5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 5 2013, 07:36 PM

75 posts

hi guys! and girls. so i'm considering to get a hedgehog as a pet or my unused 2ft tank (previously petted hermit crabs) so i hope you guys could tell me what will be wrong with my ways or just some comments smile.gif
1. the tank will be placed in my room which has windows facing the yard, so plenty of oxygen and brightness, no sunlight i know, just brightness during day.
2. just keeping 1 of course and the bedding i'll get it soon. temporarily i'll use some newspaper at the corner to teach it to poo there. i'll toilet train it.
3. for food i'll probably feed it human food? rice with some meat and veggie but not always, maybe fruits sometimes.
4. as for bathing i think i'll prepare a cup of warm water and soak half of its body in and wash it.
5. yeah i will handle him with care and spend time with it. and there will be some toys in the tank.

so for now any advice for the quilling? cus i dont get that process also for its disease. and any further heads up is appreciated. thanks in advance!
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 15 2013, 02:15 PM

75 posts

visit a vet they will give ur hedgehog antibiotic if confirm sick, but before feel your money wasted, think if there is any changes u made these few days it might be the factor that made your hedgehog sick. if so try and change it back and see if it continues.

these few days keep rain, it might be that factor too if so u could set up a light bulb above your cage and warm the hedgehog.

or simply just take out all snacks, and ONLY feed it nutritious food for some time and wait and see how it goes.

if its a baby hedgehog maybe its just quilling, just leave a light bulb there to keep it warm and disturb it less.
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 20 2013, 12:25 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(PuppyCat @ Sep 19 2013, 09:03 PM)
I have a question!

Do all hedgehogs like to be curled up and on their backs when you hold them? Cause mine doesn't really.
cus it likes you! they only curl up if they're afraid. or simply just too lazy/fat to curl up tongue.gif
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 26 2013, 12:36 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Sep 24 2013, 10:47 PM)
Hi guys, based on the topic started is recommended to offer high quality cat food such as royal cannin. May I ask any of royal cannin is also ok ? or need a specific version like RC34 or RC36, i dun think i seen RC36 b4 .. and i google it up it looks like dogfood instead. Correct me if im wrong.

Any tips where you guys buy the food ? I only checked out petsmore cuz is most convenient for me. Thx
no offense but petsmore is overpriced, in fact 90% of retail stores are OP. i feed mine rc fit 32, i dont think it makes any diff, but others beg to differ as fit (diet) less fat, and others are like normal fat as fat to hedgehog is somehow fatal if in excess, liver disease. however dog foods are arguably better for hedgehogs as they contain more fiber for 'em saw it off some website, such are blue buffalo, nutram, chicken soup for smth smth.
well that is just in theory, as long as u really take care of your hog anything is ok smile.gif
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 28 2013, 09:11 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Sep 27 2013, 11:47 AM)
Hi just received my hedgehog yesterday.

anybody here tried ProDiet kitten pellet brand ? mine wont take it for some reason. when i asked the previous owner, they have been feeding hedgehog pellets. so will their taste change in the future or i have to keep feeding them hedgehog pellets?

im getting a bit worried now because she have not eaten for a whole day
how old isit? if it is about few months old, then u have no choice but to "feed" it such that, rubbing it at its mouth (gently tho not forcefully) let it know that it is food, if it is too hard then wet it abit. because they are somehow too slow witted to notice it is edible.

or if it is a grown up then u have no choice but to use back the same brand
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 28 2013, 09:13 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Brielle123 @ Sep 26 2013, 03:34 PM)
I want to know is there any shopping mall sells hedgehog accessories like their liner, hiding house, etc.

I wanted to buy my hedgie a litter pan as well. it has been shitting where ever she goes even pee on me  doh.gif 
notworthy.gif please pm me!! thanks a lot.
well u could try petsmore, or those pet shops around TS or 1U. well no matter what u do, they WILL insistently pee and poop on you (they had ONE JOB!)
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 28 2013, 09:16 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Sep 27 2013, 06:43 PM)
anyone can suggest me where to buy hedgies with starter pack??and male or female which one easier??
well personally i think female is better (less teritorial and aggressive) but that is just me, others say its all the same but i still do think female is better. well for starters u could look for breeders who sell them, but i dont think its gonna be a package. however, i currently am selling a package tongue.gif not purposely advertising as u see it was just posted up just now before me seeing this question. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2975828&hl=
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 03:56 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Brielle123 @ Sep 29 2013, 02:28 PM)
I did. but she curl into a ball and she just wont open her mouth.. i fed her some treats while shes munching i put a little by little into her mouth.. but feeding her too much treats isn't good for her either... headache.. her skin now is so flaky even on her back.  doh.gif  sad.gif
just mix the antibiotic drops into the water as said. dont force it, u might accidentally poke its eye him with the syringe.

or u could let it run around/ on a wheel let it tire out, then let it drink the antibiotic mixed water. dont put the water in yet so that it wouldnt rest and drink, and so on. let it get really tired then let it drink lots of it smile.gif
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 03:58 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(86Aries @ Sep 29 2013, 01:08 PM)
my hog is pooping green.
at first its normal poop, then after a few more rounds running, it turns green and gooey.
he's still active,eats and drink normal. no change of food or environment.
well, how old isit? how long have u had it? has it been long since u approach it?
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 05:33 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Brielle123 @ Sep 29 2013, 05:00 PM)
Fed her the antibiotics for the second time and she did drink it!! Gave her a treat after she finished all of it.  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif 
But what bothers me now is her dry skin on face and her back. Does flax seed oil good? I heard a lot of people use Humilac spray on their hogs. is it good?  blink.gif
as for that i wouldnt give an exactly best answer, but there are numerous ways of helping dry skin in my opinion is by olive oil, although some would disagree. refer for further information http://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forums/65-s...4-dry-skin.html
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 05:45 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(86Aries @ Sep 29 2013, 04:44 PM)
He's almost 5mth
Had him for 1.5mth.
I will hold and sit around him everyday.
He's green poop started just recent, bout  2days ago.
well since all the conditions did not fullfil for a "sudden change of diet/afraid" i think.. it might be that it is related to:-

1. pollution? (new construction project around housing area) the noise/vibration/dirty air
2. drinking too much water? (note that if drinking from a water bottle, it might be that the hog loves to chew on the bottle hence, excessive water consumed)
3. try feeding some (NOT MORE THAN 3) mealworms for it to gain some nutritions (NOT EVERYDAY PLEASE, just weekly). probably due to insufficient nutritions that it might be a sign that it is about to get sick
4. is the surrounding getting too cold? (weather change)
5. at least 10hours of lighting? too much darkness would lead to hibernation

if none of them happened. do update, or finally u should bring it to visit the vet, but i wouldnt as this COULD probably be solved with just a finger snap.
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 05:49 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Brielle123 @ Sep 29 2013, 01:47 PM)
I see.. Thanks yea.

I just bought my baby less than a week and I brought her to a vet to check up becuz of suspicious dry and flaky skin on her face and her legs.. scratching everytime and dropping quills.. the doctor told me that it could be a sign of mites! He gave me some drops and antibiotics. Problem is I don't know how to feed my baby the anti biotic . she just won't open her mouth...  doh.gif
u could put a tupperware cover (not transparent ones, eg. blue or very obvious dark colours) let the hog walk around it, scratch itself awhile, then lift up the tupperware and have a look. if the white spots (looks like dandruff) if somehow similar to mites, then it is confirmed.

do not confuse normal quill drop with quill drops due to mites. a very efficient method to determine is pick up the quill gently and place on a tupperware cover as above and observe if there is a small ball (eg. like human hair we have a small piece of "meat" that sticks to the hair if we forcefully pull it out). if there is, congratulations there is no mites, just normal quill drop. if there is no "white ball" on either end of the quill then, sorry IT IS quill loss due to mites.
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 06:51 PM

75 posts

i'd prefer to say it like an "encouragement" yes it does have alot of nutritions, BUT at the same time fattening, although nothing serious but if something tends to happen when it is too fat (ie. injured leg,bath) will be unbelievably hard to handle with as the hog can hardly move so u'll have to assist it with basically everything.

but i wouldnt really feed it more than 4 per week. each a day is already enough nutrition
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Sep 29 2013, 08:58 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Brielle123 @ Sep 29 2013, 08:33 PM)
There is a white ball at the end of the quill. But why did the doct told me that it is a sign of mites??
cuz her skin is so dried and flaky especially on her face. like dried up skin that you can scratch it off.
she just poop a green poo and it worries me a lot....  cry.gif
well naturally, hedgehog does have really dry skin which means they can keep themselves clean. if u're really worried u can proceed with the medication prescribed (of course u will, i mean u've already visited the vet).

i may be wrong, but yeah its just a home-made treatment anyway.

also, referring to your previous posts..

i think your hog is OKAY, the problem is he just got a new home it is NORMAL to scratch alot (this may seems like it is infested with mites) due to the following reasons:-
1. itch? not getting used to surroundings yet, not used to new beddings yet
2. green poop? not used to a sudden change of food OR stress due to sudden change of place of stay
3. as for the skin that u've mentions (scratch off) i think it might be better if u show a picture cus i think u might be overreacting. also if there really is mites, why not take back to the person who sell to u and complain?

lady, u gotta stop panicking and start thinking straight sweat.gif

lastly the solution that u might be happy to see:-
1. leave him alone in his new home, give him a PLASTIC hidebox where there is NO CONTACT with the bedding (this may be ice cream boxes)
2. again, green poop is probably due to stress, it is not used to u yet, leave him alone if it shows some threat signs (quilling up) just touch it, dont hold it.
3. as for this i cant tell yet, but if u're using aquarium tank like me, it is best to leave all the bedding out if that is a cause of itch. and see how it goes

p.s it is extreamly difficult to detect mites on a hog before it is obvious unless u've work with hogs with mites countless of times, u cant tell with just a look, the doc is just playing safe so antibiotic is given. as u said too "the doc suspects". also if i were a doc i too will precribe one for your hog *cough*yourmoney*cough*

This post has been edited by WhyNotYouTeachMe: Sep 30 2013, 06:25 PM
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 01:17 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Oct 1 2013, 12:07 AM)
Hi guy, just brought back my hedgie yesterday. Would like to ask sumthing. Seems like she is very nervous or scared, whenever there is movement near her, she would start hissing and shivers up. I have tried lowering my hand inside her box, but she wont ease up. Also i notice that she dont seem to be eating at all nor drinking. During the  COD however she was friendly and active, even during the car ride back to my house. Is this common for her to adept to new environments ? Im afraid of her health sad.gif shall i just leave her alone for few more days and observe ?
Also, what type of environment will make it feel more comfy ? For example more light ? I read that they need roughly 10 hours of sun light min. Temperature ? Im pretty sure temperature should be fine, unless air con is needed then ill have to shift it to my room.
yes they tend to be okay during cod but not during the post cod

use the cloth in hidebox method the they'll be friendly sooner but remove it during night else they'll poop on it. fed it with your handpalm and it be much more happier to smell you (no finger please else it'll take your finger as food, be prepared for bites cus it doesnt know its your hand just brace yourself and pull back abit but dont jump) also, they do most of drinking and eating during the night do update if that doesnt happen

finaly, no no for aircond a room temp is already enough. well a quiet clean environment would be enough, they sleep most of the time so.. 0 f's given tongue.gif
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 10:08 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Oct 1 2013, 06:34 AM)
Hmm, will try that later smile.gif Btw cloth in hidebox method ? Means i put my old cloth into their hidebox ?
Update, passed the 2nd night, cant tell if she did ate or not, didnt giv put much food on the bowl and is still there  hmm.gif  btw, she is 3 months
yes i do means it that way, or if your cloth is precious to you try using handkerchief, sleep with the hanky one night and then throw it in there

if they dont eat then i think u have to contact the seller and inquire about what its used to eat, cus they are still too young to know what to eat. it is probably their mom who taught the lil hog that a food is edible, so u have to stick with the food it is used to, then slowly change to the food u bought. it is usually royal canin 32 or 38 (and no i dont think there is a diff but probably in terms of diet, yes a little)
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 06:50 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Oct 1 2013, 10:43 AM)
Hmm, i think i may have to cut up my cloths then  tongue.gif  my box aint small, but aint big enough also. Im feeding her RC36 , previous owner was on iams ... shoulnt be 2 much of a difference i guess ? since both are chicken  hmm.gif
then i'd say give a mx of iams and rc36 say, 1/4 rc 3/4 iams. slowly make it to 50/50 iams and rc. then when u feel its done then u can go ahead with all rc. as for mine it still doesnt know how to eat mealworms and i'm slowly teaching it.

u can just get a mini packet of iams to save $$
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 06:54 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(86Aries @ Oct 1 2013, 04:36 PM)
when is the right time to change their kibble from kitten to adult?
kitten kibbles contains more fat, so is it advisable to continue feeding the kitten ones?
well i cant really give an exact answer for that but i could say why not give it a try, as hedgehogs grow up they would prefer some things to spice up their life so a change of food would be an option. u could always get a small packet if u're afraid that it doesnt accept it. but somehow some hogs would just prefer to stick to their baby food
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 07:00 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Oct 1 2013, 05:05 PM)
my hedgehog still refuses to eat ProDiet  doh.gif

so in the mean time, ive been feeding her worms. i just bought royal canin fit 32 today and hopefully she will start eating!
as said, it will be easier to feed the same food then slowly change it to the one u want it to eat.

it is same for us if i say "what if i told u, grass is edible?". u never knew it is edible because u never bother trying to. same goes for them, they dont know that it is edible, it will be a rather long time to teach it. it would be better to enquire from the previous owner what it is used to eat.
WhyNotYouTeachMe
post Oct 1 2013, 09:12 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Oct 1 2013, 07:19 PM)
where do you get mini packets of cat food ? As far as i can find, smallest RC is 2kg  sad.gif  planning to mix in some fruits and stuff later on biggrin.gif
Good news ! She finally finish and empty the food bowl when i came back biggrin.gif
yep, u can get at some pet shops, but usually they dont just display it for sale, u gotta ask for it. but i dont think all pet shops do that.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:37 AM