Viber for Android

Viber
post Aug 16 2011, 11:16 PM

160 posts

Thanks for the info.

We'll look into it, but most likely it's your custom ROM causing this problem, and unfortunately we can't provide support for all custom ROMs out there.

If you ever get a chance to find a friend with a Galaxy Ace who doesn't has stock ROM, please give it a try and see if the problem occurs to them as well.
DJFoo000
post Aug 22 2011, 04:17 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

Hi. Any chance of making viber have landscape orientation? I'm using the HTC Desire Z and it has a physical slide out qwerty keyboard. But when I'm typing the message using it, the app doesn't reorientate to landscape, so I have to constantly twist my head to look at what I have typed.
Viber
post Aug 22 2011, 04:26 PM

160 posts

Hi all,

We're running a quick survey among our users (in Viber-dedicated threads only).

We'd like to hear your opinion: What is Viber missing the most? If you could choose the most important feature that you'd like to see in our next big version - Viber 2.1 - that's coming up soon, what would it be?

Let your voice be heard smile.gif
Dannyl
post Aug 22 2011, 04:29 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Aug 22 2011, 04:26 PM)
Hi all,

We're running a quick survey among our users (in Viber-dedicated threads only).

We'd like to hear your opinion: What is Viber missing the most? If you could choose the most important feature that you'd like to see in our next big version - Viber 2.1 - that's coming up soon, what would it be?

Let your voice be heard smile.gif
Landscape mode
Viber
post Aug 22 2011, 04:30 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 22 2011, 04:17 PM)
Hi. Any chance of making viber have landscape orientation? I'm using the HTC Desire Z and it has a physical slide out qwerty keyboard. But when I'm typing the message using it, the app doesn't reorientate to landscape, so I have to constantly twist my head to look at what I have typed.
In the works right now.
mydragoon
post Aug 22 2011, 04:39 PM

7,044 posts

ok, some items i would like to see... top of list means most important:
#1. multi media support -- coz this is main gripe why all my contacts still want to use whatsapps... though its not what i really want.
#2. group messaging <-- what i really want
#3. video calls <-- what i would want as well
#4. support for gadgets without simcard/ phone number like wifi only tablets... and pc?!?
#5. landscape mode -- just make sure its implemented properly... on most cases i have seen with apps on landscape mode, keyboard covers more than half the screen and worse... the screen is not focused at the text entry box, making text entry a very much guessing game.

since we're at it... quickly launch the BB version as well... so my friends have nothing else to complain! smile.gif

DJFoo000
post Aug 22 2011, 04:51 PM

3,000 posts

wow interesting to have a big update announcement. What a coincidence i posted about landscape right before it. :-P

I've only just installed Viber, but things I see missing are:

1) landscape mode
2) picture sending in messaging
3) smart dialpad, where it uses predictive dictionary to look for a contact when you key in numbers in the dialpad.
4) the option to decide what is the default tab to open everytime the app is launched
5) video call
fcuk90
post Aug 22 2011, 04:58 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 16 2011, 08:40 PM)
miui cant use viber?
can .
wkkm007
post Aug 22 2011, 08:06 PM

3,123 posts

disable/enable auto start app(viber) option
CuriOu5
post Aug 23 2011, 10:43 AM

380 posts

1) Indicator to indicate who is on or offline.
2) Customizable notification tone

This post has been edited by CuriOu5: Aug 23 2011, 10:46 AM
Viber
post Aug 23 2011, 04:29 PM

160 posts

I'd like to explain to all the users who requested an "online-indicator": we've taken your request into account, but you need to know that in the meanwhile you do have an indirect way of knowing who's online.

When you make a Viber call, if it says "Ringing..", it means the other side's phone is literally ringing, meaning they're online. If it only says "Calling..", it probably means they're offline.

Same for messaging - if you send a text and you see the "✔" sign, it means the message has been received at the other side's phone (he's online). If you only see the arrow sign, it means it's been sent from you, but pending the other side to come online (their offline at the moment).

Think of Viber as a "substitute" for your real phone. When you call/text someone, you're not sure if they are currently available or not. Right? wink.gif
DJFoo000
post Aug 23 2011, 05:09 PM

3,000 posts

^kudos to you for giving dedicated support on this forum.

Excited to see how many improvements v2.1 incorporates.
shark7
post Aug 23 2011, 05:24 PM

1,378 posts

how can i turn off viber completely

bcause there always viber icons in my notifications even when im not in wifi/3g ?
does it drain the battery ?
Viber
post Aug 23 2011, 05:58 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Aug 23 2011, 05:24 PM)
how can i turn off viber completely

bcause there always viber icons in my notifications even when im not in wifi/3g  ?
does it drain the battery ?
First, make sure you have the latest version from Market.

Then, you can use the "Exit" button, inside Viber's "More" tab.
After that, your icon at the top should disappear.

However, know that Viber shouldn't be consuming much battery when simply running in the background, and uses extremely negligible amounts of KB (less then 1KB an HOUR when idling).
Dannyl
post Aug 23 2011, 07:29 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Aug 23 2011, 04:29 PM)
I'd like to explain to all the users who requested an "online-indicator": we've taken your request into account, but you need to know that in the meanwhile you do have an indirect way of knowing who's online.

When you make a Viber call, if it says "Ringing..", it means the other side's phone is literally ringing, meaning they're online. If it only says "Calling..", it probably means they're offline.

Same for messaging - if you send a text and you see the "✔" sign, it means the message has been received at the other side's phone (he's online). If you only see the arrow sign, it means it's been sent from you, but pending the other side to come online (their offline at the moment).

Think of Viber as a "substitute" for your real phone. When you call/text someone, you're not sure if they are currently available or not. Right? wink.gif
Yeah, that one is sorta logical. When I send a message, I wait until the hourglass is replaced with an arrow. If it doesn't change to a tick sign, I know the other person is offline and he'll get the message when he's connected in Viber.
Viber
post Aug 23 2011, 07:48 PM

160 posts

Exactly! smile.gif
CuriOu5
post Aug 24 2011, 11:54 AM

380 posts

Will the online indicator be in the next update. Kind of useful to know who are on and who are not.

One issue which I have occasionally, which I can live with, is when I exit Viber, the icon dissappears for a while and then reappeared again but it's grayed.
mydragoon
post Aug 24 2011, 01:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CuriOu5 @ Aug 24 2011, 11:54 AM)
Will the online indicator be in the next update. Kind of useful to know who are on and who are not.

One issue which I have occasionally, which I can live with, is when I exit Viber, the icon dissappears for a while and then reappeared again but it's grayed.
honestly... for those who are asking for online indicator... is this what you really want?

coz next thing is... you want invisible/ offline status so you can ignore ppl you dun wanna receive calls from (and only at certain times).
Dannyl
post Aug 24 2011, 02:07 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 24 2011, 01:42 PM)
honestly... for those who are asking for online indicator... is this what you really want?

coz next thing is... you want invisible/ offline status so you can ignore ppl you dun wanna receive calls from (and only at certain times).
Haha! Next they'll ask to block people, black lists, white lists, etc laugh.gif
lch78
post Aug 24 2011, 02:42 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 24 2011, 02:42 PM)

yea. I agree with you. The msg tick sign is good enough for me.

37 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:44 PM