asking for current/last drawn and expected salary

LY115
post Oct 11 2014, 08:22 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(hercules899 @ Oct 11 2014, 01:30 AM)
Very simple only, If you have the budget of RM2000 to hire a person, Just offer him to whoever you think is perfect for the job . Please don't hide the fact that you just wanna low-ball the person. Just admit that you wished you could find a water fish for RM 1500 then you could save RM500 for whatever use and the person is so naive to be happy. Please. You just wanna low-ball the candidate.

If you asks your vendor how much his real cost is and request him to tell you how much profit he would like to make?
The answer is HELL NO, not single vendor is stupid/idiot enough to do that.

If you asks your (candidate) how much his current salary and request him to tell you how much profit he would like to make ?
The answer is there are simply too many naive people out there, too crazy.

At most, a vendor will give you a price , you want him, pay that.
At most, a candidate should say his ideal(expected) salary,you want him, pay that.
Well... if you think running a business and sustain it are just as simple as you think then... may be you should start a business and share with me how to certain your company growth and future forecast.

Employer is not low-ball the candidates, but just to get the best out of the budget they can. When the candidate proved that he is capable, we do not hesitate in adjusting his salary after his probation. That's most HR is doing.

dreamer101
post Oct 11 2014, 09:24 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(LY115 @ Oct 11 2014, 08:22 AM)

Employer is not low-ball the candidates, but just to get the best out of the budget they can.

LY115,

<<Well... if you think running a business and sustain it are just as simple as you think then..>>

That is YOUR PROBLEM. The employee's problem is to get the best deal that they can. The employee is running a business of selling their time and service for money in order to feed their own family.

<<When the candidate proved that he is capable, >>

Why?? It goes both way. Unless and until the employers prove themselves to be SINCERE and HONEST by disclosing their salary range ahead of time, why should any candidate with LEVERAGE want to deal with them to begin with??

If the EMPLOYER is not willing to be UPFRONT and HONEST during hiring process, COMMON SENSE will tell you that they will not treat you any better later.

<<Employer is not low-ball the candidates, but just to get the best out of the budget they can.>>

Which translate to paying as LITTLE as possible even though they can pay a lot more by their budget.

It is VERY SIMPLE.

It goes both way. You can play game. But, ANYONE that is capable will avoid you and stop wasting time with YOU. Or they will leave as soon as they know you could pay them more. YOUR CHOICE and YOUR LOSS.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 11 2014, 09:26 AM
SUScunt
post Oct 11 2014, 11:14 AM

85 posts

edited

This post has been edited by cunt: Oct 11 2014, 11:15 AM
seantang
post Oct 11 2014, 11:18 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Well... if you think running a business and sustain it are just as simple as you think then... may be you should start a business and share with me how to certain your company growth and future forecast.

Employer is not low-ball the candidates, but just to get the best out of the budget they can. When the candidate proved that he is capable, we do not hesitate in adjusting his salary after his probation. That's most HR is doing.
We know why a company does it. To get the best return on their expenditure as possible.

We just don't know why lots of employees are NOT doing it. lt is a negotiation after all. Both parties owe it to themselves to negotiate hard using whatever leverage they have. And giving away one's salary (previous drawn or expected) is basically giving away most of one's leverage. The only leverage remaining (if the offer isn't good enough) is to walk away (or threaten to).
hercules899
post Oct 11 2014, 11:22 AM

322 posts

This is still not hiding the fact you wanna low-ball the candidate .

hercules899
post Oct 11 2014, 11:36 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(One 0 One @ Oct 11 2014, 03:04 AM)
Just because I have a budget of RM 2,000 doesnt meant I want to pay someone "perfect" for the job RM 2,000. That is why HR always have a range for a position, like RM 1,500 to Rm 2,500.

Maybe I meet a worker A who has perfect pointer, prior work experience (impressive previous work resume), smooth talker, polite, convincing, I would surely like to offer him the highest range of my budget RM 2,500 to try and attract him.

Then I meet a worker B who isnt that good, so i offer him RM 1,500.

Both will be able to do that job, becos my company so stronk that sales automatically keep rolling in bla bla bla, But worker A obviously has the capability to maybe even exceed my expectations, or have the potential to rise in my company. While I feel worker B does not have such potential. Yes, both can do the entry level job I am advertising for RM 2,000. But human beings have different capacity, and so I lowball B in order to have the budget to hire A.

Asking for payslip is just part of my evaluation, like many have already said in this thread, it IS NOT MANDATORY for you to show it, but employer IS ALLOWED to ask for it. It is up to you whether you want to give or not. There is no right or wrong here. Saying the employer is wrong to ask for it (unethical/lowballing) is false. Payslip reflects a persons value quite accurately, especially the longer you work.

Going back to my example:

Let say I ask for worker A's payslip and I notice that his pay always around RM 1,000 to RM 1,500 for the past 10 years, while job hopping around. Suddenly I might have to rethink my evaluation. Why was he always paid so low? Was there a problem in his previous company? Has he perfected the art of interviewing after 10 years and is trying to con me now?

Then worker B refuse to give and I immediately hire worker C, who just come in, roughly same standard as worker B and is willing to show his payslip.

Clearly, whether or not you show your payslip is up to you, and can be good or bad depending on the circumstances. It is part of your evaluation, and is another form of the question "tell me more about yourself". You can tell them, or you can choose NOT to tell them. Problem is when you choose not to tell them, what will they think?

Bottom line:

Employer is RIGHT and SHOULD ask for your payslip. You CAN CHOOSE whether you want to give or not.

In most circumstances, showing your payslip means you are on the losing end of negotiations, but please also consider what you lose by choosing not to show your payslip. Right or wrong, it all depends on the circumstances and how you handle the situation.
You do not need his current/previous salary to offer him, you budget a job according to your offered job responsibilities. you should offer to the perfect candidate (whoever you think he is ) according to the budget.

Employer is not WRONG to ask for your pay slip, but his intention of doing such is to low-ball the candidate . He should evaluate the candidate through the structured/proper interview .

However I agree that if only a small portion of people refuse to reveal,they might lose out . Common sense , the employer will question if others can do , why cant you?To me, there are just too many (naive) water fishes out there. rclxub.gif

KOHTT
post Oct 11 2014, 03:01 PM

1,388 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 11 2014, 09:24 AM)
LY115,

<<Well... if you think running a business and sustain it are just as simple as you think then..>>

That is YOUR PROBLEM.  The employee's problem is to get the best deal that they can.  The employee is running a business of selling their time and service for money in order to feed their own family.

<<When the candidate proved that he is capable, >>

Why?? It goes both way.  Unless and until the employers prove themselves to be SINCERE and HONEST by disclosing their salary range ahead of time, why should any candidate with LEVERAGE want to deal with them to begin with??

If the EMPLOYER is not willing to be UPFRONT and HONEST during hiring process, COMMON SENSE will tell you that they will not treat you any better later.

<<Employer is not low-ball the candidates, but just to get the best out of the budget they can.>>

Which translate to paying as LITTLE as possible even though they can pay a lot more by their budget.

It is VERY SIMPLE.

It goes both way.  You can play game.  But, ANYONE that is capable will avoid you and stop wasting time with YOU.  Or they will leave as soon as they know you could pay them more.  YOUR CHOICE and YOUR LOSS.

Dreamer
Have you done any recruitment interview on behalf of your dept or company before?

I means for those normal interview that follow HR protocol?

dreamer101
post Oct 11 2014, 08:29 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Oct 11 2014, 03:01 PM)
Have you done any recruitment interview on behalf of your dept or company before?

I means for those normal interview that follow HR protocol?
KOHTT,

<<Have you done any recruitment interview on behalf of your dept or company before?>>

Yes.

<<I means for those normal interview that follow HR protocol?>>

No.

Why should I??

HR is the ENEMY to GOOD Hiring Manager. HR only care about saving money. It does not care whether the RIGHT PERSON is hired. Meanwhile, if the WRONG PERSON is hired, the HIRING MANAGER is RESPONSIBLE and will be fired for that. HR is not RESPONSIBLE for the mess.

In fact, we (good hiring managers) coach our candidate how to bypass the system. In most cases, we recruit our own people bypassing the whole system. After we decide who to hire, then, we get the candidate to fill out job application form. This is HOW most of the jobs are filled. We do not advertise the open position to begin with until we know who to hire. Or else, HR will make a mess out of this. Only if we cannot find anyone via our social network, then, we pass the position to HR.

Dreamer

KOHTT
post Oct 11 2014, 08:53 PM

1,388 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 11 2014, 08:29 PM)
KOHTT,

<<Have you done any recruitment interview on behalf of your dept or company before?>>

Yes.

<<I means for those normal interview that follow HR protocol?>>

No.

Why should I??

HR is the ENEMY to GOOD Hiring Manager.  HR only care about saving money.  It does not care whether the RIGHT PERSON is hired.  Meanwhile, if the WRONG PERSON is hired, the HIRING MANAGER is RESPONSIBLE and will be fired for that.  HR is not RESPONSIBLE for the mess.

In fact, we (good hiring managers) coach our candidate how to bypass the system.  In most cases, we recruit our own people bypassing the whole system.  After we decide who to hire, then, we get the candidate to fill out job application form.  This is HOW most of the jobs are filled.  We do not advertise the open position to begin with until we know who to hire.  Or else, HR will make a mess out of this.  Only if we cannot find anyone via our social network, then, we pass the position to HR.

Dreamer
Let me rephase my question.

Have you interview the candidates (together with HR or without) that you have not meet before? Someone that you only seen for the first time in the interview and he is not recommend by anyone that you know.

I fully agree it is better to get someone through your contact, your old staff, network etc. Let said the company has 1000 staff or even more 2,000 Staff. Obvious it is impossible to get in all the staff in through our network/ friends. That's when, we need advertise either through newspapers, websites, roadshows.

Anyway, I don't think that forummer here are in the position to by passby HR in their job search effort. Otherwise there was not need for him to ask this question here as per this thread. (as mentioned previously by someone in another thread)

dreamer101
post Oct 11 2014, 10:29 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Oct 11 2014, 08:53 PM)

KOHTT,

<<Have you interview the candidates (together with HR or without) that you have not meet before? Someone that you only seen for the first time in the interview and he is not recommend by anyone that you know.>>

I had worked in the industry for 20+ years. So, before I interviewed anyone, I would had used linkedin to check out the candidate's background via my social network. If they do not pass my background check, they would not have an interview from me.

<<Let said the company has 1000 staff or even more 2,000 Staff.>>

A hiring manager only hire 10 to 20 people. A director hire 10 to 20 manager. A VP hire 10 to 20 directors. HR hire no one. So, nobody is hiring 1,000 to 2,000 people.

<<Anyway, I don't think that forummer here are in the position to by passby HR in their job search effort. >>

People that DO NOT KNOW how to play the game cannot do it. And, even a SENIOR person may not know how to do it if they DO NOT LEARN.

Let's say you are a fresh graduate. You have friends and families that are working. You have seniors in your college that graduated before you and are working now. So, unless you live in a cave and socialize with NO ONE, you know somebody that work in some company NOW. And, those people know even more people than you do.

A career minded and hard working fresh graduate would had reach out to all his and her contacts and check who is hiring and what they are looking for. What are the job opening and requirement?? Go out lunch with as many people in the industry as possible.

In fact, a SMART person would had started doing this 2 years before he / she is graduated.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 14 2014, 03:14 AM
frontierzone
post Oct 12 2014, 10:59 PM

735 posts

What about in terms of "expected salary"? If you answer the expected salary in specific, does that means sealing your negotiating card and what should be the wiser answer to this?
hercules899
post Oct 12 2014, 11:07 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(frontierzone @ Oct 12 2014, 10:59 PM)
What about in terms of "expected salary"? If you answer the expected salary in specific, does that means sealing your negotiating card and what should be the wiser answer to this?
The best scenario from a interviewee perspective is never mention anything in regards to figure, just let the interviewer spill the beans. Once you have given your expected salary, HR DEFINITELY wont offer you more.
SUSchickenshit36
post Oct 13 2014, 02:12 PM

509 posts

another way is to go thru a reputable recruiter. just pass them your cv, and your expected salary. recruiter will know whether the position budget fits your expected.

dont talk about salary during interview. let recruiter settle it. when discuss salary just discuss thru recruiter.

however, before getting offer letter, u will most likely still need to show your payslip to the hiring company. but by that time your numbers are already agreed already. if they wanna change the terms, just back out lor.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0173sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:40 AM