4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

fruitie
post Aug 23 2012, 10:41 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 10:29 PM)
Well sad to say sometimes OCBC's criteria for cc application is haywire  tongue.gif  The easiest bank that I have come across is citibank. I applied for a card with them, did not give any payslips and did not bother providing my employers details. Filled up the form at a roadshow but then I was not keen to apply for the card when i went home. The sales guy wrote his own story as to where I am working, and when they called me for verification on that, I told them it is false and did not provide any further info on my actual employer. 2 days later the card was approved blink.gif  And my annual income is lower than yours...
Citibank is pretty easy to get, they are kinda aggressive when it comes to credit card thingy. smile.gif
As a starter to build up credit history, one may start with Citibank. However, if your salary is at least RM 2.5k/month, please try MBB2Card, much worth for it. smile.gif
I only recommend my friends to take up MBB2Card and OCBC Ti, other cards can put aside at this moment.

Side note, somebody posted on MACH thread that only he got his card within 10 minutes with just I.C. as there is a kiosk there to print out EPF statement. Just perfect as I'm lazy to go through of bringing my latest 3 months payslip and etc.
This card is pretty good for movie goers like me, 10% off for each ticket. That's the reason why I want to get this card. biggrin.gif

fruitie
post Aug 23 2012, 10:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 10:49 PM)
By the way, anyone knows if BNM's ruling of 2 cards to a person is currently being practiced or not? I've got two cards, but wanna get MBB2Card. Dunno if I need to terminate one of them before applying for a new csrd.
Yes, still applies for salary less than RM 36k/annum, you need to reveal your salary info and bank will evaluate based on that.
Correction, it is actually from 2 different banks not 2 cards.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Aug 23 2012, 10:53 PM
fruitie
post Aug 25 2012, 01:26 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 25 2012, 12:33 PM)
Until 22nd October, all Maybankard that earns TP will reward the cardholder  5X Treats Points with Ezy Pay.
They sent me a SMS on this yesterday. laugh.gif
I have read from one of your blog posts that talks about installment thingy, very useful and now I only pay in full. blush.gif
fruitie
post Aug 25 2012, 02:18 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 25 2012, 01:56 PM)
fruitie, in my article 0% Installment Plans with Credit Card - It IS A Trap I mentioned that these plans entice people to spend beyond their means.

Besides making the cardholder to spend more that he has, and the banks start imposing interest when they cannot pay in full, 0% Installment plan is also a method adopted by the banks to prevent the cardholder from cancelling the card if they still have outstanding balance.

Most people go for installment plans because they cannot afford to buy the stuff outright. This is what most young people don't realize and then complain they don't have savings because things are expensive  doh.gif  Instead of buying the stuff with installment plan, he should be depositing the same amount into a saving or investment plan.

But for those who have cash in hand, that's a different story because one can actually earn pocket money out of this plans for big ticket items costing RM5K or more by depositing the cash into Fixed Deposit or high paying Savings Account (check out my blog early next month for my article titled The Best Savings Accounts in Malaysia). However, I personally do not like to opt for long repayment period as this means I have longer period of outstanding debts. I only go for 6 months 0% Installment Plan or Balance Transfer. This is where Maybankard is good because their Ezy Pay can start from 6 months installment plan (up to 24 months which is really not a good option as you are in debt for years!)
Thanks, this opens up my mind. Ever since I cleared my last installment in June 2012, I noticed that my cash flow and savings have been smooth and good. smile.gif
Yeah, I think if I really want to, I will go for 6 months. Really hate the feeling to be in debt for such a long period.
I was naive back then and opted for 12 months installment and one of them was 20 months. doh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 5 2012, 10:42 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(kamkemkimkom @ Sep 5 2012, 09:22 AM)
my annual income is rm10800
i want to use it for credit card installment only
can i apply credit card at any bank?
Minimum income to get a credit card is RM 24k per annum.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 5 2012, 10:43 AM
fruitie
post Sep 14 2012, 04:20 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(vng69 @ Sep 13 2012, 02:01 PM)
pls advise.
currently on hand i've a Citibank clear card.
i'm looking for a secondary CC which offers rebates(petrol and maxis bill).
also..which offers balance transfer with a low interest. (want to BT to my citibank CC).

Income per annum: RM36k+
OCBC Ti and Maybankard2Gold Card. You will never go wrong with these two cards. smile.gif
Many recommended and I have both, no regret till today. smile.gif
I will advise anyone that fulfills the salary requirement to apply for this combo.
I cancelled all my other useless cards and only retain these two. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 14 2012, 10:14 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(vng69 @ Sep 14 2012, 09:35 AM)
OCBC Ti? hmm..ok great. was thinking that or UOB.
i'll read more on it b4 hand.
thx for the advise.
OCBC Ti = OCBC Titanium
I believe OCBC Ti is better than UOB One Card. smile.gif
Read more on the dedicated threads.
fruitie
post Sep 24 2012, 11:48 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(maxgenesis @ Sep 24 2012, 11:39 PM)
oh im sorry:
my spending mainly=
petrol = 300, dining = 150, telco = 180, insurance = 300, groceries = 200, movies = 50, shopping = 300

roughly this what i spend per month or maybe less (on movie, shopping and groceries)

a lot people said, including you that mbb 2 card is good...
also got ppl said mbb + ocbc combination is the best...
but i dont want to carry so many cards...
you recommend me mach by HL bank, but compare to mbb n ocbc.. how? i still reading you article. vry good but kinda long..
so if you can summarize and recommend which is suitable for me.
thanks bro.
2 cards is not a lot. OK maybe 3 because Maybankard2Gold Card has two cards - MasterCard/VISA + AmEx.
My vote still goes to MBB2Card + OCBC Ti, I'm using that combo and no regret. smile.gif
Other cards? No intention to apply at all.
Maybe thinking to get HLB MACH for movie only. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 24 2012, 11:58 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 24 2012, 11:56 PM)
i would suggest take the ocbc ti first as it suits your spending pattern. only consider to add another card when your expenses increase.
But also need to be prepared for rejection as OCBC has the tendency to reject first attempt of application. smile.gif
fruitie
post Sep 25 2012, 01:48 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(maxgenesis @ Sep 25 2012, 01:19 AM)
but u wrote ocbc no point rite?
btw if i really count...
petrol 300+ telco 180 = 480 = 24
insurance 300 = 3.00
so total = 27...

from your blog comparison for credit card cash back = mbb like more den ocbc...
dam kinda fck these cc.. have to make 2 combinations =.=
OCBC no points but MBB2Card has points and they are evergreen, so far.

No profanities allowed on LYN, please behave the way you express yourself here.
fruitie
post Sep 26 2012, 10:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(B u B u @ Sep 26 2012, 09:53 PM)
Guys want to ask something...

Say every month I have RM400 of petrol allowance, but this RM400 is not given to me in monetary term, but a Shell Card with RM400 credit it in. Should I factor in this RM400 when I calculate CC required annual income?

TQ
Most of the time they will only evaluate based on the items appear on your pay slip.
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 01:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 12:40 PM)
1. Annual Income: Rm30k-Rm36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Petrol and daily needs. Occasional instalment plans.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Ti or UOB One

6. Others: Cash back preferred, pay with M2U online transfer from savings.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Insurance Rm150, Petrol Rm400, can't think of anything else.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Monthly car maintenance? Budget Rm200 per month. (I don't spend this amount every month.
Currently looking for an entry level card. Cannot decide between these 2 cards. Looking at cash back and rebates.
Thanks in advance guys.
If you have at least RM 36k per annum, then go for OCBC Ti though your application might be rejected on the first attempt. Don't be sad, it should be approved later if you fulfill the requirements and your credit record is clean. smile.gif
Else, you may also consider Maybankard2Gold Card.
Gen-X has posted a lot of posts regarding this card, please have a check. smile.gif
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 03:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 02:29 PM)
Hi thanks for the reply.

I prefer not to have Maybank. Service is bad, and the only reason why i'm using Maybank now is because my salary comes in through maybank, and the convenience of finding ATMs. I dread everytime i have to head over to the branch.  sweat.gif

I've also recently changed jobs. So i have 2 different pay slips. I'll be applying for the OCBC Ti under a program called fresh graduate program, some internal program that they have to offer cards to freshies. Only 1 month payslip needed.  icon_idea.gif 

But again the limit will be set at Rm4000. Which is more than enough for me as for now. So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB?  biggrin.gif
OK, it is a sad case for your bad encounter with Maybank because Maybankard2Gold card is really a good card. smile.gif I have both MBB2Card and OCBC Ti, very happy to have this combo. smile.gif

If you can get the internal freshie program from OCBC, by all means please go for OCBC. UOB One Card needs 60 swipes/year in order to waive the annual fees while OCBC only needs 12 swipes/year. Note: Annual fees not GST.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 2 2012, 03:24 PM
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 06:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 2 2012, 06:26 PM)
Not sure if this is a right place to ask but here goes:

I have an Ambank True card (my 1st ever card) that has no benefit what so ever, no point, no annual fee, no cash bank, etc. The only thing tied to this card is my monthly insurance charges. I currently plan to change the insurance charges to either my Citibank and get x1 point/ringgit (less then 0.5% cash back) OR apply MBB2Card and get x5 point/ringgit ( 2.5% cash back, but low chance my insurance actually accept AMEX) OR apply OCBC TI card and get 1% cash back.

My question is this. What should I do with my Ambank card? Cancel? Ask to change to another card? I dont see any nice Ambank card... and I dont see any benefit on keeping it either.
You have the answer already, then cut it off. smile.gif
You need to pay for GST right? unsure.gif
fruitie
post Nov 26 2012, 05:59 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

That 42k is annual income or monthly income? As per the template is annual income... blink.gif
fruitie
post Jan 9 2013, 08:15 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

To add on Human Nature's reply, you do your groceries shopping at Jusco, Giant and Tesco; all these 3 places accept AmEx. smile.gif

So, another advantage for you if you apply Maybankard2Card.
fruitie
post May 12 2013, 01:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ May 11 2013, 10:58 PM)
Since You already got the Best Combo (MBB2cards & OCBC Tit.) in Town... thumbup.gif

Why Not, Consider to Get Alliance Bank Cash Back Platinum OR Gold Card as Your 3rd Card with Benefits as :

Platinum
•0% Finance Charge for first 3 months
•Up to 2.0% cash back* on retail spend
•2x Timeless Bonus Points on overseas spend
•Annual fee waiver for every year with easy spend conditions, i.e. spend a minimum of RM5,000 or swipe 12 times within
a 12-month period
•Exclusive privileges and discounts at participating merchants
•Instalment Payment Plan at 0% p.a. interest rate at participating merchants
•Unlimited Complimentary Access to KLIA Plaze Premium Lounge
•Customer Service Hotline Assistance
•No lost card liability upon reporting
•Worldwide recognition and acceptance
More on Platinum Card: http://www.alliancebank.com.my/Personal-Ba...tinum-Card.aspx

OR

GOLD
•0% Finance Charge for first 3 months
•Up to 1.3% cash back* on retail spend
•Timeless Bonus Points that do not expire
•Enrich Miles Redemption via Enrich Rewards Program with Malaysia Airlines
•AirAsia BIG Points Redemption (for VISA Credit Card only)
•Annual fee waiver for every year with easy spend conditions, i.e. spend a minimum of RM5,000 or swipe 12 times within a 12-month period
•Exclusive privileges and discounts at participating merchants
•Instalment Payment Plan at 0% p.a interest rate at participating merchants
•Customer Service Hotline Assistance
•No lost card liability upon reporting
•Worldwide recognition and acceptance
Details on Gold Card: http://www.alliancebank.com.my/Personal-Ba.../Gold-Card.aspx

OR at: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2474465 for More Details
QUOTE(fly126 @ May 12 2013, 01:19 AM)
Lousy Me, Before I Forgot... doh.gif There is 1 More Cash-Back Card,

Hong Leong Bank Essential Credit Card
*Unlimited 1% Cash Rebate on ALL Retail Purchases, Except Petrol Purchase
*Low Cash Advance Fee only 2%
*Low Cash Advance Rate at 10.8% p.a
http://www.hlb.com.my/pfs/cc/ccessential1....lag=ccessential
Thanks for the suggestion but so far only the Alliance Plat attracts me but I'm still short of few Ks to fulfill the income requirement. sad.gif
Sigh. Looks like I will need to stick to my current combo first until I step into slightly higher income bracket.
fruitie
post May 18 2013, 01:05 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(daniel2006 @ May 18 2013, 09:57 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM60K or RM60K to RM100K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, cash back, utilities(tm,tnb,astro), sometimes shopping, retail

4. Existing credit cards if any: maybank platinum 2cards, bank rakyat gold(just terminated)

5. Looking at CC from: any that could provide good cash back

6. Others: Please be specific.  prefer cash back as rewards point (maybank 2plat already have 5x points).
Heard OCBC titanium is quite good but how to have the utilities cashback because i do not own their saving acc, still can pay online?
Yes, OCBC Ti is a good choice. Best combo ever M2Card + OCBC Ti. I have both and love them a lot. biggrin.gif
Yes, can pay using GIRO. I don't have savings account with OCBC as well, I pay my bills via Maybank2U. Moreover, from 2nd March onwards, the GIRO service charge is just RM 0.10 per transaction. thumbup.gif
Used to be RM 2.00 from Maybank to OCBC.
They don't credit in your cash back to your account, they offset the amount from your monthly statement. Just like M2Card.

OCBC Ti link: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2703542

p/s: OCBC Ti has annual fees but can be easily auto-waived with just 12 swipes in a year. brows.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: May 18 2013, 01:05 PM
fruitie
post May 18 2013, 01:41 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(daniel2006 @ May 18 2013, 01:38 PM)
you're saying paying to your OCBC cc bill using m2u right.

i was refering to paying utilities bill using OCBC cc? How to do it if i dont have saving acc with them?

Normally i pay my utilities using m2u and pay via maybankcard.
Yes, can. I also pay my DiGi and Maxis bill via OCBC online and charge to my OCBC Ti.
You can select from the portal. Even easier if you don't have OCBC savings account because you won't click wrongly, and it straight charges to your credit card. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: May 18 2013, 01:42 PM
fruitie
post Jun 7 2013, 08:15 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(SmokerBamboo @ Jun 7 2013, 06:16 PM)
Thanks for the fast reply! Yea. I think I'll go for Maybank2Cards as it gives 5% cashback on any retail purchase, but only on weekends. I think I can live with that  biggrin.gif 
For OCBC and UOB CC, I'm pretty sure the stuff I'm buying (action figures) doesn't fall into any categories designated  sweat.gif
You must understand that the 5% rebate comes from AmEx and definitely it has lower acceptance rate compared to Visa or MasterCard. Normal Malaysia's merchants still prefer Visa and MC.

The best combo is M2Card + OCBC Ti and I'm sure many would have agreed with me. Since your income fulfills for that, I will suggest you to couple it with M2Card.

I'm using both now and still can't find any other better card that can compare with this combo.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0229sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:54 AM