mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 10:05 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:57 AM)
Tested on my huawei x5.

Fully charged at 12am.

7am noticed that Battery only drop to 95% with viber, whatsapp on.
just sharing... to feedback useful info on battery consumption, ideally to have only that one particular apps running. and even then, do share what other settings was used -- proxi sensor, etc... and also good to know some other stats like -- usage (how many messages sent/ received & calls made), service killed or left running, etc... what is the normal battery consumption before viber was installed...

that way, viber can look into the issues... for your case, they could blame whatsapp for any abnormal issues. smile.gif
TSRicky300
post Jul 28 2011, 11:30 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 28 2011, 10:05 AM)
just sharing... to feedback useful info on battery consumption, ideally to have only that one particular apps running. and even then, do share what other settings was used -- proxi sensor, etc... and also good to know some other stats like -- usage (how many messages sent/ received & calls made), service killed or left running, etc... what is the normal battery consumption before viber was installed...

that way, viber can look into the issues... for your case, they could blame whatsapp for any abnormal issues. smile.gif
I'm not complaining.

In fact I feel that 5% is normal. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

But then, there is always room for improvement =)

This post has been edited by Ricky300: Jul 28 2011, 11:33 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 11:32 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jul 28 2011, 11:30 AM)
I'm not complaining.

In fact I feel that 5% is normal. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
ya, i know... in fact, 5% can be considered good. and if we wanna improve our own battery consumption, we can surely do with knowing how your viber was setup. smile.gif

but of course there's also the phone functions/ features/ OS, etc... smile.gif
kkkw80
post Jul 28 2011, 12:22 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

once i downloaded this app, during calls it make my volume zero until i cannot hear anything. deleted it and its back to normal now. i'm using ideos x5
Gh-x
post Jul 28 2011, 12:46 PM

475 posts

for some reason viber eat a lot of battery. At night i left my phone uncharge it was around 12:00 AM the battery level was around 30% when i wake up in the morning 6:00 AM the battery level was already down to 15%.
Normally when i left my phone like that, it will eat around 1/2% for 6 hours.
mkhee
post Jul 28 2011, 03:52 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 27 2011, 05:49 PM)
@mydragoon

About the privacy concern:
First, it is important to be accurate – we only collect names and phone numbers, nothing else. Naturally, we collect users' information not because we are curious of its content, but for functional reasons, and in order for us to enable the service we, as a company, promise to provide. Without that information, Viber cannot function. This is not different from any other major social network/communication service provider in our world nowadays.

I would like to clarify again: we DO NOT sell users' information to third-parties, and we keep this information WELL locked in our servers, with extremely limited access to it.

So why is Viber free?
For now, Viber's focus is on adding platforms, adding features (such as text messages) and improving overall system performance.  At the same time, we are working on additional future premium services that will generate revenues. The basic Viber service - Viber to Viber phone calls and text messages - will ALWAYS be free.have

How did I find LYN forums?
I simply Googled it smile.gif  My job is to find forums discussing Viber, and providing them with answers to technical issues or concerns.

Added on July 27, 2011, 5:50 pm

1. Are you using a custom ROM?
2. Did you try isolating Viber's effect?  Please try rebooting, making sure NO application is running (even in the background), then trying Viber out.
I'm still on stock ROM for the SGS 2. Ever since i installed Viber, my battery drains off very fast whenever I have my data switched on. Now I switch off my data in order not for Viber to run in the background. I only have Juice Defender running in the background now.
Viber
post Jul 28 2011, 04:19 PM

160 posts

@mydragoon

1. Calls and texts are not saved in our servers.
Calls are made directly P2P (they never even reach our servers to begin with), and texts go through our server, but the second they arrive at their destination, they're immediately and automatically deleted (so essentially, they are saved in the server for 0.000001 seconds)
In other words - you can feel safe using Viber smile.gif

2. And how can you know I'm really a company rep?
You can send me a Private Message and I'll give you plenty of proof wink.gif

3. Videocalls are planned, yep, but we still don't know when exactly it'll be ready.

4. The basic Viber service (calls+texts between 2 Viber users) will always stay free.

About battery drain:
As I said, we will soon release a version with an "Exit" button, and this might help the battery consumption issues some of you are experiencing. Also - we decided to reduce the request rate to our server, thus saving battery when your phone is idle at night.

This post has been edited by Viber: Jul 28 2011, 04:20 PM
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 05:12 PM

7,044 posts

hi viber,

dun worry... you have me in your camp already... smile.gif

here's sth to look at... i noticed some messages are showing me a box. i suspect those are supposed to be smileys. anyway, to know how i can enable it? or is this currently a known issue.

also, just feedback from some of my friends on why they prefer whatsapp over viber. mainly they said voice call quality is not good. poor quality and plenty of dropped calls.

other reasons includes lack of photo sharing, etc... but this one, i believe will be addressed soon, as you have mentioned many times before...
Viber
post Jul 28 2011, 05:24 PM

160 posts

Call quality - have them use Viber when both sides are connected to WiFi networks. If even then the quality is bad, then it might be a local connection issue. At any rate - we are constantly trying to improve Viber, and with time more and more call-quality issues will be fixed.

Yep, MMS (file-sharing) options will be included in Viber in the future.
wkkm007
post Jul 28 2011, 05:48 PM

3,123 posts

Any 2.3 user using Viber? I am going to update my X10 to 2.3 thumbup.gif
HeartRoxas
post Jul 28 2011, 06:31 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jul 28 2011, 05:48 PM)
Viber in GB 2.3.4 encounters no problem...
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 10:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jul 28 2011, 05:48 PM)
using viber on my galaxy s2 which is running on GB 2.3.3. so far, so good.
Dannyl
post Jul 28 2011, 10:58 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Hi Viber,

Have been using Viber on and off for a week. Only tried calls once, I can hear the other person but she could not hear me well. Colleague was calling son in Australia nightly and she says call quality is good. Messaging is nice and fast, like IM and SMS combined. Did not experience problems with battery as I only use it when I'm expecting someone to Viber me, and I kill it thereafter (and it stays dead).

Requests:
1) landscape mode (easier to type)
2) disable the auto keyboard popup when I select a message thread to view
3) better able to detect new users in phonebook using Viber (but can add manually so not a big issue)
4) exit button (low priority)
5) ability to change notification sounds and ringtone (low priority)

I'm using SE X10. Thanks!
krk24
post Jul 29 2011, 01:21 AM

277 posts

i downloaded, tested & it does work!
mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 10:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 28 2011, 05:24 PM)
Call quality - have them use Viber when both sides are connected to WiFi networks.  If even then the quality is bad, then it might be a local connection issue. At any rate - we are constantly trying to improve Viber, and with time more and more call-quality issues will be fixed.

Yep, MMS (file-sharing) options will be included in Viber in the future.
this might not apply for me... my wifi connection (which connects to adsl at home) is only 512k while max 3G speed i can achieve is 700kbps. smile.gif

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 28 2011, 10:58 PM)
Hi Viber,

Have been using Viber on and off for a week.  Only tried calls once, I can hear the other person but she could not hear me well.  Colleague was calling son in Australia nightly and she says call quality is good.  Messaging is nice and fast, like IM and SMS combined.  Did not experience problems with battery as I only use it when I'm expecting someone to Viber me, and I kill it thereafter (and it stays dead).

Requests:
1)  landscape mode (easier to type)
2)  disable the auto keyboard popup when I select a message thread to view
3)  better able to detect new users in phonebook using Viber (but can add manually so not a big issue)
4)  exit button (low priority)
5)  ability to change notification sounds and ringtone (low priority)

I'm using SE X10.  Thanks!
Requests:
1) landscape mode (easier to type) -- ya, for some weird reasons, i'd like this too.

what i would really like to see are more new features:
* multimedia sharing support (do give ETA if possible)
* video calls (ETA appreciated)
* contact search/ filter -- like typing first letter to filter out contacts OR maybe A-Z displayed at top of screen.
Joe2011
post Jul 30 2011, 02:19 PM

39 posts

Its hurting my battery badly. My phone is barely 1 month old so I expect the battery health is good. Viber drain the battery to half in 14 hour without me making any call.
Viber
post Jul 31 2011, 03:59 PM

160 posts

@Dannyl -

1. Planned.
2. We will look into it and see what we can do.
3. There is a known issue with the identification mechanism. We're working to fix it righ tnow.
4. Released very soon.
5. Planned, but will not happen soon probably.

@mydragoon -

* MMS - sometime in 2011 smile.gif It's in the works right now, but we don't want to give false estimations.
* Video - same.
* This option already exists, using the device keys. What device are you using?

@Joe2011 -

Please see the discussion regarding the battery issue previously in this thread. If you have more questions, let me know.

mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 09:03 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 31 2011, 03:59 PM)
@Dannyl -

1. Planned.
2. We will look into it and see what we can do.
3. There is a known issue with the identification mechanism. We're working to fix it righ tnow.
4. Released very soon.
5. Planned, but will not happen soon probably.

@mydragoon -

* MMS - sometime in 2011 smile.gif  It's in the works right now, but we don't want to give false estimations.
* Video - same.
* This option already exists, using the device keys.  What device are you using?

@Joe2011 -

Please see the discussion regarding the battery issue previously in this thread. If you have more questions, let me know.
@viber... i'm using samsung galaxy s2.

how do i do that? currently when i m looking at contacts in viber, it's a list of names. no where to type anything...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 09:04 AM
Viber
post Aug 1 2011, 06:58 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 1 2011, 09:03 AM)
@viber... i'm using samsung galaxy s2.

how do i do that? currently when i m looking at contacts in viber, it's a list of names. no where to type anything...
Use the device keys (the physical keys), just like you search in your native contact app.

If you want to browse by letter, hold and scroll the right-most side of the screen, and the scrolling will suddenly appear with the relevant letter shown.
BlackKiraEW
post Aug 1 2011, 07:12 PM

AustinChoo
528 posts

Hope the exit button can release faster . Its a very good app for calling and sms . But it make my phone lag every few second when my viber is not connected to internet . Hope can fix it soon .

37 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:48 AM