14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

celciuz
post Aug 7 2011, 02:16 PM

14,037 posts

Basically, the same image quality just the D7000 being better in all other aspects except weight, price and articulating screen.

Its like D90 and D300 back then, same sensor quality just different AF system and also body build, buttons etc.
celciuz
post Aug 7 2011, 07:06 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(arsengal @ Aug 7 2011, 05:29 PM)
Ohh I see, thanks btw. And thanks to others who replied too. So this means that either D or G will work well on a Nikon D90 body right?
Correct, both will auto focus on D90.
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 09:38 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:51 AM)
depend what subject, if bird, or something you cant reach then had to use zoom lens, if some subject you "can just walk front and shot", you straight get prime lens can already  tongue.gif
like shooting model ah moi, well sometimes you can just walk front instead hide behind and shoot.  laugh.gif
I'm used to leg zoom tongue.gif. On primes you get consistent FOV. On zooms you get more variety.. Say 70mm versus 200mm.
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 12:19 PM

14,037 posts

70200 --> Excellent optics.. sharp!

Shimizu Eri by CY Pixels, on Flickr

85G --> bokeh bokeh bokeh biggrin.gif

Agnes by CY Pixels, on Flickr

Closer up?

Jolin by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 12:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:27 PM)
70200!! handsdown
Both lens have pros and cons, different lens for different type of shooting ;-)
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 02:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Aug 11 2011, 12:42 PM)
lend me ure model bro thumbup.gif
You can find them during events tongue.gif, minus the Evangaline cosplay RQ only during SuperGT biggrin.gif.
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 02:39 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 11 2011, 02:08 PM)
that is Shinji Ikari doh.gif

now this is Rei Ayanami.
drool.gif

She didn't come this year sad.gif

From 2010,
Evangelion by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 03:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Aug 11 2011, 02:59 PM)
is the umbrella for sale?
Didn't notice it on sale during the event. Maybe for series held in Japan there is I guess.
celciuz
post Aug 11 2011, 09:58 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 11 2011, 09:04 PM)
technically, its not a problem, just a issue tongue.gif
most of the time im shooting wide open, so dont notice the oil spots.
but now even at f/5.6 i can see some, so time to send it in again.
Sounds like dust o_O

The other day shooting at Sepang going up to f/22, can see a lot of dust -.- immediately put on the CPL so drop down to about f/13 or so then can't see the dust so obvious already biggrin.gif
celciuz
post Aug 12 2011, 12:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 12 2011, 11:49 AM)
my hoya CPL is just the normal one, around RM100.
i dont use it anymore cos i got no AF lens with 52mm filter anymore tongue.gif

maybe later i buy a 77mm one, but still will be the normal one, maybe kenko.

for me, i dont use CPL often so just get a normal one from a trusted brand is good enough ok already...no need take out more money for fancy hardened glass etc.
Assuming your normal --> really normal ones and not the Pro1D, then the differences is not just it being a hardened glass but optics as well in terms of flaring etc.
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 08:21 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Aug 13 2011, 01:43 AM)
it's slow!

have you tried other faster lens?
If you're referring to other big aperture prime lens, then I think the 35mm isn't that slow la. But if compared to the 2470 or 70200, or even that 200mm or 300mm then yes the 35mm is tortoise. But then again, even Nikkor pro 1.4G prime lens line up is tortoise compared to those.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 13 2011, 08:05 AM)
35mm 1.8 is not super slow la, obviously cannot compare to the pro lenses, but still there are even slower ones out there.
for what its worth, its a decent AF, afterall its most likely not going to be used for shooting fast moving stuff anyway.
If compared to the f/1.4 gold ring primes, I think still comparable. They aren't exactly fast too, guess it is normal for prime lens.
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 08:27 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 13 2011, 08:21 AM)
Trying out the 24mm f/1.4 in Nikon KLCC , its so nice ! thumbup.gif

Previously when I sent my lens and during pick up, was testing a lot of lens too including 24 f/1.4G. Poisonous lens! biggrin.gif Lucky my gf was around, else would have tested longer and might have bought it LOL.
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 08:37 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 13 2011, 08:32 AM)
Kinda nice dof produced ,  the wide prime makes the subject like pop up from the background haha.

But then if you can afford just buy it lah  laugh.gif
Maybe when I need it then consider buying, at the moment I love my current set. xD (okay still trying to control myself to resist tongue.gif)
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 05:07 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 13 2011, 05:03 PM)
Its slower than the D, so does 50mm f/1.4G, but its still faster than kits lens or normal zoom lens. If you compare with pro lens, then its different story.
If memory serves me right, my 18105 focuses quicker than my 85mm f/1.4G.
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 08:06 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 13 2011, 07:55 PM)
color saturation ? go for RAW format,

generally RAW is uncompressed , bigger file size but the versatility is there when comes to editing

Hyperfocal method is easy bro, at 18mm DX u set to F8 and you are good to go for landscape.  smile.gif

Maybe sometimes people's EXIF also act as a guidance so in what situation you know what F would like to use.
By default, NEF is lossless compressed tongue.gif. If want uncompressed, need to set it. Plus 14-bit as well instead of 12-bit. Only available on higher range bodies.
celciuz
post Aug 13 2011, 11:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Aug 13 2011, 07:52 PM)
Or master Joe McNally's Da Grip! laugh.gif

I actually missed this post the first time. Nice sharing! Didn't know there is such thing. Actually been wondering how to do a good grip... this kinda answered my question. Good thing for me, I can focus with both eyes LOL. Sometimes when shooting out with my friend, I can start with left eye then later on right eye, a few times my friends was asking me too lol if I'm using right or left eye on the viewfinder.
celciuz
post Aug 14 2011, 09:40 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Aug 14 2011, 01:07 AM)
I only shoot RAW when I am doing commercial shots for large printing

I think most people shoot RAW because they are afraid of screw up the picture and with RAW, they can adjust more

But I don't really shoot RAW even doing commercial now
I shoot RAW when I need to post process for the color and all. JPEG only when I need the speed and I do not need processing (motorsport for example).

Reason is that RAW contains more data, and when you deal with stuffs such as WB and black level, color toning etc RAW seems more suitable as compared to JPEG from my experience.

QUOTE(ResQ @ Aug 14 2011, 05:30 AM)
i plan to get batt grip for my d7000, between octopus and phottix which one most of you recommend? or just get the original one from china? i have tested from my friend which is original nikon, but it seem like very loose, need to put some paper to tight it up
There is no such thing as original grip from China. I don't think that one is real. It is a counterfeit. If not mistaken it doesn't have magnesium alloy body too! Not to mention the tolerance of those are usually low to cut production cost.
celciuz
post Aug 14 2011, 01:19 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Aug 14 2011, 12:56 PM)
hahaa true.
then hor, let's compare the 18105 at 85mm f5.6 with the 85 1.4 at 5.6 and see the result. which one focuses more accurately?

i think people tend to think that it's gold to focus faster. nobody seems to think that it's even more important to focus accurately
Well, topic was on speed so I made this comparison tongue.gif

In terms of accuracy, I don't recall much of an issue with the 18105 unlike my 50mm f/1.8D. Besides, 85mm shooting at f/5.6, will affect AF accuracy? Since the lens is still wide open during focusing, just more DOF so any focus accuracy is less obvious.

On the point I italic it, this is where the 85mm f/1.4G outperforms the 85mm f/1.4D. It is slower in terms of focusing, but more reliable focusing (better accuracy especially low light).

Added on August 14, 2011, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 14 2011, 11:29 AM)
Well, unless he's stating that the original D7000's battery grip, the MB-D11 is Made from China smile.gif
Made in China? ... I thought it was made in Thailand just like the MB-D10.

Anyways then need to know the pricing, weather it is the counterfeit with plastic body or its the real Nikon with magnesium alloy body.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Aug 14 2011, 01:21 PM
celciuz
post Aug 14 2011, 01:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 14 2011, 01:29 PM)
Yeah, this is the 2nd time I mentioning to you that D7000's BG, the MB-D11 is Made in China and also the 2nd time you mentioning that you thought it's Made inThailand like the MB-D10 tongue.gif
Sorry suffering from short term memory cry.gif . To me, Nikon manufacturing are always Japan --> Thailand --> China... didn't expect D7000's grip to be from China instead of Thailand.
celciuz
post Aug 14 2011, 06:33 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ResQ @ Aug 14 2011, 06:26 PM)
orait tq, i have surveyed the price at alor setar the cheapest price that i get is rm580, izzit ok that price?
Sounds like its the original Nikon biggrin.gif, I'm not too sure what's the price like going for a MB-D11. As long the price is too cheap to be true, then you need to start confirming if it is genuine or not.

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:11 PM