4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V3, Updated on steps for reformat

pandah
post Oct 16 2011, 01:56 PM

719 posts

hello fellow n55 owner, i would like to ask, do you found any major problem with n55 until now?

i went to lowyat and the price is rm2699 with upgrade to 8gb ram, by mtcs group, comes with some gift but i think only the ram is important.

since the graphic card is a weaker version of gt555m, do you encounter any problem when gaming?

notworthy.gif
pandah
post Oct 17 2011, 03:24 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 16 2011, 02:14 PM)
So far i have only encounter the speaker problem where sometimes it will minimize sound to the lowest level and i have to close and re open the game/movie/music.I didnt try with newer audio driver so i am not sure whether it will solve the problem.

The graphic card is quite good consider it can play Rage at 1600 x 900 resolutions.
i see, if driver problem then should be able to solved, as long the hardware is reliable i suppose smile.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 16 2011, 03:53 PM)
yea
but yesterday i go ikano all it shop they got sample of n45
wah so cheap ??
at brochure say selling RM2799 with 4gb ram
which shop u ask ??
and most of the laptop / notebook got usb 3.0
i think i post on their fb wall and ask when will have either n45/n55 white colour in malaysia
apparently the brochure is not correct, most shops in lowyat sell at 2699 with 8 gb ram, and some free gift, but no very important. extra 4 gb is given by the shop itself, since official partner like mtcs also provide this offer so i think they might be having some promotion now or may be newer batch is gonna come with better specs? hmm.gif

n55 is quite a tempting machine there, although the gt555m is a weaker version...

i asked them the warranty is 2 years international, but can extend to 3 years add on 350 at service centre @ imbi plaza.

i really don't like the lid man, so glossy and easy to get fingerprint when touching! and the palm area is plastic and it gets hot on the display unit! and they are not even opening games or what, just on for display only. shocking.gif

do you guys experience problems with fingerprint and the heat? fingerprint i might consider putting some sort of cover, but the heat, if use for long time/gaming, wouldn't it be uncomfortable or harm the graphic card inside?

sometimes i open game 3-4 hours non-stop i scare i will fry the card if too hot oh sweat.gif

pandah
post Oct 17 2011, 03:54 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Oct 17 2011, 03:40 PM)
don worry bro, ever since i bought my N45SF 2 months ago, its been 24 hours on running folding@home(which is gpu client i ran, and its very demanding, even demanding than games) non-stop til now. and its hot always
i see, i guess it is normal for plastic build then?

@ XeactorZ: if they can use the better gt555m it is perfect already lol.
pandah
post Oct 17 2011, 05:26 PM

719 posts

but why do we need a software warranty?

we can just create a backup dvd and that is all.
pandah
post Oct 18 2011, 11:04 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Oct 17 2011, 06:25 PM)
ya its normal. For N45SF, ur left palm rest is hot is due to hdd, coz after i changed to ssd that area very cool. For N55SF, that area is due to northbridge chipset there. I remember got ppl posted here a link on how to change the cooling for the chip so it won't so hot
i see, try to search later.

QUOTE(Shunz @ Oct 17 2011, 06:59 PM)
Pit a piece of asbestos sheet there.
how do you put it? open up the upper casing and put urself? wouldn't it be like a insulation and trap the heat inside the chamber?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 17 2011, 07:07 PM)
I was offered N55 at 2550 with no free gifts. Most shops are at 2699 with gifts like add'l 4G and other freebies.
ooo 2550, i got offer at 2580 without upgrade ram and gifts. i guess small difference between the shops.

QUOTE(tingwei000 @ Oct 17 2011, 08:35 PM)
2699 plus 8gb is the old batch dy i think sweat.gif latest batch will cost 2799

Added on October 17, 2011, 8:37 pm

im not sure but it has lots of outlet  rclxms.gif and customer service was good

Added on October 17, 2011, 8:39 pmbtw NOT ALL OUTLET SELLING latest batch.most of them selling the old ones.if u guys dont mind getting old batch then 2699 + 4 gb is a fair deal i think ?

i has a question to ask.erm is there such thing as download game instead or installing from CD?  brows.gif if yes can tell me how?thanks
ermm what is the difference between old batch and new batch for the extra rm 100? mostly i saw in lowyat with price tag 2699.

if based on the oct nov brochure the spec is still the same as what those priced rm 2699 right? unless they are really changing the gt555m lol, then i str8 go buy no need think liao biggrin.gif

pandah
post Oct 18 2011, 11:51 AM

719 posts

shops like all it also have, some other shops at lowyat have as well, not hard to find. but i just thought of getting something transparent cover.

i notice ur warranty 2+2? extended?
pandah
post Oct 18 2011, 04:23 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Don104 @ Oct 18 2011, 02:50 PM)
Yes,I 'm with 2 years(Global) + 2 years(Local Seller) Warranty,

Warranty excluded screen broken,battery & adapter,the rest they "pao"  tongue.gif
i see, quite good edy, i am wondering now, if i extend the laptop warranty with asus to 3 year, by paying the rm 350, then get the 2 years local, so add up 5 years? shocking.gif

which shop was it that offer you the local warranty? did you pay them for the extra warranty?
pandah
post Oct 19 2011, 09:26 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(tingwei000 @ Oct 18 2011, 10:17 PM)
evernew lowyat thats the only place i know there is new batch got it on sunday  rclxms.gif
the rest of the seller will tell u the new stock arrive end of this month

Added on October 18, 2011, 10:21 pm
brochure for new batch cost 2799 isnt it ?
but i bought mine for the same price as the old batch .i also saw lots of asus n 55 price tag 2699 but when i ask its the old batch  blink.gif

Added on October 18, 2011, 10:28 pm
depends whether do you need the extra 4gb now if yes then go ahead  smile.gif  smile.gif

Added on October 18, 2011, 10:30 pmguys anyone got problem with the keyboard so far?
i feel like its FRAGILE AND CAN SPOIL IN A SHORT PERIOD sad.gif
i see, did you buy the new one or the old one? is there some difference between them that evernew told you? if all same i really go grab the old one before the price is up man.

for the ram i can use the 8 gb since i do some work with vm sometimes so i guess the value is there. and n55 8gb ram is max already isn't it? it doesn't have 4 slots for ram so no much to choose also...

the keyboard is fragile? aren't they the same type with those old lappy? the new ones use the chiclet type, but i have use the old type for quite a long time and it nvr spoil. do you experience some key detached or jam? or can't type even if pressed hard? it is quite a good machine there, but if the keyboard is not gonna last then it is a pity...

QUOTE(Sky04 @ Oct 19 2011, 09:08 AM)
Nope, I confirmed my place does not have asus centre as I've called to the call center and asked them myself. The only choice was for me to send to KL or send to KK. Hmm.. guess I'll just let it be.. =.=
i am not sure if they listed down the ram serial number or not in your receipt, if yes, then they can verify that it is really a wrong one, otherwise hard ler, they dun know if the customer change the ram, so they won't risk to give you the 1333 one... and if you bought it in sarawak, can you send to the shop and ask them to send to ASUS if needed? otherwise you have to go to kl just to bring the laptop? quite troublesome man.

This post has been edited by pandah: Oct 19 2011, 09:30 AM
pandah
post Oct 19 2011, 01:58 PM

719 posts

hehe i oso wish to know, if like this it is possible to get a 5 years warranty after the asus extended warranty, fuh, quite a nice package there!
pandah
post Oct 20 2011, 11:09 AM

719 posts

n55f? not n55sf? why did they ban it?

i just felt that it is hotter, might be not so comfortable if using without aircon, not sure when heavy use. but as mentioned it should be ok.

pandah
post Oct 20 2011, 05:21 PM

719 posts

recalibrate try?
pandah
post Oct 21 2011, 12:40 PM

719 posts

it is just an estimate i think, not really accurate, anyway, not a big problem i think.
pandah
post Oct 22 2011, 04:07 PM

719 posts

ayam lipoting in as n55sf-s2353v user biggrin.gif
pandah
post Oct 22 2011, 05:02 PM

719 posts

n45 need to update bios, n55 need?
pandah
post Oct 22 2011, 05:05 PM

719 posts

thanks notworthy.gif

now dl-ing the nvidia driver biggrin.gif
pandah
post Oct 22 2011, 05:15 PM

719 posts

thanks biggrin.gif

i read in the first page that we need to update the driver so that the optmus works properly. so i went to nvidia, it is 280.26, is this correct?

This post has been edited by pandah: Oct 22 2011, 05:39 PM
pandah
post Oct 23 2011, 01:03 AM

719 posts

how do i change the digital vibrance in gt555m? hmm.gif
pandah
post Oct 23 2011, 10:51 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Oct 23 2011, 01:03 AM)
how do i change the digital vibrance in gt555m?  hmm.gif
after update to 280.26 i can't find the digital vibrance setting in the desktop color adjustment, is there anything i can do?

do anyone use it? hmm.gif
pandah
post Oct 23 2011, 11:02 PM

719 posts

@ cheese, at lowyat they just brought in new batch, may be not so fast eol, but not sure if after this batch finish. as previous batch it should be fixed already.

I need some help from N55 owner, i wanted to do a clean reformat of my n55, but i can't get to the delete partition part as Simon has mention in the first page. After i put in the dvd, it just went to the airecovery, although i have uninstall already, then it ask about the language everything, and continue by itself and install all softwares back, i can't choose what to install or not. it didn't even need me to install the driver all that, and all the trendmicro and other bloatwares just came back.

How can i do a clean one to throw everything and choose what i want? Or just can uninstall afterwards? cuz the boot time is quite slow, around 45-50s, compared to simon's 28s. even the wei is just 4.6 or 4.8 i think after uninstall those bloatware and clean the registry.

is there any thing i should pay extra attention?
pandah
post Oct 23 2011, 11:33 PM

719 posts

i see, thanks, i will go and try it out, i have tried to get the driver and and inf as well and it works fine biggrin.gif

but still can not find the digital vibrance lol, now i use the intel colour saturation instead.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:49 PM