Viber for Android

Viber
post Apr 6 2012, 01:50 PM

160 posts

@christina1 -
What error exactly are you getting when trying to calling through Viber?
Did you test it on both 3G and WiFi? the problem is the same?
waie
post Apr 6 2012, 06:09 PM

WieWie WaWa™
1,246 posts

hi.

viber tend to crash in this scenario -

1. I am having a conversation on viber... so quite a lot of texts coming in and out. I tried to play Temple Run when waiting for the chat to come in, but when I received notification, received errors and the apps crashed. Together with Temple Run

2. and when my phone is not active (as in locked, sleep mode), one of my friends 'decided' to spam my viber and caused my viber to crash and caused major lag on my phone.

That's the only major problem that I found on Viber, the minor one I can still tolerate such as not stable calling etc.

and Viber is one great app, hopefully it will be fixed to be much more better =)
iRaNiaN_GuRL
post Apr 7 2012, 03:51 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(nimala05 @ Jul 20 2011, 11:42 PM)
thinking of installing, but not many of my friends using android..huh..
I'll be your friend... wink.gif

Yeay! I've activated mine. From my contact list.. there's a number of friends using it too. Great!

Viber
post Apr 7 2012, 05:17 PM

160 posts

@waie -

Thank you for the report - we are aware of the lag issue when opening long Viber text conversations (and are working to fix it these days), but we this issue about the crashes, let alone crashes of other apps, is not known to us.

In order for us to get more details and hopefully resolve this issue in our next versions, may I ask that you please report this problem to our support team at: http://bit.ly/ukGVJ0 ?

Thank you in advance smile.gif
XM177
post Apr 11 2012, 02:45 PM

86 posts

hi,
i have this problem with my Galaxy S when using viber is that when calling other party, they cant hear my voice but i can hear them clearly

new to android by the way

any help would be greatly appreciated =)

TitaniumZ
post Apr 11 2012, 03:17 PM

Ze Balmarian
1,915 posts

I'm using Viber on my Sony Xperia S, but I get no ringtone when a call is coming in when my phone is in lock screen; the same goes to message, no notification alert tone in lock screen.

This post has been edited by TitaniumZ: Apr 11 2012, 03:18 PM
Viber
post Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM

160 posts

@XM177 -

Are you running a Custom ROM on your Galaxy, or stock ROM?
Also, do you know what version of Android is installed on your device?
Lastly, have you tested this on a few different WiFi networks?

@TitaniumZ -

What version of Android is installed on your Xperia?

TitaniumZ
post Apr 11 2012, 10:06 PM

Ze Balmarian
1,915 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM)
@XM177 -

@TitaniumZ -

gingerbread 2.3.7 Sony stock rom
Viber
post Apr 11 2012, 10:22 PM

160 posts

@TitaniumZ -

Thank you for the information.

First, please note that Viber does not officially support your device yet, and that may be the reason for the problem you described. Here is the full list of officially supported devices: http://bit.ly/rqbZEw
We are continuously working to adapt Viber to more and more devices, and we hope to attend to the problems with your device soon.

Meanwhile, we invite you to open a ticket in our HelpDesk giving the details of the problem. Here's the link: http://bit.ly/ukGVJ0

Thank you in advance smile.gif
XM177
post Apr 12 2012, 01:22 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM)
@XM177 -

@TitaniumZ -

fryo 2.2 on stock rom
yes i tested different wifi networks and also different device all of them cant seem to hear my voice icon_question.gif
Viber
post Apr 13 2012, 04:34 PM

160 posts

@XM177 -

Thank you for the information. We kindly ask you to report this issue to our support team so they can investigate its source and hopefully provide you with a solution. Here's the link: http://bit.ly/ukGVJ0
azrash
post May 7 2012, 06:53 PM

1,174 posts

hi guys, I just heard that Whatsapp does not encrypt their chat on Android and iOS, I tried the Whatsapp Sniffer app and to my surprise, I could read messages of people connected to the same wifi.

now that that is being said, does Viber encrypt the messages as well? it is pretty scary that Whatsapp transmit them in plain text.

@Viber, can we have an option to disable notification sound and vibration for messages? it saves a lot of battery for us who don't rely on them. Thanks!

This post has been edited by azrash: May 7 2012, 07:18 PM
ryuzaki_L
post May 7 2012, 08:29 PM

800 posts

does viber consume a lot of ram for another phone? My SE ray at least take 30 MB for running process.
SUSUpCar
post May 7 2012, 08:47 PM

1,612 posts

will viber be available for the tab10.1 3g ?
sorry forgot to ask, will viber ever implement video calling as well ? or group conversations ?

This post has been edited by UpCar: May 7 2012, 08:47 PM
azrash
post May 7 2012, 10:05 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ May 7 2012, 08:29 PM)
does viber consume a lot of ram for another phone? My SE ray at least take 30 MB for running process.
depends, on complete idle, mine is around 14MB, when i am messaging, it is around 32. not sure about calls though
SteadyPana
post May 7 2012, 10:44 PM

2,554 posts

Hello Viber Support !

I got a Tab 7.7" with Viber and Waze installed in stock S@msung HoneyComb.

Each time I run the Waze and Viber always prompt for re-activation. Normal ?? blink.gif sweat.gif
Viber
post May 8 2012, 12:14 AM

160 posts

@azrash -

Viber fully encrypts control and signaling data, meaning one could not simply sniff your data (both texts and calls) unless they put substantial efforts into it. Just like any other service in the world that is not an open source, Viber cannot claim officially to be fully encrypted.

About the ringtone and vibration settings - for now Viber relies on your phone's main settings as its own settings. In the future we plan to add personal Viber sound+vibration settings.

@ryuzaki_L -
We conduct strict testings in our labs with several devices and other than when making a call (when it is natural for the battery to be used), we did not come across any significant battery drain when Viber was simply running in the background. Furthermore, over the course of over 15 hours, on average the battery use was only 2%.

You can find additional information on tests performed by Viber users themselves, which show similar results, at:
http://whrl.pl/Rc0APn

@UpCar -
Viber does not officially support Tablets, but as far as we know Viber works fine on most Tablets (at least its main features). We invite you to try it out and we'd appreciate your report smile.gif

About video calling - it is something we plan to implement in Viber in the future, but we are still not sure when exactly it will be ready.

@SteadyPana -
Are you running a Custom ROM on your Tablet?

SUSUpCar
post May 8 2012, 05:19 PM

1,612 posts

on my note i've actually sent to you a crash report before.

to:  crash-reports@viber.com
date:  Fri, Dec 30, 2011 at 11:07 AM
subject:  subject:crash
mailed-by:  gmail.com

file that was attached is a stacktrace file which i dun think i can open and i dun think i want to.

viber_2.1.2.116554_359548040720596_log.zip
my question is, each time i send a crash report or whatever report, does viber track and store my particulars ? i mean phone particulars are fine but personal phone numbers and all ?
does viber reports contain personal details such as emails and or mobile numbers ?

ryuzaki_L
post May 8 2012, 10:16 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ May 8 2012, 12:14 AM)
@ryuzaki_L -
We conduct strict testings in our labs with several devices and other than when making a call (when it is natural for the battery to be used), we did not come across any significant battery drain when Viber was simply running in the background. Furthermore, over the course of over 15 hours, on average the battery use was only 2%.

You can find additional information on tests performed by Viber users themselves, which show similar results, at:
http://whrl.pl/Rc0APn

I did not say it consumes battery, i just suspect will it be memory leakage from viber. it is always the highest memory usage among other app.
Viber
post May 9 2012, 12:20 AM

160 posts

Hi everyone,

We are excited to announce that Viber for BlackBerry Beta and Windows Phone 7 have both been released today! These milestone lets BlackBerry and WP7 users connect freely with our 60 million Viber users, and is a major step towards the full versions, which will have our free HD-voice calling. Get it, you’ll like it.

We are here to collect your feedbacks, questions and ideas - feel free to let us know your thoughts at any time smile.gif

Best regards
the Viber Team.

37 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:32 AM