125 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V10, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

penny2
post Aug 8 2011, 08:24 PM

843 posts

Uncle Benny, my model is ARMv7Processor rev 1 (V71), this means?
jeffreyp
post Aug 8 2011, 08:24 PM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 8 2011, 07:00 PM)
Why so paranoid over this warranty issue ?? IF you are so worried, just maken sure you keep the receipt
I have been to Samsung Center 5 times and in all occasions need not show proof of warranty/no need even show receipt.
Same thing goes for all my previous HTC ; I just too lazy too followup with all these e-warranty, worrying about whether they sms me or email me back. I still can claim warranty including replace motherboard ( some more is AP set )
You guys forgot, nowadays everything is computerised
Need to put this up on page 1. people will ask this again and again
penny2
post Aug 8 2011, 08:36 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 8 2011, 09:19 PM)
what kernel you use? if speedmod then yes it'll not detect your exynos.
erm, as

Hi LuffyPSP, I flashed it to this kernel
http://samsunggalaxys2review.org/samsung-g...drant-what-else
waveweaver
post Aug 8 2011, 08:37 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(penny2 @ Aug 8 2011, 08:24 PM)
That mean it's IPhone hahaha
Just kiddin., yours is Exynos 1.2 Ghz not Tegra 1.0 Ghz :-)
LuffyPSP
post Aug 8 2011, 08:41 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(penny2 @ Aug 8 2011, 08:36 PM)
erm, as

ah well i dont know then. its in May and kinda old seeing how development it fast. and everywhere in XDA is 1.6Ghz for OC now. no 1.5 anymore. perhaps you want to refer xda more rather than other site. they could be outdated. correct me if i'm wrong though. i just own this phone for 20 days.
sLapshock
post Aug 8 2011, 08:43 PM

124 posts

S ii or wait for iPhone 5?
Lineage
post Aug 8 2011, 08:47 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 8 2011, 08:43 PM)
S ii or wait for iPhone 5?
doh.gif
you wait iPhone 5..SGS 3 coming out..you wait SGS 3 release..iPhone 6 coming..when you want to buy phone? sweat.gif
TSbenny888

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Should be Exynos-lah ! Where did you buy your phone ? If Tegra model number is I9103 not I9100 - you can see model number on the box
penny2

843 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 8 2011, 10:41 PM)
ah well i dont know then. its in May and kinda old seeing how development it fast. and everywhere in XDA is 1.6Ghz for OC now. no 1.5 anymore. perhaps you want to refer xda more rather than other site. they could be outdated. correct me if i'm wrong though. i just own this phone for 20 days.
really?! Heading to XDA then... smile.gif
brotan
post Aug 8 2011, 08:49 PM

2,392 posts

is "Yes" 4G still have to use their phone w/o sim or they have the sim card version?
waveweaver
post Aug 8 2011, 08:51 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 8 2011, 08:47 PM)
Should be Exynos-lah ! Where did you buy your phone ? If Tegra model number is I9103 not I9100 - you can see model number on the box
But shouldn't it be ARM A9 Cortex instead of ARM V7.??
TSbenny888
post Aug 8 2011, 08:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(penny2 @ Aug 8 2011, 08:36 PM)
erm, as

This is a very, very old kernel. Infact it was one of the first kernel attempting to overclock the chip
At the rate development is growing, do consider the newer kernels - Speedmod, Ninphetamine which allows over clocking.Also most 99% of the rom cooks prefer to work with the newer kernels too ; less headache to troubleshoot
studwo
post Aug 8 2011, 08:56 PM

1,129 posts

The sgs2 charging speed is ridiculously slow for mine.. It took around 2 and a half hour to charge from zero to hundred percent. Is this normal?

This post has been edited by studwo: Aug 8 2011, 08:57 PM
AhBoy~~
post Aug 8 2011, 08:57 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 8 2011, 08:51 PM)
Architecture = ARMv7, Family = Cortex-A
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ARM_m...processor_cores
sLapshock
post Aug 8 2011, 09:02 PM

124 posts

True la, i wait for iPhone 5, Samsung S 3 come out liao. So, i confirm, getting S 2 tomorrow from M1.

Anyway this are my question:

1. what are root? is it jailbreakin?
2. do androids have something like Cydia?
3. how do i buy paid apps, where do i register?
5. anything 'installous' like in androids?
penny2
post Aug 8 2011, 09:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 8 2011, 10:47 PM)
Got it from senheng...
But the strange thing is, when i turned the setcpu off, it shows 1.0ghz instead of 1.2 on the quick system info

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 8 2011, 10:51 PM)
this is what bothers me

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 8 2011, 10:53 PM)
This is a very, very old kernel. Infact it was one of the first kernel attempting to overclock the chip
At the rate development is growing, do consider the newer kernels - Speedmod, Ninphetamine which allows over clocking.Also most 99% of the rom cooks prefer to work with the newer kernels too ; less headache to troubleshoot
oh really? this is only my first attempt to overclock it. kinda paranoid of bricking it...

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Aug 8 2011, 10:57 PM)
I read about this, but dont really understand about it. very little information on the internet on this topic...
TSbenny888
post Aug 8 2011, 09:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Aug 8 2011, 08:49 PM)
is "Yes" 4G still have to use their phone w/o sim or they have the sim card version?
YES doesn't use " sim cards" which we are commonly associates with our phone telcos. It is all builtin on their USB dongle, huddle etc

YES is basically a wireless broadband option. You can refer tro www.yes.com.my for more info. Most people buy the HUddle which is just a wireless hotspot which allows up to 5 users connecting to it. Or buy the USB dongle - plug in to your USB port ( similar to those USB Huawei type modems)

It is really very fast ; when I am surfing on my SGS !I , I disable my 3G and connect to the YES Huddle. MY place which is new on YES and still poor coverage , even at the worst RED signal, I can get 1.5 to 3.0 Mbps . Compared to normal 3G/Edge my place averaging 0.7 to 1.0 Mbps. My house Steamyx wifi ranging 0.7 to 1.2 Mbps. When I am in KL, I can get download speeds minimum 3.0 to 9.0 , sometimes 10-11 Mbps too
I subscribed to the monthly RM 30 package as I don't use it heavily

Lineage
post Aug 8 2011, 09:05 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(studwo @ Aug 8 2011, 08:56 PM)
The sgs2  charging speed is ridiculously slow for mine.. It took around 2 and a half  hour to charge from zero to hundred percent. Is this normal?
I use 4 hours to charge from 0 to 100%.. wink.gif

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 8 2011, 09:02 PM)
True la, i wait for iPhone 5, Samsung S 3 come out liao. So, i confirm, getting S 2 tomorrow from M1.

Anyway this are my question:

1. what are root? is it jailbreakin?
2. do androids have something like Cydia?
3. how do i buy paid apps, where do i register?
5. anything 'installous' like in androids?
1. Root is not jailbreak. Please read page 1 for FAQ.
2. Android is not like iOS.
3. Use Credit Card and Google account.
5. Don't know what is that.
TSbenny888
post Aug 8 2011, 09:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(studwo @ Aug 8 2011, 08:56 PM)
The sgs2  charging speed is ridiculously slow for mine.. It took around 2 and a half  hour to charge from zero to hundred percent. Is this normal?
That is very good, " ridiculously fast" . On what basis you are comparing with ?? Not with Symbian please. Most users reporting 3-4 hours is normal
waveweaver
post Aug 8 2011, 09:09 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Aug 8 2011, 08:57 PM)
Ahh.., now getting clearer. Thanks :-)
Does it mean ours is ARMv7 - Cortex A9..??

125 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.1139sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:04 PM