AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

dafreak
post Jul 17 2011, 02:23 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 17 2011, 02:16 PM)
will just loan bro, but nothing firmed yet. GD80 is a keeper so not gonna sell until next socket... tongue.gif
i ish no belip wat u say~ tongue.gif

BD delayed sumore...so... sad.gif
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM

1,064 posts

pwn temps cant be measured unless you got a probe there...most mobos dont have temp readings for pwm hmm.gif

Added on July 20, 2011, 9:40 am
QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 20 2011, 09:39 AM)
Started OC my cpu last night (boring what to do..hahahah)

OC my cpu till 3.8GHz@1.48v  using multiplier only and i think performance didnt increase too much even below 10% (i just guess) sweat.gif

*tested using Adobe CS5, roughly just faster about 3~8second only (i dont know how to check CPU performance. So i decided using my application to see by using my naked eye only laugh.gif)
test CS5 loading or what? laugh.gif if loading then is HDD lo~

This post has been edited by dafreak: Jul 20 2011, 09:40 AM
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 09:45 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 20 2011, 09:41 AM)
if hwinfo sensor is correct (from what i assume) it's 52'c @ load - 3.5GHz w/ 1.3xv. smile.gif

i have my pwm cooled actively like this:

[attachmentid=2340236]
blow hot air from HS got use ka? laugh.gif hmm.gif
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 01:12 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 20 2011, 12:44 PM)
yaloh... later i wanna do bracket put dual fan  sweat.gif nb fan also wanna put... sure buruk.. any idea bro?
get the asus 990 evo...sure cheaper the chv or saber... 6+2 phase and got digi+vrm  icon_idea.gif
leave some gap between the vrm HS and the fan, ofcoz also make sure the hot air removed from d HS is exhausted away hmm.gif if not the air recycle also no use lo tongue.gif
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 01:45 PM

1,064 posts

durian colour coolant how to make yo~?? tongue.gif hmm.gif

try grey colour coolant? tongue.gif never seen b4 though hmm.gif
dafreak
post Jul 20 2011, 06:25 PM

1,064 posts

wait for msi full 9xx series whistling.gif
dafreak
post Jul 21 2011, 09:35 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Jul 21 2011, 08:55 PM)
not really see the scratches... coz it screw on bottom part of HS...bro ah khoo what do u mean tie on to the 12+ cable?  hmm.gif
hanging from the 12v cpu power pin, cant imagine sweat.gif
dafreak
post Jul 23 2011, 07:37 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 23 2011, 07:29 PM)
Hey guys, im trying to OC my Phenom2x3 710, i have OC-ed it to 2.8Ghz without any problem, however when i hit 2.9Ghz...my windows wouldnt boot up anymore. I tried increasing the Cpu voltage by +0.050 but still not booting up. I want to know whether the problem was caused by insufficient voltage or my mobo wasnt good enough for it.
try increasing more hmm.gif
dafreak
post Jul 23 2011, 09:25 PM

1,064 posts

lol...what cooler u using?

try bump it to 1.35v (means +0.25)
dafreak
post Jul 23 2011, 09:48 PM

1,064 posts

sorry, my bad...

perhaps it's not the proc, try lowering the ram speed or divider close to stock speed hmm.gif

dont leave the HT link in auto as well, get it to about 2000mhz (stock)

This post has been edited by dafreak: Jul 23 2011, 09:49 PM
dafreak
post Jul 23 2011, 10:32 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 23 2011, 10:01 PM)
ok i have now lowered my memory clock multiplier to x5...able to run at 2.9ghz now. Mine explain why it has to do with the memory?
well, your ram reached it's speed limit, since it's value ram...so... sweat.gif

you may be able to run at those speeds but you will need to loosen the timings a lot hmm.gif
dafreak
post Jul 23 2011, 11:07 PM

1,064 posts

the limit for your rams are probably lower, since it already passed/close to the limit, it wont be stable..so will bsod/fail boot smile.gif
dafreak
post Jul 26 2011, 08:33 PM

1,064 posts

no point complaining about socket change though...

IMO, no doubt that it is a good thing for consumers by maintaining similar sockets (AM2 > AM2+ > AM3 > AM3+) but I think that is what is limiting them in terms of how much they can do...i think they realise that too...

Look at inhell as an example, a new socket gave them a huge boost and perhaps more flexibility hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dafreak: Jul 26 2011, 08:33 PM
dafreak
post Jul 26 2011, 10:08 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(lat_lonelyboyz @ Jul 26 2011, 08:33 PM)
Hahaha..

perhaps AM2+ mobo can survive for last 6months whistling.gif
Sometimes, we must sacrifice some features to ensure that older tech can survive sweat.gif
stick with old tech and you will die out

sometimes (or most times) it is not about the features, but the improved efficiency, performance etc
dafreak
post Jul 28 2011, 02:24 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ Jul 27 2011, 11:48 PM)
So is FM2 gonna be LGA?
it's just a RUMOUR, just wait till the time comes sweat.gif doh.gif
dafreak
post Aug 8 2011, 07:04 AM

1,064 posts

if you are looking for your proc limit, just keep it close to stock smile.gif
dafreak
post Aug 8 2011, 05:43 PM

1,064 posts

2/5 is from cpu diode, normally we will use 1/4
dafreak
post Sep 13 2011, 09:20 PM

1,064 posts

enjoy~ biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif
dafreak
post Sep 18 2011, 11:36 PM

1,064 posts

i suggest you try custom blend test

fft length 640 - 4096
time 1 or 2 minute
dafreak
post Sep 27 2011, 08:55 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Sep 27 2011, 03:57 AM)
Sifus,

Not sure if this is the right thread to ask but if not do let me know where I can ask.

So, I overclocked my Athlon II X4 635 from the stock 2.9GHz to what it seems like a stable 3.47GHz just by leaving auto voltage and increasing the FSB to 240MHz. I use CM TX3 for the cooler.

My question, is this the best stable overclock for daily use that I can get from my processor? what should I do next? Can I just use my PC normally? or is there something I need to do to make sure the system is truly stable?
1) You shouldnt leave voltage in auto

2) to know whether it is stable or not you need to stress it (i.e. using Prime95)

3) I wouldnt recommend TX3 to anyone at all, to me is at least a hyper212+

4) one system cannot be truly "100%", you may prime all you want and get no errors but crashes may still occur depending on how you are using your PC (still depend how how do you define "stable")

5) Increasing FSB will also increase the ram speed, do watch that

0.0358sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:17 PM