4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

fruitie
post Mar 12 2012, 12:41 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(wakakaka @ Mar 12 2012, 12:12 AM)
I dont exactly spend RM5k a month. I mentioned occasionally. I have some part time job running errands so i can manage at most 1k. The one u recommend is way over the top. I'm kinda looking at credit card from Maybank. To be specific, among the credit card in Maybank and CIMB, which one charges the least(%) when conducting oversea online shopping?

Also, if i dont have a salary slip, can i just like show the bank a fully loaded ASB book? Will they allow me to apply for credit card as a student?
You do know in order to get a supplementary card, you will need a principal card? That could be anyone that you know, as long as they are willing to give you a supplementary credit card. You must be 18 and above.
I got mine when I was a student, no issue. My sister gave me a supplementary card.

fruitie
post Mar 12 2012, 08:21 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Nation of Sensation @ Mar 12 2012, 02:28 AM)
NOTE: I am not APPLYING for a new card but I want to CHANGE my current EON Classic card to other banks. Please advise on this. Thanks!

1. Annual Income: RM30k to RM36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes

3. Card required for: Petrol, Online Purchases, Etc.

4. Existing credit cards if any: EON Visa Classic

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any

6. Others:

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM500
What's the difference? Not applying for a new card but changing to other bank? laugh.gif
Sorry, I'm kinda blur here. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Apr 20 2012, 08:33 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 19 2012, 10:06 PM)
Bro, try not to do instalment if you can't afford the actual price upfront.
My friends are in debt cause of this.

But for petrol and utilities, you can try either OCBC Titanium or Maybank2 AMEX + VISA or MC.
Not for OCBC Titanium, salary range doesn't fulfill the requirement. smile.gif
Even for people who fulfill also have difficulty to be approved by OCBC. laugh.gif
I'm one of the typical cases which have no total idea when one has good repayment record and no liability in hand. tongue.gif
fruitie
post May 2 2012, 06:50 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

Hey guys, my previous posting still applies... https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45705204 Except that my salary range is more than 48k per annum now.

I'm tired of begging OCBC Ti for their card, applied since 22nd March 2012 and can't be approved until this point of time.

I don't see the point of me keeping the CIMB DA anymore and the GST will be charged to me in either June or July, so I'll need to cancel it before it charges on me again.

Any other card that I can apply? Prefer a card with cash rebate. Preferable MasterCard since I already have an AmEx and VISA.

Thank you!
fruitie
post May 2 2012, 09:50 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 2 2012, 09:34 PM)
For good installment plan, you already for MBB 2 Cards smile.gif

If you did not call OCBC, do call and check your status. OCBC TMC best card to compliment MBB2 Cards.

If you want for Petrol, max rebate RM30 per month for RM600 fuel, then Citibank Cash Back or UOB One Card.

Besides petrol and groceries, another option is go get Alliance Platinum Debit Card and earn 1.5% cash back for any transaction up to RM6K per month (that's what the website states but if I recall correctly, last time erry mentioned it was less]. You need to deposit RM20K to open account to qualify for the card BUT you can withdraw it out the next day smile.gif
hmm.gif Installment plan, not so much these days. Prefer to pay in full amount. smile.gif
I have been following up and it is still pending for documents, even the agent handles my case also goes rclxub.gif
Fuel not really important, I think I'll go for UOB. Spend more in groceries and clothes...
fruitie
post May 2 2012, 10:08 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 2 2012, 10:04 PM)
haha, maybe you should read your previous post where you stated Installment Plan  tongue.gif

For clothes, better you use your Maybank 2 Visa if AMEX is not accepted instead of UOB One Card and earn miserable 0.3%
laugh.gif Didn't notice I posted about installment. tongue.gif
hmm.gif If like that I stick to my M2Card for now until OCBC decides to give it to me. sweat.gif
fruitie
post May 20 2012, 06:45 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ May 20 2012, 06:32 PM)
Hi TS, I've read through your blogs an others, please recommend a card for me, mr CC consultant  tongue.gif

1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K (I've seen somewhere in LYN with people saying that certain banks even gave platinum/titanium cards for thoe who earn below 30k annually  cool2.gif )

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for:  Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Utilities, Groceries.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Sap Sap Suey

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM2k
Maybankard2Gold is the best choice for you. smile.gif
OCBC Ti requires a minimal of RM 3k per month, but their selection criteria is strict though.
I saw someone posted the other day that OCBC has a new card with easier criteria, not sure what's that.
I just got my OCBC Ti then only this new card is launched. smile.gif
fruitie
post May 21 2012, 11:53 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(then_then @ May 21 2012, 11:50 AM)
Act is not a new card, is the same titanium card with same benefits but lower requirement for the degree holder who below 28 year old to apply..thanks
Then, might as well lower down current Titanium's requirements. doh.gif
fruitie
post Jun 3 2012, 11:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jun 3 2012, 10:53 PM)
i describe myself as kiasu cheapskate. i think this is quite a common typical malaysia mindset

rm50 to spend or rm50 to pay tax.... the difference is quite substantial
To be honest, RM 50 GST fees is very cheap. smile.gif
Get debit card la, no need to pay for GST.
fruitie
post Jun 20 2012, 10:41 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

My current best combo = Maybankard2Card + OCBC Ti.
Can get VISA, MasterCard and AmEx one shot. biggrin.gif

Recently just cancelled my CIMB DA which no longer serves any purpose for me. smile.gif

Erm, should I get additional card or just live with those above? I like having different cards and get more rebates. laugh.gif

1. Annual Income: ~RM52K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must or can be waived with realistic no. of swipes or spending
3. Card required for: Hotels/Flights/Shopping (local and overseas)
4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybankard2Card, OCBC Ti
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any bank
6. Others: I want more cash rebates cards. tongue.gif
7. Estimated Spending per month with all the cards: RM500~RM1500

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jun 20 2012, 10:51 PM
fruitie
post Jun 20 2012, 11:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2012, 11:38 PM)
I don't see the need for you to get any other cards unless you want free airport lounge or another back up card (which in this case should have kept your CIMB DA) .

For Hotel, you MBB 2 Visa gives you 6% discount at Agoda.
For Flights, your MBB 2 AMEX earns you minimum 5X TP which is better than Citi Air Asia Card. Even your OCBC TMC with 1% CB is considered very good.
For Online shopping, this one you know more than me on how to maximize the 5% cash back with AMEX  tongue.gif
Alright, I shall follow to your advice. Not adding in anymore. Add more = More burden laugh.gif
OK, let's say if I want a new card as backup? I really don't want to have CIMB DA anymore...
fruitie
post Jun 24 2012, 10:18 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jun 24 2012, 10:12 PM)
MBB VI is it MBB Visa Infinite? Is the MBB2 MasterCard that comes with the MBB2 AMEX give 2X TP as well?
Yes, VISA Infinite.
Nope, only 1xTP for MasterCard/VISA that comes with MBB2. smile.gif
fruitie
post Jun 25 2012, 11:19 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 25 2012, 10:00 PM)
although it is free for life...the problem now is the government tax...if you keep it..then every year pay RM50....
right?
Somehow that's the ultimate reason why I decided to cancel my CIMB DA. If it serves purpose, I wouldn't mind paying the GST but the problem is the promotions are either not attractive or I'm not keen with.
Better off with better cards. tongue.gif
Anyway, I'm contented with my current combination, gives savings in all my transactions. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Jul 19 2012, 03:14 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(FyQaKamarolZaman @ Jul 19 2012, 02:49 PM)
i already tried to apply from hsbc and also ocbc. but failed. i dunno y but i really want a cc. anyone can help?
OCBC Titanium? The minimum annual income requirement is 36k...
I heard HSBC is also kinda tight with its selection criteria, I might be wrong as I only own Maybankard2Card and OCBC Ti.

With your income, I think you apply Maybankard2Card, there are quite a lot of links and explanations posted by Gen-X earlier. You will get more insights from there. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jul 19 2012, 03:16 PM
fruitie
post Jul 31 2012, 09:59 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Jul 31 2012, 09:48 AM)
hmm.gif I will seriously look into this the OCBC ti and Maybank 2card.
But now my question  is...can i pay the bill of both this card by using e-banking?
Yes, you can. smile.gif
fruitie
post Jul 31 2012, 10:13 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Jul 31 2012, 10:10 AM)
The minimum requirement to apply for the Maybankkard2 Card is:

platinum: RM60k
gold: RM30k
(p.a. salary)

So I'm oni qualified for the gold.
But i cant find what's the diff between gold n platinum.
Could anyone pls enlighten me TQ.
Check out from this dedicated thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2434771
fruitie
post Aug 12 2012, 02:43 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(wantl @ Aug 12 2012, 02:03 AM)
I'm not on any credit card yet.
Income is at 1.7k{bank in} (not included allowance,allowance at rm600)
problem is that my allowance were not included in my pay slip ,its paid by cash

1. Annual Income: RM20400.00(rm27600 included allowance)
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must
3. Card required for: petrol,online purchasing/banking,dining
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil (does debit cards count? pbb debit)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:public bank,maybank,hsbc,hong leong
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K
These days BNM has set the minimum income to apply for a credit card is RM 2k per month.
Is there any way to prove you get the additional RM 600 allowance every month? If not, your payslip might not be able to convince the bank.
fruitie
post Aug 16 2012, 10:48 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

Hey Gen-X, I must thank you for your blog. Absolutely useful for newbies like me, I have learnt a lot from the links you posted here from time to time. smile.gif

I read about the best CC for movie tickets and I have made my choice for MACH. After all, I don't go for movies only on Fridays or Saturdays, so Citibank Clear is not that a good choice. More often during weekdays and Sundays, so I thought the 10% of discount is good enough ya? smile.gif

p/s: I just noticed my boss is using Citibank Platinum Cash Back card today and after going through your blog only noticed that card is not that good. smile.gif So, I have recommended her on M2UCard and OCBC Ti. smile.gif Of course, I have sent her few useful links from your blog to show to her which are the better cards. With her income, she can even qualify for a VISA Infinite, so I'll look into this and explain more to her. I just can't bear by looking at her Citibank and HSBC cards which are not that useful... smile.gif
fruitie
post Aug 17 2012, 08:43 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 17 2012, 01:24 AM)
fruitie, thank you so much for taking the trouble to let me know you find my articles useful  blush.gif 

Yah, I do think the MACH credit card is excellent for movies, especially 3D and IMAX where most FREE 1 for 1 movie tickets are only for normal ticket. Having said this, if you only watch normal ticket shows at TGV only, Citibank credit cards are good because the ticket only cost RM10 (for August RM8), that's more than 10% discount.

You are now an expert too, can recommend credit cards to others smile.gif Yes, MBB2 and OCBC TMC are must have cards because they reward us the most. When your boss see her Treats Points accumulating exponentially, and getting 5% cash back from OCBC TMC, you'll be promoted by jumping 2 levels  tongue.gif

And you are now a certified credit card enthusiast where we spread our passion on credit cards to others and can't bear looking at them earning less from their useless credit cards, hahaha.

Basically, for local spending charge Fixed Expenses up to RM1K to the OCBC and rest to Maybankard 2 AMEX which earn us 5XTP (plus RM50 max cash back on Saturdays and Sundays), if AMEX not accepted, use Maybankard Visa Infinite to earn 2X TP which is like 1% cash back when redeeming for cash voucher.  And for overseas Maybank Visa Infinite for 5X TP too but more importantly, with the 5X TP is like 2.5% returns when redeeming cash vouchers and less the overseas admin cost of 1.25%, we still earn 1.25%

However, boss being bosses, they have their unique way of  thinking out of the box and may not concur with me, hahaha. Also the hassle of making payments to consider.

Recommend she reads my article FREE Money from Maybankard and Bonuslink for My Wife's SK-II. and Benefits of Credit Cards and How To Earn Pocket Money where I have a comparison of points required for redeeming cash vouchers between HSBC vs. Citibank vs Maybank. My bad, where she got time to read, you'll have to summarize them in a report for her haha.
You are welcome. Nope, I go for GSC most of the time. smile.gif

Oh no, she is very into convenience. She pays everything through her M2U, so she is not being stingy over that point. biggrin.gif

At this moment, she is more interested in the cash rebates card. laugh.gif As she travels from Shah Alam to KL for work everyday, so the petrol expenses are pretty high.
I showed the comparison table you made to compare OCBC Ti, MBB2Card, UOB One Card and her Citibank Cash Back Platinum only she noticed how puny the return is. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Aug 23 2012, 09:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 05:40 PM)
Try OCBC. Their min requirement is 36k pa for titanium but then again, anything is possible. Do u have any loans / FD with any banks? if yes, you can try applying with them- it might be easier for them to approve since it is not a new risk , provided you are a good paymaster. Try re-appealing for citibank, sometimes it works.
OCBC is very tight with their selection. smile.gif
Even people with more than 48k per annum also got rejected. (I'm one of them but got it after appeal).
I think go for Maybankard2 Gold Card is much better. smile.gif 30k/annum is just nice for that. smile.gif It is currently one of the best cards in the market. smile.gif
I try to use my AmEx more than my OCBC Ti.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0558sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:01 PM