dreamer101
post Sep 28 2006, 08:03 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(apis @ Sep 28 2006, 02:34 AM)
Invest in forex..I gain a lot of profit from it..There are many broker online..Choose what u desire..If u have knowledge on technical analysis,why not try it..
QUOTE(yiivei @ Sep 28 2006, 06:34 PM)
its betta if u hav knowledge on both technical and fundamental anlaysis... bside, it depends on whether u go for short or long term. if u aim for short term, then time management does matter lotz... u can earn lotz in between the spread or what ppl so called "swing"...
You are essentially gambling and taking a lot of risk at the same time. Some people can do it and do it well and most cannot. The risk level is so high that it only takes one bad day to bankrupt you.

Dreamer

apis
post Sep 28 2006, 09:15 PM

1,175 posts

That depend how much u want to put ur margin/leverage..Enter a trade when there is a downtrend..u now when to exit the market..that why u can't be greedy..yes. there is a risk..for usd1k, i can double it in 1 month...
leekk8
post Sep 28 2006, 09:55 PM

1,059 posts

Sure, if you want high return, there is high risk. Double US1k in a month, I can imagine, you also may loss US2k in a month. To be successful in investment, a lot of effort have to be taken, else it's gambling, just depends on luck.

If this is good investment, Warren Buffet will put his time and effort on this...but in fact, ???
dreamer101
post Sep 28 2006, 10:24 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(apis @ Sep 28 2006, 09:15 PM)
That depend how much u want to put ur margin/leverage..Enter a trade when there is a downtrend..u now when to exit the market..that why u can't be greedy..yes. there is a risk..for usd1k, i can double it in 1 month...
Apis,

There are different level of risk. In stock (unless you do option), you put in 1K and the most that you can lose is 1K. This is not the case in FOREX.

Let's be honest here. If we are not greedy, why do we invest/gamble any money??

To make your USD 1K in one month, how many trades did you do per month?? What is the size of your trades?? Your exposure to loss is definitely more that USD 1K. It is more like 10 to 20 times that.

The risk of losing (A) 1X your principal is different from the risk of losing (B) 10 to 20 times your principal.

In (A), you lose money. In (B), you go bankrupt.

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Sep 28 2006, 09:55 PM)
Sure, if you want high return, there is high risk. Double US1k in a month, I can imagine, you also may loss US2k in a month. To be successful in investment, a lot of effort have to be taken, else it's gambling, just depends on luck.

If this is good investment, Warren Buffet will put his time and effort on this...but in fact, ???
Leekk8,

The risk is more that losing 2K per month. It is probably 10 times more than that. We are talking about bankrupcy here.

Dreamer

mobiusone
post Sep 28 2006, 10:32 PM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Sep 28 2006, 09:55 PM)

because he entered the market based solely on fundamental reason,thats why he got burned

This post has been edited by mobiusone: Sep 28 2006, 10:40 PM
mobiusone
post Sep 28 2006, 11:04 PM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

lol...Forex isnt evil at all.
The liquidity and volatility makes it a great place for some speculative trades and scalping.

A lot of people went bankrupt because they place everthing they had into the market.Which is of course a grave mistake.Only trade it with an amount of money that you could afford to lose,if you do not have it,then dont.A lot of forex experts always mention this very important rule.

There are plenty of more solid investments out there,which yields good return in the long run.Forex is earn it or lose it,that makes it strictly short term.
dreamer101
post Sep 28 2006, 11:22 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Sep 28 2006, 11:04 PM)
Forex is earn it or lose it,that makes it strictly short term.
Mobiusone,

Another word, it is gambling. Some people can do it and most don't.

Dreamer

~Battousai~
post Sep 28 2006, 11:23 PM

4,477 posts

guys..if i have rm3k to invest, what should i invest in ? i dont mind low risk low return stuff.. no FD please tongue.gif
luqmanz
post Sep 29 2006, 01:09 AM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Sep 28 2006, 11:23 PM)
guys..if i have rm3k to invest, what should i invest in ? i dont mind low risk low return stuff.. no FD please tongue.gif
Put into ASN/ASB/ASW thing... or a good mutual fund
apis
post Sep 29 2006, 02:59 AM

1,175 posts

I only loss around usd100-300 per month compare to what i gain..Rite now,i'm a full time forex trader..I close my trade when my trade is below 25 pips..i trade 5 pair in a day..gain around 100 pips..
dreamer101
post Sep 29 2006, 07:03 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(apis @ Sep 29 2006, 02:59 AM)
I only loss around usd100-300 per month compare to what i gain..Rite now,i'm a full time forex trader..I close my trade when my trade is below 25 pips..i trade 5 pair in a day..gain around 100 pips..
Apis,

Good for you. You have the discipline to limit your loss. This is NOT for everyone. Even just on normal stock trading, I was too greedy and I lost half of my life savings because of that. It was a very expensive lesson.

Dreamer
leekk8
post Sep 29 2006, 11:10 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Sep 28 2006, 11:23 PM)
If you have time and interested, you can study a bit about some big firm financial status...choose the best 1 and buy its stock. High dividend yield stocks are high recommended.

Mutual fund is another option, but there will be some fee charged, so you must understand the fee mechanism of mutual fund before you invest.
leekk8
post Sep 29 2006, 11:13 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 29 2006, 07:03 AM)
Apis,

Good for you.  You have the discipline to limit your loss.  This is NOT for everyone.  Even just on normal stock trading, I was too greedy and I lost half of my life savings because of that.  It was a very expensive lesson.

Dreamer
Yes, discipline is very important is investment. Set a limit for win or loss...don't be greedy, then you can survive in the market and earn money. I think , if you just invest with the money that you have, I believe it's not easy to get bankrupt, just don't borrow money to invest. Save your emergency fund, use all your extra money to invest...
whtrader
post Sep 29 2006, 01:23 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(apis @ Sep 29 2006, 02:59 AM)
May I ask what TA and timeframe are you using?
Dannyl
post Sep 29 2006, 03:13 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 28 2006, 11:22 PM)
Mobiusone,

Another word, it is gambling.  Some people can do it and most don't.

Dreamer
Stock market is a giant casino. You see people at the casino observing, watching, placing their bets, some win, some lose.

I have a couple of questions:
1) What's the inflation rate like? never mind, found it on previous page, it's 3%
2) What's the interest rate for bonds?
3) What's a good savings/investment vehicle for constant top-up with low risk and does not require monitoring? I'm just gonna pump-in a small amount of money (RM100, RM200) each month and let compound interest do the job. I am not looking to pull out anytime soon and would like to 'forget' about the money I put in (meaning I won't touch them).

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Sep 29 2006, 03:19 PM
TSky_khor
post Sep 29 2006, 03:32 PM

No.22
894 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 29 2006, 03:13 PM)
Stock market is a giant casino.
i guess only ppl who're losing money call it a casino. other ppl dun. tongue.gif
leekk8
post Sep 29 2006, 03:49 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Sep 29 2006, 03:32 PM)
i guess only ppl who're losing money call it a casino. other ppl dun.  tongue.gif
In fact, is the stock market is a casino or not, depends on the investors. If you just pick the stock without doing any research or study, then it's gambling, just depends on your luck. If you play contra, meaning buy stock even you don't have so much money, then you're borrowing money from ah long to gamble. If you put effort to study and do research about the companies before you buy the stock, and take this as long term investment, then you will get the returns.
cherroy
post Sep 29 2006, 05:35 PM

25,802 posts

For speculators
Stock market definitely is the casino, they just buy and sell the 'price' and gain and lose from it. Whether it is A company or B company, who's care, the important is that the syndicate will push the 'price higher' so that I can gain from it. If really want to speculate, better go for the futures market which is more volatile and lesser cost though I won't recommend people to speculate, once awhile is ok but not on long term basic.

For investors
The stock market is another investment tool and invest into a good managed company that will yield got dividen while capital appreciate together with the company growth.

But sadly to say, most of the KLSE retailers are at the speculators side, often you heard some asking got tips or not.
For those playing contra and using margin at long term basic, it is just like suicide.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 29 2006, 05:38 PM
dreamer101
post Sep 29 2006, 08:29 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 29 2006, 05:35 PM)
For speculators
Stock market definitely is the casino, they just buy and sell the 'price' and gain and lose from it. Whether it is A company or B company, who's care, the important is that the syndicate will push the 'price higher' so that I can gain from it. If really want to speculate, better go for the futures market which is more volatile and lesser cost though I won't recommend people to speculate, once awhile is ok but not on long term basic.

For investors
The stock market is another investment tool and invest into a good managed company that will yield got dividen while capital appreciate together with the company growth.

But sadly to say, most of the KLSE retailers are at the speculators side, often you heard some asking got tips or not.
For those playing contra and using margin at long term basic, it is just like suicide.
Cherroy,

IMHO, there is only one stock worth buying in the whole KLSE. Everything else is pure speculation. But, then again, I admit I have NO idea how to invest in Malaysia stock market. With 50% of the KLSE owned by GLC and GLIC, government action affects everything. I do not know how to read/forecast government's action since it is not business driven.

Dreamer

mobiusone
post Sep 29 2006, 10:58 PM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

Still,if the stock market is driven by speculators as you claim,the liquidity is still very terrible.The amount of market participants is very poor.

Even the FKLI at the moment,is starting become as boring as the stock market.

85 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:41 AM