SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 03:53 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 2 2011, 03:42 PM)
sry if i'm wrong but did u guys try kies air? icon_idea.gif
ok... can't even connect to my phone from kies. last time i tried... copying a small file (less than 1mb took more than 5mins).

*sigh*

seems anything with the word kies is jinxed and bad news...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:05 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:02 PM)
how to do that? didn't reinstall anything on sgs2.
lol.. didn't thought it will be this complicated sweat.gif
i think this is not on the phone side. from your windows PC, basically delete any sgs2 drivers and let the pc detect the phone again... like new.

added:
ooops... wrong advice.

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 04:04 PM)
+ 1

And also
1) Disable all auto scroll and auto update on widgets that sits at homescreen. Do it manually or when necessary.
2) Exit apps properly instead of kill/closed it like latitude.

p/s. i haven't disable backup and recovery as i still need it, just in case the phone went balistic.
doing all that... won't it make the smartphone dumb? smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2011, 04:07 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:16 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 2 2011, 04:05 PM)
run kies, then option there got "reinstall driver". forgotten located under which thing d, this shit reli gives me a lot of heart attack  doh.gif
tried. same thing...

only thing i din try is reinstall kies coz i can't even uninstall the dang software... man, i give up. i'm just going to wait and see if others reported any success before i try again. <--- but i think i'll going to be stubborn and go back to trying again later this evening... lol...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:28 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:22 PM)
Finally it detects after rebooting rclxub.gif
it detects... but you still can't update firmware, right?

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 2 2011, 04:26 PM)
if the version is Asian KH2.... GLHF, Amen  notworthy.gif
i think it should be... not good?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2011, 04:30 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:35 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:34 PM)
no change.. non that I notice at least.

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:35 pm
still trying whistling.gif
there should be... but could have been last week.

i know i had a new update for kies last week.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:40 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 04:21 PM)
Kies is a total crap. That's why i hate using it. If you really desperate enough for our local firmware updates, just go to service centre and let them do the updating for you. FOC :-P
just wondering... where can i find the service centres?

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:39 PM)
haven't use my PC for awhile now. What kind of changes?
if you check about... the kies software should be version august 2011.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2011, 04:41 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:45 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 04:42 PM)
~~duhh~~

where do you live? there's no point i give you the KL address if you live in penang ~~ lol ~~
sorry... friday... and just back from hols. brain all still not really working... just like kies.

pj and/or kl would be nice.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:50 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:47 PM)
should got one at TS right hmm.gif
ok thanks, will check it out later.
Still downloading. so far so good.. got further then before.
hah? u mean previously you could not even download the firmware???

i got to that... downloaded 100% some more... and tried like more than 4 times.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:53 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 04:48 PM)
for KL - Berjaya Plaza (opposite Times Square) 1st floor
aiyoh... why seems like everyone also like to have service centre there? i think asus SC is there too...

hmmm... a bit lazy to go so far... so i guess i will just try to reinstall kies first.

but its kinda stupid of Samsung not to allow FOTA, right?

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 04:53 PM)
thats why got headache doh.gif
only got to download the firmware component before. not the file for firmware upgrade shakehead.gif
huh? what is the diff between firmware component and file for firmware upgrade?

in that case, i think your one is just updating the kies, isit?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 2 2011, 04:54 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 04:57 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Sep 2 2011, 04:55 PM)
beside federal highway got 1 samsung sc.. next to avon building...
hmmm... ok, good to know got options. smile.gif

so... there's one in KL (Times Square area) and 1 next to Fed Highway.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 05:19 PM

7,044 posts

my worry is... go to SC... the technician there say "Got new firmware meh? we have not gotten instructions yet. Please come back another day."
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 05:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Sep 2 2011, 05:00 PM)
Ok, this is what i WAS downloading before it got timed out  vmad.gif
[attachmentid=2415743]
ya, i think i had that one... but if you can see the main/ first window (coz i think this is a pop up, right), then you can see your phone status is disconnected. i reached 100% a few times but the firmware update did not proceed coz no phone was detected.
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 05:36 PM

7,044 posts

if benny's online today... i think he'll probably puke blood seeing how we can't even update the official firmware using official tool. lol...
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 05:54 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 2 2011, 05:37 PM)
Truth is, upgrading stock firmware through Odin is way mch easier than using the crappy Kies
ok, do I need to go to asgard to download odin?

I guess I could check page 1... but going for some kind soul to add 1 post to this thread and let me know where I can find and download odin. I just hope odin is not command based. my typing sucks and I prefer gui. just click and click... ;-)
mydragoon
post Sep 2 2011, 05:58 PM

7,044 posts

ok, odin 1.85 is the latest, right?

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0240sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:22 AM