Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

97 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Hackintosh Thread V2.0, The Official OSX86 Thread (Hardware) (Hardware)

views
     
TSwiraone
post Jul 21 2011, 05:07 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@skitzo, which guide do you use to install the Lion? On the graphics card, there are some 5770 that do not work with Lion, luckily my XFX 5770 does work. No injection, no nothing required on mine .. work OOB.


Added on July 21, 2011, 5:08 pmOh BTW, Apple is going to release the USB version of Lion for double the price. Probably the best way to install w/o a need of SL.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 21 2011, 05:08 PM
skitZo`
post Jul 21 2011, 05:14 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
701 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 21 2011, 05:07 PM)
@skitzo, which guide do you use to install the Lion? On the graphics card, there are some 5770 that do not work with Lion, luckily my XFX 5770 does work. No injection, no nothing required on mine .. work OOB.


Added on July 21, 2011, 5:08 pmOh BTW, Apple is going to release the USB version of Lion for double the price. Probably the best way to install w/o a need of SL.
*
I use Mald0n's guide from insanelymac here is theLink link

I followed the procedure but used my kexts and DSDT from my SL 10.6.8.

Basically the kexts i have in E/E are FakeSMC, NullCPUPowerManagement, OpenHaltRestart and Jmicron36xeSATA for eSATA.

Have yet to try Nawcomms Sleepenabler for Lion yet. Hopefully there is no issues with it.

As for the USB version of Lion , its quite pricey imo almost double the price.

This post has been edited by skitZo`: Jul 21 2011, 05:19 PM
TSwiraone
post Jul 21 2011, 07:36 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
I believe for DIY system builder like us who do not have SL on the first place, the price should be justified .. probably it includes a family pack in the price.
skitZo`
post Jul 21 2011, 10:01 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
701 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 21 2011, 07:36 PM)
I believe for DIY system builder like us who do not have SL on the first place, the price should be justified .. probably it includes a family pack in the price.
*
Yeap, true also, but you could save the extra cash (ard 40usd, which is alot) by using a friends macbook/mac and download the installer and burn it on a dvd or save it in a usb drive for future use.

And if im not mistaken we can install up to 5 machines per copy of Lion.

Cheers!
TSwiraone
post Jul 22 2011, 08:55 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
I'm on Lion now, downloaded it through my MBP. I did a fresh install using USB drive. I'm using the following Andy's guide found here.

For those of you who're trying to install Lion from fresh, you need to find a friend who can download the Lion app for you or probably need to wait for a bit more for them to come up with the USB distribution media.
azzaim92
post Jul 23 2011, 08:00 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
375 posts

Joined: Mar 2008
From: KL (Kota Damansara)


I'd like to have OSX and windows in dual boot but I'm not sure whether or not my laptop can support. The specs are below.
TSwiraone
post Jul 23 2011, 08:39 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@azzaim, should be alright .. use the TonyMac guide is the easiest, iboot + retail SL DVD + multibeast. But you need to use Chimera to dual boot. What I did to install dual boot is to install MacOSX first, get it running and use Chimera to boot. The use Mac's Disk Utility to partition a Win7 partition and install Win7.. if Win7 overwrites the Chimera bootstrap, you need to boot using iboot and rerun Chimera installer (via multibeast).
waiwaisan
post Jul 23 2011, 11:24 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
134 posts

Joined: Apr 2007


Sorry i am new here....
Just wan to ask my desktop support or not (old model)

c2d 6320 1.86
gigabyte p965 ds3
8gb ram
gigabyte Nvidia 8400
No CD rom

thanks....
TSwiraone
post Jul 23 2011, 11:34 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@waiwaisan, should work okay on Snow Leopard but no idea about Lion. Installation requires DVD drive though. You can use usbdrive, but it needs to be prepared on Mac first.
waiwaisan
post Jul 24 2011, 12:51 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
134 posts

Joined: Apr 2007


thanks wiraone... i will try it!
selikatwo
post Jul 24 2011, 03:42 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
302 posts

Joined: May 2010
From: Shah Alam, Malaysia


Intel GMA 3150 works on Lion????
fuadfadz
post Jul 24 2011, 08:03 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
744 posts

Joined: Jun 2009

currently using acer aspire 6920g running snow leapord 10.6.7,, how to upgrade to lion//
rahza
post Jul 24 2011, 08:43 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
15 posts

Joined: Dec 2010
hye.. just want to ask..

this is my spec

acer 3750G
core i5-2410M 2.3GHz
2GB Memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT520M with NVIDIA Optimus technology

is it support to install snow leopard?
TSwiraone
post Jul 24 2011, 09:54 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@rahza, you might be able to install SL if you go with tonymac's way using iboot since it has latest chimera bootloader which contains support for nvidia gt520m.
toiletduck
post Jul 25 2011, 01:21 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
242 posts

Joined: Feb 2010


hi wiraone, i am planning to build a fresh system with the following spec:

a) i5/2400 (3.1Ghz)
b) GBT: GA-P67A-UD3-B3
c) Kingston 4gb DDR3
d) Sapphire/ Gigabyte HD6770 1GB D5
e) Seagate 1TB

does it support the latest lion?

sorry to ask about this as I'm totally new in hackintosh, been research in OSX86 & Tony Mac yet couldn't figure out the setup...
DarkNite
post Jul 25 2011, 07:32 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
********
All Stars
10,928 posts

Joined: Jun 2008
QUOTE(toiletduck @ Jul 25 2011, 01:21 AM)
hi wiraone, i am planning to build a fresh system with the following spec:

» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


does it support the latest lion?

sorry to ask about this as I'm totally new in hackintosh, been research in OSX86 & Tony Mac yet couldn't figure out the setup...
*
Last time wiraone says research and buy similar KNOWN built. I see Gordo74's using same mobo as yours and he explain in detail TO GO TO LION: Follow this guide. I helped in putting it together and it is step by step like this one. Just like a real Mac, you must be on 10.6.8 to go to Lion.
rahza
post Jul 27 2011, 04:52 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
15 posts

Joined: Dec 2010
@wiraone but i read at tonymacx86, it says that i can forget the hackintosh if i have a graphic card with optimus technology. how?
TSwiraone
post Jul 27 2011, 06:56 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Senior Member
3,765 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@rahza, they you're out of luck I guess.
hellwaker
post Jul 27 2011, 03:29 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
825 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Ipoh
Hi sifus, I am new to mac world. Would Like to how my setup below work with which version of Mac OS X?

AMD Phenom II X3 720BE (2.8Ghz) ll Zatoc 8800GT AMPed Edition ll Creative SB Audigy2 || Gegabyte MB
gengstapo
post Jul 27 2011, 05:11 PM

Retired
********
All Stars
10,647 posts

Joined: Jan 2005
Cool, grats for the V2 Hacintosh tread~

97 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0401sec    1.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th November 2019 - 01:20 AM