Edited. Viber seems to sucks a lot of juice. My android system sucks 30% when its idle. Couldnt last up to an hour even do not use frequently.
This post has been edited by Mx-ZAi: Jul 25 2011, 01:09 AM
Viber for Android
Jul 25 2011, 01:04 AM
272 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Edited. Viber seems to sucks a lot of juice. My android system sucks 30% when its idle. Couldnt last up to an hour even do not use frequently.
This post has been edited by Mx-ZAi: Jul 25 2011, 01:09 AM |
Jul 25 2011, 01:18 AM
126 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Subang |
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Jul 22 2011, 01:53 PM) i asked this before.. settings page, uncheck display notification icon.. and yes... since it's a background running app instead of push messages, it WILL drain batt life despite what they say in their official website.... not that i believe advertisements like that always also... owh! silly me lol, thanks for the instructions :]but yeah, viber really DOES drain battery life i realized after 3 days of installing it. my phone batt drains faster than it used to. |
Jul 25 2011, 03:50 PM
160 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
All,
We are investigating the battery drain issue and will hopefully be able to fix it soon. Please make sure you "isolate" Viber in regards to the battery issue, and also - soon we'll release a newer version to Market that is expected to better when it comes to battery consumption. |
Jul 25 2011, 03:55 PM
3,169 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 25 2011, 03:50 PM) All, thank youWe are investigating the battery drain issue and will hopefully be able to fix it soon. Please make sure you "isolate" Viber in regards to the battery issue, and also - soon we'll release a newer version to Market that is expected to better when it comes to battery consumption. |
Jul 25 2011, 04:00 PM
7,044 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
wah, viber got official presence in LYN forum?
Jul 25 2011, 04:03 PM
61 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: New Zealand |
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 25 2011, 03:50 PM) All, anyway to tell if my viber friends are online, instead of ringing and no answer when they have no data connection?We are investigating the battery drain issue and will hopefully be able to fix it soon. Please make sure you "isolate" Viber in regards to the battery issue, and also - soon we'll release a newer version to Market that is expected to better when it comes to battery consumption. |
Jul 25 2011, 04:36 PM
1,258 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 25 2011, 03:50 PM) All, i cant wait =) good luck..We are investigating the battery drain issue and will hopefully be able to fix it soon. Please make sure you "isolate" Viber in regards to the battery issue, and also - soon we'll release a newer version to Market that is expected to better when it comes to battery consumption. |
Jul 25 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(fireice @ Jul 25 2011, 04:03 PM) anyway to tell if my viber friends are online, instead of ringing and no answer when they have no data connection? It is a feature planned in the future, in the works right now.For now, you have an indirect way of knowing it: if you call someone and it says "Ringing..", that means the call is literally ringing on the other side. If it only says "Calling.." that means the user is currently offline (this method has about 90% success rate). Viber. |
Jul 25 2011, 05:27 PM
4,475 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: KL |
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 25 2011, 03:50 PM) All, Battery drain on Samsung Galaxy S II. Killed the battery like crazy. From morning 6 o'clock to 5pm only a few normal network calls and a few sms, the battery left one third or even less. We are investigating the battery drain issue and will hopefully be able to fix it soon. Please make sure you "isolate" Viber in regards to the battery issue, and also - soon we'll release a newer version to Market that is expected to better when it comes to battery consumption. |
Jul 25 2011, 10:09 PM
3,169 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
installed viber in the morning, uninstall in the evening, drain battery too fast.
should have an exit feature. |
Jul 25 2011, 10:22 PM
As mentioned above, "Exit" button is coming hopefully this week in accordance to user demand.
Jul 27 2011, 03:09 PM
186 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Jul 27 2011, 04:42 PM
Jul 27 2011, 05:02 PM
i want to install viber... but all my friends for whatsapp... *sigh*
you can call me paranoid or what, i dun like the idea of my sms/ voice calls being routed thru 3rd party (like viber, etc). care to share on your data retention policy, etc on the traffic going thru your server/ infrastructure? sorry but i have yet to get into reading your privacy statement but i think that applies only to the data collected (contacts and phone number). but still, i got curious abt viber since it says FREE and without ads and started reading up on viber. after all, how to survive is company has no idea on how to make money. i guess u guys have some ideas but not sure what to use/ implement, correct? anyway, though i can safely say none of my friends are using viber, i might still install it... coz i personally feel more comfortable with viber over whatsapps (dunno why also)... one more thing... how come LYN forum is getting an 'official' presence from viber? |
Jul 27 2011, 05:24 PM
33 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Yup, Viber is draining my phone at an alarming pace. Fully charged in the morning, after 1/2 a day left with 50% only. Hope the update with the off button will be available soon.
Jul 27 2011, 05:49 PM
@mydragoon
About the privacy concern: First, it is important to be accurate – we only collect names and phone numbers, nothing else. Naturally, we collect users' information not because we are curious of its content, but for functional reasons, and in order for us to enable the service we, as a company, promise to provide. Without that information, Viber cannot function. This is not different from any other major social network/communication service provider in our world nowadays. I would like to clarify again: we DO NOT sell users' information to third-parties, and we keep this information WELL locked in our servers, with extremely limited access to it. So why is Viber free? For now, Viber's focus is on adding platforms, adding features (such as text messages) and improving overall system performance. At the same time, we are working on additional future premium services that will generate revenues. The basic Viber service - Viber to Viber phone calls and text messages - will ALWAYS be free. How did I find LYN forums? I simply Googled it Added on July 27, 2011, 5:50 pm QUOTE(mkhee @ Jul 27 2011, 05:24 PM) Yup, Viber is draining my phone at an alarming pace. Fully charged in the morning, after 1/2 a day left with 50% only. Hope the update with the off button will be available soon. 1. Are you using a custom ROM?2. Did you try isolating Viber's effect? Please try rebooting, making sure NO application is running (even in the background), then trying Viber out. This post has been edited by Viber: Jul 27 2011, 05:50 PM |
Jul 28 2011, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Viber @ Jul 27 2011, 05:49 PM) @mydragoon hi viber, thanks for your reply. it's always nice to see companies/ developers actively engaging users (or would be users).About the privacy concern: First, it is important to be accurate – we only collect names and phone numbers, nothing else. Naturally, we collect users' information not because we are curious of its content, but for functional reasons, and in order for us to enable the service we, as a company, promise to provide. Without that information, Viber cannot function. This is not different from any other major social network/communication service provider in our world nowadays. I would like to clarify again: we DO NOT sell users' information to third-parties, and we keep this information WELL locked in our servers, with extremely limited access to it. So why is Viber free? For now, Viber's focus is on adding platforms, adding features (such as text messages) and improving overall system performance. At the same time, we are working on additional future premium services that will generate revenues. The basic Viber service - Viber to Viber phone calls and text messages - will ALWAYS be free. How did I find LYN forums? I simply Googled it Added on July 27, 2011, 5:50 pm 1. Are you using a custom ROM? 2. Did you try isolating Viber's effect? Please try rebooting, making sure NO application is running (even in the background), then trying Viber out. regarding data collection, yes, i m clear on that. what i meant in my earlier post is how (usually -- it may not apply to viber) messaging software/ apps usually work. the messages from one party to another is usually routed thru some servers. the concern in raised back then is in regards to this -- does the server keep copies of the messages? i guess there could be legal requirements, to do so, i dunno. but this is one concern i have (not that i'm dealing with secret agent stuffs). i know that communication via viber is now encrypted. but how easy is it to decrypt the data on the server(s)? anyway, i've installed it but have yet to 'push' my friends to start using this instead... will wait for your reply and personally evaluate before deciding on what to do next. if its any consolation -- i dunno why buy i prefer viber over whatsapp. maybe its because you guys are actively engaging users. on another note... how can we really be sure you're really representing viber? |
Jul 28 2011, 09:38 AM
6,113 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pokey Oaks |
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 27 2011, 05:02 PM) anyway, though i can safely say none of my friends are using viber, i might still install it... coz i personally feel more comfortable with viber over whatsapps (dunno why also)... Hey I feel the same thing, don't know why also My colleague's hubby (Galaxy Ace) is now calling their son in Australia (iPhone 4) every night via Viber... the call quality is just like normal international call... As for battery, I usually keep Viber killed, unless I know I need it, since not many of my friends use it. |
Jul 28 2011, 09:47 AM
just thought i'd update... after installing and waiting for a short while... i just realised there are quite a few of my friends on viber. but many dun really bother with it coz... i guess its partly a peer pressure thing -- its like everyone's on whatsapp.
i'll try and do my part to promote more viber use among friends. and hopefully, viber will continue to be pro-active and address issues and concerns raised. its a win-win situation as long as its FREE for us. btw, any plans to have video calls? |
Jul 28 2011, 09:57 AM
1,514 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Earth |
Tested on my huawei x5.
Fully charged at 12am. 7am noticed that Battery only drop to 95% with viber, whatsapp on. |
| Change to: | 0.0267sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:47 AM |