FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?
Sep 30 2011, 08:51 PM
4,229 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
What time is SCB opened tomorrow?
Sep 30 2011, 10:21 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 30 2011, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Sep 30 2011, 03:41 PM) Ermm.....thing is..they forced me to open 2 Junior kids savings acc due to the reason different branches. The most solid reason why they wanted a Birth Certificate is that the Parent's name is shown on it.ANyone encountered else this?? Regarding the MYKID.....i did have the MYKID when i tried opening the fd at another branch...they wont let me no matter wat And you are saying u got no probs?? This HLB made me waste so much time! 1st i went to a EONBANK turned HLB bank....open acc halfway realised the interest is paid semi-annual (they accept the fact that i only have MYKID and didnt bring birthcert, tho they insisted that i bring the cert back another day). So i cancel application and went to a HLB bank, they rejected my application straight becoz i didnt bring birthcert eventho i have MYKID (eventho i already have a junior savings acc & fd with another branch). Then i came back another day...and they say i have to reopen another Junior Savings acc for this FD promo if i wan to open in this branch @@ MyKid doesn't have this particular information. With that confirmation, only then you are allowed to open a HLB Junior Savings & Junior FD for your kids. |
Sep 30 2011, 11:20 PM
2,155 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 30 2011, 10:24 PM) The most solid reason why they wanted a Birth Certificate is that the Parent's name is shown on it. yeaps i figured that out...but i already have a junior savings and fd with another branch :/MyKid doesn't have this particular information. With that confirmation, only then you are allowed to open a HLB Junior Savings & Junior FD for your kids. I asked them to request from that branch, but they say cannot ANd....the leftlet says Birthcert or mykid |
Sep 30 2011, 11:25 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 30 2011, 10:24 PM) The most solid reason why they wanted a Birth Certificate is that the Parent's name is shown on it. HL bank is the bank that their own SOP is unclear among their staffs.MyKid doesn't have this particular information. With that confirmation, only then you are allowed to open a HLB Junior Savings & Junior FD for your kids. When I tried to open up Junior FD and I told them my child has Mykad and his age. One said you need birth cert. One said you need bring the kid along. The outcome - I opened Junior FD without birth cert nor with my kid present. When come to Senior FD One said must above 55 One said above 50 The outcome - 50 is the minimum age not 55. |
Sep 30 2011, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 30 2011, 11:25 PM) HL bank is the bank that their own SOP is unclear among their staffs. awah which branch no need kid and birthcert?When I tried to open up Junior FD and I told them my child has Mykad and his age. One said you need birth cert. One said you need bring the kid along. The outcome - I opened Junior FD without birth cert nor with my kid present. When come to Senior FD One said must above 55 One said above 50 The outcome - 50 is the minimum age not 55. BTW HOR....the reason i didnt wanna open at the initial bank is becoz they are also very screwed up! Told them NOT TO follow my IC address coz thats my OLD address........ suddenly letters appear at my old house..... :/ lucky my family still staying there.... Then call customer service to change add, they say need to go branch do. Ok fine, took leave to do it at branch and made sure they change it. 1 week later called up customer service to check...walau UNCHANGED!! and say i need to go again!! Arghhh then i complain laa say so mafarn i oredi do it once now u telling me i have to do it again???!! CS told me NOTHING can be done...go back to branch! arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh fedup....haha SO this time open at another branch.....sigh, still as screwy..... maybe its just me....badluck... if its not becoz the fd and savings is attractive....i wouldnt give a hoot to this HLB...argh!! Cant blif they took over EON>..EON WAS SUCH A GOOD BANK!! now they r screwing EON together :/ sorry....venting anger |
Sep 30 2011, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Sep 30 2011, 11:34 PM) awah which branch no need kid and birthcert? If not mistaken, your MyKad address must be your current permanent address.BTW HOR....the reason i didnt wanna open at the initial bank is becoz they are also very screwed up! Told them NOT TO follow my IC address coz thats my OLD address........ suddenly letters appear at my old house..... :/ lucky my family still staying there.... Then call customer service to change add, they say need to go branch do. Ok fine, took leave to do it at branch and made sure they change it. 1 week later called up customer service to check...walau UNCHANGED!! and say i need to go again!! Arghhh then i complain laa say so mafarn i oredi do it once now u telling me i have to do it again???!! CS told me NOTHING can be done...go back to branch! arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh fedup....haha SO this time open at another branch.....sigh, still as screwy..... maybe its just me....badluck... if its not becoz the fd and savings is attractive....i wouldnt give a hoot to this HLB...argh!! Cant blif they took over EON>..EON WAS SUCH A GOOD BANK!! now they r screwing EON together :/ sorry....venting anger Good for GE voting also... This post has been edited by ronnie: Sep 30 2011, 11:38 PM |
Sep 30 2011, 11:39 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Sep 30 2011, 11:34 PM) awah which branch no need kid and birthcert? It is in Penang Tesco HL Branch.BTW HOR....the reason i didnt wanna open at the initial bank is becoz they are also very screwed up! Told them NOT TO follow my IC address coz thats my OLD address........ suddenly letters appear at my old house..... :/ lucky my family still staying there.... Then call customer service to change add, they say need to go branch do. Ok fine, took leave to do it at branch and made sure they change it. 1 week later called up customer service to check...walau UNCHANGED!! and say i need to go again!! Arghhh then i complain laa say so mafarn i oredi do it once now u telling me i have to do it again???!! CS told me NOTHING can be done...go back to branch! arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh fedup....haha SO this time open at another branch.....sigh, still as screwy..... maybe its just me....badluck... if its not becoz the fd and savings is attractive....i wouldnt give a hoot to this HLB...argh!! Cant blif they took over EON>..EON WAS SUCH A GOOD BANK!! now they r screwing EON together :/ sorry....venting anger Agreed with you if not because of the attractive rate, I wont open an account there too |
Sep 30 2011, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 30 2011, 11:37 PM) If not mistaken, your MyKad address must be your current permanent address. Really ahh?? Hmm.....didnt know that.....@@Good for GE voting also... u sure ahh? Liddat if i change permenant address (lets say if i rent house) everyyear...i have to change IC every year? Added on September 30, 2011, 11:49 pm QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 30 2011, 11:39 PM) It is in Penang Tesco HL Branch. HMmmm.....really not consistent Agreed with you if not because of the attractive rate, I wont open an account there too My visits to HLB so many times dunno worth or not the interest i am getting liddat Oh btw....the bank clerk asked me 3 TIMES how many years i wanna put....i told her 2 years...... when the printout came....... 1 year!! ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH is it a sign..... This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Sep 30 2011, 11:49 PM |
Oct 1 2011, 12:49 AM
18,410 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 30 2011, 12:50 PM) I agree with based on the SCB Website's T&C... From my understanding of the t&C, once you sign up as a new customer in oct2011, you are considered new customer for the entire promo period of oct2011 to dec2011.But come 1 Nov 2011, won't your account becomes "Existing Customer" from "New-to-Bank Customer" ? |
Oct 1 2011, 01:24 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Oct 1 2011, 08:41 AM
589 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
I walked into SCB to open eSaver account yesterday. But the 5% interest promotion will only started today. Filled out all the forms and have to go again today to get the a/c no.
There is no fee and also you don't need to take the ATM card if you don't want it. The only thing is that they started on Saturday that you can't get you money out to deposit into your esaver account. Cheque payment will only be counted as deposit after it has cleared. If you want to deposit big money in, you can only do it on Monday. |
Oct 1 2011, 09:42 AM
4,229 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
Oct 1 2011, 01:57 PM
just opened the SCB eSaver to take advantage of the 5% p.a. Offer. The food at Puchong branch is so-so only.
as long as you don't touch money deposited within Oct to Dec, you will get 5% similar to FD. The ATM debit card is OPTIONAL. SCB Puchong branch wont take big cash deposit, as lack of security. All SCB will open every Sat for these promo. |
Oct 1 2011, 02:02 PM
1,039 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Malaka |
QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 1 2011, 01:57 PM) just opened the SCB eSaver to take advantage of the 5% p.a. Offer. The food at Puchong branch is so-so only. let say i deposit rm3k, for three month i will only get rm37++ rite? izzit consider high compared to other bank?as long as you don't touch money deposited within Oct to Dec, you will get 5% similar to FD. The ATM debit card is OPTIONAL. SCB Puchong branch wont take big cash deposit, as lack of security. All SCB will open every Sat for these promo. |
Oct 1 2011, 02:06 PM
584 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
I just checked with SC today on the spot. RM3K min to open ac today. The min amount goes up day by day until end Oct. Anyone has the same feedback?
Oct 1 2011, 02:06 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Sep 30 2011, 11:46 PM) Really ahh?? Hmm.....didnt know that.....@@ Update address only cost RM2, but still the same old IC. If u want it displayed then need new IC at RM10u sure ahh? Liddat if i change permenant address (lets say if i rent house) everyyear...i have to change IC every year? Added on September 30, 2011, 11:49 pm HMmmm.....really not consistent My visits to HLB so many times dunno worth or not the interest i am getting liddat Oh btw....the bank clerk asked me 3 TIMES how many years i wanna put....i told her 2 years...... when the printout came....... 1 year!! ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH is it a sign..... |
Oct 1 2011, 02:41 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(ResQ @ Oct 1 2011, 02:02 PM) let say i deposit rm3k, for three month i will only get rm37++ rite? izzit consider high compared to other bank? currently no banks offering 5% interest.QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 1 2011, 01:57 PM) just opened the SCB eSaver to take advantage of the 5% p.a. Offer. The food at Puchong branch is so-so only. Wah, first time I hear Bank don't want accept cash. Must be the chief cashier on leave.as long as you don't touch money deposited within Oct to Dec, you will get 5% similar to FD. The ATM debit card is OPTIONAL. SCB Puchong branch wont take big cash deposit, as lack of security. All SCB will open every Sat for these promo. If you add money into account in November and December, the amount also gets interest 5% right? Anyway I also found out that besides the E$aver account, the Islamic Savings Account also entitled to the 5%. As for the Salary Savings account, have to top up RM1K every month. So you can have 3 account earning 5% interest. Not only that, SCB can offer FD higher than 3.6% for 12 months. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 1 2011, 02:45 PM |
Oct 1 2011, 03:09 PM
@kwokwah: As long as the ADB is minimum RM3k for each month Oct to Dec, you get the 5% interest
@Gen-X : it makes sense to open 3 accounts if you have RM1.5million to earn 5% from this promotion. Each account's max ADB = RM500k This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 1 2011, 10:40 PM |
Oct 1 2011, 05:04 PM
584 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
SC T&C requires a min of "ADB" of 3K throughout Oct (31 days). It means that if you deposit 3K on 1/10/11 and maintain it for 31 days,it's OK. If you open the account on 11/10/11 then you need 4.4286K. That is 4.4286 x 21/31=3. If you open the ac on 31/10/11 and it'll be 93K. Wah lau !
Better be quick if you want to take advantage of the promo. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:32 PM |