124 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

wktan90
post Aug 31 2011, 07:41 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Aug 31 2011, 07:29 PM)
If you're looking for people to tell you *not* to buy this phone, this is the wrong place to ask smile.gif
lol you have your point here, but at least you all own this phone and you should know best among others, right? =)
anything not right this phone? laggy? web surfing slow? or the phone hand/restart?
wayfeel
post Aug 31 2011, 07:42 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

thanks waveweaver, thats helpful. i tink i'll head over to my friend help me use odin to update then lol

QUOTE(wktan90 @ Aug 31 2011, 07:13 PM)
GUYS!! DO YOU THINK WORTHY TO BUY THIS PHONE?
i struggling between this, evo3d and sensation..
please give some opinion
THANKS =)
i read few evo 3D online reviews and they got mentioned few flaws with it that prevents it fr being the top phone, i dont quite rmb them u've to read it but it's good to skip directly to the reviews conclusions.

htc has bad battery esp the sensation, worse cam than s2 but by no means bad since it's already among the 'superphone' range.
but i do feel the s2 camera has very terrible barrel distortion, other phone surely not escape this limitation as well...since we cant expect digicamera performance fr phone lens Lol...like the battery, camera lens is still a lightyear away....

i can live wit the smartphone poor battery tho, but i wish the camera phone wud be alot better than this

if weight matters to u evo 3d n sensation is around 160-170g.
s2? 116g lol....

do u knw how heavy is 116g? Strangely it feels ALOT lighter than my wave 118g (I Swear!) i think it has alot to do wit the dimension.
since im with s2, whenever i hold iphone4 (134g) these days , GOD, it feels heavy!! in short, in real life use, the s2 is pocket effortlessly

SUSdestEX
post Aug 31 2011, 07:44 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

Hello guys, i've been using WIFI DIRECT since the past few days with my sis' sgs2, and i can say i'm damn impressed, 140mb of files transfered in less than 30 secs! and this was done in a restaurant, no router needed! seriously this is the future of connectivity, bluetooth lose la, wifi direct is going to be the boss rclxms.gif but sadly there a few formats that they dont support, eg. xml format, gonna do some research/testing & find if there's an app to make transferring simpler then i'll report to you guys here again biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 31 2011, 05:31 PM)
can i use KIES to update my stock unrooted s2 from 2.3.3 to 2.3.4?

Added on August 31, 2011, 5:37 pm

i read the first page but still don undersatnd wats a wakelock LOL
my assumption is that wakelock problem is when the phone in idle mode but still draining battery is it?

this morning 2am when i charge upto 100% , i deactivated FAST DORMANCY too lastnight since i dont use data plan/3G/HSDPA AND force stop most unneeded application in SETTING>APPS> RUNNING APPS so i expect BETTER battery performance after TWO ACTIONS MADE...

then i woke up 12pm today, i almost shocked it shows 80% , 20% drop edi walaoeh, usually is 1-3% drop , got one night i forgot off wifi and still only 1-3% drop only. if drop alot overnight, usage ter definitely show highest was android systems...as suspected , it goes back to the annoying ANDROID SYSTEM...

TBH, in android system usage detail, i really dono how to make of the details in it. fr past experience, my only one idea is NOT to clear the memory in task manager
wakelock is where your phone dont go to deep sleep/idle mode. In battery usage you will see screen off but the phone is still awake. Apps cause wakelocks when they request are active. Yes, do not use task managers to close, especially facebook, i once close it b4 i sleep, wake up left 15% and wakelocks is due to facebook.katana , install betterbatterstats i believe it's in the market since a few days ago v0.9

QUOTE(wktan90 @ Aug 31 2011, 07:13 PM)
GUYS!! DO YOU THINK WORTHY TO BUY THIS PHONE?
i struggling between this, evo3d and sensation..
please give some opinion
THANKS =)
if you ask means you didnt read page 1
if u ask means you didnt bother to look at the reviews/video reviews
if you ask means you dont care about specs and only care about how 'good' is the phone

slow? SLOW???? dude this phone is the BEAST!!!Its wolverine!! other androids go 'disable animations to make it faster blablbla' but no! the SGS2 can run fluid with all that animatiosn on! This is as fluid as the iphone i tell you, and its running with all the widgets and screens. Websurfing? the stock browser is GPU hardware accelerated, the quad-core mali-400 gpu is keeping it as smooth as tetek! biggrin.gif and of coz, the phone will reset if you do some stuffs like put in illegal apks, flash roms, its very normal, but lately never happened to me once i flash cognition. Problems you might want is the heat only when playing seriously powerful games, cpu+gpu=super hot, but dont worry put on a cover and u can barely feel it. Another is battery problem, thing runs on 1.2ghz dual core, comparable to those netbooks shitmyx gives off, its super powerful and super battery hungry, but it's still better than htc
ohwell i'd say get the evo3D, at least u have 3D to show off for awhile biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 31 2011, 07:52 PM
wayfeel
post Aug 31 2011, 07:56 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 31 2011, 07:44 PM)
Hello guys, i've been using WIFI DIRECT since the past few days with my sis' sgs2, and i can say i'm damn impressed, 140mb of files transfered in less than 30 secs! and this was done in a restaurant, no router needed! seriously this is the future of connectivity, bluetooth lose la, wifi direct is going to be the boss rclxms.gif but sadly there a few formats that they dont support, eg. xml format, gonna do some research/testing & find if there's an app to make transferring simpler then i'll report to you guys here again biggrin.gif
wakelock is where your phone dont go to deep sleep/idle mode. In battery usage you will see screen off but the phone is still awake. Apps cause wakelocks when they request are active. Yes, do not use task managers to close, especially facebook, i once close it b4 i sleep, wake up left 15% and
if dont use task manager to close. then use what to close effectively? i dono any other way than use back button or exit thru TskMgr like music player, back button doesnt close it permanently.

i thought only sgs2 send files to devices taht hv wifi support like camera, printers, home LCDs right?...wifi direct has what sort of application? and wat other devices?
wktan90
post Aug 31 2011, 08:05 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 31 2011, 07:44 PM)
wakelock is where your phone dont go to deep sleep/idle mode. In battery usage you will see screen off but the phone is still awake. Apps cause wakelocks when they request are active. Yes, do not use task managers to close, especially facebook, i once close it b4 i sleep, wake up left 15% and wakelocks is due to facebook.katana , install betterbatterstats i believe it's in the market since a few days ago v0.9 
if you ask means you didnt read page 1
if u ask means you didnt bother to look at the reviews/video reviews
if you ask means you dont care about specs and only care about how 'good' is the phone

slow? SLOW???? dude this phone is the BEAST!!!Its wolverine!! other androids go 'disable animations to make it faster blablbla' but no! the SGS2 can run fluid with all that animatiosn on! This is as fluid as the iphone i tell you, and its running with all the widgets and screens. Websurfing? the stock browser is GPU hardware accelerated, the quad-core mali-400 gpu is keeping it as smooth as tetek! biggrin.gif and of coz, the phone will reset if you do some stuffs like put in illegal apks, flash roms, its very normal, but lately never happened to me once i flash cognition. Problems you might want is the heat only when playing seriously powerful games, cpu+gpu=super hot, but dont worry put on a cover and u can barely feel it. Another is battery problem, thing runs on 1.2ghz dual core, comparable to those netbooks shitmyx gives off, its super powerful and super battery hungry, but it's still better than htc
ohwell i'd say get the evo3D, at least u have 3D to show off for awhile  biggrin.gif
you are explaining clearly here, thanks dude =)
how about the sound quality and loudness?
waveweaver
post Aug 31 2011, 08:08 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 31 2011, 05:31 PM)

Added on August 31, 2011, 5:37 pm

i read the first page but still don undersatnd wats a wakelock LOL
my assumption is that wakelock problem is when the phone in idle mode but still draining battery is it?

this morning 2am when i charge upto 100% , i deactivated FAST DORMANCY too lastnight since i dont use data plan/3G/HSDPA AND force stop most unneeded application in SETTING>APPS> RUNNING APPS so i expect BETTER battery performance after TWO ACTIONS MADE...

then i woke up 12pm today, i almost shocked it shows 80% , 20% drop edi walaoeh, usually is 1-3% drop , got one night i forgot off wifi and still only 1-3% drop only. if drop alot overnight, usage ter definitely show highest was android systems...as suspected , it goes back to the annoying ANDROID SYSTEM...

TBH, in android system usage detail, i really dono how to make of the details in it. fr past experience, my only one idea is NOT to clear the memory in task manager
Your phone still use quite high battery juice if you lost 20%eventhough you had disable your data network. My phone lost less than 10% of battery juice for 24hours with mydata network disable :- P
I suggest you stop killing/force close any running apps
UNLESS it' s a roque app and running havoc. Sometimes
the apps that you force closed keep popping back on,
especially the running system apps. So it 's much better
you leave them alone .
If you really want to save a little bit more of your battery
juice then you better start disable your auto update/auto
scroll widgets that sit on your home screen. You can
always update/scroll the widgets manually.
Close/exit properly any apps that you open especially the one that need sign- in to open it (like latitude). If you need to sign-in then you'll need to sign-out in order to really close such app.

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 31 2011, 09:03 PM

SUSdestEX
post Aug 31 2011, 08:13 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 31 2011, 07:56 PM)
if dont use task manager to close. then use what to close effectively? i dono any other way than use back button or exit thru TskMgr like music player, back button doesnt close it permanently.

i thought only sgs2 send files to devices taht hv wifi support like camera, printers, home LCDs right?...wifi direct has what sort of application? and wat other devices?
i believe your settings>apps>running apps is actually running services correct? First it was my mistake, i typed too fast. You must not close the services in the settings, you can close the apps in the Task Manager that comes with the phone other task managers from the market and also GO task manager will close services. Close the services at your own risk, you can use betterbatterystats to determine what causes the wakelocks then next time learn your lesson and dont close that service before you sleep lor.

YES, in theory only ONE phone is needed to have WIFI-Direct then other phones that have normal wifi can connect to it through ad-hoc but i havent tried this before.
As for the SGS2 it can only detect other phones that are also in WIFI-Direct mode, which is why i used another SGS2. Wifi direct can transfer files at wifi network speed up to 250Mbps as far as 200M depending on your phone's hardware of course. It can transfer anything, if you have TV or electronics that support WiFi-Direct, you can straight play lets say the movie, right from your phone with one click.

Wifi-Direct first came out with the Samsung Galaxy S last year. right now many stuffs has wifi-direct, some smartphones has it, LG, htc incredible s none, sensation i not sure, some laptops got wifi direct also.

Added on August 31, 2011, 8:20 pm
QUOTE(wktan90 @ Aug 31 2011, 08:05 PM)
hahas this si the first android that bridged the gap between ipongs, its super smooth, of coz htc also smooth la, my fren has it smile.gif
sound quality lose lor, it's not good, there's ways in xda forums that tells how to make it better but in the end, its just equalizer, dont expect too much from this phone, in my opinion its ok la, not super good, but quite nice to hear once you set the equalizers. there's no Voodoo support for the SGS2 unlike the SGS, so the sound cant do much about it, if youre an audiophille, this will hurt your ears. Best you go and try see see, coz audio quality depends on the listeners, got some people in xda forums like the sound coming from the sgs2 some dont, some their shure headphones sounds better with the sgs2. Loudness to me i have no problem la, some people complain the ringtone not loud enough tho.

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 31 2011, 08:20 PM
waveweaver
post Aug 31 2011, 08:34 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(wktan90 @ Aug 31 2011, 08:05 PM)
Sorry for the bad news but we had to agree that SGSII sound quality is worst than SGS.!! :-P
Even supercurio/vodoo surrender and admit he can't fix the sound (at the moment) as Yamaha doesn't open up its source to public :-)
** Keep your finger crossed for Yamaha to open up its scource in near future

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 31 2011, 09:00 PM
azmie73
post Aug 31 2011, 09:53 PM

Dear Uncle Benny, please add me to the list. Already got my sgs2 6 days ago but only today have time to login...
SihamZhai
post Aug 31 2011, 10:00 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

Guys... i am using the signed version of the google map to allow me to use navigation. But somehow, when I open map and ask them to detect my position, it says unable to detect current location :S

Also.. does anyone have pinkish touch keys? Mine is pinkish in colour...

This post has been edited by SihamZhai: Aug 31 2011, 10:52 PM
yang90
post Aug 31 2011, 10:22 PM

602 posts

hi,does everyone here facing Samsung Galaxy S2 yellowish tinge on left side of screen..
I am facing this problem and need advise.please pm me or tell me here how to solve this problem or it claimable?mine is SME set.
hosealwh
post Aug 31 2011, 10:55 PM

35 posts

any one know how to root sgs2?any forum with guide?

hye
post Aug 31 2011, 11:01 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(hosealwh @ Aug 31 2011, 10:55 PM)
You are right smack in one. Obviously you didn't bother to read everything in the 1st post didn't ya ? It is easier to just come in and ask ?
SUSdestEX
post Aug 31 2011, 11:21 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(hosealwh @ Aug 31 2011, 10:55 PM)
noob blind dont root la, you'll 100% end up with 2k paperweight

Added on August 31, 2011, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(yang90 @ Aug 31 2011, 10:22 PM)
hi,does everyone here facing Samsung Galaxy S2 yellowish tinge on left side of screen..
I am facing this problem and need advise.please pm me or tell me here how to solve this problem or it claimable?mine is SME set.
is the yellow tinge very serious? take some pics show us,
you can try this https://market.android.com/details?id=org.p...o.screentunedev
i never used before but some say it fixes, if cannot better you go back SME

Added on August 31, 2011, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 31 2011, 10:00 PM)
Guys... i am using the signed version of the google map to allow me to use navigation. But somehow, when I open map and ask them to detect my position, it says unable to detect current location :S

Also.. does anyone have pinkish touch keys? Mine is pinkish in colour...
is your gps on, 3g on? laugh.gif
the touch keys supposed to be white, if you have pink maybe signs of screen bleeding, better go and make appointment with SME

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 31 2011, 11:25 PM
SihamZhai
post Aug 31 2011, 11:29 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

How do I know if my phone has yellow tint? Its just hard to see...
waveweaver
post Aug 31 2011, 11:33 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 31 2011, 11:29 PM)
You can check through dialler *#0*# for screen test. From dark/black/green background, you can see your left side screen colour a bit yellowish
SihamZhai
post Aug 31 2011, 11:35 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 31 2011, 11:33 PM)
You can check through dialler *#0*# for screen test. From dark/black/green background, you can see your left side screen colour a bit yellowish
To me.. my whole phone seems a bit yellowish.. maybe no SP i guess.. and i got pinkish touch keys too
SUSdestEX
post Aug 31 2011, 11:40 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 31 2011, 11:29 PM)
if its hard to see/notice then dun go purposely find it la, later u sakit hati if got
waveweaver
post Aug 31 2011, 11:41 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 31 2011, 11:35 PM)
To me.. my whole phone seems a bit yellowish.. maybe no SP i guess.. and i got pinkish touch keys too
~~ lol ~~
How can the whole screen look yellowish if you put dark/green background. It's either the same colour as the background or a patch of slight yellowish that normally at the whole left side.
If the whole screen look yellowish even on dark/green background then i suggest you go to service centre and ask for replacement :-)

Added on August 31, 2011, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 31 2011, 11:40 PM)
if its hard to see/notice then dun go purposely find it la, later u sakit hati if got
+ 1 ~~ Yeah that's right. If use normally cannot see then better not go squinting eyes just to find the fault.

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 31 2011, 11:46 PM
SihamZhai
post Aug 31 2011, 11:47 PM

Green Droid Lover
1,035 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 31 2011, 11:41 PM)
~~ lol ~~
How can the whole screen look yellowish if you put dark/green background. It's either the same colour as the background or a patch of slight yellowish that normally at the whole left side.
If the whole screen look yellowish even on dark/green background then i suggest you go to service centre and ask for replacement :-)

Added on August 31, 2011, 11:46 pm

+ 1 ~~ Yeah that's right. If use normally cannot see then better not go squinting eyes just to find the fault.
Is the yellow very obvious or wat? I run LCD, and on green or white.. it seems fine.. Anyway.. is it really a big thing if got yellow tint?

This post has been edited by SihamZhai: Aug 31 2011, 11:48 PM

124 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:24 AM