Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

96 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Hackintosh Thread V2.0, The Official OSX86 Thread (Hardware) (Hardware)

views
     
TSwiraone
post Jul 15 2011, 02:21 PM, updated 2 months ago

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
A continuation of the old Hackintosh Thread V1.0 which can be found here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/511299

RULES (as found in the old thread):

1. PLEASE DONT ASK WHERE TO DOWNLOAD OSX86 -OR- BE WARNED !

2. Dont try to act funny or spam the board

3. Please 'stay' legal. We're allowed to discuss hardware support and stuff like that

So here it goes , Welcome to OSX World. Please post here if you have any questions on driver , support [hardware/software]

Please do check out the official OSX86 Website - http://www.osx86project.org

If you want to hop in for a Live chat join the X86 crew @ irc.macspeak.net , #osx86 !

P.S - Mac users are allowed to join as well

--
Building a hackintosh machine is much easier if we're following the tonymacx86's guides, why not start from there first:

1. tonymacx86's Buyer's Guide
2. tonymacx86's Installation Guide

--

Other interesting links for starters:

1. OSX86 Wiki
2. Kexts database (experts only I guess)
3. InsanelyMac - Notebook discussion

For those who're interested in joining facebook group for more santai discussion, do join us at the following link:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/HackintoshMalaysia/


This post has been edited by wiraone: Jun 10 2019, 05:26 PM
shiwamoto
post Jul 15 2011, 02:28 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 52

Joined: Nov 2006


Dear wiraone,

So what is your recommendations specs for SL v10.6.3?
Please help me... thanks. notworthy.gif

Im planning to clone out a new system running on SL v10.6.3

Hope to get your kindness help a.s.a.p.

This post has been edited by shiwamoto: Jul 15 2011, 02:31 PM
TSwiraone
post Jul 15 2011, 02:41 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@shiwamoto,

I'll suggest if the budget lets you, to go for the latest Sandy Bridge setup. Probably if you could share with us what kind of system you're thinking of building (and probably the budget), we probably could help it out.
brucesss
post Jul 15 2011, 06:58 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



Possible to install snow leopard on Intel Q6600, DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL, and ATi HD4850?
advice needed
TSwiraone
post Jul 16 2011, 08:37 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@brucess, best is to search using google for any reference installation or guide. I did a search on your motherboard and graphics card and found both are rarely used for Hackintosh, I believe it can be done but with little support out there, you'll be exhausted trying.
eveready
post Jul 16 2011, 11:22 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 196

Joined: Nov 2010


So, is v2 going to discuss more on lion?
brucesss
post Jul 16 2011, 11:52 AM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



hmm whats the best combination planing to keep that q6600, wad board shall i change to n gpu
skitZo`
post Jul 17 2011, 11:17 AM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 697

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(brucesss @ Jul 16 2011, 11:52 AM)
hmm whats the best combination planing to keep that q6600, wad board shall i change to n gpu
*
brucess, if you want to keep your processor try looking around for 2nd hand p45 chipset like the Gigabyte EP45-UD3R/P, should support snow leopard and lion well. As for GPU try to get the ATI 5770 or GTX260. Should work out just great.


raeshad
post Jul 17 2011, 11:52 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 242

Joined: Apr 2010
@wiraone, congrats for V2. rclxms.gif Don't own a hackintosh myself but I've always enjoyed reading this thread biggrin.gif
TSwiraone
post Jul 17 2011, 12:24 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@Eveready
We're more interested in discussing the hardware and related kexts to get going rather than the OS itself (which has it own thread). But if what you mean is to get the right hardware, kexts etc to get Lion going, then most probably yes. Nobody surely want to get stuck with older technology/OS innit? smile.gif

@brucesss
As suggested by skitzo, best is still to go for Gigabyte boards (even a second hand one which I guess can be easily bought from Garage Sales section). Check the DSDT link in the first post, if the motherboard is listed there, it is much easier to get things going since minimal patch/configuration need to be done.

@raeshad
This thread is for everybody really and since I'm the one starting up, don't look at me as a sifu shakehead.gif There are many others who've been running Hackintosh in their PCs for ages thumbup.gif As for me, I'm just starting up few months ago after my MBP which I've been using for 5 years now running out of juice (battery I mean.. and replacing it will cost me RM500++ and from my previous experience, how careful I'm with charging/discharging, I could only get it to last for a year). I'm however eagerly waiting for an MBA announcement drool.gif

工藤新一
post Jul 17 2011, 02:26 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 410

Joined: Jan 2009


Does it support the new Sandy Bridge Processor.
I'm Using the Dell new XPS.
2nd generation Intel® Core™ i7-2720QM processor 2.20 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.30 GHz

15.6" (39.6cm) FHD (1920x1080) B+RGLED display with TrueLife™

8GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (2 x 4GB)

2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 540M graphics with Optimus

750gb 7200 hard disk
brucesss
post Jul 17 2011, 02:34 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



can i keep my team ram and my quad core?
planning to use ga-g31-es3l is that easy to install?
izzNatta
post Jul 17 2011, 06:34 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 100

Joined: Oct 2005
From: Johor Bahru


QUOTE(brucesss @ Jul 17 2011, 02:34 PM)
can i keep my team ram and my quad core?
planning to use ga-g31-es3l is that easy to install?
*
Yup you can, as ga-g31 compatible with X OS... MB is the most crucial in Hackintosh
DarkNite
post Jul 18 2011, 08:56 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 10,922

Joined: Jun 2008
Wow, dunno this thread has reached v2 already.
wiraone - Many thanks & congrats. thumbup.gif

I have bought parts and now waiting for a retail disk as I dun have a mac that can dl lion's update.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jul 18 2011, 09:00 AM
TSwiraone
post Jul 18 2011, 11:36 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Jul 17 2011, 02:26 PM)
Does it support the new Sandy Bridge Processor.
I'm Using the Dell new XPS.
2nd generation Intel® Core™ i7-2720QM processor 2.20 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.30 GHz

15.6" (39.6cm) FHD (1920x1080) B+RGLED display with TrueLife™

8GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (2 x 4GB)

2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 540M graphics with Optimus

750gb 7200 hard disk
*
Yes, the i7-2720QM is used in the latest MBP 17". But you may have problem with the graphics card, the GT 540M is not supported and may not be supported since Apple has gone for AMD/ATI GPU for their latest notebooks/imacs.
eveready
post Jul 18 2011, 05:27 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 196

Joined: Nov 2010


@wiraone
Yes. That is what I mean. Workarounds to get lion working on certain hardware.
shiwamoto
post Jul 18 2011, 05:31 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 52

Joined: Nov 2006


QUOTE(shiwamoto @ Jul 15 2011, 02:28 PM)
Dear wiraone,

So what is your recommendations specs for SL v10.6.3?
Please help me... thanks. notworthy.gif

Im planning to clone out a new system running on SL v10.6.3

Hope to get your kindness help a.s.a.p.
*
Wiraone..

My budget for CPU, RAM, m/Board, VGA Card, DVD writter, HDD and CASING around RM1.8K - RM 2K...
Hope to get your recommendations.. m/Board prefer GIGABYTE..

Hope to get your favorable reply soon.

Thanks.
TSwiraone
post Jul 18 2011, 11:09 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
@shiwamoto,

I can't give you component by component list, you can do the homework yourself. Here is the list of the latest Gigabyte motherboards that have DSDT ready from tonymac:

http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/06/dsd...yte-socket.html

And here is what GPU that you can use.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php/G...s_Card_Database

Optical disk, search for LG ones as per the following:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php/O..._Drive_Database

Do remember, if you bought the sandy beach processors with 'K', you need to at least get the P67 board .. or Z68, otherwise, you'll just waste your money. The non-'K' version, H61 or H67 should be okay.

RAM, get the best you could get with your money. The sames goes to the HD and the rest of the components. Check the hardware forum for suggestion on what the best that can give you bang for the buck.

You surely ask why I can't just list one that work .. well, because in my 2 hackintosh setups, I still couldn't get the best that work 100% as I want them to be. Others can chip in to guide you on the hardware selection.
DarkNite
post Jul 19 2011, 07:19 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 10,922

Joined: Jun 2008
QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 18 2011, 11:09 PM)
RAM, get the best you could get with your money. The sames goes to the HD and the rest of the components. Check the hardware forum for suggestion on what the best that can give you bang for the buck.

You surely ask why I can't just list one that work .. well, because in my 2 hackintosh setups, I still couldn't get the best that work 100% as I want them to be. Others can chip in to guide you on the hardware selection.
*
get the best you could get with your money.?
Best as in best-bang-for-the-buck or most expensive?
Example, for ram I see many favors G Skill. Is there a reason for that? hmm.gif
TSwiraone
post Jul 19 2011, 07:56 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,699

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
DarkNite, it depends, for my daughter setup, I bought the Kingston value ram, but for my built, I'm using Corsair which cost double the price IIRC. So, if you think your PC build should be a powderful one, go with the better configuration lah. You may want to check the hardware section, they might be more helpful in term of components for your build. To get OSX running, as mentioned by one of the contributor above, the important thing is the motherboard and GPU selection.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 19 2011, 08:35 AM

96 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0749sec    2.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th July 2019 - 08:18 AM