12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi [Guide] UniFi - Any custom router can use UniFi, For Huawei HG655a & ZTE ZXDSL 931DII

stan001
post Mar 17 2012, 12:49 AM

623 posts

Update, I flash my DIR-615 to DD-WRT using this instructions from http://unifi.athena.my/ddwrt_guide.php

( skip the VLAN tagging part and below )

I force the wireless to N-only for higher tput..

*** remember to keep all the old config and firmware with you in case you need to flash it back to orig firmware...

Best part is that you do not need to spend any $$$ on buying a new wireless router at all...

Previously I switched back to my old streamyx WRT54GS but the wifi speed was just too slow at 802.11g...

This post has been edited by stan001: Mar 17 2012, 12:51 AM
kyon22
post Mar 27 2012, 03:26 PM

141 posts

I'm trying to turn my DIR-615 G2 router into a vlan bridge using athena guide but nothing works. My router is running firmware 7.12. Should i flash it to DD-WRT or is there any other way?
E1 - AKG
post Apr 11 2012, 12:12 AM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

Need help! Connected the Airport Extreme to LAN2 of the ZXDSL931 (comes with UniFi) and the Airport Extreme shows "Your Apple Wi-Fo base station does not have a valid IP address". rclxub.gif

Really appreciate any help at all notworthy.gif

stan001
post Apr 11 2012, 12:45 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 11 2012, 12:12 AM)
Need help!  Connected the Airport Extreme to LAN2 of the ZXDSL931 (comes with UniFi) and the Airport Extreme shows "Your Apple Wi-Fo base station does not have a valid IP address".  rclxub.gif

Really appreciate any help at all  notworthy.gif
Those other modem ports are not used besides the one connected to the d-link wireless router...

You can use them as extra switch ports if u plug a cable from yr d-link router switch ports to the modem ports...

Did you follow the instructions on the first page settings ??

E1 - AKG
post Apr 11 2012, 02:47 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Apr 11 2012, 12:45 AM)
Those other modem ports are not used besides the one connected to the d-link wireless router...

You can use them as extra switch ports if u plug a cable from yr d-link router switch ports to the modem ports...

Did you follow the instructions on the first page settings ??
Thank you for the response notworthy.gif

Which means the d-Link wireless router cannot be replaced with the Airport Extreme hmm.gif

Having strange problems with the d-Link wireless router. Whenever running a video server app ie PPS on the iPad and surfing on the MacBook at the same time, the d-Link crashes. rclxub.gif
unknown_2
post Apr 11 2012, 11:04 AM

571 posts

i lost my unifi account password.
if there anyway to retrieve it?
catwing wan
post Apr 18 2012, 09:22 AM

Good Job Bro!. Now I dun Need the Dlink...
stan001
post Apr 18 2012, 10:24 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 11 2012, 02:47 AM)
Thank you for the response  notworthy.gif

Which means the d-Link wireless router cannot be replaced with the Airport Extreme  hmm.gif 

Having strange problems with the d-Link wireless router.  Whenever running a video server app ie PPS on the iPad and surfing on the MacBook at the same time, the d-Link crashes.  rclxub.gif
No, the DIR-615 is doing a few functions - VLAN trunking - split the Data and Video traffic to different ports from a single incoming port from the modem and the regular stuff a wireless router does... "most" other routers does not do the first function...

The TM Unifi version of the DIR-615 wireless router software is so buggy... mine used to hang/crash every few days until I flash mine to DD-WRT, after like 2 weeks or more... no issues whatsoever..

Another option would be the Microtik routers ...

timothyc
post Apr 18 2012, 11:42 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Apr 11 2012, 11:04 AM)
i lost my unifi account password.
if there anyway to retrieve it?
Call Unifi support. They will help you.

Added on April 18, 2012, 11:53 am
Need help!  Connected the Airport Extreme to LAN2 of the ZXDSL931 (comes with UniFi) and the Airport Extreme shows "Your Apple Wi-Fo base station does not have a valid IP address".  rclxub.gif

You will need to change the VLAN trunk setting on the ZTE VDSL modem to enable direct PPPoE from your Airport Extreme without needing the UniFi supplied D-Link router.

There was a guide by solichan here at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36938431 but the images has been removed.

If I remember and could find time to do it, I will make some screenshots for you from my unit.

Alternatively, you can use the Airport Extreme, but with the D-Link as a VLAN bridge. For this, please refer to the guide at http://unifi.athena.my/custom_routers.php

This post has been edited by timothyc: Apr 18 2012, 11:53 AM
E1 - AKG
post Apr 18 2012, 12:27 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(timothyc @ Apr 18 2012, 11:42 AM)
Call Unifi support. They will help you.

Added on April 18, 2012, 11:53 am

You will need to change the VLAN trunk setting on the ZTE VDSL modem to enable direct PPPoE from your Airport Extreme without needing the UniFi supplied D-Link router.

There was a guide by solichan here at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36938431 but the images has been removed.

If I remember and could find time to do it, I will make some screenshots for you from my unit.
Alternatively, you can use the Airport Extreme, but with the D-Link as a VLAN bridge. For this, please refer to the guide at http://unifi.athena.my/custom_routers.php
Not a tech person, only knows plug and play rclxub.gif Would appreciate any help at all notworthy.gif
matiha
post Apr 18 2012, 12:32 PM

QUOTE(linearz @ Oct 1 2011, 06:05 PM)
Here is my setting to enable the IPTV on port 3 and RT-N16 router on port 2. I'm using latest tomato usb firmware and it doesn't support 3 digits VLAN tagging. Basically, any other generic PPPoE dialer should be supported. I didn't touch any other setting except shown in the screenshots.

Warning:  Always backup the default setting. I will not take any responsibility if you bricked your devices.
You still can maintain LAN1 setting for both VLAN500 & VLan600; only add LAN2 for Vlan500(internet) & Lan3 for Vlan600(IPTV).
XPS
post Apr 18 2012, 10:38 PM

322 posts

Couple of comments.

1. Apple Extreme (AEB) cannot logon to Unifi via PPPOE authentication since middle of 2011 AFTER Unifi changed something on their end. It was fine before that. Which also means re-configuring DIR-615 as a pure VLAN switch and having AEB handling PPPOE is no longer feasible.

2. AEB in bridge mode works fine. That is my setup for over a year now. DIR-615 handles PPPOE but with wireless turned off it works flawlessly. Under Internet > Connection Sharing > Bridge Mode. Thats all you need to setup on AEB.

3. 802.1n on the 2.4GHz spectrum can only support 3 effective networks and even more congestion when some routers use wide channels (twice the bandwidth). Therefore wifi interference will happen given that we have loads of wireless networks plus cordless phones etc on the same spectrum. If your devices can run on the 5GHz spectrum then having AEB as your primary wireless router will make life easier and you won't see wireless drops whatsoever.
matiha
post Apr 20 2012, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(matiha @ Apr 18 2012, 12:32 PM)
You still can maintain LAN1 setting for both VLAN500 & VLan600; only add LAN2 for Vlan500(internet)  & Lan3 for Vlan600(IPTV).
Follow the instruction, but you still can maintain LAN1 setting for both VLAN500 & VLan600; only add LAN2 for Vlan500(internet) as ppoe_brige & Lan3 for Vlan600(IPTV) as ip_brige. It work for me that i am using Belkin Surf N300 Wireless N Router. While I keep my Dlink tor standby or for UNIFI technician come over for trouble shooting.
sapora
post Apr 20 2012, 03:43 PM

155 posts

guys help me. im using tp link TL WR841N, both my HP laptop wont recognize the unifi!! i try some solutions which are change to channel 11.. can u guys help meee
unknown_2
post Apr 20 2012, 04:28 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(sapora @ Apr 20 2012, 03:43 PM)
guys help me. im using tp link TL WR841N, both my HP laptop wont recognize the unifi!! i try some solutions which are change to channel 11.. can u guys help meee
change the signal length from 20/40Mhz to 20Mhz only.
47ronin
post Apr 20 2012, 04:38 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(sapora @ Apr 20 2012, 03:43 PM)
It's your OWN ROUTER TP-Link WR841N that doesn't recognised your laptops, not UNIFI.

Check your router configuration.

This post has been edited by 47ronin: Apr 20 2012, 04:40 PM
工藤新一
post May 8 2012, 11:32 PM

472 posts

Done. Thanks for the guide~
I actually using an unifi supported router, but I want to put my iptv at living room and router in my room, so using this guide~

This post has been edited by 工藤新一: May 9 2012, 12:30 AM
Qamarzamsyawal
post May 31 2012, 07:01 PM

15 posts

has anybody try this with TP-Link TL941ND wireless router? Or RD-W8960N?
How's the performance?

jayjay11
post Jun 6 2012, 02:47 AM

88 posts

Can i use by BTU as a LAN?
TSlighter
post Jun 6 2012, 03:18 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(jayjay11 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:47 AM)
Can i use by BTU as a LAN?
What do you mean use BTU as a LAN? do you mean use it as a router?

UniFi BTU is actually a router modem, you can use it like a normal router.

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:47 PM