FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

wongmunkeong
post May 21 2011, 06:29 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 21 2011, 05:38 PM)
Wrong.

Interest rate is not depended by stock market.

Interest rate level is determined by central bank due to economy environment.

In fact, stock market crash or flying to sky is not affecting the decision on interest rate.

But it is the other way round, if interest rate is too high, it can crash the stock market.
Yup yup - the evil / good interest rate (OPR) controlled by BNM / Feds / Central Bank affects Bonds, Equities (REITs, Properties & "normal" stocks), FD & MM.
Me thinks if one can become an expert in the exact +ve / -ve correlation of interest rate to all these - fatt tatt man (with lowered risks too).

Correct me if i'm mistaken, generally i've found that:

With low interest rate (assuming managing low inflation):
Equities do very well
Bonds do better than FD

With mid interest rate (assuming managing mid inflation):
Equities do better than Bonds
Bonds and FD near equal

With high interest rate (assuming managing high inflation):
Equities does bad except for commodities
Bonds do worse than FD

Sorry but i'm not a gold bug. Personally, it's just another form of $ - i'm more interested in Assets that generate $, thus perhaps it can fit into one of the asset classes (commodities/metals?).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 21 2011, 06:33 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 22 2011, 08:19 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 22 2011, 12:05 AM)
Not that 100% right, although one may find general it is the case.  smile.gif

First of all, we must understand, a level of interest rate is due to economy situation and central banks stand on the situation.
Even on high inflation situation, central bank can be very hawkish or just take a mild stand on it. So outcome of equities can be different, even though you have same inflation situation.

Equities generally doing well if situation favourable, as it is being exposed to higher risk.
Equities risk is not only economy or interest rate, equities also being exposed to mis-management, specific uncompetitive a particular industry or particular listed company, fraud etc.

You can have low interest rate environment which in theory equities should do well, but you can make a loss in equities market, due to specific issue happen on equities market, or specific listed company.

FD exposure is the lowest, it will get you low return, no matter how economy situation, most of the time, it won't able to outperform.
Bond is the mid exposure, it generally provide a little better than FD, if situation is stable or ok.
Equities is the one can yield good return, but high to risk exposure.

Each period of economy has different kind of situation, and different central bank, or different central bank controlling management group may have different approach.
Interest level low or high has lot of influence factor.
While equities, bond and FD is the receiving end of those policy, and equities is reacting to economy situation, instead of interest rate, although interest rate does have some influence on equities, just it is not as big as economy.

I hope it clears the concept.
Equities is all about economy. (Equities can boom with high interest rate as well, just like KLSE had super bull run eventhoug interest rate level was 6-8% during early 90's)
Bond is all about interest rate environment.
Yup, understand & agreed. It's not 1:1 perfect correlation (-ve / +ve) for interest rate to equities, though Cherroy, 6% to 8% in the early 90's isn't "high" interest rate, IMHO comparatively. If i remember correctly, in the 80's (golden bull run or some may say irrational exuberance) FDs were giving 12% to 13%+ drool.gif. That was really out of whack - high FD and super stock market bull run. rclxub.gif

Please do note that i'm just generalizing, without putting in the equation of systemic and specific risks of each equity - if we go into that, we'll have to add things like sector rotation analysis, cap size, etc. - heavy stuff notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 22 2011, 10:25 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ May 22 2011, 10:13 AM)
Interest rates were also 12%-13% during the Asian Financial crisis in 1998 because there was a shortage of money in the system.
Hi WirelessDude - er.. 1997-1998 had 12%-13% FD interest rate meh? Sorry ar - i'm referring to 1980s FD rate, maybe there's a typo somewhere in my previous post
wongmunkeong
post May 22 2011, 06:36 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 22 2011, 06:29 PM)
3.05% from MBB and CIMB.
Guys, U may want to check out this little known thing - MBSB owned by EPF (er.. havent checked in a while whether still is or not). Their FDs are usually higher than "normal" banks.
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits_fixed.html

History
The origin of Malaysia Building Society Berhad (MBSB) can be traced back to the Federal and Colonial Building Society Limited incorporated in 1950. In 1956, it changed its name to Malaya Borneo Building Society Limited (MBBS), with the Malaysian Government as its major shareholder. MBBS was then listed on the Stock Exchange of Malaysia and Singapore in August 1963.

The company became an incorporation in Malaysia under the Companies Act, 1965 on 17 March 1970, before it was listed on the Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange now Bursa Malaysia on 14 March 1972. The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) and PermodalanNasionalBerhad (PNB) are currently the major shareholders of MBSB.

MBSB has evolved in its role from being the first property financier to a financial provider that offers a spectrum of innovative products and services throughout its branch network nationwide.

MBSB is 'an Exempt Finance Company'
MBSB is defined as a Scheduled Institution under the Banking and Financial Institution Act 1989 (BAFIA). The status of an Exempt Finance Company was granted to MBSB on 1 March 1972 by the Ministry of Finance and the status has remained since. This allows MBSB to undertake a financing business in the absence of a banking license.

Historical information:

MBSB has been granted with an exemption under Section 7(4) of the Borrowing Companies Act 1969 (BCA)
As a result of the change from BCA to FCA, all references to borrowing business and borrowing company were to be construed respectively as finance business and finance company
The FCA was later repealed by Banking and Financial Institutions Act 1989 (BAFIA). As a result, all finance companies are now under purview of BAFIA
Section 128(2) of BAFIA states that all exemptions and approvals made or given under the repealed acts (FCA) shall be deemed to have been made and given under the relevant corresponding provisions of BAFIA and shall remain in force until revoked, rescinded or replaced by the corresponding provisions of BAFIA.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 22 2011, 06:37 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 16 2011, 05:33 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 16 2011, 05:30 PM)
interest rate you can earn from insurance is much higher than you can earn in FD
Bro - different tools for different needs lar. U might as well say ForEx is much higher than FD.

Insurance -
guaranteed returns = x.x%pa?
lock-in period = xx years else ?
guaranteed by gov for $xxxxxx?

wongmunkeong
post Jun 17 2011, 01:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 17 2011, 10:19 AM)
i am newbie in this. correct me if i was wrong. for life insurance, the cash bonus rate p.a you can get min is 5% depend on the insurance company performance on that year.
doh.gif newbie but making a statement instead of making an inquiry? notworthy.gif
Highly misleading - U by any chance a sales agent? tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 04:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 24 2011, 04:09 PM)
Even after 20 years compounded on 1 cent, it is not even enough to pay extra-parking fee due to longer wait in the bank...
Maybe the fellow is laddering / staggering his FDs for emergency funds storage, thus having $5K mature every week / 2-weeks / month, thus do not compromise the whole lump sum's % if forced to take out some $ from FD during an emergency biggrin.gif
OR
he's just being sarcastic brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 04:14 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 04:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 24 2011, 04:15 PM)

Added on August 24, 2011, 4:17 pm

This is quite normal for people to split FD for emergency withdraw so that do not compromise or lose of interest on whole lump sum due to premature withdrawal, but Rm1 million for 200x Rm5k FD transaction, is overly.
Maybe island mentality (kiasu & kiasi) lor.
Mana cukup, 200 days only. 1 year have 364.25 days wor and want to cover any day can cough up $5K emergency fund leh brows.gif

For a person to put $1M into FD, he must be a multi-millionaire

Mind U, i'm no multi-millionaire, thus dunno what some multi-millionaire thinks blush.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 04:36 PM

0.0682sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:53 AM