,like the volume button(solved by reinstalling ATK Driver) and the windows explorer crashing mostly when im transferring files to a harddisk or pendrive.Are your problems solved? blink.gif

xLiger
post Nov 7 2011, 10:45 PM

HI! i just brought a N55SF(i7). After i updated my window, it seems cant charge my battery. Any solution? rclxub.gif
XeactorZ
post Nov 7 2011, 10:47 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(xLiger @ Nov 7 2011, 10:45 PM)
HI! i just brought a N55SF(i7). After i updated my window, it seems cant charge my battery. Any solution? rclxub.gif
format ur windows which write by TS
Ikmal91
post Nov 7 2011, 10:49 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

I wanna be here and say sorry to all of you. Since I decided to buy the DV6 instead of the N55. sad.gif

SORRY htpkevin, simon, Duckies, Cynical, lakost, and the others who were there when I was checkin out N55.
XeactorZ
post Nov 7 2011, 10:51 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Nov 7 2011, 10:49 PM)
I wanna be here and say sorry to all of you. Since I decided to buy the DV6 instead of the N55. sad.gif

SORRY htpkevin, simon, Duckies, Cynical, lakost, and the others who were there when I was checkin out N55.
how much u buy ???
and from where ?

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Nov 7 2011, 10:51 PM
pandah
post Nov 7 2011, 10:54 PM

719 posts

no nd sorry lol, do some review if free XD
Ikmal91
post Nov 7 2011, 10:59 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 7 2011, 10:51 PM)
how much u buy ???
and from where ?
RM2800 without beats. HP Care Pack, 8GB RAM.

From seller here, l0ui3

Hahahah. Will try do a review when I'm free smile.gif
htpkevin
post Nov 7 2011, 11:04 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Nov 7 2011, 10:59 PM)

From seller here, l0ui3

lol. No worries man xD I considered that laptop too. But the words 'HP' drove me far far away........ Do reviews ya xD

and remember to come back xD

This post has been edited by htpkevin: Nov 7 2011, 11:18 PM
XeactorZ
post Nov 7 2011, 11:06 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

From seller here, l0ui3

wah that was cheap man @@
eyeing on it @@
Higuain
post Nov 7 2011, 11:20 PM

906 posts

From seller here, l0ui3

izzit exp? cos i saw ppl selling 2580... 4gb ram la..
Ikmal91
post Nov 7 2011, 11:28 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Nov 7 2011, 11:04 PM)
lol. No worries man xD I considered that laptop too. But the words 'HP' drove me far far away........ Do reviews ya xD

and remember to come back xD
Hahahaah. I've been using HP since I started using computers, so it's good to me. smile.gif
Quite nostalgic.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 7 2011, 11:06 PM)
wah that was cheap man @@
eyeing on it @@
That is very cheap isnt it? smile.gif

QUOTE(Higuain @ Nov 7 2011, 11:20 PM)
izzit exp? cos i saw ppl selling 2580... 4gb ram la..
No. The HP Care Pack itself is already RM250. smile.gif

171 Pages « < 162 163 164 165 166 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:07 AM