Working in Singapore v7

Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 01:36 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 21 2011, 01:30 PM)
guys n gals, my Msia driving license will b expiring next yr, can I 'convert' into Sg license and use this license when Im driving in Msia?

btw, how to convert ar? i heard we jz take a written test right? how much it costs for the 'conversion'?
aiyah...why so difficult??? Just renew your msia license. Later, if you like it, apply for a spore license as well, just sit for a theory test will do. whistling.gif
animorphs
post Jul 21 2011, 01:36 PM

183 posts

Where is your office located at?
Do you need entertainment nearby? Shopping malls/ cinemas
What's the maximum travel time you willing to take from home to office? Singaporeans not willing to travel more than 30 minutes.
What's your budget like? Average 700 for air conditioned room and 600 for non air conditioned room.

These are the factors you'll need to consider
francisbacon7
post Jul 21 2011, 01:53 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 21 2011, 01:36 PM)
Where is your office located at?
Do you need entertainment nearby? Shopping malls/ cinemas
What's the maximum travel time you willing to take from home to office? Singaporeans not willing to travel more than 30 minutes.
What's your budget like? Average 700 for air conditioned room and 600 for non air conditioned room.

These are the factors you'll need to consider
are you asking me for fun or help me?hehe

office is located in Shaw tower,nearest to Bugis MRT...
max traveling time 30mins MRT+15mins walking (one way)
budgeted SGD600-700, air cond room and pub if can la..

animorphs
post Jul 21 2011, 02:34 PM

183 posts

Just sharing my experience. This is what I consider when choosing a place. Your method might not be the same as mine.

Your place is quite central so doesn't matter much where you stay.

I would choose places like Serangoon, Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Tampines, Yishun. As there's bus Interchange, shopping mall and cinema right beside MRT station.

After that see what's the best deal base on my maximum budget.

Good luck in searching.
Mackiddo
post Jul 21 2011, 02:57 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 21 2011, 01:36 PM)
aiyah...why so difficult??? Just renew your msia license. Later, if you like it, apply for a spore license as well, just sit for a theory test will do.  whistling.gif
this is a stupid suggestion. renew your Malaysia license, then get it 'blacklisted' by converting to Sg license ? Might as well covert to Sg license ASAP coz you could use it to drive Msia registered car.

Added on July 21, 2011, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 20 2011, 11:18 PM)
PUB stand for Public Utilities Board.

If rental inclusive of PUB = inclusive of water charges.
you missed out electricity & gas, which is part of PUB as well. Also charges for treating the 'used' water smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 21 2011, 03:02 PM
Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:11 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 21 2011, 02:57 PM)
this is a stupid suggestion. renew your Malaysia license, then get it 'blacklisted' by converting to Sg license ? Might as well covert to Sg license ASAP coz you could use it to drive Msia registered car.

Added on July 21, 2011, 3:02 pm

you missed out electricity & gas, which is part of PUB as well. Also charges for treating the 'used' water smile.gif
My friend, why you said it is stupid suggestion??? Why after renew the license it will get blacklisted??? Can you enlighten me as i am stupid on this.

I am currently holding both valid malaysia driving license and as well as another singapore driving license. Shall i check whether my malaysia driving has been blacklisted since you mentioned so???? Or do you have any license to start of???? hmm.gif
Mackiddo
post Jul 21 2011, 03:17 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 21 2011, 03:11 PM)
My friend, why you said it is stupid suggestion??? Why after renew the license it will get blacklisted??? Can you enlighten me as i am stupid on this.

I am currently holding both valid malaysia driving license and as well as another singapore driving license. Shall i check whether my malaysia driving has been blacklisted since you mentioned so???? Or do you have any license to start of???? hmm.gif
do you even understand the process of converting My to Sg license now ? or even the contents of the JPJ letter ? if you do, you won't be asking this. and keeping 2 paid licenses when you only need 1 is smart ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 21 2011, 03:18 PM
animorphs
post Jul 21 2011, 03:19 PM

183 posts

People got money mah. So why we bother. We poor people only hold 1 license. wink.gif
venicelim
post Jul 21 2011, 03:23 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 21 2011, 03:17 PM)
do you even understand the process of converting My to Sg license now ? or even the contents of the JPJ letter ? if you do, you won't be asking this. and keeping 2 paid licenses when you only need 1 is smart ?
what's wrong with the JPJ letter?
mind to explain further? rclxub.gif
Converting MY to SG license is just to take the Basic Theory Test in SG,
after pass the test, obtain the abstract from JPJ,
then can proceed to the SG license ard.
What's the down side btw?

Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:31 PM

3,033 posts

If i told you i am holding 2 licenses, doesnt this tells you i have gone thru the conversion of Malaysia license or you cannot read my message or you think you are the only smart ah lek out there??? U just need to go to any JPJ office to obtain the JPJ letter and it only took me not more than 1 hour for it. then, in singapore, you register (my case at Bukit batok driving school) to take a driving theory test and if you pass, you are on your way to get your singapore license....isnt it simple? but actually not that simple as the test is is difficult....Or if you have went thru some hell process while getting your JPJ letter, please share us your side of story because i catch your meaning that it is difficult process.
Keeping a Malaysia driving is not expensive and that is only RM20/year (May not be just one meal at Food Republic) and if you decided to stop work in Singapore and you return to Malaysia, wouldnt it be handy as you still have your malaysia driving license or you mean you want to maintain a singapore driving license to drive in Malaysia? Could be you already a citizen and never think of others who may return to work one day? Please enlighten me. Thanks
crazy25kid
post Jul 21 2011, 03:33 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

Well, I am not that familiar with the law but for cases like us, I think we need license for both m'sia and sg...unless we own the international license.
We need the malaysian license to drive in m'sia as we are citizens there.
I do not think the cops will accept a sg license when we get stopped in a road block back in m'sia...just like we can't show our EP/SG IC to the cops when they ask for identification.
We need the sg license to drive in sg (after a year residing in sg) as we cannot use our m'sian license anymore.

I understand that there are people who mentioned that within the JPJ letter, there is a request for LTA to cut our m'sian license into 2. sweat.gif sweat.gif
But imagine, if we are to move back to m'sia in the future, are we required to "convert" back from sg to m'sian license?

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 21 2011, 03:34 PM
Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:33 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 21 2011, 03:19 PM)
People got money mah. So why we bother. We poor people only hold 1 license. wink.gif
Holding 2 license doesnt mean you got money or not. Many of my friends also holding 2 licenses, perhaps they also got money... laugh.gif
Mackiddo
post Jul 21 2011, 03:38 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 21 2011, 03:31 PM)
If i told you i am holding 2 licenses, doesnt this tells you i have gone thru the conversion of Malaysia license or you cannot read my message or you think you are the only smart ah lek out there??? U just need to go to any JPJ office to obtain the JPJ letter and it only took me not more than 1 hour for it. then, in singapore, you register (my case at Bukit batok driving school) to take a driving theory test and if you pass, you are on your way to get your singapore license....isnt it simple? but actually not that simple as the test is is difficult....Or if you have went thru some hell process while getting your JPJ letter, please share us your side of story because i catch your meaning that it is difficult process.
Keeping a Malaysia driving is not expensive and that is only RM20/year (May not be just one meal at Food Republic) and if you decided to stop work in Singapore and you return to Malaysia, wouldnt it be handy as you still have your malaysia driving license or you mean you want to maintain a singapore driving license to drive in Malaysia? Could be you already a citizen and never think of others who may return to work one day? Please enlighten me. Thanks
can you share what's in the JPJ letter since you are the smart one who advice ppl in the 1st place to convert after renewing the malaysia license ?
Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 21 2011, 03:33 PM)
Well, I am not that familiar with the law but for cases like us, we need license for both m'sia and sg...unless we own the international license.
I do not think the cops will accept a sg license when we get stopped in a road block back in m'sia...just like we can't show our EP/SG IC to the cops when they ask for identification.
We need the sg license to drive in sg (after a year residing in sg) as we cannot use our m'sian license anymore.

I understand that there are people who mentioned that within the JPJ letter, there is a request for LTA to cut our m'sian license into 2.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
But imagine, if we are to move back to m'sia in the future, are we required to "convert" back from sg to m'sian license?
You just need to go any JPJ office to get a letter. JPJ needs to find out whether you have any outstanding summons not paid or not. If got, you need to clear the summons before they give you the letter. Like my case, i got one summon when i went to JPJ that time, i went to the counter and paid the summon (forgotten they gave me any discount or not). Then, return to their office and get the letter by showing them the receipt. If you got no summon, they will give you the letter straight away.

To cut our Malaysia license to two is bxxxsxxx lar. I still having my license and no one mention to cut my license. If you move back to Malaysia, if you have a valid malaysia driving license, the sky is clear. But i dont know if your license is expired for extended time, dont know whether there is any requirement for you to take a driving test all over again or not. hmm.gif Anybody know???
Mackiddo
post Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 21 2011, 03:33 PM)
Well, I am not that familiar with the law but for cases like us, I think we need license for both m'sia and sg...unless we own the international license.

I understand that there are people who mentioned that within the JPJ letter, there is a request for LTA to cut our m'sian license into 2.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Sg license is accepted in Malaysia if you are driving Malaysia registered car.

Added on July 21, 2011, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM)

To cut our Malaysia license to two is bxxxsxxx lar. I still having my license and no one mention to cut my license. If you move back to Malaysia, if you have a valid malaysia driving license, the sky is clear. But i dont know if your license is expired for extended time, dont know whether there is any requirement for you to take a driving test all over again or not.  hmm.gif Anybody know???
so an official letter by JPJ is bxxxsxxx to you now ? and this is because ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 21 2011, 03:42 PM
Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:41 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 21 2011, 03:38 PM)
can you share what's in the JPJ letter since you are the smart one who advice ppl in the 1st place to convert after renewing the malaysia license ?
Of course i dont know since i am the stupid one.... tongue.gif

I am still waiting for your side of story leh.... hmm.gif wondering whether you gonna share anything or ...........
crazy25kid
post Jul 21 2011, 03:43 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM)
You just need to go any JPJ office to get a letter. JPJ needs to find out whether you have any outstanding summons not paid or not. If got, you need to clear the summons before they give you the letter. Like my case, i got one summon when i went to JPJ that time, i went to the counter and paid the summon (forgotten they gave me any discount or not). Then, return to their office and get the letter by showing them the receipt. If you got no summon, they will give you the letter straight away.

To cut our Malaysia license to two is bxxxsxxx lar. I still having my license and no one mention to cut my license. If you move back to Malaysia, if you have a valid malaysia driving license, the sky is clear. But i dont know if your license is expired for extended time, dont know whether there is any requirement for you to take a driving test all over again or not.  hmm.gif Anybody know???
I actually have the letter. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Just I have yet to scrutinize the contents fully.

For the retake part, I think I read before somewhere that if it is expired for too long, you need to retake the whole test.
Tigerr
post Jul 21 2011, 03:45 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM)

Added on July 21, 2011, 3:41 pm
so an official letter by JPJ is bxxxsxxx to you now ? and this is because ?
May i know how old are you? Do you have any licenses?? Have you ever stopped by a malaysia police and you show them your singapore driving license??? Please clear our doubts. Thanks

who had said an official letter by jpj is bxxxsxxx???? I only said to cut the malaysia license to two is bxxxsxxx. You are reading and advising or you like to create problems? hmm.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 21 2011, 03:46 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 21 2011, 03:40 PM)
Erm...this may sound stupid...but what about a Sg registered car?
If we get stopped by the police, we show them Sg license with Malaysian IC (cause they would think we are foreigners)?
A bit of a weird combo laugh.gif laugh.gif cause logically, singaporeans will have to show the license with passport.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 21 2011, 03:46 PM
Lester1987
post Jul 21 2011, 03:49 PM

2,017 posts

come on la Tigerr. u are just lucky that the JPJ officer din cut your license. Some officer won't cut it. but they will blacklist ur license and u can't renew it.
I went to JB JPJ and asked b4 la. if u want to keep your Malaysia license without kena blacklist, Please pay RM200 kopi money.

true story. bcoz i have no $$ that time. so i din take the letter until now.

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:29 PM