105 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

shakku
post Jun 25 2014, 12:05 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 21 2014, 11:58 AM)
but i heard only like 4 cores are used in gaming , i mean why need the extra 2 core ?
Don't use the term 'heard'.
Newer gen games are using 6 to 8 cores now thanks to PS4/XBO multi core architecture.

Take a look at gamegpu.ru (russian website, it has benchmarks on most recent games with core loading).
Most games on 2014 are utilization 4-6 cores.

EDIT : If you're planning to upgrade from FX4300, jump to FX6300 or FX8320.
The FX6350/8350 are the same version with slightly higher frequencies which can be match easily with FX6300/FX8320 via multiplier adjustment but with more power draw tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shakku: Jun 25 2014, 12:16 PM
pspslim007
post Jun 25 2014, 02:37 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jun 24 2014, 12:35 PM)
Newer games nowedeis are more and more optimize for more cores.. more core u have more they will chew.. lol..
Plus its already in most benchmark that FX63xx performs better than the FX43xx in these new games.. lol..
QUOTE(shakku @ Jun 25 2014, 12:05 PM)
Don't use the term 'heard'.
Newer gen games are using 6 to 8 cores now thanks to PS4/XBO multi core architecture.

Take a look at gamegpu.ru (russian website, it has benchmarks on most recent games with core loading).
Most games on 2014 are utilization 4-6 cores.

EDIT : If you're planning to upgrade from FX4300, jump to FX6300 or FX8320.
The FX6350/8350 are the same version with slightly higher frequencies which can be match easily with FX6300/FX8320 via multiplier adjustment but with more power draw  tongue.gif
wow i didnt know that 6300 is better than 6350 , 1 thing that i`ve notice that the stock cooler for 6350 is very very noisy compared to my old 4300 , i thought it would be a better cooler , but to my suprise the heat pipe does little to none effect when it comes to cooling my cpu , couz when i was playing game , it will heats up until 60 over Celcius (6350 that is ), i forgot how high did my 4300 went up to but the noise when it hits 60 over celcius is too noisy for me for my 6350 , LMAO
shakku
post Jun 25 2014, 05:37 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 25 2014, 02:37 PM)
wow i didnt know that 6300 is better than 6350 , 1 thing that i`ve notice that the stock cooler for 6350 is very very noisy compared to my old 4300 , i thought it would be a better cooler , but to my suprise the heat pipe does little to none effect when it comes to cooling my cpu , couz when i was playing game , it will heats up until 60 over Celcius (6350 that is ), i forgot how high did my  4300 went up to but the noise when it hits 60 over celcius is too noisy for me for my 6350 , LMAO
No... don't get me wrong. FX6350 is always better than FX6300 at stock speeds.
But if both overclocked, they're not too far apart.

8tvt
post Jun 25 2014, 07:24 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 25 2014, 09:18 AM)
cnq + c1e enabled? try fixed voltage setup 1st, see what d lowest voltage stable for d oc'ed setup. then try usin vid + offset for cnq setup. iirc asus not really that good in cnq setup. iirc my fm2 board d vid keep changin eventhou i've already fixed it in bios. not so sure on am3 as it's been a while since i last owned one.  sweat.gif

no harm tryin for d ram bro, 9-10-9 or 9-11-11 for 1866 is possible if d chippies are decent one.  wink.gif
lol i can't find cnq..
i'm playing with the LLC, if fixed voltage, when speed come to load it require more n not stable...
the calibration works well just i need to lower down the initial voltage for lower speed operation.. so i got optimum setup..
so far the voltage is stable no vdroop issue like before..

just that at first attempt i set at higher base voltage so it's freely boost the voltage..
the weird thing is the option supposedly in percentage.. but i have only enabled/disabled option that may cause to jump up to 100% max
that's the reason the temp is so high..
ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 09:49 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 25 2014, 07:24 PM)
lol i can't find cnq..
i'm playing with the LLC, if fixed voltage, when speed come to load it require more n not stable...
the calibration works well just i need to lower down the initial voltage for lower speed operation.. so i got optimum setup..
so far the voltage is stable no vdroop issue like before..

just that at first attempt i set at higher base voltage so it's freely boost the voltage..
the weird thing is the option supposedly in percentage.. but i have only enabled/disabled option that may cause to jump up to 100% max
that's the reason the temp is so high..
iirc, LLC just controls d fluctuation of voltage & doesnt really involved in voltage control (for cnq setup, ie when lower clock vcore decreases & vice versa). vid + offset is d only way to go (with c1e enabled) if i'm not mistaken, but d thing is (like what i mentioned) asus is not really that straight forward in such setup (again based on my fm2 board experience), u can fix d offset but d vid kinda like changes every time u start d system. blink.gif

asrock is better in this department but oc/tweakability/software wise we all know whose d clear winner. if u cant get the vid + offset part working mebe u can check with Juan Chong, mebe he can help a 'lil. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 26 2014, 09:56 AM
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 09:58 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

ive no other option that flexible other than that CPU LLC n CPU NB LLC.. i can say it control and adjust the voltage n vrm accordingly much better..

much simplified version.. ok la not so pening..
ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 10:28 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

is ya cpu & nb voltage in offset mode bro? ya ai tweaker page should be like this rite? hmm.gif

yellow = offset value aka increment on top of vid during load
red = vid aka fixed, should be ya idle voltage if i'm not mistaken

for LLC i will always use d one give me less fluctuation during load, be it vcore or cpunb voltage (less critical imo) nod.gif

btw cnq, c1e can be found here:

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 26 2014, 10:31 AM
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 11:17 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i cannot recall having that offset setting.. just the above LLC only...
even d cnq option not avail...

maybe this board too simplified..
ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 11:24 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 26 2014, 11:17 AM)
i cannot recall having that offset setting.. just the above LLC only...
even d cnq option not avail...

maybe this board too simplified..
yas is m5a97 rev 1 rite? should have. bios already updated to d latest one? hmm.gif

did a quick review on m5a97 evo b4, should be quite near to m5a97 vanila. smile.gif

http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/1...l-board-bd.html

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 26 2014, 11:25 AM
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 12:00 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/ASU...herboard/1772/7

similar like this..

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/fullimage.php?image=55012

ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 12:06 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 26 2014, 12:00 PM)
then change to offset mode can liao. dunno d vid part can be fixed thou. hmm.gif
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 12:18 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

which have d offset? later i check... mcm xde je
ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 01:49 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 26 2014, 12:18 PM)
which have d offset? later i check...  mcm xde je
CPU & NB VOLTAGE put to offset mode mebe? hmm.gif
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 05:07 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

lol now i got that offset but still not nice ler.. can't set the initial voltage..
better in manual and let d LLC manage the voltage flunctuation

that CnQ n C1e option only have when offset mode selected.. no wonder can't find..
the pagination makes the option hard to notice...

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Jun 26 2014, 05:41 PM
ah_khoo
post Jun 26 2014, 05:57 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 26 2014, 05:07 PM)
lol now i got that offset but still not nice ler.. can't set the initial voltage..
sigh, that's d thing with most asus AMD boards. i guess no one make enuf noise to d support team. but other than this, asus is d most solid brand when it comes to AMD mainboards. smile.gif
8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 07:27 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 26 2014, 05:57 PM)
sigh, that's d thing with most asus AMD boards. i guess no one make enuf noise to d support team. but other than this, asus is d most solid brand when it comes to AMD mainboards.  smile.gif
i think the manual option make us in full control, at least the LLC thing works.. just donno what's the ceiling...
the option just enable/disable.. maybe for this board only

8tvt
post Jun 26 2014, 11:20 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

the optimum setup that i can get from the AMD Phenom II X4 960T

it's quite hard to tame the unlocked core.. some not even success to unlock.
it could be caused by the mem controller itself..
with X4 setup 4ghz is achievable with lesser voltage..

at the moment i would prefer additional cores with lower speed to compensate..
even 3.8ghz is not that low... lol
current setup with 1.35v with LLC enable would offset ranging from 1.32v - 1.43v..

yes it's doable for X6 @ 4ghz but with the voltage on load require 1.5v is not preferred as this will contribute the temp to >80c barrier
though my usage not until that stress test level.. but the stable and optimum system is always the best..

time to retire.. notworthy.gif

ah_khoo
post Jun 27 2014, 10:17 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

nicely done bro, unlocked core(s) quality varies from chip to chip, as long as they serve ya purpose will do. wink.gif

welcome to the old folks home where d retirees gather. pokde still out there playin xfire & other stuffs... wub.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 27 2014, 11:23 AM

- Knob -
8,520 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 27 2014, 10:17 AM)
nicely done bro, unlocked core(s) quality varies from chip to chip, as long as they serve ya purpose will do.  wink.gif

welcome to the old folks home where d retirees gather. pokde still out there playin xfire & other stuffs...  wub.gif
Puikkkkkk khoo nowedeis lagi happy ocing something else, mau kata org.. lol biggrin.gif

8tvt
post Jun 27 2014, 07:08 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

shall i X8?

105 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:48 PM