Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 06:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 06:29 PM)
In Singapore, the employer portion of CPF is not included in the job advert also lah.

You're overestimating how many people earn 90-110K in Australia. Actually, it's quite rare. Lots of people earn 60, 70K. Even those who do manual labour. Although I have no statistics, I dare say someone earning 100K and above in Singapore is much higher per capita vs Australia.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
If you leave your money in CPF then it will deteriorate with infaltion to suck up the value of your money.
Does Australia pay a high return on super? That's why most Singaporeans pull out their CPF to buy property.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?
Nope. By using your hands, your earning power is limited by your energy, health and number of hours in a day. That's why the Australian average wage is higher than Singapore. Manual workers earn quite a lot, COMPARATIVELY. But there's a very real and low ceiling to their earnings.
Are you sure foreigners now can achieve more than 100k in SG? I heard many foreigners offered 1.8k/month for starters in SG compared in OZ where the starting salary is AUD 3k/month.
I also think to get 65k in OZ is faster and easier than in SG where people are too kiasu and SG is over crowded.
I believe OZ will have further growth in the future since they haven't maximised the PPE

In OZ at least you will see no far gap between rich and the poor. Hence, it will be good for the residents.
Of course per capita will be higher since SG has less residents liao

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 06:57 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 06:58 PM

1,569 posts

[quote=ben3003,Oct 23 2011, 06:53 PM]Easy to get OZ job as engineer? Normally can apply at where?

[/quote]

you can stay in OZ up to 2 yrs if you have graduated from OZ university

Added on October 23, 2011, 7:04 pm[quote=mercury8400,Oct 23 2011, 06:55 PM]
Btw, in Australia jov vacancy the FM usually noted 90-110k+super.
If you leave your money in CPF then it will deteriorate with infaltion to suck up the value of your money.
See this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count...velopment_Index
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Peace_Index
Even Australia is safer than Singapore lol...I respect your comment, I will make note about it about having car in OZ is expensive, the maintenance one is. Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?

Added on October 23, 2011, 6:26 pmOr beter you work in Brunei since it doesn't have income tax.

http://www.byebyeblighty.com/tax-havens/li...-in-brunei.html

[/quote]

I suspect you are just trying (hard) to find reasons to justify why you should migrate to SG instead of Aus despite the obvious "benefits" most people (including me) have pointed out to you. If you feel so strongly that Aus is better than just go lar.

[/quote]

you are right that I find the reasons for best one.
however, each country has its pros and cons.
But I welcome you and seantang to give positive comments about SG.
I just see SG has lower currency power and lower salary for accounting.
How come starting salary is only 1.8k-2.2k only. My pay here is better although I have just worked for 1 yr..
I will take note about it. Thanks..

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 07:04 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 09:33 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 07:32 PM)
Yes. My company has about 70 finance staff in SG and about 50% are foreigners. Not counting the senior managers and directors, the pay of the execs to junior managers range from 4K to 12K. Out of the 10 senior managers/directors, 3 are from SG, 1 Malaysia, 2 HK, 1 India, 2 Australia, 1 South American.

I don't know. I've been here 6 years and promoted 3 times. a major factor is the high concentration of foreigners in management. In Australia, the overwhelming majority of managers will be locals and look upon you as an intruder.

Not my problem. I intend to be part of the rich.

Anyway, this is getting nowhere. You've got your view. If you find Australia better, go for it.
wow, your company has lots of finance staffs. In my company, 1 Finance manager, 4 controllers, 5 accounting staffs, 2 tax officers, 3 export-import officers and 7 purchasing officers. I am as fresh grad joined as controller, where can I be promoted to? All other controllers people are older than me by 6-10 yrs. The FM is already >50 yrs old.
although we have a few finance people, but our turnover has already been about US$100 million and it expects to double in 2012. In total we have about 1k employees.

Will singaporean look at you as intruders too? You see them nagging at EDMW about FT snatching their jobs.

Btw, your company is 500 Fortune and this is why they pay better.
What is the good about service and technology? service is too overrated and do you think finance people are not cost center? what do they do about service and technology? My company paid US$1million for SAP, that's expensive and need to pay monthly maintenance

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:38 pm
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Oct 23 2011, 08:22 PM)
hmm.. i am kind of wanting to go australia to work, mainly perth or melbourne as i got many friends there. The reason i choose to go there is because of the quality of life that i can get rather than i keep working in SG from day to night like a lifeless zombie.
working holiday visa bro.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 09:40 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 24 2011, 12:15 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 10:12 PM)
Nagging is one thing. The White Australia policy, One Nation Party and racial bashings are a totally different matter.

So... all of a sudden, finance people print money in Australia, vs being a cost center in Singapore?

Anyway... I think you've got your mind made up. Good luck in Australia.
Nope, I will make a jump in sg first.
But my company in sg is only a sales representative office lei and only has 1 accountant.
They offered me to transfer but I have rejected it 2 weeks ago. I don't think it will grow my career. what do you think?
It seems sg is not good for people who have experience in manufacturing company since they have more service and technological companies

Added on October 24, 2011, 12:17 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
Yes very few, but not a problem for me cause I've planned my budget and when to withdraw tongue.gif
Also with ATM5, you can withdraw from Citibank, Maybank, and 3 other banks (cant recall now) ATM too...
Why don't you open citi account? I heard they offer for free when you withdraw and transfer in any ATMs

Added on October 24, 2011, 12:19 am
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:57 PM)
You are fresh grad and u want to go Aus to work NOW? You're kidding right? do you know hoaw hard is it to get a job as a fresh grad in Aus NOW? Do you know how bad the economic is in AUs right now? They are not even hiring permanent staff right now, all temps and without any experience, not caucasion and no PR (i think), your chances are roughly nil. I still have cousins who graduated mid last year who is still jobless. (fyi she has a masters in addition to a degree but have rich parents). So unless you have very deep pockets, i suggest you don't quit yr job and go to Aus and find one.
Have I said that I will work to OZ now? maybe I will plan for next 3-5 yrs.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 24 2011, 12:19 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 25 2011, 08:57 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(White Knight @ Oct 25 2011, 09:26 AM)
Hi all, not sure whether this is the right forum or not. Just to share with you all that S'pore PM salary is the highest in the world amongst all the world leaders. Lee Hsien Loong annual salary is a whopping US$2,183,516. His salary compared to GDP is 38:51.
I saw it in the yahoo news. It's from the media, not sure how true it is or it's not true at all.
Even CA Australia guy cannot calculate ratio right.

Added on October 25, 2011, 9:11 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 25 2011, 02:45 PM)
wow, IT salary pawn accounting deep deep..
I think I should change to IT then

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 25 2011, 09:11 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 26 2011, 01:13 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 25 2011, 10:31 PM)
At least those guys have someone who want to pay them those salaries. Most people can't convince others to pay them anywhere near those salaries even if they offer to work 24/7.

If your time is worthless or only worth something to people who only want to buy small amounts of it, you can of course talk about work life balance.
Then why don't you open the biz in your part time? My friend invested her money to import vietnam baby clothes and sell it in the department store. well she earns 50% of her salary.

true my coy even don't pay me OT, all my salaries are gross.. If I say to them, no need to hire other people, just me to handle all, do they want? maybe, but they have to bear risk if I suddenly leave the coy, who will replace me?
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 26 2011, 08:58 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 26 2011, 08:46 AM)
Is the opportunity cost that make or break a decision.

Added on October 26, 2011, 8:52 amto change a job. You will only realize your value increasing with promotion or increment, not withstanding when you scout for jobs and was quoted a tag price. The market is efficient.

Doing your own business is more towards ability and willingness to take risk that you foresee could be more rewarding than your opporturnity cost. Not just for the sake that my relatives, friends, or siblings are making big money from their own business.
You cannot depend on increment. I don't know why increment is small but when you jump to other companies then your pay will be double. true story of me.
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 27 2011, 11:45 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 27 2011, 06:01 PM)
Well, back when I was working in KL, biz trips to Singapore are $110 per diem on top of accomodation provided. This guy has to pay his accomodation out of the $100. if he's "long term" enough to be able to rent a room it should be OK, but if he has to stay in like hotels or service apartments ... not enough.
This is like my friend does. he is a market analyst in my coy. day to day in singapore(1 week/month) lives at regis park hotel. allowance meal is 50USD/day, very good!

Added on October 27, 2011, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 26 2011, 09:22 PM)
I agree. That's why I depend on promotion and bonus, not increment.
haha, bonus will depend on your and company performance.
That's why I will be doing in budgeting now, I just let them to give me the slack budgeting. If you have high budget, your chance to get high bonus will be high!! However, need to prove the budget is right, no need to be a cult hero who press the budget and insist the improvement in all areas with cost saving!

For promotion, need to against people who are senior and older, that's the challenge. Need to stay long at the company to prove you are worth at the coy, but if you can get higher salary in new company, why not?

Added on October 28, 2011, 12:01 am
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 27 2011, 01:53 AM)
if you've got the interest and aptitude for it, why not? i was in banking ops for 5 years before switching over to semi-IT (business analysis). but switching over to a field just because it pays more when you have zero interest is, imo, recipe for disaster though.
If I want to change career, it should be sales where the money IS!! why should I take back office job.
Sales is very good, I see their budget, spend time travelling to US, Europe with high class hotel and the salary is very high.. No need to be handsome and extrovert if your products are on demand and have quality. Our budget for sales expenses are around US$500-700k.. Btw, what biz analyst does and what related to IT? I thought it is accountant's job like financial analyst.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 28 2011, 12:03 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 29 2011, 07:54 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 28 2011, 08:40 AM)
Just like how the company doesn't anyhow hire you, you shouldn't anyhow join a company. Like buying shares, choose one with good fundamentals.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
For promotion, need to against people who are senior and older, that's the challenge. Need to stay long at the company to prove you are worth at the coy, but if you can get higher salary in new company, why not?
At some point in your career, EVERYBODY in your peer group can do the job. What makes the difference in promotions is how much they are trusted, their reputation/credibility and who is backing them. You lose all 3 elements each time you change job. You'll find it gets exponentially less common to change employers and increase (or even maintain) your earnings, as you get nearer to the pointy part of the pyramid.
I audited several companies last year from the giant company to small company and I got opportunity to audit their payroll and look the lists of people with their salaries. I am so surprised how company with $1 billions of revenues, the salary structure even lower than company with $100 million of revenues. The giant company only pays huge for the DIRECTOR, it's about US$300k/yr included in bonus but the GM it's only about US$3k/month. this is crazy. they can make good profit when they pay their employees low.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 29 2011, 07:55 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 29 2011, 08:32 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 29 2011, 08:02 AM)
it depends lor... if a bill company have 100,000 in their payrole vs 100mill company which have 10 people only... probably the company with less people and less rev make more... also it depends on the industry, you must compare apples with apples...

directorship carries weight, where else the title 'gm' is just a title...

why pay more? if company is doing well, employees are happy... what's the point paying extra $$$... the shareholders wants their cut to stay happy too...
this is where inequality is, I pity people who work there, their turnover rate of people is also small, it's about 0.5%/yr. The giant company has 2500 people whereas the 100 million company has 1000 people. Industry is same, manufacturing. The profit of giant company is US$100 millions where the smaller is only US$12 million.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 29 2011, 08:34 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 14 2011, 10:54 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 14 2011, 10:27 PM)
we bought our HDB with our 2k+ freshie salary back then, life was "miserable".

years after, freshie pay remain the same, so who is more miserable?
2k for me is luxury. I will rent a room in my whole life. hahha...

Added on November 14, 2011, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 14 2011, 10:27 PM)
we bought our HDB with our 2k+ freshie salary back then, life was "miserable".

years after, freshie pay remain the same, so who is more miserable?
2k for me is luxury. I will rent a room in my whole life. hahha...

Added on November 14, 2011, 10:56 pmthis is the good being single, you will enjoy your life more.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Nov 14 2011, 10:56 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Nov 15 2011, 11:56 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 14 2011, 11:52 PM)
Don't be a slave for hdb owner forever. If possible Own the place you stay, pay installment is better than paying rental that only helps others buying their house.

Don't you want financial freedom and peace of mind one fine day?

Married early will combine two incomes as one to take up any early opportunity but your are right about single enjoying life more.  The question is for how long do you really want to enjoy that way.
the prob, is your wife drawing the good salary too? How about the shopaholic wife?
I seldom find the girls who save lots money in their working life.
I want the financial freedom(want this badly, too tired of office politics), I find it to retire at penang with cheap cost of living and good medical centre. However, I like city environment where I can see lots chio girls brows.gif
Not to be proud because the inheritance, I have already had 5 landed houses and 1 shophouse from my father under my name(Thanks to him).
In singapore, I find it better to rent rather than buy a condo there, I think it will be crazy to sell all my houses to buy 1 condo in Sg..

Added on November 15, 2011, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 14 2011, 11:52 PM)
Don't be a slave for hdb owner forever. If possible Own the place you stay, pay installment is better than paying rental that only helps others buying their house.

Don't you want financial freedom and peace of mind one fine day?

Married early will combine two incomes as one to take up any early opportunity but your are right about single enjoying life more.  The question is for how long do you really want to enjoy that way.
the prob, is your wife drawing the good salary too? How about the shopaholic wife?
I seldom find the girls who save lots money in their working life.
I want the financial freedom(want this badly, too tired of office politics), I find it to retire at penang with cheap cost of living and good medical centre. However, I like city environment where I can see lots chio girls brows.gif
Not to be proud because the inheritance, I have already had 5 landed houses and 1 shophouse from my father under my name(Thanks to him).
In singapore, I find it better to rent rather than buy a condo there, I think it will be crazy to sell all my houses to buy 1 condo in Sg..

Added on November 15, 2011, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(samsungXP @ Nov 15 2011, 09:23 AM)
working in sg and live at j.b u can save a lot
I hate to travelling long way. I just want to rent the room near working place, save lots time to be spent for useful thing.
This past 2 years I have to travel around 1-1.5 hrs, this makes me sick!!

Added on November 16, 2011, 12:02 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 14 2011, 11:42 PM)
I don't know... how much can you eat?

Lunch can cost anywhere from $3 at a food court to $15 at Jack's Place. Both are considered normal daily lunch to a fresh graduate. Just depends on who you ask.

So, you'd wanna frame your questions better. Don't ask such open ended questions.
Price is what you pay, value is what you get.
I like japanese and korean cuisine, Ngee ann poly food court is the best for me.
Got salmon, ebi just for $3-3.5 etc..
I hate the economical rice bro.. $10/day is enough for me.
At weekend can eat sushi buffett at nihonmura just for $20.

Added on November 16, 2011, 12:11 am
QUOTE(wh0cares @ Nov 15 2011, 11:40 PM)
mandarin in SG important or not?
sunkist is more important bro biggrin.gif
joking... I cannot speak mandarin bro, I was in malay educated school

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Nov 16 2011, 12:11 AM

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0195sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:00 PM