10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

LightningFist
post Jun 18 2014, 11:55 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 18 2014, 11:45 AM)
Oz job market is bad huh?
it depends what skills you have

a local does not need to that competitive. as long as they score an average result in their degree and have an internship or two (for graduates) or have solid work experience (for others), have a pleasant demeanour, and can show some confidence and interview well, they can get pretty good jobs

you can do a lot of things here that don't require you to be top of your class with a graduate degree and half a decade of experience. you can work in admin, restaurants, schools, mines, retail etc and get paid nicely. question is would you do that if you had a job or could find a job in Malaysia that fits your 'qualifications' better.

the above is a bleak picture because this person is overseas, and not a local. how are you going to attend interviews? there are exceptions, some companies will conduct phone interviews, others will fly you in or fly their people out. most of the time though, the person who ends up getting the job was able to meet face to face with the people in charge.

the economy has also been facing low confidence levels for a few years now, and rates have been falling steadily to their now historical low since 2011. the companies hiring are those facing turnover, or growing business - and these are relatively few.

I think i read some news (not necessarily reliable, possibly conducted by academics or a similar type of researcher) that claims starting salaries are projected to fall. this is a little surprising given how inelastic salaries are, but it indicates how poor the outlook is.
LightningFist
post Jun 18 2014, 12:20 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

You guys also need to realise that not having a work visa (in most cases, a permanent work visa) is the biggest hurdle. There is plenty of labour supply for this slow economy. Why waste time and effort to bring someone in from overseas, or bring someone in who might hop off home at any moment? The instances when they hire foreign students without permanent visas are when these people stand a very good chance of acquiring such a visa on their own, and have shown commitment and potential beyond that of the local candidates they are up against. I'd say unless you're a CEO or some rare breed of scientist or engineer, it's very unlikely you'll be brought in from outside as an experienced hire, without your own permanent work visa and ability to attend interviews on-site.

Getting your own visa isn't that hard. But after that you need to find a job - and the 'right job' for you could be harder to get than the visa itself.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 18 2014, 12:06 PM)
Thanks for this info!

This is really the question, isn't it?
Another thing is that Aus allows foreign Aus grads up to 2 years to work there. Strange that. Since the job market is rather bleak at the moment?
That's a fairly new rule. They made students acknowledge that they were entering Australia temporarily for the purposes of study, only. Unfortunately I got here just before that, so that doesn't apply to me. Those rules are very lax because they have no skill requirement at all and let you stay even longer than the previous rules. It makes zero sense if your aim is to defend local jobs... but it makes studying here very attractive.
LightningFist
post Jun 19 2014, 09:47 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jun 19 2014, 09:31 AM)
Since you have such a great career in malaysia, suggest you better don't come to Oz. Migration may be good to some but not all. My good friend at 1st wanted to migrate here but he has huge business in hand with few big house and nice car. Got time to play golf. Simply earning his own salary at 20k (after deduct all company expenses; wife working other business somemore) I told him to stay in malaysia for time being coz if he sell off everything just to come over might not appropriate. I would say Oz is good for employee providing with a good job and good pay but not good for bosses as tax killing. Every employees got minimum wages need to settle.
He's pretty lucky not in West malaysia but in East so no traffic issue.
yeah, definitely true. at that level of comfort it's not worth selling everything to come here. leaving behind extended family, business connections and partnerships.

this kind of person is likely to be directly affected by political instability (they are running their own business after all) than regular employees. however they also probably have the wealth to be able to weather the storm. what i'm saying is whatever happens, they will be unscratched at the end of it.

for the younger people, you will be the ones who change the country for better or worse. but you might not be able to do it without money and some grip on power, however loose. sad to say, the quickest way to get this will be to head overseas, while maintaining and building on your Malaysian connections - just look at all the examples in recent times.

younger people have less to lose (business, family, etc) and have more time to make mistakes. basically Australia is still open, if you have what it takes. there are many other countries as well. go forth, prosper, then fix what is broken. pay in Australia is already a lot if you don't spend like crazy and turn it into ringgit when you get back, and there are even some graduate jobs that pay 100k out of school... now imagine if you spent 15k-20k, and paid 25k in tax, that's at least 55k AUD or 165k MYR you can save in your first year alone, that's more than many people make even at the end of their careers. of course many people only make half or 3/4 of this in their first job but you can see where I'm going with this.
LightningFist
post Jun 19 2014, 11:16 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Jun 19 2014, 10:17 AM)
Just lodged my PR and paid the fees for me wife and kid, awaiting grant soon.

By the way the new list is out, and no occupations removed also some added as chef, brik layer, wall and floor tiler plus a few others.

same with the CSOL list by states. those intending should give it a try as there could be an increase in visa fees.

By the way i didnt use an agent just followed the instructions by the Aus Immi website, started process in dec 13 and now june 14 expecting PR.

Anyone need some guidence willing to help ...just post them questions here
great job

if you started the process in Dec 13 and lodged now, that means the EOI invite and assessment process took a while?

although if you just lodged, i'm not sure that you'll be granted the visa that soon. maybe dependent on luck and how organised your application was
LightningFist
post Jun 30 2014, 06:42 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Jun 30 2014, 06:08 PM)
You already got PR?
she mentioned that she would be employer-sponsored. very very lucky in this case - because it looks like she is still a young professional, and foreigners without buckets full of experience usually do not get sponsored, especially if you are coming from an Asian background (very different market compared to Australian, New Zealand, or Northern European environments).
LightningFist
post Jul 1 2014, 12:26 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 30 2014, 08:47 PM)
Thanks guys. The average waiting time after lodgement ranges from 3 to 6 months. All my documents were front-loaded (inclusive of medical), hoping for a direct grant.

I have applied under 221213 External Auditor with sponsorship from Queensland.
question for you, hope you can help me out

what I did was I just did my medical via My Health Dec, before lodging anything (this is for a TR but its application process works almost like a GSM PR)

and after doing my medical it caused some complication in the online system where i can't apply online for the visa

i did call immi to ask for help (that's how i know the reason for the error) but it's been 2 weeks and i don't think the issue has been fixed

not returning to AUS for a few days and can't lodge anything until I am onshore, yet I would like the problem resolved as I start work when I get back and may not have time to make long phone calls

any advice?

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 30 2014, 09:58 PM)
SAP consultant in Australia is pretty rare especially for those high experienced. Not many companies willing to pay that high salary for SAP consultant and job market also quite low too. I went through Seek few times and quite often see the employers looking for SAP related job with willing to provide sponsorship
I see, not very familiar with this industry
LightningFist
post Jul 1 2014, 07:46 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 1 2014, 08:55 AM)
What kinda complication in your online application you're referring to? Are both systems linked? When I lodge my application, I am still required to key in my HAP ID manually.
Thanks for replying.

The complication is an error message saying "you can't apply for this visa online" and basically I'm stuck at a page in the middle, which is 20% progress (now I can't get to 100% or the last page, even tho I could before).

There is the box to key in the HAP ID, which I have, and I think that might be causing the issue. Maybe they are not linked or it is a related error.

If it's not resolved I could try submitting without an HAP ID - when I am back in the country - but this might not be ideal.

QUOTE(jessie86my @ Jul 1 2014, 11:02 AM)
Is that really very tough to get working visa sponsored? Yes, I think my case is very lucky but I never think of migration at this age, was thinking to migrate few years later after 30 years old. So it is a bit sudden for me.
Yes it is. Consider yourself very lucky. I may not know a lot about your industry or field of work, but it doesn't sound (to me) like a highly specialised and technical field of work requiring many years of training like cardiology, nuclear engineering, etc. Then again, bricklayer, chef etc are on the list. But the point is that whether it is on the list or not, bringing someone in from overseas is very risky (you may leave anytime as you have few roots in Australia) and presents hassle (time, money, uncertainty and trouble for the visa).

No offence meant to your profession, my job is also office-based and if you're smart you can be qualified in just a few years after your degree. Your age (quite young) also proves that you did not need that much field or work experience. Whereas if someone in Australia needed a pediatric neurosurgeon but was unable to find one then the need to make the effort to get a foreigner is more obvious.
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 12:29 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 1 2014, 10:04 PM)
Actually it is quite technical.
I see. But then again, given the young age in this case, I don't think the level of skill/training required would make for an unavailable resource in the country.

Calling a programmer a mathematician is stretching things a bit I think... I don't know that much about IT, clearly, but I do know a thing or two about Maths.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 1 2014, 10:07 PM)
So the SOL list never really changed?
Nope. I think the official post from Immigration was dated the 16th (but sometimes it only surfaces a few days later).

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 1 2014, 11:39 PM)
Would you be able to proceed if the HAP ID field been left blank? Could be a bug though.
I wasn't able to try this yet because I am outside Aus - leaving it blank for now just says 'you can't be identified' which might have something to do with my passport info (tracking). Will try again shortly, leaving the HAP out might let me proceed, but with the medical looking inconsistent. The alternative would be a paper application but I don't want to risk that - it might be easier to just leave out the medical first, since many people either have a prior medical or do it after being asked. I just did it right before because I thought that would help things, not screw with it.

Just surprised that doing the medical messed with things because the instructions on the site was to do the medical before submitting anything. Anxious but concerned I don't have the time to fix this.
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 01:43 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 2 2014, 01:16 AM)
For SAP specialists, they're quite rare actually. I can count the amount of locals good at SAP with 1 hand here in Brisbane. Plus you'd think that Geologists, Rock techs and Engineers are pretty common but Weatherford, Schlumberger and Halliburton have been bringing in people with 1 or 2 years post grad experience in on sponsored visas. I'm friends with quite a few of these people laugh.gif

There is no uni course for SAP and due to the cost of training, it's much easier to just poach people from overseas sometimes who have already been trained. Much like how professional drilling, fraccing and secondary recovery courses only entail 2 weeks of formal training and 2 years of field experience, but pay absurd amounts of money.

SAP people generally have to be quite strong in the math department as programming data and trending analysis in SAP requires pretty in depth math especially when it comes to statistics and customer requirements for interpretation. Some may opt to use a "package" but most big clients will opt for custom functions. Nothing harder than 2 year uni math at least, but still out of general IT boundaries.

Plus your math isn't like computer math tongue.gif Example of low level comp math: You can the answer of 4x4 via 2 ways, MUL or using ADD the number "4" 3 times, but if you're going to use add 3 times, you might need more cycles and branches, but if your architecture is RISC based, it might be a better solution. Then you still have to calculate the amount of cache hits and probabilities going back to the memory and so on.

Age and general experience are moot in some industries. She's lucky she chose a good field. I'm unlucky because I didn't choose to do CSWIP and earn 1000 AUD a day with 1 year of working experience. When I was a kid I thought a BEng would bring in a shit load of money. Silly me  laugh.gif
I thought a BEng still does smile.gif

1000 a day... who would've thought!
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 12:09 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 2 2014, 07:46 AM)
Should have done Petrol Eng or even better Mining Eng. 100k fresh grad money. Not bad at all.

But the reality is that you study for 4 years, then come out to the market and realize that you make less than half of what a welding inspector, telemetry/instro tech or driller make and they're still younger than you. It isn't like overburden drilling or kill sheets are rocket science, but people get paid a lot for it.
I think most people have always known about Petro Eng. Some people have been expecting a decline in Petro for some time now (and more recently, Mining) but I guess it hasn't really hit or didn't hit as hard.

Don't see many drawbacks... but it feels like high risk, high reward. In the sense that there are maybe not that many of those high paying jobs out there... or maybe there are?
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 03:42 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 2 2014, 02:14 PM)
Well, this is usually the month where you go all mad with receipts. Claim everything mang.

I'm doing the same here and aiming to compile all my logbooks and receipts for an August return.
Even Petro eng is a bit of a hit or miss. The money is in reservoir modelling, cementing, completions and so on. If you happen to be just a normal project eng or a production eng, it's highly likely you won't be making outrageous money.

Instrumentation is a simple job. Pays about a grand a day. As long as you know up to hook up a few wires and run a Beamex MC60 calibrator, which isn't rocket science, you get paid. But you must be certified and licensed. Same with EEHA technicians, electrical inspectors and so on. All don't need a degree.

Wouldn't say its high risk. Nobody has actually died in the industry this past financial year.
Hit and miss - that's what I meant by high risk. If you invest your time in Petro Eng then end up without a closely related job, or something with fair rewards.
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 05:51 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 2 2014, 04:17 PM)
Well in a sense a lot of degrees are like that. But I guess even worst grad petroleum eng job is still better paying that the best of many fields. I guess industry exposure has changed my view on tertiary education.

TBH my mother wanted me to do actuarial science like you. I was like fark no I'm shit at mathematics, I'll do engineering, sounds cool and has no mathematics.

I wasn't the brightest kid at age 18  laugh.gif
yup, it does sound like petro eng is pretty good in that way

i feel like actuarial is very much hit and miss, on top of that i don't know who came up with that 'high paying' rhetoric

and yeah, i don't think many engineering students in Australia do a lot of maths... I guess over there you can't really assume engineers are good at maths anymore... enviro eng, comp eng, software eng, and i'm guessing a lot of eng is more science and physics, with computational aspects, than maths
LightningFist
post Jul 2 2014, 09:01 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 2 2014, 06:23 PM)
Well, I kept hearing that actuarial pays well, but I can't keep my fingers still for more than 10 minutes. Thus an office position was never suited to my temperament. But I've always toyed with the idea of doing econs or finance for the heck of it.

To say that Eng students lack math is a tad off the target. Most eng students will the equivalent of a year 2 math major if you follow UQ's structure. The difference is the eng math is focused. A EnE will never learn about chaotic/dynamical mathematics, electricity for all means and purposes is predictable. But a mechanical will never do complex and nodal analysis. And so on. 

Either way, glad I don't have to do it these days. We'll let the egg heads with PhDs figure that crap out laugh.gif
haha

well you could always try your hand at trading... your head and your fingers will never be still again

trading is fairly meritocratic... and usually there exists the notion that trading skills are unique and not highly transferable to other careers in finance
LightningFist
post Jul 4 2014, 02:30 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(jessie86my @ Jul 3 2014, 06:34 PM)
Yes, I think living expenses in Sydney is really high especially when I look at the accommodation and public transport is not cheap. That's why I was confused..
what is your idea of weekly expenses?

Cost of living is high but many people exaggerate. Personally I feel that Malaysia can be characterized by low income (on average), expensive to own urban housing, but affordable or relatively cheap goods, whereas food in Australia is cheap though housing is expensive. When someone has lived and worked in Australia and Malaysia, he/she can compare the income level, expenses, overall quality of life, working hours and attitudes etc. One-sided or second-hand accounts are not reliable.

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 3 2014, 09:47 PM)
If you want to finish work on the dot, there's no place like oil and gas. Working the field for more than your allowed time is grounds for dismissal due to safety laugh.gif

In my old workplace I used to do 8 to 3 lol. Days off were whenever you bloody wanted em. Most times the boss would say fark it, we won't take it out of your annual.
hehe sounds like uni life (ulu place uni, not Sydney or Melbourne), except you're rich
LightningFist
post Jul 4 2014, 11:18 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jul 4 2014, 09:16 AM)
I particularly enjoy the culture where I can go out for a coffee in the morning and afternoon, and nip to the gym in the afternoon, and have some flexibility with my work hours.

That said, overall I work longer hours as I'm still responding to emails etc when I'm outside the office.  It's not an issue though as I have controls over my time so it's not stressful,even if I have to do that. 

It's one aspect of Australia that I really enjoy compared to UK.
that's nice to know

if I responded to emails outside of the office, I would hardly count that as work - though in my role/type of work, much of it needs to be done on a computer in an office, it's not possible to accomplish much with only email

also I think in Malaysia if you respond to emails outside the office no one really appreciates it that much... in Australia maybe people realise that answering emails is still working and you don't have to live in an office 24/7 - varies by type of job of course
LightningFist
post Jul 12 2014, 01:55 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Not easy to find place to rent in Syd!

Just started working here. Any Malaysians or Aussies keen to meet up if you work in city area? Like over a lunch/salad
LightningFist
post Jul 12 2014, 04:32 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 12 2014, 04:13 PM)
It is a landlord's market out there. But they're saying it will soften by mid next year as housing prices soften and it starts becoming an investor's market again.

How's the work anyway?
hope i can get a good place

work will need time getting used to smile.gif
LightningFist
post Jul 14 2014, 05:09 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(jessie86my @ Jul 13 2014, 09:07 PM)
Hello,

Is that really hard to rent a place in Sydney?

I need to rent a room in Sydney as well..
depends. I am looking for a clean place, good location for medium term. Not just a few weeks or months, and a messy dirty place.

a lot of people show up to inspections.

most of my friends are still in school. for me I am hoping to move in to a place with people on a new basis, so all move in together, rather than move to somewhere with people already living there (unless I know them). but if it comes to that I might have no choice and either find a 1 person unit or move in with people.
LightningFist
post Jul 18 2014, 10:33 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Monthly or weekly rent, what the hell is the difference? If ur contract is 6 months or 12 months ur still giving up the same $ each year
LightningFist
post Jul 19 2014, 06:45 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Jul 19 2014, 11:03 AM)
if cars are cheap, the why do I see people there driving small cars? instead of BMWs?

what about financing? They don't use HP right? They go by leases? Are the instalments more hefty and discourage buyers from buying luxury cars?
well, it feels like cars are cheap (relative to the insane prices in Malaysia, Singapore)

but BMW is BMW... you can get a used BMW

QUOTE(Yodatan @ Jul 19 2014, 04:19 PM)
6 months lease will always be more expensive than 12 month because u are locked in to the contract for a longer period with the 12 month....

think because salary is counted by fortnightly so more convenient to use the same....
that's not the point, weekly or monthly you still end up paying the same amount assuming they adjust it because not all months have the same number of weeks. in practice they may not and so monthly might represent a small benefit to the tenant.

6 mth is sometimes more expensive but not always

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0758sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:19 PM