125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings

kevyeoh
post Oct 21 2011, 04:30 PM

4,721 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2011, 01:32 PM)
To that i will point you back to

a)!st and most important ?Why are you in gold? There are many many other assets classes out there.
Are you here because its the flavour of the season?
Ans: I'm assessing if Gold is worth the investment for capital appreciation, as what you say, besides other assets like property. The only way Gold can earn is through capital gain and not side income like getting rental, or passive yield. I'm focusing more into gold now because suddenly for the past few years, the price simply just surge up and there are big gains, yes, gold caught my attention, can this be considered as flavour of the season? Am i into gold big time? not really cause i only maintain 10g in my account... 

b) Next what do you know about gold?
Ans: Not much. I know the basic stuff like what i read in forums. Want me to list out all i know about Gold? in short, maybe it's just another type of commodity trading? Unlike other stuff, gold has value in the sense people commonly accept gold as some sort of 'currency' as well? Why Gold and not stones? i dunno, maybe gold is scarce and not easily available unlike other minerals out there?

as long as there is demand, the price will continue to go up? basic supply vs demand stuff? as the price movement still goes up and down...heck, probably it's also like stock market or shares..instead of buying a share in a company, we're just buying gold, which itself can act or represent as 'company' ?

So prophetjul, what's next? what is the point of your questions?
GoldChan
post Oct 21 2011, 05:40 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Oct 21 2011, 12:36 PM)
No such thing as long term investors who can afford to wait xx years... No one can predict when you will need the money..

I am not cursing anyone but who knows something bad happen and you need money?

Maybe the only real truth i personally know is no one has a crystal ball and no one(at least normal working class ppl like me) can predict what will happen... If long term guarantee can get rich also i sure will participate..

Those of you invest 2002 maybe can earn from current price... What if those invest in 1992 and wait 5 or 8 years? At those period, got really earn a lot? If you mention invest long term, are u willing to wait 10-20 years if gold price suddenly stagnant?

Just some food for thought...

I am not rich... So my words not really qualified as a good advice... wink.gif
from all my reading, until 2001 we are starting to run out of oil.
In the period prior to 2001, there are still plenty of oil, so you can focus on growth such as property , stocks, etc.
Economy need oil to grow. period.

No more oil then economy grow will slow down. The only way is to print $$ to support the economy, to keep politician elected, to keep things going until suddenly everything collapse. As long as they print $, gold will go up. Up to maybe USD5000/oz. in 2014-2015
everything sucks, stock, property, etc. Even precious metal sucks especially if you have brought at USD49/oz or USD1900/oz for gold

For gold to go down,
a) some of the printed $$$ must disappeared quickly. To do that while having your government elected etc is almost impossible.
so inflate or die.

or

b) new world order where the elite managed to get together and forum world new currency back by gold SDR
then the cycle repeat itself for another 5-20 years.

c) Or WW3 lah.
food has more value than gold lah.

or sudden appearance of attractive class of investment
d) e.g suddenly double storey house in Bangsar become 300K, you sell all your gold buy bangsar house or
e) Maybank share = RM1.

hongchai888
post Oct 21 2011, 08:25 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

Gold and USD also rocket up, anyone know why?
smokymcpot
post Oct 21 2011, 08:42 PM

1,171 posts

Anyone here interested in getting a 5g PAMP bar? Selling it for RM950. If you want pictures, feel free to PM me to discuss further on biggrin.gif
bigwolf
post Oct 21 2011, 09:51 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 21 2011, 10:23 AM)
Used to be, Silver was 8 dollars. Used to be Silver was less than 20 dollars. Even when Silver was less than 20 dollars it made over 1 dollar moves. Now Silver is over 30 dollars, what is 40 cents? What is 80 cents? 40 cents is less than 1.5%, 80 cents is less than 3%! So 40 cents is just a small movement, completely irrelevant to the big picture.
dude, i was trying to make an emphasis on market manipulation but i noticed you gave no answer to that but instead keep harping about that crash word, wassap? aiyohhh if that is so unacceptable for you then sorry lah, i should not mention 'crash' lah. i should have mentioned 'silver just made an insignificant tiny little dip that was a barely noticeable 0.40'. happy now? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Oct 21 2011, 09:56 PM
kevyeoh
post Oct 21 2011, 10:00 PM

4,721 posts

thanks Goldchan...

good points and inputs there...i will take it and try to understand further...

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Oct 21 2011, 05:40 PM)
In the period prior to 2001, there are still plenty of oil, so you can focus on growth such as property , stocks, etc.

No more oil then economy grow will slow down. The only way is to print $$ to support the economy, to keep politician elected, to keep things going until suddenly everything collapse. As long as they print $, gold will go up. Up to maybe USD5000/oz. in 2014-2015
everything sucks, stock, property, etc. Even precious metal sucks especially if you have brought at USD49/oz or USD1900/oz for gold

For gold to go down,
a) some of the printed $$$ must disappeared quickly. To do that while having your government elected etc is almost impossible.
so inflate or die.

or

b) new world order where the elite managed to get together and forum world new currency back by gold  SDR
then the cycle repeat itself for another 5-20 years.

c) Or WW3 lah.
food has more value than gold lah.

or sudden appearance of attractive class of investment
d) e.g suddenly double storey house in Bangsar  become 300K, you sell all your gold buy bangsar house or
e) Maybank share = RM1.
eXTaTine
post Oct 21 2011, 11:24 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Oct 21 2011, 09:51 PM)
dude, i was trying to make an emphasis on market manipulation but i noticed you gave no answer to that but instead keep harping about that crash word, wassap? aiyohhh if that is so unacceptable for you then sorry lah, i should not mention 'crash' lah. i should have mentioned 'silver just made an insignificant tiny little dip that was a barely noticeable 0.40'. happy now? shakehead.gif
So you mean every time silver drops it is market manipulation? Every asset rises and falls, how can you claim market manipulation unless you have a good reason to believe so? Assuming even if there was market manipulation, it does not mean every dip is due to market manipulation, it would more likely be the normal market movement. I already addressed this before but you ignored it.
mingophoria
post Oct 22 2011, 12:19 AM

128 posts

maybe also due to margin call... so they sell out their commodities to get money~

Added on October 22, 2011, 12:26 amgold sharp increase coz libya has been liberated... got extra gold in the market d

This post has been edited by mingophoria: Oct 22 2011, 12:26 AM
keii-kun
post Oct 22 2011, 12:50 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Oct 22 2011, 12:19 AM)
maybe also due to margin call... so they sell out their commodities to get money~

Added on October 22, 2011, 12:26 amgold sharp increase coz libya has been liberated... got extra gold in the market d
got extra supply would make price go down. in reported news previously mentioned gaddafi had sold off significant amount of reserve within libua market to pay govt servant from rioting.

whatever movement or price is anyone's profit or loss. as long he can have a good night sleep. i know i have. invest what you can afford and always open for a life lesson. just move on laugh.gif
bigwolf
post Oct 22 2011, 01:09 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 21 2011, 11:24 PM)
So you mean every time silver drops it is market manipulation? Every asset rises and falls, how can you claim market manipulation unless you have a good reason to believe so? Assuming even if there was market manipulation, it does not mean every dip is due to market manipulation, it would more likely be the normal market movement. I already addressed this before but you ignored it.
Please do not put words into people's mouth. It is a very rude thing to do. Nowhere did I claimed every drop is due to manipulation.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142405...2689573902.html

I believe I asked a reasonable question about JPM & if Wynter Benton is real or not. You basically went ballistic without elaborating or presenting any facts as to why you think there should be no manipulation.

I shall now stop replying to this pointless argument as it serves no purpose other than semantics.

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Oct 22 2011, 01:17 AM
chef
post Oct 22 2011, 01:56 AM

350 posts

Actually, quite a few veteran believe that the market is being manipulated. and JP morgan name keeps coming up. it's not just us who suspect some form of conspiracy, but many in the states and in the market think so too, but there's nothing any of us can do about.

So small fry like us just trade carefully and don't get caught in the process.

chef
cherroy
post Oct 22 2011, 04:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Oct 21 2011, 05:40 PM)

For gold to go down,
so inflate or die.

Economy slowdown is not because lack of oil.
Economy slowdown is because people are spending beyond their meant last time, now payback time.
There are enough oil around to support the economy.
We don't face any shortage of oil even during oil peak around USD150.
There are enough untapped oil for the rest 40-50 years without much problem, just how oil price dictated whether people interested to dig out those untapped marginal oil field, deep sea one.

Also,
Economy slowdown is not because lack of money around.
Economy slowdown is because people have no confidence to put the money into work.
Trillions of cash are sitting at sideline, in bank account that yield zero interest.
Even Apple alone has 70+ billion cash reserves, and many other big corporate has significant cash level, even locally, most well run company has ample of cash level generally.

Print money is to push the economy going, but corporate only willing to expand if they have confidence about the future growth.
And confidence cannot be built instantly through money printing.
Money printing inflated price and pushing hard on those idle cash to do something, in theory go to buy asset, investment, or expand the business due to cheap funding, but we have the result, corporate still want to have cash sitting idle due to previous fear of 2008 crisis.

eXTaTine
post Oct 22 2011, 04:58 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Oct 22 2011, 01:09 AM)
Please do not put words into people's mouth. It is a very rude thing to do. Nowhere did I claimed every drop is due to manipulation.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142405...2689573902.html

I believe I asked a reasonable question about JPM & if Wynter Benton is real or not. You basically went ballistic without elaborating or presenting any facts as to why you think there should be no manipulation.

I shall now stop replying to this pointless argument as it serves no purpose other than semantics.
Hmm, shall I just put your post here for reference?

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Oct 20 2011, 11:18 PM)
Good points there. But 1 thing though, as you said, news & technical analysis can't give the whole picture and also which direction (up or down?) it will go. We might also want to consider manipulation by the big players (JPM? That story true or not ar?). Take yesterday & today for example, out of the blue or based on the slightest rumor gold & silver crashed like crazy. Even as I'm typing this silver just crashed 0.40. Were there news of 8 thousand tons gold motherlode discovery? Were there news of alternative cheap technology that replaces silver for industrial use? If not then why the crash? If this is not manipulation, then I don't know what is.

For me I only invest in gold long term with money that I can afford to lose. For those that I can't afford to lose, I put into safer & less risky investments. I'm not a smart trader coz I'm not that smart, period  biggrin.gif  That's because for all I know, by trying to trade smart I might end up keep on buying high and selling low and losing even more money. Hey, although can afford to lose, its still better to profit than lose ma

Therefore, I shall hold and wait for that "n years" to recover the loss. Unless someone can show me a better alternative that's worth enough to even liquidate my gold holdings at a loss now?  icon_idea.gif
Erm, did you consider that it could be normal market volatility? Did you consider the fact that Silver is extremely volatile? Did you consider the fact that Silver has been range bound on the top at 33dollars and 28 at the bottom lately, and that the drop from Tuesday was due to the fact that silver failed to break through resistance? It wasn't only silver that dropped, gold and a whole bunch of metals dropped, but to you, it is manipulation.

One forummer here said that 40c/80c used to be a big movement. Excuse me, since when? 10 years ago when silver was 5 dollars? Let me check to see when the daily range was less then 80c this year. Wait a min, it's every single trading day, it has exceeded it!

And nowhere did I say that Silver was not manipulated, I just said you can't just cry foul every single time. Do you think the guys at JPM have nothing better to do than to plot to crash the silver market every single day? No, if they wanted to crash it, they would do it during major events to prevent the spike, not when the market is basically a snooze fest and the eurozone news is basically at a stalemate.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Oct 22 2011, 04:59 PM
SUSbuysell
post Oct 22 2011, 07:22 PM

592 posts

...gold(go) figure wink.gif believe it or not my horoscope said this year no matter where I invest gold, silver, stock, business will not gain profit. I don't believe and I tried and now I know the truth oh, got to accept the fact and life move on.
chef
post Oct 23 2011, 12:12 AM

350 posts

Well guys,

here's the debate that went on recently and it's worth watching. If GATA is so firm on their prediction, I think gold and silver is really heading towards explosive growth in a years time, minus all heavy "manipulation" and we should be on the right track.

Here's the link from kitco :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hnIqE1_ZGU...player_embedded

Enjoy and do share if you catch some important phrase that we all should "listen carefully" to, I want to stress the last part where both experts are doing their prediction of the price in 1 years time.

chef

PS hey buysell, if you are so sure you are the one affecting the money making opportunity for gold and silver, could we kindly ask you to hands off PM so the rest of us can start making money? smile.gif We will pay you for your effort of not investing in PM. ha ha..... just kidding lah, your life is in your hand, find a way around the problem. (get your wife or family member to buy on your behalf smile.gif

This post has been edited by chef: Oct 23 2011, 12:15 AM
jeff_ckf
post Oct 23 2011, 08:19 AM

857 posts

Greetings fellow gold bugs, am just wondering where do most of you purchase your physical gold? Is it safe to purchase off eBay? I know most of you go for UOB but it's not readily available not to mention I'm not from KL so it makes matters even harder. Any other alternative?

Are there a lot of fakes on Pamp gold bars? Thanks guys smile.gif
junhaussen
post Oct 23 2011, 10:37 AM

73 posts

EU Summit outcome on Sunday and Wednesday will make next week trade interesting. - ga

This post has been edited by junhaussen: Oct 23 2011, 10:39 AM
echoesian
post Oct 23 2011, 10:56 AM

3,294 posts

UOB KL Main has ran out of gold bullions, I just went there last 2 days ago
bigwolf
post Oct 23 2011, 11:40 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 23 2011, 10:56 AM)
UOB KL Main has ran out of gold bullions, I just went there last 2 days ago
for the past 6 months UOB KL Main has always been out of gold bullions laugh.gif
tcken
post Oct 23 2011, 12:47 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 22 2011, 04:11 PM)
Economy slowdown is not because lack of oil.
Economy slowdown is because people are spending beyond their meant last time, now payback time.
There are enough oil around to support the economy.
We don't face any shortage of oil even during oil peak around USD150.
There are enough untapped oil for the rest 40-50 years without much problem, just how oil price dictated whether people interested to dig out those untapped marginal oil field, deep sea one.

Also,
Economy slowdown is not because lack of money around.
Economy slowdown is because people have no confidence to put the money into work.
Trillions of cash are sitting at sideline, in bank account that yield zero interest.
Even Apple alone has 70+ billion cash reserves, and many other big corporate has significant cash level, even locally, most well run company has ample of cash level generally.

Print money is to push the economy going, but corporate only willing to expand if they have confidence about the future growth.
And confidence cannot be built instantly through money printing.
Money printing inflated price and pushing hard on those idle cash to do something, in theory go to buy asset, investment, or expand the business due to cheap funding, but we have the result, corporate still want to have cash sitting idle due to previous fear of 2008 crisis.
good point you made bro! Btw, so the conclusion is does it safe to do gold investment? smile.gif

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:07 PM