7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:15 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM)
Did your phone sitting in a casing while this thing happened?
ya... using sgp silke.

u suspect that's the cause? but i thought when press the power button, we still need to press OK to shut down or sth like that.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:22 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:23 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 09:59 AM)
the culprit behind this had resigned. most probably due to the epic failure in their lawsuit.  doh.gif
since we're on that subject...

From http://fosspatents.blogspot.com/2011/08/du...reliminary.html :
Apple would now have a much more impactful decision in its hands if it had pursued the European registration of that patent more thoroughly. Also, Samsung may be able to work around that particular patent without a huge degradation of the usability of its devices because it appears to relate to the way users flip through the pictures in a photo gallery. However, regardless of how Samsung may be able to work around this decision in Europe, it's a setback for Android, a platform that is at issue in more than 50 lawsuits worldwide. In all likelihood, the winning patent is infringed by Android itself -- not the operating system per se, but by one or more of the applications that ship with Android and without which the usefulness of Android would be impaired in one particular area (photo viewing). Apple has now obtained the first enforceable court decision (out of many lawsuits going on around the world) that finds Android to infringe an Apple patent -- and there will definitely be many more to come.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:24 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 10:34 AM)
Hi everyone.. just want to share my 3rd day using sgs2.. Battery is worst than my previous galaxy s n galaxy tab.. i fully charge my phone at 7.30am.. Now 10.30am bat now 58% already.. I turn on my 3g n wifi evrytime for whatsapp... Is this normal

the gps very good.. using papago, 10sec locked sattelite already..
turning on 3g and wifi does not mean much coz if there are no wifi network (or you didn't join), then the phone will be using 3g. 3g will consume more battery.

it also depends... you can have whatsapp on but not using it to send anything. and if you are also not receiving anything... should not consume that much battery as well.

do you have lots of apps running in the background? like FB, tweetdeck, news reader, etc... these, if set to check every 5mins... can consume a lot of battery. still... 100% @ 730 and dropping to 60% @ 1030 is a bit shocking.

quoting myself:
for those who are into statistics... it is based on some numbers i collected over a few weeks.

on average...
* charging rate over USB is at 1% for every 3 mins. it works out to about 20% per hour.
* direct charging (power socket) is at 1% for every 2 mins. so, it's about 30% per hour.

note that the above stats is based on stock rom with some processes like rss reader and tweedeck updates at every 15mins.

for idle discharging with same background process as above -- rss reader and tweetdeck set to refresh every 15mins + some incoming sms, etc but NO calls... it is about 1% every 20-30mins. can safely say that it's 2% per hour. so, overnight (hrs of sleep time), for me... i can expect the battery to drop by 15% or so...

for the idle, forgot to mention... i also have like 3-5 gmails sync (emails only).

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 10:42 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:44 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 10:40 AM)
well i think u're wrong. apple only succeeded in infringing the photobrowser apk, and lost another two. which means the lawsuit is totally failure considering the negative impact towards their public image. once samsung changed the photobrowser then the galaxy series can relaunch again (i believe) as long as there's no other shit come out from apple. the ban will only enforce starting 15 october, so there's still plenty of time for samsung to release an update for it
yup, based on the foss site... it says samsung does have ample time to modify the codes so it does not infringe the patents. and the judge was actually nice enuff to issue the decision earlier -- so more time for samsung to work on the changes.

however, the foss site also pointed out that its something that should have been shipped with android. so, theoretically speaking... apple can use the same thing and sue ALL android manufacturers.
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:45 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 10:44 AM)
Yea.. i hv viber, facebook, whatsapp, yahoo email.. but everytime i want to lock  my phone, i will always kill running apps using advanved task killer.. did my phone bat prob?if yes i want to sent to samsung..
i dunno how advanced is the advanced task killer (coz not using it)... but i know some apps come back to life on its own after u kill it.

also, i guess your phone is rooted? are you on stock/ ori ROM?
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:53 AM

7,044 posts

another observation and wanna check with other owners...

settings:
* sync with almost 5 gmail accounts. only one gmail (main account) is used to sync account, calendar, etc. the rest is just sync emails. however, during setting up of other accounts, sync could have been done for contacts, etc
* for main account, the contacts are only from one group -- My Contacts.
* using stock/ ori sammy rom

Scenario 1 (normal):
* when i click on contacts, i see the contacts which is listed in My Contacts on my main account. i believe this is normal. Other contacts (this is Google auto add based on email sent, etc) are not reflected.

Scenario 2 (not normal):
* when i click messages and then click the contact icon (to add sms recipients), the contacts listed seems to be from ALL my gmail accounts, including those without phone numbers. and since some of the gmail accounts have the same contact (email the contact from different gmail accounts, the contact can appear 2-3 times on this list.

i guess this is an Android bug? anyway for scenario 2 to only show what is in Scenario 1?

anyway for the contacts in sms to only show those from my main account?

mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 10:54 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(yjeen @ Aug 25 2011, 10:50 AM)

Added on August 25, 2011, 10:53 am

Go to your settings>Applications>battery usage and see which application is using the most percentage..maybe it can give u an idea.
ya... do this and let us know...

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 10:47 AM)
Stock.. not root... so, it is my bat fault?

Added on August 25, 2011, 10:48 amNow my bat 48% already..
oh, din know advanced task killer dun need root access.
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:03 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(madlocke @ Aug 25 2011, 10:54 AM)
i think i recalled somewhere that viber and facebook "chat" are quite draining on battery.. my im+ also, but i need msn..  sweat.gif

kill tasks or services?? tasks should be ok, but some services esp default come with samsung ones will come back after a while.. those i dont bother to kill coz closing and starting will cause even more batt drain..
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 10:55 AM)
not reli. i using social hub+viber+whatsapp, not much draining observed. well of cz i'm using wifi, if 3g will be diff story. one thing is skype reli drain like crazy. so i oni sign in if others ask me for video call wink.gif
ya, agree with Fallenangelz... viber dun really drain a lot of battery, old and new version. the newer version, supposedly wakes up only when u get incoming call/ message. or sth like that...

but ya... skype... i noticed it drains a lot.

QUOTE(madlocke @ Aug 25 2011, 10:57 AM)
oh my bad.. memory failing.. now u mention.. yeah.. not viber, it's skype..  doh.gif
could be skype... i had shared this on viber thread:
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 12 2011, 09:03 AM)
just sharing some stats based on my own experience.

phone: samsung galaxy s2. not rooted and running stock/ original Samsung ROM

at almost new condition (meaning not many apps installed and definitely dun have any apps with background services running), the idle discharge rate was about 1% for every 35 mins.

after installing more apps...
background process: tweetdeck + Google reader refreshing every 15 mins; Skype, whatsapp and Viber installed. whatsapp was not running in background while i intentionally had viber running (icon on notification bar). skype, even when it was not turned on, it was actually running in the background -- that's why in the next set of data, i uninstalled skype -- i dun like apps that starts automatically, its so malware-like... idle discharge rate at this setting was at about 1% every 15 mins.

after un-installing skype (while the other things remained just about the same), idle discharge rate was at about 1% every 20 mins. this was about the same for viber version before and after the exit button. ya, no significant change for me.

overall, my phone's idle discharge rate is at about 1% every 20-30mins.

as you can see... viber running (before and after the exit button) didn't really affect my discharge rate.
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:05 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(yjeen @ Aug 25 2011, 10:58 AM)
I'm trying to figure out the same thing too. I think it's a bug.
hmmm... i guess i m not alone.

it makes sending message to multiple recipients a bit difficult coz i got no way to know which contact (where the same name appears a few times) is the one with the phone number.

those not on stock rom... can also confirm if this happens?
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:16 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 25 2011, 11:11 AM)
I dunwana sound excessively demanding but how buggy is da current firmware/stock rom?

Flashing custom roms ( i choose to avoid this ) would the last thing in my list if i were to get this device.
for casual use, it's actually ok...

maybe you can check out my usability review.

and add another to the list... see my post above about additional contacts appearing under certain conditions (sms).
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Aug 25 2011, 11:14 AM)

Added on August 25, 2011, 11:15 amGuys, rule number one. You DO NOT need to use task manager to kill apps. I think in many forums it ahd said it burn more battery than not using it. Just saying...never used them and never had an issue with battery life though.
agree. i recall a few weeks back, there was a video by this guy from BGR about why Android don't need Task Killers... everyone should watch it.

and remember:
* Android OS is smart enough to manage your phone RAM/ memory
* RAM is meant to be used... What is the point of having 1GB RAM when you are trying to only limit the phone to using 10% of it? the other 90% keep for what?!?
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
Contacts: Menu/More - select/tick : show "Only contacts with phone numbers"
whoa... this is something new... i can see a whole lots of options.

but the thing is...
#1. the additional contacts are only appearing when i click on the head icon (contacts) inside MESSAGE. when i view my contacts via CONTACTS, i don't see the additional contacts

#2. my main account does have contacts without phone numbers. i want to also see them -- to send emails, etc...

but thanks benny888... will see what these options can do.
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:23 AM)
display 38%, internet 21%, android os 15%, wifi sharing 11%, android system 3%, angry bird, cell standby, whatsapp,facebook,maps,racing moto all 2%..

It is weird why got angry birds n racing moto.. i hv close the apps n kill them on runing services..
not sure if my understanding is correct... but from what i understand...

the stats dun mean a thing coz it gets reset when you power down the phone. so if you phone's been running and not shut down for weeks, then its a summary of battery consumption over that period.

angry birds appearing means you play a lot of it compared to others.
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(unemployed @ Aug 25 2011, 11:33 AM)
Hi dude,

im using xpax prepaid and planning to get Digi smartplan 68,

how long they will take to port in my xpax number and get the galaxy S2?

Must done in Digi Center? Online can?
not sure about online.

for me... it was maxis to digi. done a few years back. need to go shop and sign papers. i get a new sim card and it gets activated in 24hrs.

as for the phone... not sure if there's a stock issue over at digi. if you have been following the news... seems maxis always got stocks issue for sgs2.

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 25 2011, 11:30 AM)
thanks for the clarification guys

@mydragoon - I've just read ur review. Is the GMAIL problem still there?
gmail problem as in the attachment. yes... it is. it very much depends on whether Samsung wants to change that or not. i know that on the Asus Transformer tablet, i can attach pdf.

but unless you plan to really do a lot of attachments, otherwise... wait till get home and use pc.

one 'cheating' way... save the common attachments as draft. you can also forward those already in sent. this is onyl good if you are forwarding the same pdf (product brochures, forms, etc) to your contacts.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 11:42 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 11:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:18 AM)
Contacts: Menu/More - select/tick : show "Only contacts with phone numbers"
tried it out. for those wanna try out, the complete steps are: CONTACTS -- Menu -- More -- Display options.

there are many options:
* only contacts with phone
* selects contacts from the different accounts (like which gmail, viber, whatsapps, etc...)

tried them all and still the same. from MESSAGING, when you click the head icon (for contacts), the additional contacts are still appearing.

i'm beginning to suspect somehow MESSAGING is keeping another separate list of contacts.

mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 12:06 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 25 2011, 11:48 AM)
i read the review from mydragoon's blog and found that the gmail apps offer limited attachment options? only video,music and pictures. is this a permanent problem?
no one knows for sure. but is this very important? i replied to you... check my earlier post on the workarounds.

Added on August 25, 2011, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(11768 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:03 PM)
What are the average battery life for you guys?

Mine should just last approximately 20hours with some light gaming (10-15mins). Standby over night with wifi, 3g, etc off will drain around 15 to 20% of my battery.

OS Monitor shows that I had around 47 processes running on every boot. Advanced Task Manager sometime shows FMradio and some other apps automatically switched on by itself.

What's killing me is even in standby it suck my battery like vampire.

Detail:
- Using stock ROM KH3 (before that KF3, same result)
- Tried ninphetamine 2.0.5 with SetCPU and undervolt + underclock (same result)

Anyone having the same problem with me?
i posted my average about 1-2 pages back.

these days, phone is always plugged in when i'm at desk or at home. so, can't really tell anymore. i guess i could unplug it... but... lazy la. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 12:07 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 01:31 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 25 2011, 12:53 PM)
The application would eventually cost RM2 monthly beginning next year, he said.

i dun think the apps is provided by PDRM. probably some smart guy came up with the idea. why do we need to pay rm2 to call police? do i need to pay money to the police when i go to the station to make a report?

also from mobile phone... call 112 not the same?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 01:31 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 01:51 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 01:48 PM)
YES. we need to pay RM1 when filing police report  doh.gif
oh, really?!? din know that... heh heh... for what ar? to get the report? if dowan report... no charge, right?

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Aug 25 2011, 01:48 PM)
Just browse the website to get the overall idea  whistling.gif
just realised there's mention its developed by another company... hahaha... not surprised.

oh well...

hmmm... i'm wondering... any kinda malaysian developer who can also design an apps with one big red button that once pressed, sends the GPS coordinates, etc to the PDRM...? and put it in market FOC?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 01:53 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 01:58 PM

7,044 posts

b4ckside a bit itchy... so did a whois on convep.com:

ok la... i dun wanna know anymore...

Added on August 25, 2011, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 25 2011, 01:56 PM)
last time my house was raid and my wallet n bag gone. in order to replace back my atm cards, id cards, ic etc i need the police report or otherwise i'll be in deep shit. the copy of report cost me RM1 when i'm totally broke at that moment. all my money was inside the wallet  doh.gif
ya, rm1 only if you need a copy of the report. but if dun need (maybe you report to just provide stats), then no need to pay rm1.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 25 2011, 01:59 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 25 2011, 04:39 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(todinidot @ Aug 25 2011, 04:27 PM)
yeps.. also confuse.. have to pay to get protection from police?

they shud release this as free forever.. or just pay for the apps..
rm2 go to crony company la... smile.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:36 AM