125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Monash University Thread V3, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS Ranking: Top 69, THES: Top 91 ^^ Up!

illidonleong
post Apr 19 2012, 10:15 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Persian @ Apr 15 2012, 01:00 PM)
Dear zstan,
Thanks for your reply. The program I'm looking for is Bachelor of Electrical Engineering. Please suppose that i want to continue my education in higher levels in Australia or USA.
I rather u go to UTAR and get a 3.something CGPA and apply to a big multinational company, then get a 1.something or 2.something CGPA and cannot find a decent job. THIS IS MALAYSIA, but our degree is Australian standard, when we compete with local grads our results sure worst than them. On average Monash SUNWAY students get CGPA of around 2/4.
zstan
post Apr 19 2012, 10:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 19 2012, 10:15 PM)
I rather u go to UTAR and get a 3.something CGPA and apply to a big multinational company, then get a 1.something or 2.something CGPA and cannot find a decent job. THIS IS MALAYSIA, but our degree is Australian standard, when we compete with local grads our results sure worst than them. On average Monash SUNWAY students get CGPA of around 2/4.
hi dupe...

although you are a failure product of the Monash system doesn't mean everybody else is the same....
ryan18
post Apr 19 2012, 11:23 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 19 2012, 02:43 AM)
just as a reminder... any recent monash material please let me know so i can update the list at the 1st post ^^
add me business.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 19 2012, 11:52 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Apr 19 2012, 11:23 PM)
add me business.
added.. rclxms.gif
malleus
post Apr 20 2012, 12:47 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 19 2012, 10:15 PM)
During my job hunting days after graduation, I found that my chances are actually better than those lower ranking unis despite my CGPA being lower than theirs.

Its similar to how even those who had dropped out of MIT (no matter how smart the entire class is, they'll still need to flunk a certain number of those at the tail end) into a lower ranked university to finish their undergrad can still do very well when they hunt for jobs
evofantasy
post Apr 20 2012, 12:54 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

ppl need to realize that it is more than just the CGPA, it is the reputation. after all, it is what u gain from being in that university which interest the employer, not ur results. one of the reason why i always love highlighting the units i took to show which skills have i obtained and my strengths in the areas.

if u are from a well recognized uni with good industrial ties; the employer would definitely be more interested in u rather than a local uni whom is known to produce bad graduates despite their grades (example, cant speak english, cant reference properly etc)

and yes, MNC companies would definitely value a well recognized international university degree over a not even in the top 200 local university no matter how good ur results can be with that university.
frostfox
post Apr 21 2012, 06:38 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

hi guys, is this college good? in terms of studies/social securities/ scheduling/ transport/ ease of campus?

im planning to do chemical engineering as i have just got my spm results. what do you guys think? smile.gif
zstan
post Apr 21 2012, 06:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Apr 21 2012, 06:38 PM)
hi guys, is this college good? in terms of studies/social securities/ scheduling/ transport/ ease of campus?

im planning to do chemical engineering as i have just got my spm results. what do you guys think? smile.gif
Apart from transport everything else is good IMO...
frostfox
post Apr 21 2012, 09:24 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 21 2012, 06:41 PM)
Apart from transport everything else is good IMO...
what do you mean by transport is bad? is it jam nearby all the time? or is there no public transport or..
Thanks smile.gif
zstan
post Apr 21 2012, 09:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Apr 21 2012, 09:24 PM)
what do you mean by transport is bad? is it jam nearby all the time? or is there no public transport or..
Thanks smile.gif
technically no public transport available..unless you count the shuttle bus from pyramid...
illidonleong
post Apr 22 2012, 12:22 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 19 2012, 10:33 PM)
hi dupe...

although you are a failure product of the Monash system doesn't mean everybody else is the same....
lol. I am not a failure of monash. just that most ppl really get 2.something cgpa. its a known fact...

Added on April 22, 2012, 12:24 am
QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 20 2012, 12:47 AM)
During my job hunting days after graduation, I found that my chances are actually better than those lower ranking unis despite my CGPA being lower than theirs.

Its similar to how even those who had dropped out of MIT (no matter how smart the entire class is, they'll still need to flunk a certain number of those at the tail end) into a lower ranked university to finish their undergrad can still do very well when they hunt for jobs
if u get less than 3.0, u have no chance of entering into investment banking. regardless of what uni u are from. its a fact. join auditing sure no problem lah.

This post has been edited by illidonleong: Apr 22 2012, 12:34 AM
zstan
post Apr 22 2012, 12:37 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 22 2012, 12:22 AM)
lol. I am not a failure of monash. just that most ppl really get 2.something cgpa. its a known fact...

Added on April 22, 2012, 12:24 am

if u get less than 3.0, u have no chance of entering into investment banking. regardless of what uni u are from. its a fact. join auditing sure no problem lah.
so even if you get 3.0 from a lousy uni and managed to get in so what? do you think that person can survive there long enough if he doesn't have the necessary skills?
illidonleong
post Apr 22 2012, 12:46 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 22 2012, 12:37 AM)
so even if you get 3.0 from a lousy uni and managed to get in so what? do you think that person can survive there long enough if he doesn't have the necessary skills?
working and studying is entirely diff. u get good results does not mean u will survive either.
abyone
post Apr 22 2012, 12:01 PM

158 posts

Shall we exchange our Facebook contacts here for networking? Haha. All from monash right? Cos I feel that we can also interact not just here, but at the campus as well.
eternaloctopus
post Apr 22 2012, 12:21 PM

31 posts

-

This post has been edited by eternaloctopus: Sep 26 2012, 11:19 AM
malleus
post Apr 22 2012, 02:35 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 22 2012, 12:22 AM)
I've seen ppl with even 2.75 from higher ranking universities getting into investment banking. This is another very plain and simple fact too.

And I've seen people with good CGPAs getting rejected from investment banking because they graduated from a dubious university.
ryan18
post Apr 22 2012, 04:25 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(eternaloctopus @ Apr 22 2012, 12:21 PM)
Hello. I want to study MBBS in Monash next year. Does anybody know how to register for the ISAT test? I went to the ACER website and they give me a list of the weirdo test centers, like

Wilderness Empowerment
NEW HORIZONS MALAYSIA
KnowledgeCom Corporation Sdn Bhd
ITSM EXPERTS SDN BHD
IOI Business Park
INFO TREK SDN BHD
Dimension Data (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
I-World Technology Sdn Bhd
LEISURE COMMERCI SQUARE
ASIA PACIFIC INSTITUTE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY APIIT
DM SOLUTIONS SDN BHD
Semenanjung Harapan Sdn Bhd
Subang Square Corporate Towers
UNIVERSITI UTARA MALAYSIA
etc...
???????? Am I even in the correct page?
And the fees is $300!!!?????
this is the correct link or perhpas this is the link that you went
http://www.register.prometric.com/Centers....767518107142319
USD300 it seems

Added on April 22, 2012, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(abyone @ Apr 22 2012, 12:01 PM)
Shall we exchange our Facebook contacts here for networking? Haha. All from monash right? Cos I feel that we can also interact not just here, but at the campus as well.
good idea
so who is going to start the ball rolling

This post has been edited by ryan18: Apr 22 2012, 04:26 PM
melvin471
post Apr 22 2012, 04:29 PM

228 posts

Hi Guys for the subject FIT1029 Algorithm and Problem Solving. Do you guys know any good book for this subject or how to improve in this subject? Cos Im pretty poor in the assignment grade. I only got 40% out of 100. Which contributes 10% to final grade. D:

Added on April 22, 2012, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(abyone @ Apr 22 2012, 12:01 PM)
sure why not? you start first.. haha

This post has been edited by melvin471: Apr 22 2012, 04:29 PM
malleus
post Apr 22 2012, 06:02 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Apr 22 2012, 04:29 PM)
Hi Guys for the subject FIT1029 Algorithm and Problem Solving. Do you guys know any good book for this subject or how to improve in this subject? Cos Im pretty poor in the assignment grade. I only got 40% out of 100. Which contributes 10% to final grade. D:
if the content of the subject is still what I think it should be, then check this out:

http://www.allisons.org/ll/AlgDS/
satsugai
post Apr 22 2012, 07:00 PM

303 posts

Food Giveaway again!! rclxms.gif

fb event link

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled