6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 06:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Aug 20 2011, 06:06 PM)
Sent my phone in for repairs today. They told me I'll get it back in 2-3 days. Hopefully it'll be free of issues then it'll be a perfect phone, for now biggrin.gif
Did you flash back to stock rom or sent in as it is rooted/flash with cook rom ? And which center was it ?
TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 07:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 20 2011, 07:04 PM)
LOL nice one waveweaver. Well if its a common problem then I guess there is nothing wrong with the phone smile.gif Will learn more bout rooting flashing later on. Get use to the phone first biggrin.gif
This is standard feature called " INCREASING RING" which is now being adapted for use by many phone manufacturers; those who don't follow the trend I believe are the old guys especially symbians
TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 08:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have recorded nearly 700 users. How many users complain about defects n poor quality , less than 30. So are the rest happy - we don't know or they are too shy to complain
Even too shy to praise?
Let not some complains be taken as a fact all phone affected
I feel some complains are just too microscopic assessment. Geez sometimes I think they bought a rm20000 phone expecting s perfect 10/10

TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 09:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 20 2011, 09:09 PM)
i dl-ed stock kernel KH3 from samfirmware and then i found when i extract i does not have zimage== how on earth i gonna make my yellow boot triangle gone lah T.T
Use odin flash tar file as pda

TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 11:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Aug 20 2011, 10:00 PM)
uncle benny..i need some help..duno why,,,my sgs2 sometimes will automatic restart...i using original rom...
1. Are you using any apps from bad sources ( cracked, ahem, etc ) - remove these. If these are present, these is one possibility. You have to do a Sherlock Holmes process of test and elimination if you wish to find the culprit
2. Do a factory reset - don't install any apps : does this happen ? If it does, suggest you send to service center to reflash and same time check motherboard
3. Another remote possibility - defective ext micro SD

TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 11:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Aug 20 2011, 11:38 PM)
uncle benny...if install some bad sources...will cause this happen ?? i have some... tongue.gif
So first step remove all and assess it again
Yes some of such apps will contribute to these especially those cracked apps ( that bypass need to register ) - common ones are games, navigation, system utilities
TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 11:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Aug 20 2011, 11:49 PM)
Uncle benny
as rooting voids warranty what about the root i found in in my 'about phone' which was there when i collect my phone from samsung customee care?
Don't understand your question.
If you are referring to kernel, the standard terminology will always a have a word root in it, eg stock official XXKDD:
- kernel 2.6.35.7-i9100xwkdd-cl161513root@dell103#2
Seeing the word "root"does not mean is rooted
TSbenny888
post Aug 20 2011, 11:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Aug 20 2011, 11:57 PM)
1 thing I experience.

when browsing internet using wifi the S2 really really very hot.

especially the camera part. it is normal for everyone?

if it is normal, can the phone sustain that hot?

TQ
What is the temperature ?? As long as is below 45 degree centigrade is OK . Common range is 35-40 degree centigrade. Just saying "hot" is so subjective
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Aug 21 2011, 12:16 AM)
really need to use equipment to test it out.

coz i feel hot like never b4.

will update yours guys later on the temperature.

TQ
Just install those battery apps : try batterylife widget

Added on August 21, 2011, 12:20 am
QUOTE(hyekyo @ Aug 21 2011, 12:18 AM)
hi to all .. jus got my sg2 last night  .. but i jus found my sg2 got 1 stuck pixel .. 1 red dot when background is white color .. what can i do ?
Warranty claimable only above 7 pixels ; you can try your luck to claim

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 21 2011, 12:20 AM
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(silentsurfer @ Aug 20 2011, 11:50 PM)
Hello fellas, got a problem on my set today after using it over 1 month without any previous problems. Just posting it here as a record, I guess. Here goes....

I am using an AP set with KH3 firmware (flashed about 2 days ago). For the record, I always flash the latest firmware as soon as it's out on samfirmware so I've done flashing a fair number of times.

Was out with a friend today, as usual I always check my phone to see if I have any missed call/sms. Around 8pm today, took out my phone, it was unbelievably hot and I mean HOT for no apparent reason. I managed to observe that I got a missed call from home (at this time the phone was already mysteriously in a bootloop). It kept rebooting itself, but it's not a normal bootloop (As I experience before on my galaxy ace, bootloop means it'll just get stuck on the loading screen and will keep rebooting itself). The 'bootloop' I experienced today is such that the phone manages to get into the Enter PIN code screen (The notification area was displaying the usual 'Scanning Media... blablabla, hence I manage to see the missed call notification). The touchscreen was non responsive here and it just reboots itself.

So, what I did was to remove the battery cos the phone was really HOT and I read before on xda developer that some fella's phone actually melted on the area just below the camera (with picture proof). Waited for a while and reinserted the battery. The phone was still rebooting into the Enter PIN code screen and getting stuck there with touchscreen still being non responsive. Removed and reinserted the battery about 4-5 times, still same problem.

Luckily I am rooted with CWM recovery. Tried to enter recovery mode and BINGO, managed to restore my CWM backup file I did yesterday midnight. The phone is fine now. Just lost some data with my Traffic Counter (Cell, Call and SMS data restored to yesterday midnight's point)

I certainly dunno what the heck happened and it was quite an unpleasant experience...... Just sharing, not sure if it's KH3 problem as I never had any problem before since I started using SGS 2.
Frightening experience ; I am on Modaco GR5 XXKH3 , 2 days already - very stable, everything is OK
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:26 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hyekyo @ Aug 21 2011, 12:21 AM)
i bought from senQ .. shall go senQ or samsung ?
Claiming warranty - fast service, go direct to Service Center . They even process AP sets. You send to SenQ, you might have to wait few more days before they send in to the service centers . If small problem, at service center get phone back same day

TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(77hunter @ Aug 21 2011, 12:24 AM)
one more question, anyone play fishing master? my s2 face problem when play this game, i notice that processor run at 1.2GHz and sometimes hang or the app off auto

Added on August 21, 2011, 12:25 am
it mean have to download data?
For all voice activated features, your phone must be online ( either on WiFi or your 3G active) as it will need to connect to Google servers
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:35 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Aug 21 2011, 12:31 AM)
Kh3 modem doesn't serve me well.had you tried connect gps using kh3 modem? Mine okay with kg3 but not kh3.not sure first time connect might need longer time
I have flash so many types of roms, use so many type of modem files, use so many types of kernels , play with so many combo of firmware with kernel and modem - and in all I had never have issues with WiFi and GPS. That's why I always say the SGS II is a perfect smartphone
GPS lockup for me has never been a problem ; is amazingly fast wherever I go from JB to Penang, Singapore , Kelantan : 3-5 secs for Google Maps, Papago X5 and immediate to maximum 2 secs for Sygic Aura. My 3G is always on 24/7
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jun88 @ Aug 21 2011, 12:32 AM)

My samsung galaxy s2 just have been rob by motor bite robber.is there anyway to track the phone..

please help
Sorry to hear about that. Normally handbags, now phones !!!
Did you sign up with Samsung Dive ? Refer page 1 post #3, Q32 for more details
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 09:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 21 2011, 09:28 AM)
Yes it shoud behave as per you stated. That's why i ask fallenangelz if he found the real culprit coz i dont think wifi will drain batt juice that much for 7-8 hours. Unless he do some real surfing. Even then it must be non-stop surfing as i had test before, our original batt can tahan around 5-6 hours for non-stop surfing :-)
Indeed strange. Must be s rogue app running in background
Mine 3g on actively refreshing every 30min edata,email,rss etc drain is now averaging 1.5% per hour overnight
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 10:20 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 21 2011, 10:05 AM)
~~lol~~ good one.!
But how to fry when the heat cant even make halfboiled
Flimsy.? Only when you take it out :-)
But the back cover is made from really tough plastic. And flexible somemore. Once i saw in youtube (cant remember the link) about how tough and flexible our back cover is. It can be bend from one end to the other end. But i never try it though :-P
Try it n break it. Take the video. Post to Samsung hq n you will be rewarded to keep quiet....

TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 01:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 21 2011, 09:54 AM)
Is the back cover flimsy? The build quality is ok and it's light! Cannot really feel it when put in the pocket.
Is this convincing enough. Don't believe it - try yourself

TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 01:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Aug 21 2011, 10:50 AM)
On the 1st page, the FAQ states:
Upon visiting the site,  it listed:

PAPAGO! X5 for Android Mobile
PAPAGO! X5 for Galaxy Tab
PAPAGO! X5 for HTC Aria
PAPAGO! X5 for HTC Desire
PAPAGO! X5 for HTC Desire HD
PAPAGO! X5 for HTC Legend
PAPAGO! X5 for HTC Wildfire
PAPAGO! X5 for Samsung Galaxy S

So, for confirmation, I should be buying the 1st one right?
The Galaxy S will do , as long as the display size is greater than 3.7 inch
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 01:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Here is a quick comparison of packages offer by Maxis, Digi and Celcom. This has just being posted in Page 1 post #1
Click on image for enlarge view

Details refer their websites:

OFFER by MAXIS with plan : http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/android/A...es.asp#galaxyS2

OFFER by DIGI with their smartplan package : http://www.digi.com.my/internet/smartplan/...g_galaxys2.html

OFFER by CELCOM with their package : http://www.celcom.com.my/smartphones/android.php#android5

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 21 2011, 01:33 PM
TSbenny888
post Aug 21 2011, 03:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 21 2011, 02:08 PM)
tongue.gif Uncle Benny can I use ur photo to post in chinese.cari.my?
Sure go ahead
this is open public info

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.76    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:13 AM