This post has been edited by ky_khor: Aug 22 2006, 12:36 AM
Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment
Aug 22 2006, 12:32 AM
894 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i received PB Mutual Fund yearly statement. lol i dun understand anything there. XD hence i dun even know how to calculate, loss or earn and stuff.
lol mind to give me a lecture? QUOTE 1,127.01 units, 0.8873 per unit distribution reinvest 84.20 units, 0.7696 per unit wtf This post has been edited by ky_khor: Aug 22 2006, 12:36 AM |
Aug 22 2006, 09:25 AM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
wanna ask here. here in uk now they offer this investment that they GUARANTEE the interest rate is high above the inflation rate, and it's RISK FREE. i saw it in the tv by this national investment and savings. they even find sir Alan Sugar to promote it.
so is there anything like this in malaysia so far? |
Aug 22 2006, 09:45 AM
amanah saham
Aug 22 2006, 11:42 AM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
Aug 22 2006, 11:47 AM
the beginners welcomed's PB Balanced Fund
This post has been edited by ky_khor: Aug 22 2006, 12:05 PM |
Aug 22 2006, 12:43 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
Balanced Fund today buy price is 0.7320, sell price is 0.7796
your statement say u have 1127.01 units @ 0.8873 1127.01 * 0.8873 = 999.995 (round up to 1k - ur initial investment ?) Market value of ur units holding - (1127.01+84.2) * 0.7320 = 886.605 Which means on paper you are losing 1000-886.61 = 113.39 at the moment Hope I dint mislead you This post has been edited by dEviLs: Aug 22 2006, 12:46 PM |
Aug 22 2006, 12:50 PM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
if read that, it is better to invvest in index fund( passively manage fund ) which its follow d market trrend such as S&P 500..... but how ab in malaysia? kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI).?
Aug 22 2006, 04:45 PM
1,059 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL |
Mutual fund is a mid-long term investment. Since the service charge of most fund is around 5-6%, normally funds need to take 3 years to gain returns. In fact, many funds perform poorly, however, there're some give you return much higher than FD.
Ya, there're index fund in Msia, which performance is following the KLCI. |
Aug 22 2006, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Aug 22 2006, 04:45 PM) Mutual fund is a mid-long term investment. Since the service charge of most fund is around 5-6%, normally funds need to take 3 years to gain returns. In fact, many funds perform poorly, however, there're some give you return much higher than FD. yar... i noe... i wanna noe wetehr, KLCI is good enough to follow.... btw, some of d funds offer in malaysia for index fund is outrages....Ya, there're index fund in Msia, which performance is following the KLCI. |
Aug 22 2006, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(kubrick16 @ Aug 21 2006, 04:15 PM) hi to all gurus, Hi,just wondering what investment can i start to make/study/analyse now as i m going to graduate soon. of course i will get a job later but i want to invest on something at the same time to gain extra side income thanx in advance. It's better you understand about financial planning. Set your financial target, then come out some plans to achieve your target. First, you can save up some money in FD, for emergency usage. This amount depends on your expenditure. It's advisable you save an amount equal to your three month expenditure, thus, even you are jobless for 3 months, you still can survive. After that, plan some investment strategies, start with mutual funds, insurances then stock market. Mutual funds are easy to understand, it's low risk, also low returns, if compared to stock. Then you can go for stock trading in KLSE. Good Luck. |
Aug 22 2006, 04:54 PM
2,415 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Cheras |
Anyone here are investing property or should I call it real estate investment?sorry for being noob here..i am interesting in investing property like those buy house and u hold for a period of time than u sell it off.Anyone can give info about these stuff ?Can we earn alot through this ?What is the risk of investing a property ?
Hope someone here are willing to enlighten me |
Aug 22 2006, 04:58 PM
lowyat82,
In fact, I've purchased KLCI index fund, and it gives me return. I can't give any comments on the performance, but I can clarify few things here. Index funds normally didn't have distribution. Maybe once few years. The price trend is same as KLCI, as it invests in all composite shares. If you want to purchase, consider the KLCI now. The KLCI now is quite high...it's not really a wise decision if you purchase now. Bear in mind, you have to consider the service charges. |
Aug 22 2006, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Aug 22 2006, 04:58 PM) lowyat82, thanks for d advice... In fact, I've purchased KLCI index fund, and it gives me return. I can't give any comments on the performance, but I can clarify few things here. Index funds normally didn't have distribution. Maybe once few years. The price trend is same as KLCI, as it invests in all composite shares. If you want to purchase, consider the KLCI now. The KLCI now is quite high...it's not really a wise decision if you purchase now. Bear in mind, you have to consider the service charges. how u think ab d new RHB dow jones islamic index funds?its follow d trend market of dow jones.... in ur opinion is it.. better to invest locally or globally? coz i heard that malaysia market fluctuatess alot... |
Aug 22 2006, 06:09 PM
164 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Aug 22 2006, 04:51 PM) Hi, thanks for the advice, bro leekk8.It's better you understand about financial planning. Set your financial target, then come out some plans to achieve your target. First, you can save up some money in FD, for emergency usage. This amount depends on your expenditure. It's advisable you save an amount equal to your three month expenditure, thus, even you are jobless for 3 months, you still can survive. After that, plan some investment strategies, start with mutual funds, insurances then stock market. Mutual funds are easy to understand, it's low risk, also low returns, if compared to stock. Then you can go for stock trading in KLSE. Good Luck. i shall learn more bout this first. |
Aug 22 2006, 11:18 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
I think a lot of people don't realise the UT distribution can be taken as cash rather reinvest. Although reinvesting is not that bad, but everytime you reinvest you lose 5% from it. When you buy UT, you must fill in and instruct them to get the distribution as cash or else they will automatically reinvest for you.
Personally think that taking cash is much better than reinvest. |
Aug 23 2006, 12:22 AM
164 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Where or how can i learn more bout Mutual Fund in Malaysia ?
Aug 23 2006, 12:54 AM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Aug 22 2006, 04:58 PM) lowyat82, Hi,In fact, I've purchased KLCI index fund, and it gives me return. I can't give any comments on the performance, but I can clarify few things here. Index funds normally didn't have distribution. Maybe once few years. The price trend is same as KLCI, as it invests in all composite shares. If you want to purchase, consider the KLCI now. The KLCI now is quite high...it's not really a wise decision if you purchase now. Bear in mind, you have to consider the service charges. I am trying to learn about Malaysia market here. Why are you buying KLCI index fund?? The Unit Trust in Malaysia has a lot of cost in it. Let's say the annual maintenance fee is 3%. Compare this to buying one bank counter that pay dividend yied of 6%. How does the Unit Trust is better?? The Unit Trust will have to grow 9% per year to match my bank stock. Please comment... Dreamer |
Aug 23 2006, 08:43 AM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
Aug 23 2006, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 22 2006, 11:18 PM) I think a lot of people don't realise the UT distribution can be taken as cash rather reinvest. Although reinvesting is not that bad, but everytime you reinvest you lose 5% from it. When you buy UT, you must fill in and instruct them to get the distribution as cash or else they will automatically reinvest for you. but... compound interest is d best invention hunman has made.... Personally think that taking cash is much better than reinvest. but d prob is, some of d money will taken away from us everytime we invest... thats y im searching for passively manage funds... |
Aug 23 2006, 09:03 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 23 2006, 12:54 AM) Hi, Yup, everytime you buy UT, you lose 5% straigth away and 1.5% annually for their maintenance cost. That's why UT company are always trying to launch new fund. I am trying to learn about Malaysia market here. Why are you buying KLCI index fund?? The Unit Trust in Malaysia has a lot of cost in it. Let's say the annual maintenance fee is 3%. Compare this to buying one bank counter that pay dividend yied of 6%. How does the Unit Trust is better?? The Unit Trust will have to grow 9% per year to match my bank stock. Please comment... Dreamer Global fund still ok since it is not accessible for retailer investors like us, also you spread your risk in foreign currenct asset and might earn better if RM depreciation like 98's. For local equity fund which you can buy yourself in the stock market, it is not worthwhile to be invested especially for those having sound investment knowledge people. In stock market, the commission rate is about 1.2% with no maintenace fee need to pay and can get back the money in 3 days time while UT need at least a week or so when redeem your units and need to lose 5% every purchase and 1.5% annually. I am not saying UT is not good but bare in mind their cost of purchase is not cheap also. But for those having little knowledge about the stock market and having no-discipline in investment, it might also a good choice. |
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:25 AM |