122 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V14

starrynight
post Jan 11 2013, 05:14 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jan 10 2013, 07:54 PM)
Never buy stuff from there & boycott the shop. You guys will be supporting them in a way even though you just buy supplies from there.

As for discussion why PLC is more expensive, I believe is due to maintenance cost. Just look at the cage they keep the hamsters, always full with food, water & fresh bedding. I never see any injured/sick hamsters in there as well unlike petsmore. On top of that they are using homefriends bedding eventhough they got cheap bedding in stock. This shows that they ensure the hamster lives in an excellent environment. I am referring to sunway pyramid branch, not sure about others.

Empire (subang) petsmore on the other hand stinks, bedding wet with pee. Can sometimes see sick hamsters in it & they uses cheap bedding which is actually not very suitable for baby hamsters. Worst is they dont even have wheel in the cage. This is my experience for the past few months ago, not sure about now coz never been to petsmore for quite some time.
I agree with you. Homefriends bedding cost about RM36 a bag and they're using it for their hamster (also promoting la). I been to 3 petsmore and I just had to walk away. There were hammies with red eyes and loss fur and it's just heart breaking.

Clareen
post Jan 11 2013, 06:47 PM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Jan 11 2013, 05:10 PM)
I would advise not to change so often because when you change the bedding, the hamster lost his scent on his stuff therefore it started marking again. The more often you change, the more it will mark therefore causing worse smell.

How big is your cage and how much bedding do you use? You can clean it weekly or bi weekly if there's more bedding.

Is your hamster male or female? Does it smell strongly of pee or it's scent?
One male one female. and the smell i believe its their pee smell.. it's causes by their food? i wonder?

Ok noted i will change their bedding lesser than in that case smile.gif
jeremysoon93
post Jan 12 2013, 01:29 AM

Guys is this amount of food (daily) enough? I put my earphone as a size comparison. This is from Vitakraft.
I only give my girl one kuaci a day, not sure if the small little seeds are contributing to her fats.

Oh and my hammie's suddenly getting obese ><
When I lifted her little Hippo room, I found out there's A LOT of kuaci inside.
It's not really possible cuz, for the past week I feed her only 1 kuaci daily, broken into 3 pieces. and I've cleaned the cage last week removing everything. And I don't think they'll store kuaci in their mouth for many many weeks right?
The only thing I suspect is my part-time maid simply give extra food. The first time it happened I screamed to my mom about this issue. Ugh, maids.

This post has been edited by jeremysoon93: Jan 12 2013, 01:29 AM

TSinfernoaswen
post Jan 12 2013, 01:16 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Jan 12 2013, 01:29 AM)
Guys is this amount of food (daily) enough? I put my earphone as a size comparison. This is from Vitakraft.
I only give my girl one kuaci a day, not sure if the small little seeds are contributing to her fats.

Oh and my hammie's suddenly getting obese ><
When I lifted her little Hippo room, I found out there's A LOT of kuaci inside.
It's not really possible cuz, for the past week I feed her only 1 kuaci daily, broken into 3 pieces. and I've cleaned the cage last week removing everything. And I don't think they'll store kuaci in their mouth for many many weeks right?
The only thing I suspect is my part-time maid simply give extra food. The first time it happened I screamed to my mom about this issue. Ugh, maids.
vitakraft quality lately I feel not that good anymore...because if you notice it comes with lots of that small seed. The hard type brown colour 1...my hamster rarely touch that last time...

then i switched to hamster nature...its quite good...hamster ate for few weeks but unfortunately pass away due to old age...That amount should be enough for 1 hamster I believe but I usually add a bit more so that he dont think its not enough food so try to save & eat little. You can always reuse the uneaten food as long as its still fresh.

also as for the sunflower seed issue, its possible. Same thing happened to me & found out my sister gave him sunflower seed when I am not around, so I hide my stock tongue.gif
jeremysoon93
post Jan 12 2013, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jan 12 2013, 01:16 PM)
vitakraft quality lately I feel not that good anymore...because if you notice it comes with lots of that small seed. The hard type brown colour 1...my hamster rarely touch that last time...

then i switched to hamster nature...its quite good...hamster ate for few weeks but unfortunately pass away due to old age...That amount should be enough for 1 hamster I believe but I usually add a bit more so that he dont think its not enough food so try to save & eat little. You can always reuse the uneaten food as long as its still fresh.

also as for the sunflower seed issue, its possible. Same thing happened to me & found out my sister gave him sunflower seed when I am not around, so I hide my stock tongue.gif
Owh ... my baby eats everything haha. I tried hamster nature before with previous hamsters, might give it another try and see.

This food amount I adjust according to how much leftover there is.
Ah alright. I'll have to start hiding my hamster food everytime the maids come lolol.
TSinfernoaswen
post Jan 12 2013, 05:44 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Jan 12 2013, 05:42 PM)
Owh ... my baby eats everything haha. I tried hamster nature before with previous hamsters, might give it another try and see.

This food amount I adjust according to how much leftover there is.
Ah alright. I'll have to start hiding my hamster food everytime the maids come lolol.
I got 1 packet for sale brows.gif tongue.gif
jeremysoon93
post Jan 13 2013, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jan 12 2013, 05:44 PM)
I got 1 packet for sale  brows.gif  tongue.gif
Nah it's alright haha my hamster food I bought last week only.
Thanks anyways.
*dReaM FaNtaSy*
post Jan 13 2013, 12:12 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Jan 11 2013, 06:47 PM)
One male one female. and the smell i believe its their pee smell.. it's causes by their food? i wonder?

Ok noted i will change their bedding lesser than in that case smile.gif
Have you toilet trained your hamster?
Whenever people say that hamsters are smelly is because of their pee
Toilet train them and they won't be
I used to keep my hamster in my bedroom no smell at all because he was toilet trained and I cleaned his toilet twice a day

Don't change the bedding and clean their house too often
I'm sure you wouldn't like people coming into your room and messing up your place do you?
It causes stress and anxiety in them.
If you notice, hamsters usually groom themselves when you return them into their cage after you clean them.
Hamsters groom for two reason
One: to keep clean. hamsters are extremely clean animals
Two: to deal with stress and anxiety
huiyin_hsu
post Jan 13 2013, 01:18 AM

169 posts

reporting in with a syrian smile.gif she's about 6-8 months old. quite heavy doh.gif on the Vitakraft diet. But i realised she's been abit picky, always just picks out the seeds or whatever she wants and leaves the rest behind sad.gif

jeremysoon93
post Jan 13 2013, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Jan 13 2013, 01:18 AM)
reporting in with a syrian smile.gif she's about 6-8 months old. quite heavy doh.gif on the Vitakraft diet. But i realised she's been abit picky, always just picks out the seeds or whatever she wants and leaves the rest behind sad.gif

Ohai! biggrin.gif
Love it when hamsters stay still for photoshoots haha.
Hmmmm, usually if there are still quite a lot of leftovers, I don't refill until a certain extended period, so when they're hungry they'll eat anything (I think).
I've came across an article saying this is to train them to eat everything. :/ Not sure if it really works on all.
huiyin_hsu
post Jan 13 2013, 03:47 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Jan 13 2013, 01:32 PM)
Ohai!  biggrin.gif
Love it when hamsters stay still for photoshoots haha.
Hmmmm, usually if there are still quite a lot of leftovers, I don't refill until a certain extended period, so when they're hungry they'll eat anything (I think).
I've came across an article saying this is to train them to eat everything. :/ Not sure if it really works on all.
Haha! Mine stays very very still 1. Like blur blur like that laugh.gif laugh.gif but she likes it when i hold her and stroke her head. never move 1 smile.gif
I usually fill her food once every two to three days doh.gif her dry food la. my mom gives her abit of cucumber, fruits n stuff...

wanna ask, almonds are okay rite? usually i'll give her half an almond once a week. maybe thats why she so fat? tongue.gif i never feed her sunflower seeds .. hehe

another pic of my ah fai~

This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: Jan 13 2013, 06:22 PM
jeremysoon93
post Jan 14 2013, 06:55 AM

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Jan 13 2013, 03:47 PM)
Haha! Mine stays very very still 1. Like blur blur like that  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  but she likes it when i hold her and stroke her head. never move 1 smile.gif
I usually fill her food once every two to three days doh.gif her dry food la. my mom gives her abit of cucumber, fruits n stuff...

wanna ask, almonds are okay rite? usually i'll give her half an almond once a week. maybe thats why she so fat? tongue.gif i never feed her sunflower seeds .. hehe

another pic of my ah fai~

Aaaaah you've got yourself a very still hamster smile.gif
Almonds ... ah once a week should be fine la. Just dun give the salty or too sweet ones.
tjaime1984
post Jan 14 2013, 10:46 AM

32 posts

hi all, i went to sg wang petshop at 1st floor..seems everything clean & tidy...i do smell a bit when peep into the cage but still is more ok than those aquarium shop...all the pets so cute..they didnt allow anyone to hold unless serious buyer..i dont understand why some ppl saying a lot ppl playing with them & drop them...very nice shop also and friendly.
i just brought a pack hamster food, but the staff allow me to stay longer & offer me seat as im waiting for my fren...
the price on hamster oso ok..( diff place diff price). if my place with that price i onli get 1 head...

Clareen
post Jan 14 2013, 07:13 PM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(*dReaM FaNtaSy* @ Jan 13 2013, 12:12 AM)
Have you toilet trained your hamster?
Whenever people say that hamsters are smelly is because of their pee
Toilet train them and they won't be
I used to keep my hamster in my bedroom no smell at all because he was toilet trained and I cleaned his toilet twice a day

Don't change the bedding and clean their house too often
I'm sure you wouldn't like people coming into your room and messing up your place do you?
It causes stress and anxiety in them.
If you notice, hamsters usually groom themselves when you return them into their cage after you clean them.
Hamsters groom for two reason
One: to keep clean. hamsters are extremely clean animals
Two: to deal with stress and anxiety
Hmmm actually i didn't toilet trained my hamster. could you mind teach me how to toilet trained them?
TSinfernoaswen
post Jan 14 2013, 11:06 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Jan 14 2013, 07:13 PM)
Hmmm actually i didn't toilet trained my hamster. could you mind teach me how to toilet trained them?
read 1st page.
huiyin_hsu
post Jan 15 2013, 02:04 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Jan 14 2013, 06:55 AM)
Aaaaah you've got yourself a very still hamster smile.gif
Almonds ... ah once a week should be fine la. Just dun give the salty or too sweet ones.
Haha! More like shes very slow and cautious of her surroundings.. even when I put her on the floor. She looks around... n slowly walks.. my dad ask why she walk look funmy. Like kangkang like that. Hahaha! The almonds that she eats are those kosong type. Not seasoned at all smile.gif

babybb
post Jan 15 2013, 11:02 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Jan 14 2013, 10:46 AM)
hi all, i went to sg wang petshop at 1st floor..seems everything clean & tidy...i do smell a bit when peep into the cage but still is more ok than those aquarium shop...all the pets so cute..they didnt allow anyone to hold unless serious buyer..i dont understand why some ppl saying a lot ppl playing with them & drop them...very nice shop also and friendly.
i just brought a pack hamster food, but the staff allow me to stay longer & offer me seat as im waiting for my fren...
the price on hamster oso ok..( diff place diff price). if my place with that price i onli get 1 head...
I saw it with my own eyes & i wont simply accuse them cause it bring no benefit to me. I'm a regular customer at there as well & i own a member card with them. I'm just sharing what i have saw only. Maybe those are their friend? Or they have change staff? hmmm.. this i have no ideal unsure.gif

This post has been edited by babybb: Jan 15 2013, 11:08 AM
tjaime1984
post Jan 15 2013, 02:20 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Jan 15 2013, 11:02 AM)
I saw it with my own eyes & i wont simply accuse them cause it bring no benefit to me. I'm a regular customer at there as well & i own a member card with them. I'm just sharing what i have saw only. Maybe those are their friend? Or they have change staff? hmmm.. this i have no ideal  unsure.gif
maybe la..coz the staff seems ok with me..the pets looks ok..the stuff there not much..even what i wana find oso dont have...hope they change management & become good pet lover...

babybb
post Jan 15 2013, 02:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Jan 15 2013, 02:20 PM)
maybe la..coz the staff seems ok with me..the pets looks ok..the stuff there not much..even what i wana find oso dont have...hope they change management & become good pet lover...
Yea in fact hamster stuffs are not that much in term of treats nia. Maybe they still havent in stocks yet. Previous they got a lot of new stuffs 1.
starrynight
post Jan 15 2013, 04:27 PM

21 posts

Thank you guys for pointing me to nilufar. I have been searching for the saucer wheel for very long de, finally got one. 8 pet stores and finally you guys point me to the right direction. I didn't specifically went myself but asked my friend to get for me but that's just as awesome.

122 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0421sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:37 PM