125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Monash University Thread V3, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS Ranking: Top 69, THES: Top 91 ^^ Up!

secondrate
post Apr 22 2012, 07:45 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Apr 22 2012, 04:29 PM)
Hi Guys for the subject FIT1029 Algorithm and Problem Solving. Do you guys know any good book for this subject or how to improve in this subject? Cos Im pretty poor in the assignment grade. I only got 40% out of 100. Which contributes 10% to final grade. D:

Stupidly retarded subject.
malleus
post Apr 22 2012, 07:50 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Apr 22 2012, 07:45 PM)
Stupidly retarded subject.
Consider yourself lucky. It used to be a lot more difficult before the watering down.

This post has been edited by malleus: Apr 22 2012, 07:50 PM
secondrate
post Apr 22 2012, 07:53 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 22 2012, 07:50 PM)
Consider yourself lucky. It used to be a lot more difficult before the watering down.
The problem is no one knows what to do rclxub.gif And I noticed we tend to learn things in algo before programming. Like for loops 1-2 weeks before the programming one. I'm not sure about others, but I think better in programming terms. Man I was so lost in algo. Still am... but now made friends so can help each for assignment 2. Terrified for the mid-sem test results.

@Melvin

If you need help for discrete math, a good number of the class meets in the library level 3 to do the assignment on Friday before class. If you are in class early and notice this huge group coming in 10-15 mins late, that's us... haha.
malleus
post Apr 22 2012, 08:03 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Apr 22 2012, 07:53 PM)
The problem is no one knows what to do rclxub.gif And I noticed we tend to learn things in algo before programming. Like for loops 1-2 weeks before the programming one. I'm not sure about others, but I think better in programming terms. Man I was so lost in algo. Still am... but now made friends so can help each for assignment 2. Terrified for the mid-sem test results.
here's a little tip. Go and look at that link that I provided in my post when I had replied to melvin.

There's quite some bits of javascript demo of the algorithms on that site. Best thing about the javascript demos is that you can view the page source and check out the code in javascript. Should be easy enough for you to port it to C or Java (whichever you're making use of as the learning language now).

If you're wondering who's website that is, that's Llyod Allison's website, the guy behind the dreaded CSE2304 Algorithms and Data Structures subject that used to plague every single CS student who went through Monash before the course outline restructuring. Its almost a guarantee then that almost the entire class will fail the exam before they scale the results.
evofantasy
post Apr 22 2012, 08:21 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

for algo stuffs, i always learn by going through online animations to understand the concepts/ logic... once u understand the concept, things get much easier... i am nt sure about the books since i learn everything online or asking my tutors/ lecturers back when i was an undergrad with the uni... i am pretty occupied atm with my research but maybe i can help u guys out somewhere in May >.< just dun ask me math stuffs cause the last time i touched it was in my first year of uni lol... unlike programming/ algo, i didnt practice/ refresh it at all...

as for the fb thing, i can make a fb group for us then start the adding etc... what says u guys?
secondrate
post Apr 22 2012, 08:28 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 22 2012, 08:03 PM)
here's a little tip. Go and look at that link that I provided in my post when I had replied to melvin.

There's quite some bits of javascript demo of the algorithms on that site. Best thing about the javascript demos is that you can view the page source and check out the code in javascript. Should be easy enough for you to port it to C or Java (whichever you're making use of as the learning language now).

If you're wondering who's website that is, that's Llyod Allison's website, the guy behind the dreaded CSE2304 Algorithms and Data Structures subject that used to plague every single CS student who went through Monash before the course outline restructuring. Its almost a guarantee then that almost the entire class will fail the exam before they scale the results.
I'll look for that, thanks! I was really lost in mid-term because we hadn't covered the classes part yet in Java. Sigh. Now at least I understand the slides. Recursion in algo is much easier to brain than recursion in math...
abyone
post Apr 23 2012, 12:16 AM

158 posts

sure, nice to meet you all!

here's my facebook link! http://www.facebook.com/shuy.yeowern
melvin471
post Apr 23 2012, 03:21 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 22 2012, 08:21 PM)
for algo stuffs, i always learn by going through online animations to understand the concepts/ logic... once u understand the concept, things get much easier... i am nt sure about the books since i learn everything online or asking my tutors/ lecturers back when i was an undergrad with the uni... i am pretty occupied atm with my research but maybe i can help u guys out somewhere in May >.< just dun ask me math stuffs cause the last time i touched it was in my first year of uni lol... unlike programming/ algo, i didnt practice/ refresh it at all...

as for the fb thing, i can make a fb group for us then start the adding etc... what says u guys?
Great idea! Add me into the group after you created it. smile.gif
haha ok. wont ask you bout math d. haha

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:24 am
QUOTE(secondrate @ Apr 22 2012, 07:53 PM)

@Melvin

If you need help for discrete math, a good number of the class meets in the library level 3 to do the assignment on Friday before class. If you are in class early and notice this huge group coming in 10-15 mins late, that's us... haha.
Nice... I want to join you guys. Which part of the library level 3? Were you in thr group that always sat on the first or second row on the right side?

This post has been edited by melvin471: Apr 23 2012, 03:24 AM
VinceCheong
post Apr 23 2012, 03:25 AM

680 posts

FYI! Exam timetables are up!

Check WES for more info!!!! Good luck getting a nice arrangement of timetable smile.gif
melvin471
post Apr 23 2012, 03:25 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 22 2012, 06:02 PM)
if the content of the subject is still what I think it should be, then check this out:

http://www.allisons.org/ll/AlgDS/
alright thanks for the info. i'll look into it. smile.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:28 am
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Apr 23 2012, 03:25 AM)

Check WES for more info!!!! Good luck getting a nice arrangement of timetable smile.gif
i dont see em... :/

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:29 am
QUOTE(secondrate @ Apr 22 2012, 08:28 PM)
I'll look for that, thanks! I was really lost in mid-term because we hadn't covered the classes part yet in Java. Sigh. Now at least I understand the slides. Recursion in algo is much easier to brain than recursion in math...
when you said you havent covered classes in java. You meant something like this or not this?

public class Bicycle {

// the Bicycle class has
// three fields
public int cadence;
public int gear;
public int speed;

This post has been edited by melvin471: Apr 23 2012, 03:29 AM
ryan18
post Apr 23 2012, 12:15 PM

2,406 posts

hi im 'walking wikipedia' lol just joking.add me
http://www.facebook.com/ryan24591
http://twitter.com/icycold156
if you need any help regarding accounting related units for year 1 to 3.just buzz me

This post has been edited by ryan18: Apr 23 2012, 12:15 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 23 2012, 03:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

ok I'll get the Facebook group started when I am back home later tongiht...
till them, pm me ur email (for fb add) so I can add u guys in...
we'll form a nice network which support each other =)

ps: I'll be able to support with algo/ programming stuffs... no theoretical stuffs plz lolx...
secondrate
post Apr 23 2012, 03:31 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:21 AM)
Nice... I want to join you guys. Which part of the library level 3? Were you in thr group that always sat on the first or second row on the right side?
Erm I forgot where I sit. Cause programming and math classroom look alike... ahaha.

Library ar... so far I joined them twice only... first time was at the big long table with the bean bags. Second time was at one of the corners with blue walls (I think), bean bags and square table. Just go there look for bunch of comp science students. Around 2pm should have already, all stressing out icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(melvin471 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:25 AM)
when you said you havent covered classes in java. You meant something like this or not this?

public class Bicycle {

// the Bicycle class has
    // three fields
    public int cadence;
    public int gear;
    public int speed;
I meant the if statements, while loop, for loop and modules (macam methods only).

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Apr 23 2012, 03:25 AM)

Yeah... very nice sad.gif

Math 8.30am 4th June 3 hours
Programming 1.30pm 7th June 3 hours
Econs 1.30pm 8th June 3 hours
Algo 1.30pm 19th June (?!?!) 3 hours

This post has been edited by secondrate: Apr 23 2012, 03:36 PM
Aar0n
post Apr 23 2012, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(Persian @ Apr 15 2012, 01:00 PM)
Dear zstan,
Thanks for your reply. The program I'm looking for is Bachelor of Electrical Engineering. Please suppose that i want to continue my education in higher levels in Australia or USA.
Monash University offers Electrical and Computer System engineering (ECSE).
The syllabus taught at the sunway campus is the same as that in clayton, australia.
The facilities provided are fairly good.
It is not easy to obtain high CGPA or WMA at Monash as the standard is high.
However, it is not impossible as some students do maintain CGPA of 3.9x for electrical engineering.

If you intend to further your studies in the states or australia, either universities would do.

Aar0nY
post Apr 23 2012, 05:32 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(johnconnor @ Apr 19 2012, 02:59 PM)
Hey guys. Is there any engineering students here who are planning/already started their student exchange programme in Clayton campus? I'm starting my degree in July; I have been searching for information on the course modules and comments on the exchange programme for my 2nd/3rd year studies. It would be invaluable if someone could provide me a few pointers regarding the planning --  things I should be taking account into, etc.

Thank you!
Hi there, engineering student currently on exchange to clayton campus, australia here.
well, I would advice you to exchange during the Feb-July Semester as this will allow you more time to prepare.
Most students will exchange during their third year semester one.
but there is still student coming over to clayton during Y2S2 or Y3S2.
When you intend to exchange pretty much depend on your major (ECSE, Chemical etc).

The duration of the exchange programme at Monash Sunway is one semester.
It is possible for engineering students to exchange for 1 year, but the tuition fees for the second semester have to be paid to monash clayton (approx A$17k).

Feel free to ask me any questions, cheers.

melvin471
post Apr 23 2012, 07:53 PM

228 posts

I got one question If I want to get honours, am i supposed to study one more year in undergraduate studies or get High Distinction in my undergraduate studies?
evofantasy
post Apr 23 2012, 08:53 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

ok the group would be here https://www.facebook.com/groups/106592962810496/
let me know if u guys cant see it
malleus
post Apr 24 2012, 12:33 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Apr 23 2012, 07:53 PM)
I got one question If I want to get honours, am i supposed to study one more year in undergraduate studies or get High Distinction in my undergraduate studies?
under the Australian system, all 3 year degree courses do not have automatic honors. The honors year is a 4th year, that is by invitation only, depending on your 2nd and 3rd year results. This 4th honors year is by research, and concludes with the publication of your thesis.
abyone
post Apr 24 2012, 01:18 AM

158 posts

hey fellow monashians, need a favor from u guys, can u guys kindly like this facebook page?
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jitron-Pte-Ltd/248509125160421

thanks! smile.gif
melvin471
post Apr 24 2012, 03:05 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 24 2012, 12:33 AM)
under the Australian system, all 3 year degree courses do not have automatic honors. The honors year is a 4th year, that is by invitation only, depending on your 2nd and 3rd year results. This 4th honors year is by research, and concludes with the publication of your thesis.
alright thanks. not gonna do it. sound too tough. :s

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:22 AM