123 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Instant Transfer (DuitNow) & Interbank Giro (IBG)

aeiou228
post Feb 28 2012, 11:07 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(eau-rouge @ Feb 28 2012, 10:48 AM)
im a hsbc advanced user..the account offers me free IBG
there is a rm10 monthly fee but can waived if deposit 20k n above
for me if u are a heavy user with plenty of transaction, why not
im sure other banks are offering the same rite
20k locked in the interest free current account is approx more than 5 times the cost of Rm10 monthly fee.

eau-rouge
post Feb 28 2012, 11:21 AM

counting sheeps
550 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 28 2012, 11:07 AM)
20k locked in the interest free current account is approx more than 5 times the cost of Rm10 monthly fee.

mbb ibg for example, rm2 per trans..20 ibg from hsbc only cost rm10 (monthly fee) whereas mbb rm20

can save already if you're a heavy ibg user. on top of that can get points from that
oldman8088
post Feb 28 2012, 04:41 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(eau-rouge @ Feb 28 2012, 12:21 PM)
mbb ibg for example, rm2 per trans..20 ibg from hsbc only cost rm10 (monthly fee) whereas mbb rm20

can save already if you're a heavy ibg user. on top of that can get points from that
why u dont try Ambank Amstar Extreme which can offer 5x IBG free, only keep 5k every month
wshoh
post Mar 1 2012, 12:46 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(oldman8088 @ Feb 28 2012, 04:41 PM)
why u dont try Ambank Amstar Extreme which can offer 5x IBG free, only keep 5k every month
More accurately, AmBank AmStar Extreme offers 5x free (online) IBG transactions per month regardless of account balance.

However, balances below RM3,000.00 will be imposed with RM5.00 fee per month and you only earn interest (1.5%) if you keep RM5,000.00 and above.

Been a happy user as the interest rate is not too shabby for a checking current account, and you also get 5x free MEPS transactions per month. The free IBG feature is perfect for paying all my credit card bills online!

Between myself and my wife, we have 3 such accounts (ie 2 individual and 1 joint a/c) and thus enjoy 15x free (online) IBG transactions every month. So I just keep a little more than RM5,000.00 in each of the accounts and any extra funds are placed in FD.
ronnie
post Mar 1 2012, 01:19 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(oldman8088 @ Feb 28 2012, 04:41 PM)
There's an even better offering from OCBC : OCBC iQ Basic
- 5 FREE IBG per month while maintaining RM500 a month (to avoid monthly charges)
GravityFi3ld
post Mar 1 2012, 02:42 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

To be honest, I don't know where exactly it is to post what I'm about to ask, so if it's in the wrong section kindly inform me where I should be posting it.

Q : Is it possible to transfer funds from a Malaysian bank to an overseas account of a different bank? For instance, I want to transfer funds from local bank A to an account which is in Switzerland(MYR to Swiss Franc).

How do/can I apply to open an account in a bank available in Switzerland? Must I travel there, be physically present to open an account? Furthermore, what is the minimum amount required to open the said account?

If I successfully open an account at a bank in Switzerland, how do I transfer (regularly, let's say a monthly fixed amount) from my local bank account to the one in Switzerland?

Can I request the local bank to automatically transfer the so said 'fixed-amount' monthly to the overseas?

many thanks in advance.
aeiou228
post Mar 2 2012, 11:10 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Mar 1 2012, 02:42 PM)
To be honest, I don't know where exactly it is to post what I'm about to ask, so if it's in the wrong section kindly inform me where I should be posting it.

Q : Is it possible to transfer funds from a Malaysian bank to an overseas account of a different bank? For instance, I want to transfer funds from local bank A to an account which is in Switzerland(MYR to Swiss Franc).

How do/can I apply to open an account in a bank available in Switzerland? Must I travel there, be physically present to open an account? Furthermore, what is the minimum amount required to open the said account?

If I successfully open an account at a bank in Switzerland, how do I transfer (regularly, let's say a monthly fixed amount) from my local bank account to the one in Switzerland?

Can I request the local bank to automatically transfer the so said 'fixed-amount' monthly to the overseas?

many thanks in advance.
For children education fund ?
Not sure my method applies to you or not, my daughter just bring my Malaysian HSBC ATM card to UK, I just bank in ringgit to my HSBC account here and she withdraw in GBP from the ATMs in UK.

For opening of oversea savings account, Malaysian HSBC premier customer can open oversea account in Malaysia.
GravityFi3ld
post Mar 2 2012, 11:34 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 2 2012, 11:10 AM)
For children education fund ?
Not sure my method applies to you or not, my daughter just bring my Malaysian HSBC ATM card to UK, I just bank in ringgit to my HSBC account here and she withdraw in GBP from the ATMs in UK.

For opening of oversea savings account, Malaysian HSBC premier customer can open oversea account in Malaysia.
No for education, more of a, offshore saving? (no idea if I got the term right ><")
As in, I want to save money else where(overseas) through my local bank.

my salary is automatically transfered into my local a/c, from that a/c, I intend to send/transfer a monthly-fixed sum to an a/c that belongs to a foreign(say a bank in Switzerland). I just want to save my money elsewhere(overseas) whilst having a balance here to use for expenses.

I can then withdraw the money from the overseas when the currency rate is stronger against the MYR or other currencies. In short, it's like parking my $ in another country's bank smile.gif the question is, is it possible for me to request my local bank to transfer the monthly-fixed amount to the overseas one?
aeiou228
post Mar 2 2012, 01:32 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Mar 2 2012, 11:34 AM)
No for education, more of a, offshore saving? (no idea if I got the term right ><")
As in, I want to save money else where(overseas) through my local bank.

my salary is automatically transfered into my local a/c, from that a/c, I intend to send/transfer a monthly-fixed sum to an a/c that belongs to a foreign(say a bank in Switzerland). I just want to save my money elsewhere(overseas) whilst having a balance here to use for expenses.

I can then withdraw the money from the overseas when the currency rate is stronger against the MYR or other currencies. In short, it's like parking my $ in another country's bank smile.gif the question is, is it possible for me to request my local bank to transfer the monthly-fixed amount to the overseas one?
There is a service call "standing instruction" not sure it includes oversea remittance though.

You plan is quite weird and I don't think it is cost effective. Forex remittance a small amount monthly is costly. Whatever forex profit you may or may not gain will be offset by remittance cost. Go ask your bank how much is the cost per forex TT first including the TT reviving end. After you find out the TT cost, you might want to abort this idea.

spring blossom house
post Mar 3 2012, 01:30 AM

I would wish to transfer money from Malaysia (RM) to Korea (won) via TT. As far as I concern, services that Maybank provided is moneygram. This is very expensive. I have also tried out paypal and Western Union. I found them expensive. Can anyone suggest to me how can I transfer RM to won directly via TT?

soul2soul
post Mar 3 2012, 11:16 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I got question about interbank Giro maybank.

I understand the daily limit for Maybank ATM and M2U for interbank Giro is RM10,000 and service fee of RM2 for normal saving account.

However, the other day I went to Maybank counter doing a banker's cheque (RM5) , the staff suggested me to use IBG instead. She said if done over the counter it costs about RM2 only and I can transfer more than 10k... She also said if the IBG is done before 11am, the fund will be received by the local bank by afternoon..

Can someone confirm this?
GravityFi3ld
post Mar 3 2012, 12:58 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 2 2012, 01:32 PM)
There is a service call "standing instruction" not sure it includes oversea remittance though.

You plan is quite weird and I don't think it is cost effective. Forex remittance a small amount monthly is costly. Whatever forex profit you may or may not gain will be offset by remittance cost. Go ask your bank how much is the cost per forex TT first including the TT reviving end. After you find out the TT cost, you might want to abort this idea.
But it's not for the short term tho, as in, if there is a time to migrate - I would at least have substantial funds at the overseas bank to utilize smile.gif

As for Forex gain/loss goes, I wouldn't be converting the foreign back to solely MYR. I could utilize to to convert for other currencies.. kinda of a round the big bush thing, hoping to scrap a little profit along the way happy.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 3 2012, 01:09 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Mar 3 2012, 11:16 AM)
I got question about interbank Giro maybank.

I understand the daily limit for Maybank ATM and M2U for interbank Giro is RM10,000 and service fee of RM2 for normal saving account.

However, the other day I went to Maybank counter doing a banker's cheque (RM5) , the staff suggested me to use IBG instead. She said if done over the counter it costs about RM2 only and I can transfer more than 10k... She also said if the IBG is done before 11am, the fund will be received by the local bank by afternoon..

Can someone confirm this?
What the MBB staff said is true:

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...al/ACC-Accounts

ronnie
post Mar 15 2012, 05:04 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Maybank just launch their MyMobile which offers FREE IBG (waive fees until further notice)
SUSDavid83
post Mar 15 2012, 07:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 15 2012, 05:04 PM)
Maybank just launch their MyMobile which offers FREE IBG (waive fees until further notice)
What is this MyMobile is all about? An app or what?
ronnie
post Mar 15 2012, 07:54 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 15 2012, 07:28 PM)
What is this MyMobile is all about? An app or what?
It's not a mobile application.
It is based on USSD Platfortm (flash sms) to present services menu.
This will be supported by all phones and does not require Internet access. Open to Maxis & Celcom users at the moment.
Maybank charges 20 sen for 4 min transaction.

Coolest is the FREE IBG to 3rd party (fees waive until further notice)

This post has been edited by ronnie: Mar 15 2012, 10:59 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 15 2012, 10:39 PM

52,874 posts

Found the details:

Feel like it's a little bit complicated. Anybody tried it?
ronnie
post Mar 15 2012, 11:02 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 15 2012, 10:39 PM)
Found the details:

Feel like it's a little bit complicated. Anybody tried it?
Definitely will give it a try later in the month.
LinctusForte
post Mar 19 2012, 03:06 PM

103 posts

bros,

how do i transfer more than 5k to USA brokers at 1 shot? M2U only allow me to transfer 5k at each time.

thanks.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 24 2012, 04:02 PM

52,874 posts

Fund transfers, bill payments via SMS soon

KUALA LUMPUR: Three local banks are preparing to launch a new service in May that enables users of mobile phones – not just smart phones– to carry out certain banking transactions like fund transfers and bill payments.

URL: http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html

123 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.3256sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:30 AM