12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi [Guide] UniFi - Any custom router can use UniFi, For Huawei HG655a & ZTE ZXDSL 931DII

TSlighter
post Aug 11 2011, 03:46 PM, updated 10y ago

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

Hi Guys,

I just done a step-by-step guide how to configure your Huawei HG655a able to support any router/wireless router.

Please read the guide below and give me some comment.. thanks

http://unifi.stanleytiang.com
http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com

This post has been edited by lighter: Feb 18 2013, 05:07 PM
calvin_ng
post Aug 11 2011, 05:11 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

just get the custom TP-link firmware problem solved.... hehehe and it wont add more port mapping to huawei so the processor can concentrate on the 1 port....
JinXXX
post Aug 11 2011, 06:33 PM

2,516 posts

just curious how did you obtain the user/pass for the HG655a for admin mode...

anyway.. i rather not touch the HG655a , just incase some shit happen then tm blame me ask me buy new HG655a cause its been tempered with hahahaha

for advance and technical users you can do it if you want.. if your noob and all i would advise againsts it
TSlighter
post Aug 11 2011, 06:50 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

it is just a few clicks to configure it.. i think its even more steps for other solution. you can always restore the back to original if anything happen.

anyway its up to you guys whether to use this method or not..im just sharing..
aneip
post Aug 11 2011, 07:25 PM

2,466 posts

Nice 1..

As for Alcatel-Lucent OTU (for fiber), I believe no webgui available.. The only thing the installer keying is by using the telnet and keying some kind of ID.. I believe the configuration for the router is downloaded from TM server.
gahkin
post Aug 11 2011, 11:15 PM

733 posts

wow... how so late u share it out, if not i no need sell my 1043ND sad.gif

btw, just give a dumb to u to share a nice method.
bahathir
post Aug 11 2011, 11:26 PM

1,200 posts

Yeah, how dp you get the password? Anyway that's a good news.
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 12:20 AM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

previously my unifi having a lot of problem with VoIP.. the technician came to my house more than 5 times.. when i start to get closed to him and he reveal the login details.. actually previously i saw a forumer posted the login in UniFi thread i guess not many people realized that..

just an update.. i tested my IPTV it actually doesn't work.. the Set-Top-Box keep in my storage never been open before.. i've tried to configure the Set-Top-Box eventually failed..

appreciate anyone can test it for me by follow my instruction in my blog then plug the IPTV to BTU LAN1 Port..

This post has been edited by lighter: Aug 12 2011, 12:21 AM
aneip
post Aug 12 2011, 01:18 AM

2,466 posts

Can share screenshot for ptm1.600? Must be something there..
Syfq
post Aug 12 2011, 06:13 AM

Sense of Definition
1,138 posts

Hello! , i have some problem ,

i suddenly reset my Huawei HG655a so i need to make sure my modem connect back using my unifi ID , can someone teach me how

amirsubhi
post Aug 12 2011, 09:04 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(Syfq @ Aug 12 2011, 06:13 AM)
Hello! , i have some problem ,

i suddenly reset my Huawei HG655a so i need to make sure my modem connect back using my unifi ID , can someone teach me how
You need to call TM,

When you reset the ONU, you will lost your VoBB configuration, i'm not sure regarding VLAN, i guess missing too?

Give TM a call, they will upload the configuration from their server i believe

Side note: If TM send new firmware directly to ONU, I believe custom configuration that we have done missing too right? TM send new version of firmware to ONU from time to time

Anyway as IPTV not working, something to do with VLAN 600, see where you tag it

This post has been edited by amirsubhi: Aug 12 2011, 09:06 AM
yushin
post Aug 12 2011, 10:10 AM

3,327 posts

I just get a managed switch that can split the VLAN, no need to mess with the ONU and can use any router I like.
The VLAN capable switch is an additional cost tho.
ckboon
post Aug 12 2011, 10:23 AM

458 posts

http://www.stanleytiang.com <-- URL NOT FOUND!
bahathir
post Aug 12 2011, 11:16 AM

1,200 posts

http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com/

BTW, here I got Huawei HG850a and not applicable for the hack. smile.gif
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 12:06 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Aug 12 2011, 11:16 AM)
http://stanleytiang.blogspot.com/

BTW, here I got Huawei HG850a and not applicable for the hack. smile.gif
Have you try to configure the HG850a? I cant test it because I dont have one unless i use my customer's to test it..

by the way, this is not hack. is just settings.. tongue.gif
bahathir
post Aug 12 2011, 12:15 PM

1,200 posts

Yes, I tried connecting to LAN2 in HG850a... No respond at all. smile.gif I'll try it again, when no one is using it... I'll try at LAN1 with VLAN setup on my laptop.
TSlighter
post Aug 12 2011, 02:11 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Aug 12 2011, 12:15 PM)
Yes, I tried connecting to LAN2 in HG850a... No respond at all. smile.gif I'll try it again, when no one is using it... I'll try at  LAN1 with VLAN setup on my laptop.
I at my customer place configuring their firewall for UniFi. I too can't access to HG850a. I guess the IP subnet is different. So I got no choice to configure their firewall with VLAN tagging over PPPoE to dial the UniFi direct to the BTU.

Dark Kai
post Aug 12 2011, 02:21 PM

165 posts

Noob question here....

What advantages do we get by changing the router?

bahathir
post Aug 12 2011, 03:04 PM

1,200 posts

I sniffed the LAN2 using tcpdump for awhile and I got this...

CODE
10:23:28.862808 ARP, Request who-has 10.42.255.254 tell 10.42.219.110, length 46
10:26:29.298580 ARP, Request who-has 10.42.255.254 tell 10.42.219.110, length 46

I configured NIC 10.42.219.111 and ping and nmap 10.42.219.110 but no respond. Yeah, mght be it had been firewalled.

Need further investigation. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Aug 12 2011, 03:05 PM
Areas Elysian
post Aug 12 2011, 07:18 PM

1,132 posts

I know this post will not add anything, but I just want to show my support to you guys who are finding ways to allow users to have custom routers.

Great work there.

I am also a Huawei HG850a user here. I am really slowly getting ticked off by Unifi's own Router.

If you can get the Huawei HG850a to work with a custom router, (in my case, Netgear WNDR3700), I have to belanja you makan one day man..

LoL

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:01 AM