Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

calvin_swk
post Nov 13 2013, 11:32 AM

307 posts

Hi all,
my HH recently dislike me to touch him, everytime I want to hold him, it will become like a ball, so hard with sound, can't even get to hold him, need to use paper to hold him for bathing, bathing time no problem. sigh.. what's the problem actually?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 15 2013, 11:34 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Nov 13 2013, 11:32 AM)
Hi all,
my HH recently dislike me to touch him, everytime I want to hold him, it will become like a ball, so hard with sound, can't even get to hold him, need to use paper to hold him for bathing, bathing time no problem. sigh.. what's the problem actually?
need more detail. what happened these few days and all. i suspect quilling, keep an eye out for quills on the floor or cold weather or isit that it dint get to move around much hence grumpy
aros
post Nov 15 2013, 12:34 PM

19 posts

Since its so quiet, thought I share a picture of the new hoglets nursing. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aros: Nov 15 2013, 12:35 PM
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 15 2013, 05:32 PM

75 posts

thats cute thumbup.gif
tomsulliven
post Nov 17 2013, 06:42 PM

85 posts

Where u guys put ur hedgehog cage at?
can show some cage?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 18 2013, 02:04 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tomsulliven @ Nov 17 2013, 06:42 PM)
Where u guys put ur hedgehog cage at?
can show some cage?
i put mine in aquarium, easy to view smile.gif newspaper as bedding, easy to clean easy to change daily.

This post has been edited by WhyNotYouTeachMe: Nov 18 2013, 02:04 PM
tomsulliven
post Nov 18 2013, 10:19 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Nov 18 2013, 02:04 PM)
i put mine in aquarium, easy to view smile.gif newspaper as bedding, easy to clean easy to change daily.
ICIC, aquarium very heavy , hard to clean?
PPL say newspaper got toxic not good for hedgehog leh...
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 19 2013, 12:32 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tomsulliven @ Nov 18 2013, 10:19 PM)
ICIC, aquarium very heavy , hard to clean?
PPL say newspaper got toxic not good for hedgehog leh...
well i dont see how newspaper is a threat, billions of nasi lemak packets are wrapped with newspapers, even overnight and eaten next day. well for me, i use a 2ft. tank which isnt that heavy to clean, i wash it everyday. maybe in the first few days u'll feel hard to clean but once used to it it'll be fine.
calvin_swk
post Nov 19 2013, 10:29 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Nov 15 2013, 11:34 AM)
need more detail. what happened these few days and all. i suspect quilling, keep an eye out for quills on the floor or cold weather or isit that it dint get to move around much hence grumpy
No problem with the space as it's 4ftx2ft.. peobably cold weather as always raining nowadays..
Cloth is the only way to hold him up,then slowly goes to my palm.. and it always bite! Arghh... is it only male hh loves to bite?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 19 2013, 11:52 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Nov 19 2013, 10:29 AM)
No problem with the space as it's 4ftx2ft.. peobably cold weather as always raining nowadays..
Cloth is the only way to hold him up,then slowly goes to my palm.. and it always bite! Arghh... is it only male hh loves to bite?
its probably cold weather where it wants to go to sleep but disturbed so it became grumpy, try let it out and run around often. u can also put your cage outside the house for some sunlight, not direct tho, maybe under the roof or smth.

as forbiting my male hedgie is quite a biter too heh idk if its just male or female too tho.
calvin_swk
post Nov 19 2013, 12:48 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Nov 19 2013, 11:52 AM)
its probably cold weather where it wants to go to sleep but disturbed so it became grumpy, try let it out and run around often. u can also put your cage outside the house for some sunlight, not direct tho, maybe under the roof or smth.

as forbiting my male hedgie is quite a biter too heh idk if its just male or female too tho.
the cage is in my 2nd floor storeroom, good ventilation and no direct sunlight..
my hh likes bathing, everytime after bathing, it's very friendly, but the next day =.=
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 19 2013, 06:06 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Nov 19 2013, 12:48 PM)
the cage is in my 2nd floor storeroom, good ventilation and no direct sunlight..
my hh likes bathing, everytime after bathing, it's very friendly, but the next day =.=
well then i couldnt really tell whats the problem but maybe it is just a sign of it wants a bath or go for a swim smile.gif i'm pretty sure its not health related, maybe getting emotional? or isit that its quilling? as quilling makes it ultra stressful for the hog, and bathing makes its skin moist and less stressful
calvin_swk
post Nov 19 2013, 07:05 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Nov 19 2013, 06:06 PM)
well then i couldnt really tell whats the problem but maybe it is just a sign of it wants a bath or go for a swim smile.gif i'm pretty sure its not health related, maybe getting emotional? or isit that its quilling? as quilling makes it ultra stressful for the hog, and bathing makes its skin moist and less stressful
probably is quilling like you said..
sighh.. it's not as friendly like before..
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 20 2013, 12:31 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Nov 19 2013, 07:05 PM)
probably is quilling like you said..
sighh.. it's not as friendly like before..
dont be discouraged smile.gif quilling process wont last long, for signs of quiling look for excessive quill drops, 5-6 per day is not excessive. 5-6 per scratch is excessive. since they tend to scratch more when quilling.
infrasonic
post Nov 22 2013, 06:26 PM

--
648 posts

wow so cuteee, does the quills poke people?? or is it soft?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Nov 24 2013, 09:34 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Nov 22 2013, 06:26 PM)
wow so cuteee, does the quills poke people?? or is it soft?
it does hurt for the first time, also for any professional hedgehog owner/breeder would definitely jump if they raise their quills suddenly. but fret not! once used to it, it only feels like a toothbrush. ALSO some owners actually complain that their hog dont ball up anymore smile.gif cus they really like you laugh.gif and wouldnt wanna hurt you
BellaAshikin
post Nov 30 2013, 04:12 PM

i envy u guys.. i'm in sabah.. i've been wanting to get myself a pair of HH S&P and Pinto since beginning of 2013 till now.. I've did my homework and started building perfect crib for my future HH.. but there are no known breeder here(none that i've known of).. mostly bad seller.. and the price is too expensive.. if got nice seller, they mostly sell albino.. sad.. if only I can ship them here..
D.gRave
post Nov 30 2013, 11:52 PM

425 posts

hello I'm new here, just got my hedgie 2 days ago and I realize that my hedgie like to sleep when I put it in her cage, outside the cage she do anything. why is that? is it possible that she hibernating?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Dec 1 2013, 01:42 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(D.gRave @ Nov 30 2013, 11:52 PM)
hello I'm new here, just got my hedgie 2 days ago and I realize that my hedgie like to sleep when I put it in her cage, outside the cage she do anything. why is that? is it possible that she hibernating?
possible, but it could just be that the cage ittoo small/empty for it to even do anything besides sleep. or perhaps it just likes to be outside, signs of hibernation will be loss of appetite, grumpiness, etc what a person would do when emo. but almost all hedgehogs wont hibernate if treated normally it is a rather rare case.
D.gRave
post Dec 1 2013, 01:46 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Dec 1 2013, 01:42 AM)
possible, but it could just be that the cage ittoo small/empty for it to even do anything besides sleep. or perhaps it just likes to be outside, signs of hibernation will be loss of appetite, grumpiness, etc what a person would do when emo. but almost all hedgehogs wont hibernate if treated normally it is a rather rare case.
well she isn't grumpy as for loss appetite i'm not sure as she only eat when I hand feed her.

140 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:13 PM