27 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Jul 30 2012, 10:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:58 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not a must
3. Card required for: Petrol, shopping, expensive electronic gadget.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil
6. Others: Must be easy to pay the CC bills. best if i can use publicBank(Pbe) or Maybank(MayBank2U) e-banking to pay it.
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K
What card should is the best for me? Will be my first CC.
Thx in advance.
The first card to get is the OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can earn 5% cash back for your Petrol everyday. This card also earns the cardholder 5% cash back for Dining, Telco and Groceries besides Utilities. For general transactions, this card earns you 1% cash back and the total cash back is capped at RM50/month. Therefore if you spend RM1000 on petrol, dining and telco, you would have hit the monthly cap and as such would not earn a sen further. However, if you do not have Credit History, don't be surprised if OCBC reject your application since are they are kind of "choosy" .

The other card to consider is the Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X Treats Points PLUS additional 5% cash back for any type of transactions on Saturdays and Sundays. Click here to read my review of Maybankard 2 Cards versus OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

The Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX is accepted at most merchants offering electronic gadgets i.e. Courts, Fotokem, Harvey Norman, Machines, Dell, Sony Centres, DiGi, Maxis, Celcom and even All IT.

And since you are new to credit card, I suggest you read my series of articles for Credit Cards for Beginners by clicking here to the prelude. After you completed this series of articles, you will understand why the Maybankard 2 Cards with 5X TP is the most rewarding card in the market currently for local transactions.

As for shopping , that's very general, you will need to go to each bank website and see if they offer any discount at your favorite outlets. For example, if you shop at GAP very frequent, Citibank credit cards are good.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 30 2012, 10:32 PM
TSGen-X
post Jul 31 2012, 08:33 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(theelectricorgfc @ Jul 31 2012, 01:24 AM)

Hi folks,
I have got both the Maybank2 AMEX and OCBC Titanium after a month ... so far, the OCBC has lived up to expectations with the 5% cash back on dining (and clubbing) - very happy with this !

But the MBB2 Amex is a bit disheartening as many places in Penang do NOT accept Amex (restaurants, clubs, shops, etc). Apart from Jusco, petrol stations, GSC and hotels.. that's about it.

The question is ... what is the next best card after the OCBC-Ti and MBB2Amex combo ? ... in terms of points and/or cash back ..
This will be for my insurance (about rm 500/month) and additional dining/clubbing/drinking (another 1k) since the OCBC is capped at RM50
For Clubbing at places that that does not accept AMEX, Mach by Hong Leong Bank earns you 2% cash back BUT you better check MCC Code of the clubs you frequent. Presently they don't have a branch in Penang, so call their CS 0379511988 and see if you can apply online or by fax. But you'll only get 0.2% for insurance. Noted you got HLB Plat, so read MACH Thread where it was mentioned that existing HLB card holder are not eligible for the first year annual fee waiver.

As for RM500/month insurance, that's RM6K per year, and at 1% cash rebate, that RM60 cash rebate per year. No point to get a new card since you already have so many other cards that most probably earns you close to 0.5%.

Having said the above, if you cannot qualify for first year annual fee waiver for the MACH, look into what you mentioned earlier about SCB Business Plat (my article on it scheduled 1st Aug, so check my blog tomorrow after 10am) where it earns you 0.5% cash back (not 0.3% as you mentioned) plus choice points, and adding them up you will get less than 1% which is less than HLB Essential pure 1% cash back. But the beautiful thing about SCB credit card is that they award you cash back up to RM300 if your application is approved, but you got to apply online else you only get RM200 with agent or staff.

Also see if you can readjust some payments with OCBC TMC earning 5% into MBB 2 AMEX to earn 5XTP (2.5%) e.g. Telco, and max out the OCBC Cash back with 1%.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 31 2012, 08:56 AM
TSGen-X
post Jul 31 2012, 12:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jul 31 2012, 12:56 PM)
guys i have a question.

The annual income is it applies to last year 1 or current year? If last year was slightly less than 24k, but current year salary increase, and so the annual income will increase can apply ar? Or just give bank the latest payslip will do?
Should be based on current income, Yes, last 3 months play slip should be adequate and EPF statement to proof your income.
TSGen-X
post Jul 31 2012, 05:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:37 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM18K to RM30K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must, or cheaper annual fee
3. Card required for:  Example Petrol, Gym membership and phone bills auto credit.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Never applied before
5. Considering CC from banks: CIMB Touch 'n Go Visa (not really sure though)
6. Others: easy go for online repayment
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Not more than 1k
QUOTE(girlpowerx3 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:59 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM25k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: preferred but not a priority
3. Card required for: petrol, online purchase, dining, bills
4. Existing credit cards if any: BSN Visa Debit card/ATM
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: not sure
6. Others: Looking for CC that gives lots of benefits... (continuous promotion,discounts, etc.)
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

mainly getting the card for monthly phone billing and utilities
but i also wanna go my frequent shopping and dining in the city wink.gif
Both of you can consider UOB One Card Classic where you can earn 5% cash back for petrol at any station but there is a monthly petrol cash back cap of RM20 (i.e. max RM400 worth of petrol). Also click here to my article on MACH by HLB where I have a table comparing UOB One Card versus MACH. Go calculate the cash back you can earn based on your expenses.

Also check out my article and review of Standard Chartered Bank Business Gold credit card, this card may be even better than UOB One Card for a limited time.

Once both you earn RM30K, then go apply for the Maybankard 2 Cards.

And girlpowerx3, as for promotions, that statement too general but you may want to check out Citibank Credit Card Promotions 2012. In my Citi Promo article, there a link to Citibank prmotion site, go check it out.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 09:31 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 1 2012, 12:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ashchia @ Jul 31 2012, 11:21 PM)
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must.
3. Card required for: Petrol, Online Purchase, Dining, Cash Back/Rebate Only, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions.
4. Existing credit cards if any: ist them or Nil.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nil
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K
Card mainly for shopping, Dining & petrol, occasionally oversea transaction since i travel once per month to oversea.
Bro, make up your mind you want cash back only, airmiles or both tongue.gif

1st card to get for Petrol and Dining go get OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can earn 5% cash back everyday.

2nd card to get Maybankard 2 Cards. The AMEX card earns you 5X TP every day PLUS additional cash back on Saturday and Sunday. And for your income range, with the 5X TP, it offers the best conversion of reward points to Enrich Miles BUT it may be more worthwhile to convert to cash vouchers unless MAS is having a sale. Click here to read my article titled Toshiba i5 for RM999 and Enrich Miles. The Maybankard 2 MasterCard on the other hand is good for overseas usage because MBB MC offers one of the lowest overseas conversion fee in town.

If the AMEX is accepted, with the Maybankard 2 AMEX, you are guaranteed 5X Treats Points which is equivalent to about 2.5% cash back when you redeem for cash voucher and not many credit cards (actually none) can currently can beat this returns for general transactions.

However, since you do spend more than RM2K.month, you may need another Visa or MC to maximize earning cash back for your expenditure at merchants that do not accept AMEX. So check out my article on Mach by Hong Leong Bank where I have prepared a table comparing various cash back credit cards. The table can serve as a guide for you to work out yourself the the cash back you can earn from different cards based on your expenses.

Also check out the Standard Chartered Bank Business Platinum and Gold credit card. This is the best time to apply for it, if you need an extra card for 5% cash back for petrol.

And since you are new to credit card, I suggest you read my series of articles for Credit Cards for Beginners by clicking here to the prelude.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2012, 09:33 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 4 2012, 12:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jun7898 @ Aug 3 2012, 10:33 PM)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate

4. Existing credit cards if any: UOB one card

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: any

6. Others: nil

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K
QUOTE(jun7898 @ Aug 3 2012, 11:53 PM)
the 5% rebate of maybank 2 amex is it for all weekend spending?all category(grocery, dining, petrol and utilities, and others)
any cards that hving rebate for insurance(prudential)
Yes, MBB 2 AMEX 5% for any type of transactions on Saturday and Sunday plus you also earn 5X TP everyday.

how much is your insurance premium? Monthly, quarterly or yearly? If you paying the premium monthly and less than RM200, with 1% cash rebate you only earning RM2/month. Even with the Maybankard 2 Visa or MasterCard, you will earn 1X TP which gives you approximately 0.5% cash back (or RM1 if Premium RM200/month) when redeem for cash voucher.

But if you frequent merchants that do not accept AMEX, then the OCBC Titanium MasterCard better with 5% cash back for Dining, Utility, Telco and groceries.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 4 2012, 12:08 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 4 2012, 01:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jun7898 @ Aug 4 2012, 12:43 AM)
sorry i mean insurance that uob give 2 they client..
if you sign up for insurance offered thru promotions jointly with the card issuer, you may face problems transferring the premium payments to another card issuer. Click here to read my article UOB Credit Card - Why You Force Me To Beg You? I signed for a P.A. policy long more than a decade with UOB and when I wanted to switch the premium to another card, the insurance company informed me that is not possible.

To All: I just revised the required format for posting here in post#1. Any comments or need to add any other required info?
TSGen-X
post Aug 6 2012, 02:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 6 2012, 02:44 PM)
1. Annual Income: Assume <60k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Dining only (company claim, so looking for points and/or rebate), maybe pay insurance.

4. Existing credit cards if any: M2Kad

5. Looking at CC from: Any bank which accepts IBG from M2U.com.my

6. Others: Please don't recommend OCBC Ti. Thanks.
For Dining only - MACH by Hong Leong Bank offers 5% cash back. Sign up for the Trendsetter Package when you apply for the card.

For Insurance, better use your MBB 2 Visa or MC where it earns you 1X TP compared to MACH miserable 0.2% cash back.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 6 2012, 02:55 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 6 2012, 03:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 6 2012, 03:06 PM)
I'm reading the product disclosure sheet of the MACH, the annual fee is 100+ per card.
And no mention on fee waiver.

I also read your website and it states that only 3 MCC codes for dining have the 5% cashback.
Go read MACH Thread, if you are new to HLB credit cards, you ar entitle to 1st year annual fee waiver and for subsequent years with 12 swipes. jonjack88 even posted a photo of this condition there.

As for MCC code, ask lah before you pay the bill tongue.gif If MCC coded not in the list, use your MBB 2 AMEX or MBB 2 Visa/Mc in the event the AMEX not welcome.
TSGen-X
post Aug 7 2012, 01:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(impreza @ Aug 7 2012, 01:16 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: Any CC with promotion or freebie

6. Others: Nil.
Since you are not willing to give breakdown of your expenses so that we can try to recommend a suitable card(s), click on links below to the appropriate thread:

For Petrol credit cards click here.

For Airport Lounge click here.

For Overseas Transaction click here.
TSGen-X
post Aug 8 2012, 03:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 8 2012, 01:11 PM)

3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Installment Plans, Groceries

4. Existing credit cards if any: HSBC Amanah Plat, CIMB petronas gold

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: no preferance

6. Others: Combined with best BT offer, looking to make BT for one of the CC approx RM4k with installment in mind approx 200-250/month. And also acceptable customer service..not slow and bad one like Bank Islam or HLB..

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM500 petrol, RM600 groceries, RM150 telco.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: none
For Cash Back Only for Petrol, Groceries and Telco = total RM1250

For your case, recommend you get both Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

Charge your Telco bill and Petrol (I am assuming you using Petronas) into OCBC TMC where you are guaranteed 5% cash back or RM32.50/month. However, the OCBC has a maximum cash back of RM50/month and therefore you still have remaining RM350 for Groceries or Dining to earn the maximum 5% cash back smile.gif For general transactions the OCBC earns you 1% cash back. OCBC Annual Fee waived with 12 swipes a year and if you spend RM10K they will credit you RM50 on your anniversary.

With the Maybankard 2 Cards American Express, you earn unlimited 5X Treats Points (equivalent to approximately 2.5% cash back in terms of cash vouchers) PLUS additional 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays. The cash back is also capped at RM50/month. So you will need to plan your spending. i.e. do groceries on Saturday and Sunday to earn up to 7.5% in returns. Maybank has many participating merchants offering 0% Installment Plans. And Until October 2012, you can earn 5X Treat Points with Maybankard Installment Plans. Click here to my article on 5X TP for 0% Ezy Pay and in this article there is a link to participating merchants offering 0% plans. Maybankard 2 Cards are Free For Life. With 5X TP earned with the MBB2 AMEX, by spending RM2K you will earn 10,000 Treats Points to offset GST thumbup.gif

I have many articles on Maybank Treats Points advantages over other credit cards, click here to read one of them.

For Education, you did not state the amount. And since most schools only accept Visa or Master, I guess charging it to your HSBC Amanah to earn 0.5% is not too bad. Or if you cancel your HSBC, then charge it to the MBB 2 Visa/MC and earn approximately 0.5% cash back in terms of voucher.

As for Balance Transfer, please check out Balance Transfer Thread or my article on Balance Transfer. Currently RHB offering 0% 6 months BT until end of the year and so does AEON credit cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 8 2012, 04:16 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 08:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wantl @ Aug 12 2012, 02:03 AM)
I'm not on any credit card yet.
Income is at 1.7k{bank in} (not included allowance,allowance at rm600)
problem is that my allowance were not included in my pay slip ,its paid by cash

1. Annual Income: RM20400.00(rm27600 included allowance)
3. Card required for: petrol,online purchasing/banking,dining
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil (does debit cards count? pbb debit)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:public bank,maybank,hsbc,hong leong
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K
Please follow first post format i.e. breakdown your expenses. You stated your expenses less than RM1K, which can also mean RM100. RM100/month makes no sense to go for a credit card.

As for your allowance, do you have a copy of the cash voucher payment? Maybe some banks can accept that (I don't know, just speculating).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 11:36 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 12:36 AM)
1. Annual Income: 100k above

3. Card required for: Once in a while very rare to use to shop in oversea & online hotel booking, purchase air tickets ... but most important which i hope can get cash rebates + lower interest installment plan

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Mastercard Gold, Citibank Visa Platinum
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nil
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Rewards points will be good but not important
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Nil
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Once in a while ... maybe less then 5 times in a year i will swipe from 10k to 30k to purchase things

I wanna get rid of that Citibank visa ... fully paid off ... charge me annually 600 when the usage is like less then 10times annually ... gotta call to wave it off ...
Since you are not willing to state your exact income as required in Format listed in Post#1, I will assume you have no problems meeting the income requirement for any cards.

Maybank Visa Infinite:

Since you swipe 5 times minimum RM10K, annual fee automatically waived.

Overseas transactions - you earn 5X TP which earns you about 2.5% returns and after deducting overseas admin fee, still earn 1.25%

Online Hotel Booking - 6% Discount with Agoda thru MBB website and you earn 5X TP too. Click here for MBB Promotions

Lower Installment Plan - Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchants offering 0% Ezy Pay.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 13 2012, 12:55 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 12:57 AM)
Thank you for the reply
how mcuh the annual fee charges will be?
What is the min requirement to get it waived off?
Annual fee RM800 and waived with RM50K spending.
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 01:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 01:02 AM)
I cant guanteree that I would have spend until 50k annually on that single card only
as my daily expenses are on my CIMB card

what is the other option that would be available?

TQ
Bro, I was under the impression that you swipe RM10K-30K/swipe under recurring expenses.

Switch all your daily expenses to MBB VI nod.gif The card earns you 2X TP for local transactions which is way better than any CIMB Credit Card.

If you had stated local shopping instead of overseas shopping, I would then recommend Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X TP for any transaction PLUS 5% cash back (capped at RM50/month) for Saturdays and Sundays.

You will be issued a AMEX credit card with either a Visa or MasterCard.

Since you swipe minimum RM10K (as you mentioned earlier) for overseas, use the Visa or MC as the overseas Admin rate is lower than 1% compared to AMEX 2.5% PLUS 0.5%.

Use theMBB 2 Visa or MC to book with agoda thru MBB site and you are also entitled to 6% discount.

Once again, installment plan, can use the MBB 2 Visa or MC.
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Aug 13 2012, 11:43 AM)
Hi everyone,

I need to apply few credit cards. Now I have rhb and maybank platinum. But I need more credit cards (with annual fees waived).

HSBC signature looks good, but every year need to pay RM600 sad.gif

Any recommendations?
HSBC credit cards annual fees are waived with 12 swipes per year.

Goto post#1 and there are links to my articles on Entry Level, Platinum and Premier Credit Cards.
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 05:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(felnarix @ Aug 13 2012, 03:05 PM)
Below is my summary. Need your advise and suggestion.
1. Annual Income: RM40,000 per year
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: I dont mind. Can be waiveable.
3. Card required for: Petrol/online shopping/Tesco/Guardian/Boutiqes/Dining etc etc
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.
5. Looking at CC from: Suggest me
6. Others: nil. Maybe want to buy house and new car in next few years.
Bro, your above too general so I'll just recommend you get both Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

To ALL: Please post in accordance to the format below:

1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K or RM30K to RM36K or RM36K to RM48K or RM48 to RM60K or RM60K-RM100K or RM100K-RM200K or RM200K and above or leave blank.

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must or No only.

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Example Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Golf, Installment Plans, Airport Lounge etc or Don't Know.

4. Existing credit cards if any: List them or Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: List the Banks or List the card(s).

6. Others: Please be specific. Example: I only want to pay amount due with my M2U online savings account or I want cash back only and no reward points.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Example RM1.25K - RM300 petrol, RM200 groceries, RM150 Dining, RM100 Telco, RM50 movies, RM200 Insurance and others RM250.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Example, up to RM5K for frequent overseas trips, RM3K for new gadget every 6 months, RM200 pay pal every 2 months, RM10K school/college tuition fee every half year and etc.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 13 2012, 05:11 PM
TSGen-X
post Aug 14 2012, 11:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sleecc @ Aug 14 2012, 10:01 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM60K-RM100K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must or with minimum swipe.
3. Card required for: Petrol (Esso), Groceries (AEON, Tesco/Giant/Carrefour), Utilities bill (TNB, water, mobile, Internet), Cash Back.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybankard 2 Cards & OCBC Titanium.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No.
6. Others: I want a backup card for my existing cards if both cards reach the monthly rebate cap; and I also plan to increase my utilities bill in the future, which will easily surpass the OCBC Titanium rebate cap limit.
7. Fixed expenses per month (current expenses): RM300 - RM400 petrol, RM500 - RM900 groceries, RM100 Dining, RM250 - RM300 Utilities bill (Potential up to RM600 in the future).
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Up to RM2K for non-fixed expenses at least every 6 months or less, such as quit rent, assessment, Indah water (OCBC Titanium), car maintenance, medical, new gadget/home appliance, clothing & etc (Maybankard 2 cards).
From your fixed expenses and requirement, all can earn 5% cash back, so look into UOB One Card or Citibank Platinum Cash Back for Petrol up to RM600 because the cash back is capped at RM30. With these cards, you will still earn 5% for all you fixed expenses.

As for the recurring expenses of RM4K/year, not much. And like you mentioned, you are using MBB 2 Cards now which earns you 5X TP or 2.5% which is better that other cards in the market. Say you get another card that earns you 1%, with RM4K/year, you only earn RM40 which is less than GST RM50. Where AMEX is not welcome, just use your MBB 2 Visa or MC and earn 0.5% or RM20 (which GST has been paid).
TSGen-X
post Aug 15 2012, 12:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Aug 15 2012, 12:18 AM)
3. Card required for: mostly for petrol when during weekday, cinema and F&B
4. Existing credit cards if any: MayBank2card
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: nothing in mind currently
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: I only want to pay amount due with my M2U online savings account or I want cash back only and no reward points.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM350 for insurans, RM90 for streamyx, RM200 for petrol
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: -
i have a maybank2card right now but the 5% rebate only limited to weekend. want to find another card that can grant the rebate at weekday and for entertainment purpose (like GSC buy 1 free 1)
OCBC Titanium MasterCard 5% for Petrol and Streamyx. 1% for insurance.

For movies, click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 18 2012, 05:10 AM
TSGen-X
post Aug 16 2012, 09:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Aug 15 2012, 04:27 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM60K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must.
3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, Installment Plans, Shopping
4. Existing credit cards if any: Standard Chartered.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: -
6. Others: Please be specific. - Prefer reward points to exchange gifts
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: 500 insurance, 500 bills
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: 3K a year for amazon, ebay.
Bro, how come your needs and your expenses different? You stated Petrol as a requirement but you spend RM0 on it?

As for your bills, that's too general. What bill? School bill, country club bill, TNB and etc?

And since you want reward points only, I guess you can consider Maybankard 2 Cards where you get more in returns with MBB Treats Points compared to you StanChart. The Maybankard 2 AMEX earns you 5X TP for any transaction and the Visa/MasterCard earns you 1X TP for Petrol too (unlike SCB Cards).

For comparison of points for redeeming cash voucher between Standard Chartered Bank versus Maybank credit cards, click here to see example in my article on Standard Chartered Business Gold & Platinum credit cards.

Maybank credit cards are accepted at many places for 0% Installment Plans. Click here to my artilce on Maybank 5X Treats Points with 0% Ezy Pay and in this article there is a link to participating merchants.

However, if you need a card for Petrol, Telephone Bills, Utility Bills and Groceries and don't mind cash back, you should seriously consider OCBC Titanium MasterCard where it earns you 5% cash back which is way better than reward points and for other transactions 1% cash back.

Once again, considering the fact your income is above RM48K, you can qualify for many cash back credit cards out there where the cash back is way better than points. Click here to my article on MACH by Hong Leong Bank where I have a table comparing cash back for different credit cards. Use it as a guide for your own expenses and see how much you can earn.

QUOTE(androool @ Aug 15 2012, 11:03 PM)
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must.
3. Card required for: PUBS! Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Groceries
4. Existing credit cards if any: Citibank Shell Gold, Citi Clear and Ambank RealRewards
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:
Applying right now for Citibank Cashback Plat, OCBC Titanium and UOB 1 Card Plat while getting rid of Citibank Shell Gold and Ambank RealRewards
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Low interest during certain months when I do exceed and have outstandings.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card:
Telco Bill - RM150
Petrol - RM300
Coway Water - RM100

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Lots of pubs/clubs. Dining. Movies.
First card to get is OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you get 5% cash back for petrol, groceries and dining. It will earn you 5% cash back for Telco bill, Petrol, Groceries (and other utility bills) and 1% cash back for other transactions. So with above Fixed Expenses, you will be earning RM23.5 guaranteed (not including 5% cash rebate for Grocery which you stated as requirement and Dining under recurring expenses). The only thing is that the cash back is capped at RM50 per month.

As for Pubs - check if the pubs you frequent accept AMEX, if yes, get the Maybankard 2 Cards and earn yourself 5X TP and if you go drinking on Friday night and if pay your bill after 12am (Saturday already) and Saturday night, you can get additional 5% cash back thumbup.gif

Click here to read more about Maybankard 2 Cards.

If the pubs you frequent DO NOT accept AMEX:

Like I mentioned earlier, the OCBC TMC earns you 1% cash back, if you have not hit the RM50/month maximum cash back, charge your drinking bill to this card. However this may be a hassle to keep track. So you got two options:

Option1 - charge it to your existing credit cards.

Option2 if your drinking bill is more than RM1K - check out MACH by Hong Leong Bank where you can get 1% cash back. If less than RM1K, don't waste your time as you will earn less than RM100/year in cash back after deducting GST.

As for movies, you have Citibank Clear Card which gets you Free 1 for 1 movie ticket on Friday and Saturday thumbup.gif
However, if you are into 3D or IMAX, the MACH by HLB is good, click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 18 2012, 05:10 AM

27 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0266sec    1.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:06 PM