Ok, was difficult but managed to cut and paste all the messages. Unedited except I had to type in the name/ID myself. I don't think I missed out anything.
Teckhing ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 27 2011, 10:19 AM can repair
repair RM350
sell to me RM250
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 27 2011, 10:51 AM Thx for the reply.
That's a reasonable price for repair. If need repair, usually have to change whole motherboard?
I'm from Sibu and I'm thinking that if I send over to you, I will just use pos daftar to save cost.
If I send over, I only need to send over the notebook right? Do I need to send over the battery too?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 27 2011, 11:12 AM just send notebook only
the battery no need to send
but when after finish repair we only able to send out by courier service
it will cost you around RM50
If send it over please write your detail on a note come with the notebook
easy for my staff to follow up
my address
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 27 2011, 05:48 PM Ok, will pack and send the notebook these few days. Once I have sent it, will inform you.
Kindly keep me updated regarding the repairs ok? I don't want to suddenly be charged more than quoted unless there are some other faulty components. If cost less than quoted, that would be better.
Thx again.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 27 2011, 05:53 PM don't worry,
the repair mainboard price all firm
unless you got other parts spoilt, but if got we also will inform you 1st
you just leave your contact in a note
and if possible you also can contact us thru email or phone, because this friday i will going oversea for a few days, but my staff will follow up this case.
03-91025966
laptopsparepart@gmail.com
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 29 2011, 05:23 PM Hi,
I have poslaju my laptop to you. Kindly let me know when your company has already received it.
This morning, I tried my laptop again. Apparently, no artifacts when started up but the artifacts started to appear after a few minutes using the laptop. I think should be graphics problem....
Thx.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 29 2011, 05:27 PM ok
i will let my staff know it
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 30 2011, 03:52 PM just receive the laptop
my staff will check on it
once ready they will call you
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jun 30 2011, 05:29 PM Cool. Thx!
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 11 2011, 07:31 AM Hi, I have transferred RM400 into your account.
What was faulty and what was done?
Just to clarify, I rebooted my laptop more than 20-30 times just to troubleshoot the problem. Never entered any password!!!
Anyway, here's my details again:
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 06:58 PM Hi, laptop received. Everything works fine except that the laptop fan spins at maximum immediately at boot.
How do I make it spin as usual?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 07:35 PM i think is because of the bios version
remember my staff say that your laptop got boot up password, so we reprogram the bios
or you can try enter bios to check whether there is any option or not
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 07:41 PM I entered the bios, no option to set the fan.
I let the laptop run for a while with the fan spinning at 100% and apparently, the whole laptop got very hot!!! Core temp shows temperature below 50'c on CPU although GPU is about 61'c (idle).
Tried speedfan to control the fan but speedfan doesn't detect any fans to control.
So sad...... Should I reflash bios to another version?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 08:03 PM you can try
but have to becarefull
will have problem if half way flash system hang or shutdown
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 08:06 PM Haiyaaa.... I guess I have no choice.......
Checked the BIOS, it is version 304. Most updated one is version 305 with modified thermal policy. Hope it works.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 08:13 PM It didn't work. Updated to version 305 but still the same problem.
Haizzzz...... would be weird if your worker didn't notice the fan spinning at 100% after fixing my notebook leh.....
What should I do?
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 08:22 PM The funny thing is, why does the laptop heat up so much with the fan running at 100%?
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 12 2011, 08:38 PM Another thing I noted was an additional page during bootup (after the ASUS logo), the screen is as follows:
Intel UNDI, PXE 2.1 (build 082)
Copyright © 1997-2000 Intel corporation
For Realtek RTL81118/81638 Gigabit Eterhnet
PXE-E61 : Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F : Exiting PXE ROM
Had to disable the "Onboard LAN Boot ROM" to get the message off. Is there any significance to this?
Anyway, is there anyway around the fan problem? Really don't want to send it back to you due to expensive postage......
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 13 2011, 09:49 AM that was your boot up setting
you can set to hard disk boot up 1st to avoid the message
and the fan speed to 100% think sure is due to bios control.most of the latest bios all change fan speed to 100%
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 13 2011, 05:38 PM Nope, looks like it is not the bios. Downloaded older bioses from here :
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLan...W4ydTNRPMS23V5tTried BIOS 205 then the oldest one, BIOS 203. Fan still spins at 100% immediately on pressing the "ON" button!!!
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 13 2011, 06:16 PM we didn't change any setting also
we just repair your display chip
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 13 2011, 10:18 PM Hmmmm..... so you're saying that the fan running at 100% AFTER I send you the notebook is my problem?
I'm starting to wonder whether your worker is competent or not. Even the BIOS password is a mystery to me because since the day I bought the notebook, I have NEVER set the password. Nobody touches the notebook besides me so I know there is NO password being set. Furthermore, I rebooted the notebook many many times WITHOUT any password trying to troubleshoot the problem.
Is there any remote possibility that when your worker repaired the notebook, something was damaged or not connected properly? I didn't mention this before but the notebook cover over the front left side was not properly closed when I received the notebook. I had to push the side in and then only it snapped back in place.
Please settle my problem professionally. I'm not here to make trouble. Just want my notebook back to it's original state i.e. fan running according to temperature/load.
Thank you.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 13 2011, 10:30 PM Furthermore, why wasn't I informed of the fan running at 100%? Didn't anybody notice? Or is it normal for you all that laptop's fan should run at 100%?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 14 2011, 12:01 PM some laptop after we repair will modify the fan speed to max.
but for this laptop we didn't modify it
normally the laptop we modify is Compaq V3000 and Acer 4520
if you think that is a problem we are welcome you to send back to us claim the warranty
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 14 2011, 01:24 PM Yes, the 100% fan speed is unacceptable to me. And it is also funny that the laptop will heat up even with 100% fan speed.
I will send the laptop back to you these few days and inform you.
Sorry for the outburst but please ask your worker to check/repair it properly.
Thank you.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 14 2011, 04:00 PM ok
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 23 2011, 11:16 AM Hi,
I have already sent the laptop using poslaju. Kindly ask you worker to check/repair properly. Thx.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 23 2011, 11:22 AM ok
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 03:58 PM hi
we did try to let the system control the fan but it will be very hot if running 3D until it shutdown
it have to change the fan speed to max
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 05:23 PM Hmmm.... but why is that so? Does that mean that it is still the GPU problem and was not properly fixed the first time?
Previous GPU had no such problem........
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 05:44 PM can't be
we already change a new upgrade version chipset
the mainboard after repair can't compare with the new system.
now i trying running 3dmark see how 1st
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 05:47 PM ok.
However, isn't it funny that the laptop will also heat up when not running any application while in windows? I didn't test much when I got the notebook back but that's what I noticed when I was troubleshooting the fan problem.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 06:09 PM this laptop cooling really bad
the fan moving but the wind is not strong enough to cool down the temperature
just now i try to plug in external small cooling fan blow to the cpu and GC there then run 3D mark temperature just stay at 51+-
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 27 2011, 10:39 PM Errrmm.... I don't understand. Why after repair then only this problem arises? The cooling for this notebook has been adequate since I bought it.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 28 2011, 05:41 PM so now let u decide want let the fan running in Max mode or let the system control the fan speed.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 28 2011, 10:42 PM To me, it is not a matter of fan running max or system control.
I sent my laptop to be fixed and as agreed, paid the amount for the repair. GPU overheating after repair is NOT fully repairing my laptop. The "repair" actually created a new problem.
I have a mind to ask for a full refund because my laptop was not repaired properly. However, as you have spent time and effort to "try" to repair my laptop, I'll let you charge me a bit but not the full RM400 that I paid for.
If you can't repair my laptop fully, then I want a partial refund. Unless you have another alternative to propose, this is what I want.
If you do not agreed with this and have no alternative to propose, I will bring this up in the "Trade Zone dispute resolution corner". Let our forumers judge whether what happened is acceptable or not.
Just to stress that money is not the issue here. It is the "agreement/contract" between us that was not fully fulfilled.
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 09:22 AM now we already repair and let your system function and working well
just you and try to ask any of the asus F9S owner in this forum to test their GPU temperature and post up
nvidia GPU temperature is very high, that's y i say that want to modify the fan speed to max to cooling down the temperature
if running max fan speed the temperature just maintain at 58-60+
that is acceptable temperature
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 09:54 AM Then explain to me why the laptop will shutdown when running 3D if system fan control when ANY laptop running 3D won't have this problem?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 12:49 PM if the system control the fan max speed just 2300
even the heat until 75, system still remain this speed how to cool down the laptop
if we modify the fan speed will go until 5400 and the temperature will be stable
if you want to ask for refund we can refund, but all the courier charge you have to bear it
and we will change back your old spoilt chip to you.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 05:58 PM Lol, refund and change back to spoilt chip???!!? That's funny. You're supposed to fix laptop and not do the reverse!
I propose a partial refund and you send me back the laptop as it is now... PARTIALLY fixed. If you don't agree, I will post up the problem in the "Dispute corner" and see what happens.
Don't you think it is funny that in order to fix a GPU problem, you also have to modify the fan speed? Furthermore, you DID NOT inform me of such changes but instead sent back the whole laptop to me. I have to waste some more postage to send it back to you. Just imagine if you had to send your car for repair because of gearbox problem, but got back a supposedly repaired car with a gearbox that cannot run on first gear...... Will you be happy with the repair?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 07:42 PM if you think like that what i have to say, u ask for refund i also agree but we must take back the new chip that we install in. and return back to you with the original your's chipset. that's all.
u can post up to this forum to ask this laptop temp will go until how high. and you can search this forum also , quite a lot ppl talking this too start from 2007.
now we modify the fan and cooling down the temperature you also don;t wan accept.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 07:49 PM I think there's no point discussing anymore as you have your views and I have mine.
Just answer my question - how come I use the laptop for years without overheating but will overheat after repair until the fan needs to run faster than normal?
As I've said, I'm not here to make trouble, I mean no disrespect to you and money is not an issue for me. If you agree, I will post up my problem and see what other people have to say. I'm no laptop expert so let's see what other people say. Agree?
Teckhing Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 07:58 PM that is fine for me. you can't expect a laptop after repair will be change back to a brand new condition. the laptop after use for few years sure will have the heat transfer problem. a heatsink will be slow down the transfer heat and the fan might be slowdown. and nvidia chipset is a known high temperature product. you check the latest bios see what they change. why they want change the bios setting?
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 08:09 PM If that is the case, then upgrading to the new bios with new thermal policy should be enough right? Why still need to run 100% fan speed?
Ok, I will post up the thread later and pm you. You can then go over and give your explanation.
Kmarc Re:ASUS notebook F9S, Jul 29 2011, 08:40 PM Here's the thread :
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry44209664