Unifi [Guide] UniFi - Any custom router can use UniFi, For Huawei HG655a & ZTE ZXDSL 931DII

TSlighter
post Aug 11 2011, 03:46 PM, updated 10y ago

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

Hi Guys,

I just done a step-by-step guide how to configure your Huawei HG655a able to support any router/wireless router.

Please read the guide below and give me some comment.. thanks

http://unifi.stanleytiang.com
http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com

This post has been edited by lighter: Feb 18 2013, 05:07 PM
TSlighter
post Aug 11 2011, 06:50 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

it is just a few clicks to configure it.. i think its even more steps for other solution. you can always restore the back to original if anything happen.

anyway its up to you guys whether to use this method or not..im just sharing..
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 12:20 AM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

previously my unifi having a lot of problem with VoIP.. the technician came to my house more than 5 times.. when i start to get closed to him and he reveal the login details.. actually previously i saw a forumer posted the login in UniFi thread i guess not many people realized that..

just an update.. i tested my IPTV it actually doesn't work.. the Set-Top-Box keep in my storage never been open before.. i've tried to configure the Set-Top-Box eventually failed..

appreciate anyone can test it for me by follow my instruction in my blog then plug the IPTV to BTU LAN1 Port..

This post has been edited by lighter: Aug 12 2011, 12:21 AM
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 12:06 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Aug 12 2011, 11:16 AM)
http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com/

BTW, here I got Huawei HG850a and not applicable for the hack. smile.gif
Have you try to configure the HG850a? I cant test it because I dont have one unless i use my customer's to test it..

by the way, this is not hack. is just settings.. tongue.gif
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 02:11 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Aug 12 2011, 12:15 PM)
Yes, I tried connecting to LAN2 in HG850a... No respond at all. smile.gif I'll try it again, when no one is using it... I'll try at  LAN1 with VLAN setup on my laptop.
I at my customer place configuring their firewall for UniFi. I too can't access to HG850a. I guess the IP subnet is different. So I got no choice to configure their firewall with VLAN tagging over PPPoE to dial the UniFi direct to the BTU.

TSlighter
post Aug 20 2011, 05:19 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

So far only tested on Huawei HG655a.. hopefully someone can able to test on other model..

Recently my Huawei HG665a encounter frequent disconnection.. technician came over to replace a new unit of HG655a. This new one look slightly different than the old one.. somehow i feel the new one look more rounded and not really hot
TSlighter
post Aug 24 2011, 07:25 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Aug 24 2011, 06:02 PM)
today TM guy installed unifi for me, i saw he login the HG655a with username admin, but he refuse to give me the password.

and the password by this guide is not working, any crue?
try with different browser. It should work.

if it shows password incorrect after clicking the login button then they might have changed the password.

if the screen just refresh after clicking login button then its browser problem.
TSlighter
post Aug 26 2011, 04:11 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(timothyc @ Aug 26 2011, 02:38 AM)
Confirm IPTV can work with the same way as above for internet. I now have internet on LAN 3 and IPTV on LAN 4 biggrin.gif

Only observation is that the HG655a modem may appear to hang and the GUI turns unresponsive after pressing "Submit" when changing the port for ptm1.600. The setting that was made would be retained however after a power cycle.

You may also need to power cycle the IPTV box if it doesn't detect the changes. smile.gif

Thanks lighter for making this finding. TM's DIR-615 is now removed from my set up, saving some electricity and making the planet a little greener wink.gif
Great finding bro! So you bind the port to LAN 4? Finally someone able to test IPTV for me. Really appreciate it I will update my blog and credit to you. thumbup.gif

The BTU is actually not only a modem. It can be a router as well.. I can do direct dial PPPoE, NAT, Port Forwarding, DHCP & etc.. But I will not waste my time doing a step-by-step guide for this. I believe no one gonna use it as a router. laugh.gif
TSlighter
post Sep 2 2011, 03:55 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(chintmy @ Sep 2 2011, 02:48 PM)
Just wondering how do the technician do the setting (1st timer) then?  I am sure they also have remote access to the web interface to check the setting remotely.
They usually configure the modem and router they come over. Even it's fresh and new they just need to configure your VoIP login. Because the internet and IPTV are in bridged mode.
TSlighter
post Oct 3 2011, 05:03 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Oct 2 2011, 08:45 PM)
Can this be done on the Alcatel-Lucent OTU ?
currently this method only works for Huawei HG655a model..
TSlighter
post Feb 23 2012, 07:30 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 23 2012, 06:33 PM)
I do not hv the mentioned modem/router but these are all Networking / Virtual LAN terminology or protocols :-

VLAN tagging = this port hv VLAN numbers tagging on it, can only be used with another switch/router that support VLAN protocol/802.1q ( original DIR-615 )
IP Bridge = traffic is pure IP
PPPOE bridge = traffic is encapsulated with PPP Over Ethernet ( use mainly for authentications )
Vlan 500 = used by Unifi for Internet traffic
Vlan 600 = used by IPTV
What you need to get it working without the DIR-615 is this settings :-

Incoming line is a VLAN trunking with both vlan500 & vlan600 on the same port...

You will need to split them to different ports and remove the VLAN tagging...

- 1 separate network port for Internet with VLAN 500
- 1 separate network port for IPTV with VLAN 600

*** remove ALL VLAN tagging on both the above ports
Very good explaination!
TSlighter
post Jun 6 2012, 03:18 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(jayjay11 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:47 AM)
Can i use by BTU as a LAN?
What do you mean use BTU as a LAN? do you mean use it as a router?

UniFi BTU is actually a router modem, you can use it like a normal router.
TSlighter
post Jul 10 2012, 06:11 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(KAHAK @ Jun 21 2012, 03:36 PM)
Ya Allah.Jangan bagi TM menipu dan Tolong Lah Ya Allah's Bagi Jaring Broadband FIGHT BALIK TM net...Dilarang Membuli ISP lain!!!
I seriously don't understand what you talking about. cry.gif
TSlighter
post Aug 27 2012, 05:50 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 27 2012, 01:03 AM)
Is there a guide to configure Huawei HG655a as the VDSL Modem + Router (1 device just for Internet)
Currently i do not have any guide as im pretty busy coz my daughter just borned since last week.

You may try to follow my guide on blog then enable DHCP and PPPoE.

This post has been edited by lighter: Aug 27 2012, 05:51 PM
TSlighter
post Aug 29 2012, 01:55 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 27 2012, 01:03 AM)
Is there a guide to configure Huawei HG655a as the VDSL Modem + Router (1 device just for Internet)
Here are the sample screenshot how to switch your Huawei HG655a VDSL Modem as a router.

Basically just enable the Routing & PPPoE on VLAN ID500 and enable DHCP Server.

Hope it helps.

TSlighter
post Aug 29 2012, 02:46 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

I've updated my blog with step by step guide how to configure the Huawei HG655a as a modem router.

http://unifi.stanleytiang.com
TSlighter
post Oct 2 2012, 02:38 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(HoshiGami @ Oct 2 2012, 10:59 AM)
hi, my office is running Unifi Biz5 package (dynamic IP).  my problem is i want to have my clients  from overseas log into my network. is there a way to configure this while maintaining my standard unifi network setup as shown in your diagram?

this is very important and really hopes you can help me.

thank you alot
bro your condition is nothing much related to my guide.

you want your clients able to access your network from overseas. still don't really get what you mean. do you mean file sharing?

I would suggest you to host an FTP server you may use an open source FileZilla server.

TSlighter
post Nov 25 2012, 10:14 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(Scotland007 @ Nov 25 2012, 07:31 PM)
Has anyone got an airport extreme to work with the Hg650A modem?
It should work with any router. wink.gif
TSlighter
post Feb 18 2013, 05:09 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

Hi guys, I have updated my blog with a new guide by connecting your custom router with UniFi ZTE ZXDSL 931DII VDSL modem. Give it a try and feedback here.

Please take note that this configuration is not tested with IPTV. Try at your own risk. Thanks for viewing! tongue.gif
TSlighter
post Mar 13 2013, 11:01 AM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(blu3skyr4in @ Mar 13 2013, 01:14 AM)
Hi there anyone know tat is possible the HG850a terminal will Hang?
cause my customer internet Hang.his device is Asus N56U Router (Unifi Support)with Firmware 318 and HG850a terminal~
i call Unifi care he say my Asus cause the Hang~but i ask my customer how the problem happen~they say tat HG850a Lan 1 light no blink and the asus N56u wan port no light and internet also no light~after 2 device on off .on will working..

Just wanna find out problem~Thx All Big Big
(PS:Just 11 march 2013 updated the Asus N56U Firmware to 342 The latest Firmware)
try to plug the HG850a LAN 1 port to your notebook. if its still no light means the modem is faulty.

0.0265sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:03 PM