105 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

fatalynx05
post Jul 19 2011, 04:26 PM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 19 2011, 11:03 AM)
gd70 @ 4+1, need to take extra precautions when u prime it usin high volts. actively cool d pwm can prevent shits happen.  nod.gif
never ever go for gd70 vmad.gif hahahaha...i got bad experience with it trust me whistling.gif

Added on July 19, 2011, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 19 2011, 11:30 AM)
it's 8+2 bro...  smile.gif

wah duta msi promote leh... any new bios features compare to gd70 bro? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Jul 19 2011, 04:29 PM
ah_khoo
post Jul 19 2011, 04:50 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 19 2011, 04:26 PM)
never ever go for gd70 vmad.gif  hahahaha...i got bad experience with it trust me  whistling.gif

Added on July 19, 2011, 4:29 pm

wah duta msi promote leh... any new bios features compare to gd70 bro?  hmm.gif
what duta2 bro... me volunteer one okie... tongue.gif

i had very short spell w/ gd70 b4 so i can't really compare, but ram wise gd70 is richer coz no drive strength options in gd80... but, gd80 still decent enuf for mild clocker like me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 19 2011, 04:53 PM
lat_lonelyboyz
post Jul 19 2011, 05:46 PM

Qaizen Creative
1,625 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 19 2011, 04:26 PM)
never ever go for gd70 vmad.gif  hahahaha...i got bad experience with it trust me  whistling.gif

pheww...almost go for it last month but suddently must use my fund for medical fee sweat.gif

can define what bad it is bro fatal? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lat_lonelyboyz: Jul 19 2011, 05:47 PM
kuntawakaw
post Jul 19 2011, 06:02 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 19 2011, 05:46 PM)
pheww...almost go for it last month but suddently must use my fund for medical fee sweat.gif

it was a very good board back in its era.. 700series.
that time no thuban yet..

now, some ppl get problem with the board after insert thuban in..
plus this board is outdated.. if compare with 7series, mem clocking indeed great..but now with 900series, 790fx gd70 is nothing...

lat_lonelyboyz
post Jul 19 2011, 06:30 PM

Qaizen Creative
1,625 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 19 2011, 06:02 PM)
it was a very good board back in its era.. 700series.
that time no thuban yet..

now, some ppl get problem with the board after insert thuban in..
plus this board is outdated.. if compare with 7series, mem clocking indeed great..but now with 900series, 790fx gd70 is nothing...
even 970 chipset would be better than 790FX chipset?

last time got fren told me that 870 is better than 790GX chipset biggrin.gif
kuntawakaw
post Jul 19 2011, 11:09 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 19 2011, 06:30 PM)

last time got fren told me that 870 is better than 790GX chipset biggrin.gif
well.. depends on motherboard..and what is the thing that u are comparing

let say.
if Ram oc, i can say the yes. 870 better then 790fx. but stil not all 870 mobo better than all 790fx mobo
generally is yes.

if u talking about how durable 1 board is, then it depends on the component and quality build.chipset has nothing to do with this.

if u plan to OC ur processor speed, just get a good cheap mobo with 8+2 ok already.. here in OCU always recommend 8+2..kekeke we like big pwm count..kekeke

shinjite
post Jul 19 2011, 11:23 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,304 posts

Well, kinda waste if I sell my 790FX GD70 mobo, it looks damn nice with its bling bling back in its era thumbup.gif

Note: Weird, I dunno why my GTX570 as stock clocks can score higher in 3DMark compared to it being overclocked >_>"
1024kbps
post Jul 20 2011, 12:07 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 19 2011, 07:39 AM)
8gb 2x4gb or 4x2gb bro? if 2x4gb higher chance to get it sold. now ram is dirt cheap and also ppl looking for value ram only now. my rams i donno for how many months in garage sale but no one bother to ask..
it was his 1100T chip.. not the mobo chip
that processor is not that good..
4x2GB sweat.gif
the time i buy the ECO iirc there was no 2X4GB kit, its very rare/non-exist on singapore, unless buy from oversea.
Yeah now 8GB ram price dropped alot... luckily BD launch date got delayed, else it will took me very long time to buy new 8GB kit.

Added on July 20, 2011, 12:25 am
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 19 2011, 10:10 AM)
bro, here is d link in HWZ

i dunno bout 8gb kit coz winova is d only pair i've ever tested. but for its price, i can say nothing beat it. what u'll lose is a bit of aesthetics look + no kick ass name.  tongue.gif

thumbs up for foldin, keep up d good works bro...  notworthy.gif
Thanks for the link!
Look and name doesnt matter to me, i want clockable ram only! brows.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jul 20 2011, 12:25 AM
fatalynx05
post Jul 20 2011, 01:38 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 19 2011, 05:46 PM)

for me in 890 era cip even gigabyte 890gpa served me well compare to gd70 in term of proc overclocking... maybe my bad luck or else..
but i tell u my experience... the mosfet are unable to handle thuban 140w and often shutdown when in high load n stress, i also make loud hissing sound before it shut down
only 3.8ghz r safe for it compare gigabyte 4.1ghz stable sweat.gif since i use lousy ram not much comment for da ram... better refer otai ah khoo for tweaking ram notworthy.gif

Added on July 20, 2011, 1:43 am
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 19 2011, 04:50 PM)
what duta2 bro... me volunteer one okie...  tongue.gif

i had very short spell w/ gd70 b4 so i can't really compare, but ram wise gd70 is richer coz no drive strength options in gd80... but, gd80 still decent enuf for mild clocker like me.  smile.gif
wah bro gd80 dun have that features aye? kinda weird??? hmm.gif is it still have dr mos monitoring function?

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Jul 20 2011, 01:43 AM
lat_lonelyboyz
post Jul 20 2011, 08:49 AM

Qaizen Creative
1,625 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 20 2011, 01:38 AM)
for me in 890 era cip even gigabyte 890gpa served me well compare to gd70 in term of proc overclocking... maybe my bad luck or else..
but i tell u my experience... the mosfet are unable to handle thuban 140w and often shutdown when in high load n stress, i also make loud hissing sound before it shut down
only 3.8ghz r safe for it compare gigabyte 4.1ghz stable  sweat.gif since i use lousy ram not much comment for da ram... better refer otai ah khoo for tweaking ram  notworthy.gif
By using multiplier base cpu core, i tot didnt kacau ram it is? unless u bump its system bus will bump ram as well.

so using multiplier to OC, even value ram can handle it?
ah_khoo
post Jul 20 2011, 09:30 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 19 2011, 06:30 PM)

last time got fren told me that 870 is better than 790GX chipset :/D
it depends on how well is d build quality & bios implementation. yes, chipset does play an important role, but if u compare an oem 970 board to msi/asus/gigabyte 790fx, which one will be better. obviously d answer is clear, isn't it? smile.gif

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 20 2011, 12:07 AM)
Thanks for the link!
Look and name doesnt matter to me, i want clockable ram only! :/hehe:
no problem bro, have fun with d ram (& loan me if ur bored with it tongue.gif )... wink.gif

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 20 2011, 01:38 AM)
only 3.8ghz r safe for it compare gigabyte 4.1ghz stable  sweat.gif since i use lousy ram not much comment for da ram... better refer otai ah khoo verdict/kunta for tweaking ram  :/respect:

Added on July 20, 2011, 1:43 am

wah bro gd80 dun have that features aye? kinda weird???  hmm.gif is it still have dr mos monitoring function?
well, it's a fact that gd70 was a great board back then, apart from d weaker pwm. ppl burnt mosfet when primin & MSI was in hot water due to this issue. like i mentioned b4, if one were to put d board to test, some precaution steps must be taken. most important thing is to have d pwm cooled ACTIVELY. nod.gif

u mean temp monitorin for cpu pwm? if so i think hwinfo got a sensor showin d temp for pwm (i assume that coz d temp is almost as high as cpu temp). some sensors in hwmonitor not givin correct readin on gd80, hwinfo is a better tool. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 20 2011, 08:49 AM)
By using multiplier base cpu core, i tot didnt kacau ram it is? unless u bump its system bus will bump ram as well.

so using multiplier to OC, even value ram can handle it?
yup, but there's no ummphh if u just play with cpu oc while leave d ram @ stock. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 20 2011, 09:31 AM
fatalynx05
post Jul 20 2011, 09:35 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

ah khoo what is ur max temp for pwn in full load? hmm.gif
lat_lonelyboyz
post Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM

Qaizen Creative
1,625 posts

Started OC my cpu last night (boring what to do..hahahah)

OC my cpu till 3.8GHz@1.48v using multiplier only and i think performance didnt increase too much even below 10% (i just guess) sweat.gif

*tested using Adobe CS5, roughly just faster about 3~8second only (i dont know how to check CPU performance. So i decided using my application to see by using my naked eye only laugh.gif)
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM

1,064 posts

pwn temps cant be measured unless you got a probe there...most mobos dont have temp readings for pwm hmm.gif

Added on July 20, 2011, 9:40 am
QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM)
Started OC my cpu last night (boring what to do..hahahah)

OC my cpu till 3.8GHz@1.48v  using multiplier only and i think performance didnt increase too much even below 10% (i just guess) sweat.gif

*tested using Adobe CS5, roughly just faster about 3~8second only (i dont know how to check CPU performance. So i decided using my application to see by using my naked eye only laugh.gif)
test CS5 loading or what? laugh.gif if loading then is HDD lo~

This post has been edited by dafreak: Jul 20 2011, 09:40 AM
ah_khoo
post Jul 20 2011, 09:41 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 20 2011, 09:35 AM)
ah khoo what is ur max temp for pwn in full load?  hmm.gif
if hwinfo sensor is correct (from what i assume) it's 52'c @ load - 3.5GHz w/ 1.3xv. smile.gif

i have my pwm cooled actively like this:

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 20 2011, 09:42 AM
fatalynx05
post Jul 20 2011, 09:44 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 20 2011, 09:41 AM)
if hwinfo sensor is correct (from what i assume) it's 52'c @ load - 3.5GHz w/ 1.3xv. smile.gif

i have my pwm cooler actively like this:

is that custom bracket u using...kinda like a ram cooler... laugh.gif mine only single fan... wanna go electronic shop looking for 3 more of those tongue.gif
i felt like this mobo or 990 chip kinda bit hotter then before sweat.gif
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 09:45 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 20 2011, 09:41 AM)

i have my pwm cooled actively like this:

blow hot air from HS got use ka? laugh.gif hmm.gif
lat_lonelyboyz
post Jul 20 2011, 09:46 AM

Qaizen Creative
1,625 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM)
pwn temps cant be measured unless you got a probe there...most mobos dont have temp readings for pwm hmm.gif

Added on July 20, 2011, 9:40 am
test CS5 loading or what? laugh.gif if loading then is HDD lo~
Retouch something la bro sweat.gif i dont know how to explain because im noob in CS5

if loading issue, no need to say CS5 la. loading windows also can know biggrin.gif
ah_khoo
post Jul 20 2011, 09:47 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 20 2011, 09:44 AM)
is that custom bracket u using...kinda like a ram cooler...  laugh.gif mine only single fan... wanna go electronic shop looking for 3 more of those  tongue.gif
i felt like this mobo or 990 chip kinda bit hotter then before  sweat.gif
that was a ocz xtc v2 ram cooler. one of d bling2 fan dead (becoz i cleaned it w/ w/ cutton doh.gif ) then i buy 2 x el-cheapo cm 6cm fan to mount on d bracket. smile.gif

x90FX is always hotter than xx0xX. nod.gif

QUOTE(dafreak @ Jul 20 2011, 09:45 AM)
blow hot air from HS got use ka? laugh.gif hmm.gif
ya tak ye jugak... but pullin is always weaker than pushin? lemme try when i have d time. hmm.gif

thx for heads up dafreak gege... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 20 2011, 09:52 AM
fatalynx05
post Jul 20 2011, 10:04 AM

Fatalist
667 posts

mine only 1 fan huhuhu sweat.gif full load prime can reach 61c woooo sweat.gif if i set digi+vrm to extreme if manual switching maybe low hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fatalynx05: Jul 20 2011, 10:11 AM

105 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:16 PM