27 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2011, 09:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 22 2011, 08:59 AM)
Mr Gen-X, may I PM you regarding some question?

THanks..
Bro, most likely if you can't disclose the info here it would also meant that won't be able to assist you as my answers are all general. But since you Senior Member, yah you are welcome to PM me.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 22 2011, 09:26 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2011, 02:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(boonykun @ Mar 22 2011, 12:56 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K (Ext 26400)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Petrol and Bill Payments (Digi + Unifi)

4. Existing credit cards if any: Takda, Since supp doesn't count

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: PBB or Maybank (PBB as Esso? , Smiles card supporter)

6. Others: Could get points For ALMOST EVERY usage, or cashbanks.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less then 1k

PBB-ESSO Gold is my current Target, 3% (4th Tier) (Fuel Usage around RM450-500) + 1.5% on Smiles is good enough, and 0.16 sen's Discount on RM5.30 Gardenia Every2-3 Days.

(RM450 Fuel + RM50 Gardenia Roti )=  RM500, = mostly tier 4?

Or Is there any other better choices...
For petrol and Telcos, best is OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Petrol MBB 2 AMEX. Since you spend less than RM1K, Ocbc best for your case. OCBC Titanium minimum income RM36 but you can pledge FD to get OCBC Titanium, go to OCBC branch and find out more.

If you don't want peldge FD, try MBB 2 Cards.

Click here to read more on OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

Once you enter link above, you can also read my post on MBB 2 Cards and also click on Minimum CC Income Requirement and Credit Limit to see other cards that are free.

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Mar 22 2011, 01:54 PM)
Call up CIMB at  03-21456234,  Can apply only CIMB Visa Signature with my MBB card.

Insurance for online ticket purchase, 10k points needed for offset of RM50 GST.

Maybankard 2 Platinum Cards does not have insurance coverage for any air ticket or online purchase... rclxub.gif
Most credit cards allow you to offset GST with 10,000 points.
Are you saying Maybankard 2 CArds Platinum Travel Insurance not applicable for air tickets purchase via online?
TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2011, 07:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Mar 22 2011, 07:06 PM)
Hey Expert,

I've CIMB Visa Infinite/Gold HSBC/SCB Preferred World/ & Foreign Card with 5%Cashback Unlimited

4. Foreign Card with unlimited 5% Cashback - This is my favor card at all times. No matter how much I spent, I get 5% unlimited. I even use this card for my house deposit and I get instant 5% cashback. Hohoho! When M'sia gonna have such benefits.
So bro, please advise on above. Ignore Card No. 4 as it's a must have card and purpose of posting is only for M'sia banker reference if any such exist in this forum!
what is the point of you mentioning the 5% cash back Foreign Card and not sharing with us on it Elaborate please.
TSGen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 04:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Just to update all: I was at OCBC today and the staff there told that we can no longer pledge FD for OCBC Credit Card.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 10:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ireneto @ Mar 24 2011, 10:12 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K above

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must.

3. Card required for: Petrol (Caltex), shopping, dining, Overseas Transactions

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Citibank, HSBC, OCBC,Publicbank.

6. Others: no

Any suggestion? Thanks
You did not specify how much you spending per month (please refer template). If less than RM1K for the items highlighted in Card Required For, then OCBC Titanium MasterCard. Click here to read about OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

For overseas spending and if you do spend more than RM1K/month, go for Maybank cards and would recommend to you Maybankard 2 Card where the Visa or MasterCard do give you the lowest conversion rate for overseas. Click below link to read more on Maybankard 2 Cards.
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html

Click here to read about overseas transactions.

As for shopping at the malls, maybe Citibank and HSBC is better as they have offers discount at some outlets. Go check their website and see if the places you do shop gets you any discount with HSBC or Citi cards. Having said that, also depends where you shop, if you shop at JJ, TESCO, Parkson, Tangs, Robinson, Isetan and outlets at Garden and KLCC then Maybankard 2 Card American Express is good as it gives you 5x Treats Points plus 5% cash back on weekends.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 11:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ireneto @ Mar 24 2011, 10:54 AM)
less than 1K.. most important is pertrol and dining. How about Standard chartered Bank? any good card? Thanks
for petrol and dining, OCBC Titanium is pretty good with 5% cash back.

As for Std Chart, doubt you will get anything from petrol. But the Standard Chart Gold Card do give you Travel Insurance and Free Purchase Protection Plan. Since you like Stand Chart, go get both cards, sign up for Std Chart gold Card and get RM128 cash back thumbup.gif thumbup.gif BUT if you get Maybankard 2 Amex, yo may get up to RM600/year in cash back plus 5X Treats Points.

Click below link to SCB website
http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...-mastercard/en/

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 24 2011, 11:22 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 07:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Mar 24 2011, 03:07 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K

3. Card required for: Petrol(Shell Only), Touch & GO, Overseas Transactions(not so important), Food & Grocceries, Pay Car Loan & telephone Bill

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: MBB2 Gold. now i have saving acc in Maybank & HSBC

6. Others: sometime my gf will use my card for shopping @kl shopping mall. shop are more on m&g/zara/subzero

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K
Try Maybankard 2 Gold if you really can proof your income to be RM30K. You earn RM30K and you and GF spend RM5K rclxub.gif if it is your money she spending, better you go read my hypothetical scenario on BF GF thingy by clicking here,, hope your GF paying for her own expenses. From the same article you can see what cards are free and the card you qualify with your present income.

Once your income reach RM36K, go get OCBC Titanium.

Also you can consider Alliance Gold CC or You:nique where you get both cash back and points if your MBB 2 kena reject.

QUOTE(boonykun @ Mar 24 2011, 03:34 PM)
Gah, Same answer, just when i wanted to Pledge in FD at thier branches yesterday, some officer told me that it is no longer possible to Pledge FD for the particular card...

Only applicable if you have Current C.C or meets the Annual Income.

Tried on Maybank Dua, Straight kena Reject Due to Low Annual Income... +_+

So any other recommendations?

thank you.
For both of you, the tricky part is the Petrol portion where most Visa and MasterCard cards do not give you any points or cash back. However there is one that does, it is Ambank Carz card where you can get 2% cash back for petrol and both of you qualify based on the income requirement. Go to Ambank website below and read more about it.

http://www.ambg.com.my/

boonyjun, also click on the link above where I replied to cyril85 post to read my article Malaysia Credit Card Annual Income Requirement.

Another option is look into PBB Debit Cards - Day2Day and Esso where they do give you cash back.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 24 2011, 07:40 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 06:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pohsoon @ Mar 25 2011, 05:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM70K to RM90K

3. Card required for: Grocery(Giant), Petrol, Cash Back, Insurance ~10k per year. Not much shopping and dining out smile.gif

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Petronas Platinum.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Titanium, GE OCBC, Maybank 2

6. Others: Maximize cash rebates, savings thru points.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Normally 1k-2k per month, excluding insurance above. Foreseeable future might incur renovation and furnishing costs for a house.

Thank you.
Get OCBC for your petrol and grocery. However, since you spend above RM1K per month, you may need another card since OCBC cash back capped at RM50/month.

Maybankard 2 Cards do give cash back plus points for groceries and petrol, but I noted you got CIMB Petronas so if you want to stick to Petronas, then Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX may not be suitable for you. If you want change to Esso, then get MBB 2. click here to go to Petrol thread. Since you don't do much shopping then Maybankard 2 Amex also useless, but I must point out, you just need to spend RM2000 in a year with MBB 2 Amex at JJ, Tesco, Giant, MetroJaya and other places that accept Amex and with 5XTP you will get 10,000 points which can offset GST and if you happen to use in on weekends, with RM2000 over time you get back additional RM100.

Other cash back card won't give you much in return for your case.

Click here to read about OCBC Titanium where I also have a table comparing cash back cards.
Click here to read about Maybankard 2 Cards review.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 25 2011, 06:06 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 06:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zahack @ Mar 25 2011, 06:26 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM60K to RM100K

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, Groceries, Online Trans

4. Existing credit cards if any: DirectAccess

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any

6. Others: Please be specific. : FFL supp cards, if can offset GST for principal and supp would be very beneficial

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K
OCBC card is the only card that gives auto waiver on GST if spent RM10K with it a year. I think apply to supp card too. Call them at 1300885000. But with cash back of RM50 and nothing more after that, having a OCBC supp card is useless too.

You getting nothing with DA for petrol and groceries on Sundays only got cash back. Best for you Maybankard 2 Cards Free For Life. Like I mentioned above, spend RM2000 get 5XTP to get 10,000 points to offset GST plus up to RM600/yr cash back on weekends. Since you do spend more than RM1K, add OCBC too and with both OCBC and Maybankard 2 Cards, your total cash back for a year comes out to be RM1200. Only problem you got to keep track which card has maxed out the cap of RM50/month. Initially headache for me, now I just use OCBC for Petrol and sometimes Dining and all other transactions I use MBB 2 Amex smile.gif

TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 12:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(RedBishop @ Mar 25 2011, 11:59 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24000

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: buy online stuff, petrol

5. Preferable card: Citibank

6. Location: Penang
for petrol the cards are very limited for your case. Ambank Carz for all Petrol Stations, UOB OneCard for BHP Petrol, CIMB Petronas Classic and Public Bank Visa Gold Esso.

Citibank got Shell but to enjoy maximum returns you need to have balance outstanding which is not good practice and I won't recommend it.

TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 08:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 01:40 AM)
Halo masters n sifus...
How long normally it takes to process Public Bank Credit Card Gold Visa?
I just apply it today and I need it urgently as I need to go to oversea in 2 weeks time. This is the 1st time im applying for credit card. My annual salary is rm130K.
Please follow 1st post template.
Why you want Public Bank Gold Visa? It will take more than 2 weeks to get the card after you submit at the branch. Read previous pages, I posted CIMB Credit Card centre contact number, call them, card issued in a day if you qualify.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 26 2011, 02:00 AM)
you still have the time to apply either MAYBANKARD 2 PLATINUM or MBB PLATINUM VISA.

Call PBB to withdraw the application. Then quickly go to Maybankard Centre at 1Utama/KLCC/Menara Maybank to apply.

MBB Plat Visa can enter MAS Golden Lounge, which you may find it convenient. Besides competitive forex rate, this card also earns double TreatsPoints for overseas spending.
agree with chem on Maybankard 2 Cards but chemistry, I think you got confused MBB World MasterCard with MBB Platinum. MBB Platinum don't grant you access to Golden Lounges but to MBB Private Banking Centres.
TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 03:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 02:12 PM)
Oic.. thanks for the information chemistry... Yeah i never use credit card before n all this while i dont really need a credit card. Since now im going to US for a month i think better I apply credit card, dun wanna bring a lot of money there.. troublesome. But I dont travel a lot so will apply back if theres a need in d future. I dunno whether this approach is ok or not but I always will go for cash unless if theres no choice.
If you really don't want a credit card, you can have a Public Bank Debit Card link to your account where you can use like a credit card and withdraw cash from ATM in USD with it.

Never withdraw cash with credit card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 26 2011, 03:59 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 27 2011, 08:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(whojen @ Mar 27 2011, 12:16 AM)
maybe out of topic a bit. If i have a EPP in HSBC for another 12 more month for the Iphone Plan.

Can i transfer the EPP to another CC or bank. starting to dislike HSBC alot! ? Balance transfer? Dun think so
You cannot transfer EPP to another bank but you can settle early. Call HSBC CS and ask if there any penalty for early settlement. Last year I checked with HSBC, they told me no penalty but you better check yourself.
Balance Transfer for EPP no idea. Just go pay settle the EPP in Full and do BT on other transaction loh.

OT: To all thinking of doing installment plan, before you sign up for one click here to read my post titled Investment Wealth Retirement. and those thinking of getting iPhone click here and read about mifi.

QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 26 2011, 11:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Free Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Citibank Clear Card

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank

6. Others: None

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM 1k to 2k
Like chemistry mentioned, OCBC Titanium MC, pure cash back card.

Click here to read myy artilce on OCBC TMC and see table of other cash back cards.

You can also look into Citibank Cash Back Platinum where you should qualify based on your annual income, this card is pure cash back but petrol capped at RM30/month. If you are benefiting from Clear Card promotions then keep it else upgrade to Citibank Plat Cash Back (but Citi Plat CB no auto annual fee waiver, you got to request).

Another alternative is Maybankard 2 Card like Chem mentioned but it is not pure cash back but do give cash back on weekends capped at RM50/month. But with spending RM2K a month, like chem mentioned, OCBC and MBB 2 would be best and by combining both these cards, you can get max cash rebate of RM100/month.

click here to see brief comparison of Maybankard 2 Cards Amex versus Citibank Platinum Cash Back. If you want to read more on Maybankard 2 Cards, click on the Mbb 2 Post on the right hand side under Popular Post.

As for free access lounge, there is no pure cash back card giving you access to airport lounge. Click here to Airport Lounge thread and have a look at the cards that give you access.nd

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 27 2011, 08:56 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 08:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hling @ Mar 29 2011, 04:59 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM42K

3. Card required for: Petrol(seldom), Cash Back/Rebate Only, treatpoints, shopping

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: just read about alliance Younique. Seems to be quite good. Was considering MBB 2 Gold too. But AMEX is not popular in malaysia, and most of the benifits are only entitired for AMEX (such as cash rebate, 5X treat points, etc) sad.gif

6. Others: Please be specific. Example: I started working half a year. currently still debt free. (PTPTN load statement will coming anytime by now.) =p

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K or maybe slightly more than RM1K.
If you want cash back only, then get OCBC Titanium and where your expenditure increase more than RM!K per month, then go apply Maybankard 2 Cards.

If you spend less than RM!K, you won't get much from You:nique, better you go with MBB2 and get 5% cash back.
For places to use Amex, go here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1806817

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 29 2011, 09:30 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 11:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(avatar123 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:47 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K (13month salary)
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must
3. Card required for:    -petrol   -cash back    -reward point
4. Existing credit cards if any: Dun have
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:    -Maybank    -Citibank    -HSBC    -public bank
6. Others: Easy when pump petrol and get some points to change things
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: <1k
Please advice, thanks ya.
With you income you qualify for Maybankard 2 Cards which gives you both cash back and points.
Citibank, you need income of RM48K to qualify for Citibank Platinum Cash Back, the rest don't give you anything for petrol except for Shell card but I wouild not recommend it.
HSBC you get nothing for petrol unless there is a promotion.
Public Bank do have Esso card but I would think go with MBB 2 where you get rebate at Shell and Caltex too.

click here to Petrol thread and get Smiles, Mesra or Bonuslink to maximixe your returns from pumping petrol with credit cards. You can also redeem for food or drinks from the points you earn with your Simles or Mesra card.
TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 11:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(avatar123 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:17 PM)
Maybankard 2 cards only can refill petrol during weekend to get cash back and points? Can it be applied to Shell since i'm using my brother's bonus link card.

By the way, is it RM1 = 1 point for maybank card? =)
Maybankard 2 Amex can pump anyday at petrol station and you'll still get 5X Treats Points. Yes it can be used at shell, please go to link I posted.
Yes, RM1 = 1 Treats Point.
TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 11:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(avatar123 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:25 PM)
How about the cash back for maybankard? Sorry i'm new to credit card and cannot understand the complex calculation x% + y% for xyz condition, quite confusing  :S
Bro, you should go read Maybankard 2 Card thread lah. Maybankard 2 Card Amex 5% cash back is for ALL type of transactions on weekends including petrol.
Click here to read more on Maybankard 2 Cards at my blog.
since you are new to CC, click here to read my article Intro to CC 101.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 29 2011, 11:27 PM)
Oops, it should be RM1 = 5 Treats Point for Maybankard 2 Amex. icon_idea.gif
haha, my bad blush.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 29 2011, 11:31 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 11:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(skylinestan @ Mar 29 2011, 11:43 PM)
Hi...i just wana ask pro here if my requirement can get a cc...

1. Annual Income: RM18k

3. Card required for: List all your needs.  Petrol,Cash Back/Rebate

4. Existing credit cards if any:Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:Any

6. Others: Anything

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K
Sorry, you in accordance to Bank Negara Malaysia latest ruling, you cannot qualify for credit card. Please read first post and go to this BNM Ruling thread by clicking here and to read my article titled titled Minimum Income Raised to RM24K by clicking here.

Please also read first post, 1. You need to be 21 years of age and 2. Annual income RM24K to qualify for a CC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 29 2011, 11:50 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 10:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rainey @ Mar 31 2011, 09:29 AM)
Need advice on my current situation here..

Totally new to credit card but needed lots and lots of installment to fund my furniture now  icon_question.gif

1. Annual Income: Around RM 50k..

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No preference..

3. Card required for: 1. Mainly on electrical appliances and furniture which required like few years installment plan.. 2. Petrol.. 3. Groceries..

Of course preferably card with the max benefit. On rebates, discounts, freebies.. Shopping voucher etc etc.. LoL!

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nothing..

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Saw lots of feedback on OCBC hence.. OCBC? Needed advice so.. Comments are welcome  nod.gif

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Not working for credit card so.. LESS than Rm 2k

Another thing.. Can any credit card user here clarify me. If let's say my credit limit is RM 1k.. I bought a microwave which costs me RM 900 on 12 months installments.. Can I still buy another RM1k item on the second month or I left with only RM175 (RM1000 - RM900 + RM75) for next month?

Thanks!
Well, for installment plans, Maybank Visa and MasterCard do have many outlets accepting them. Click below links to see outlets
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...=CRD01.16.01.01

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Do note that sometimes merchants will give you further discount if you swipe one go instead of going with installment plans. This applies to most furniture stores that have installment plans, so ask.

So I would suggest that you go with Maybankard 2 Cards where you do installment plan with the MBB 2 Visa or MC and use the MBB 2 Amex for petrol and groceries to get 5X reward point and cash rebate.

As for available credit, the unpaid portion of the installment plan (i.e. outstanding yet to be billed) cannot be utilized, so you won't be able to buy the microwave in your example for the following months until your available credit is once again more than the microwave price.

OCBC Titanium is good for PEtrol, Groceries and Dining but not many outlets accepting it for installment plans, if you want Coach then yah.

Last but not least, you want installment plan for years? Usually the 0% installment plan is for 12 months only.

As for not working for the bank, as long as you opt for 0% interest free installment plan then it may be true, but once you pay interest then you are working for the bank. Since you new to credit card, if you have time, do read my two hypothetical scenarios on how one can be trapped with credit cards with installment plan by clicking below"

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ual-income.html

Also suggest you read my article Intro to CC 101 by clicking here.

click here to read about OCBC Titanium MasterCard.As and from here go read about Maybankard 2 Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 10:43 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 02:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 31 2011, 02:12 PM)
unless u insist on pumping at petronas
else just get the maybankard2, it is better in every other ways
yah, agree 100%.

Anyway, the benefit of MBB Petronas are
1. Free For Life
2. 5X TP at Petronas and nothing else for other stations.
3. Overseas transaction lowest since it is a MBB Visa.

For Overseas transaction, better you go with MBB Platinum Visa/MC (non co-brand) and get 2X TP.

Click here to read about my credit cards where I mentioned I cancelling the MBB Petronas CC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 02:20 PM

27 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:58 PM