Working in Singapore v7

ivanswk
post Jul 25 2011, 02:21 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(xyyz @ Jul 25 2011, 02:11 PM)
i'm being offered an RF Engineer position in Singapore, quite happy about it, then the company further proceed to help me apply for EP and i just resigned from current company as the hiring company is not willing to pay off for my 2 months notice and I would really like to avoid paying that from my own pocket.

But a week later my EP application is rejected. I don't get it, i resigned with such confident is because my gf who is just graduated from the same course same uni with no working experience, her application is approved like immediately while i'm holding the same degree with 2 years working experience but rejected.

Currently my hiring company is helping me to appeal, really hope everything goes well.

If anything happen (touch wood touch wood!) is there anything i can do to fight for my case?
lowyatnet stats show too many Malaysian batang here already hmm.gif
maybe your salary range dun meet the EP requirement ? sweat.gif

u in IT is it ? wink.gif

tayhaithian
post Jul 25 2011, 02:22 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 25 2011, 02:13 PM)
tat means even for appeal,
can check through EPOnline https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLENQM008SubmitAction.do, right?
Guess I still have to wait somemore.
How long have u been waiting? particularly for appeal, not including the period of your first time submission.
Ya, that's the link to check the status. As for the duration, I think my HR submitted the appealing letter on the 15th July so was about 1 week and 1 day for working hours.
deodorant
post Jul 25 2011, 02:24 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 25 2011, 02:21 PM)
lowyatnet stats show too many Malaysian batang here already  hmm.gif

indirectly saying that we welcome his GF but not him so that we can even out the stats a bit? laugh.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 25 2011, 02:24 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 25 2011, 02:21 PM)
Get a set of bogus Malaysian rego plates and some double-sided tape. Tape it on in your garage, drive slowly to the nearest petrol station & fill, and then drive home and remove. Make sure no accident or police block, you'll be okay. If there's a petrol station at the end of your jalan, that'll be perfect.
wow this is it .. learn something new today

mercury8400
post Jul 25 2011, 02:27 PM

2,703 posts

Get a set of bogus Malaysian rego plates and some double-sided tape. Tape it on in your garage, drive slowly to the nearest petrol station & fill, and then drive home and remove. Make sure no accident or police block, you'll be okay. If there's a petrol station at the end of your jalan, that'll be perfect.
I tot everone is doing that wat. Even SG are doing that....
ian_j_albert
post Jul 25 2011, 02:31 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 24 2011, 06:07 PM)
can ask wat industry ? area between kallang an aljunied, quite heavy in the health service industry u know? hehe
Which Health Industry you talking abotu??? Massage Industry ??? smile.gif

I'm working for a company doing some software for Laboratory and maybe test and Measurement.

Regards,
Ian
Tigerr
post Jul 25 2011, 02:34 PM

3,033 posts

I can still pump RON95 if i want as my friend own a Shell petrol station but need to bring a drum to pump and bring back or he ask me to go there and he will tell his bangla to fill up for me, just that i decline as pumping RON95 openly will attract unwanted attention and later those "cari makan" man will come kacau. tongue.gif

Added on July 25, 2011, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jul 25 2011, 02:27 PM)
Are you sure with what you are talking about or just simply talk.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Jul 25 2011, 02:36 PM
venicelim
post Jul 25 2011, 02:37 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 25 2011, 02:22 PM)
Ya, that's the link to check the status. As for the duration, I think my HR submitted the appealing letter on the 15th July so was about 1 week and 1 day for working hours.
wow..
ok. urs submitted on 15th July and got the approval status today.
My appeal was submitted by the HR on 18th July, which was considered 1 working day after yours.
hmm.gif thinking whether possibly I can get my status tomorrow?
notworthy.gif pray hard pray hard..
MOM please approve my status... drool.gif
keelim

941 posts

QUOTE(xyyz @ Jul 25 2011, 02:11 PM)
i'm being offered an RF Engineer position in Singapore, quite happy about it, then the company further proceed to help me apply for EP and i just resigned from current company as the hiring company is not willing to pay off for my 2 months notice and I would really like to avoid paying that from my own pocket.

But a week later my EP application is rejected. I don't get it, i resigned with such confident is because my gf who is just graduated from the same course same uni with no working experience, her application is approved like immediately while i'm holding the same degree with 2 years working experience but rejected.

Currently my hiring company is helping me to appeal, really hope everything goes well.

If anything happen (touch wood touch wood!) is there anything i can do to fight for my case?
You got what it takes. Balls of steel. I am sure with persistence, something could turn out positive for you. There is really no avenue to fight for your case. It will entail a foreign individual taking Singapore Ministry of Manpower to International Court. No chance.
ivanswk

+J
2,110 posts

hehe i thought u be going to be the captain there, so other member can benefit abit brows.gif
ohh another IT guy nod.gif

Added on July 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(ian_j_albert @ Jul 25 2011, 02:31 PM)
Which Health Industry you talking abotu??? Massage Industry ??? smile.gif

I'm working for a company doing some software for Laboratory and maybe test and Measurement.

Regards,
Ian
This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 25 2011, 02:39 PM
seantang
post Jul 25 2011, 02:55 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jul 25 2011, 02:27 PM)
Who's everyone?

Malaysians don't need to. Singaporeans don't do it as they're chicken. I don't blame them as driving with a false rego plate is a detainable offence, and being stripped nude to do ketuk ketampi is just the beginning. Thais don't need false plates to smuggle petrol as the station owners, police, customs and politicians all have their thumbs in the pie.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 25 2011, 03:19 PM
r1v3r
post Jul 25 2011, 02:55 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 25 2011, 12:53 PM)
you talking different story liao lah brother. all i'm saying is that retail players don't exchange money in sufficient volumes to influence FX rates. you're talking about profiteering moneychangers taking advantage of high demand to happily increase the FX rate spreads.
sorry, I tot we are talking about when is the best time (rate) to change money for coming CNY. Some said the exchange rate (refer to money changer rate) will be bad near to CNY due to retail players while other members said small flies will never rock the exchange rate (refer to the FX rate).

So I am saying for those who need to change just a few k for CNY via money changer, better not do it too near CNY as the offer rate by money changer will be bad (compare to bank rate) regardless of what the FX expert said about the rate (on the trend). One may consider change with the bank instead.

Added on July 25, 2011, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 22 2011, 02:11 PM)
er ... how about no? i'm not in the FX line but I'm almost certain that us small retai l players have little to no influence on exchange rates.
the person you reply to was talking about the money changer exchage rate at the counter but you oppose it with FX trend in global money market. Both statement are partialy true, I just point out you are talking different things.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jul 25 2011, 03:04 PM
deodorant
post Jul 25 2011, 03:10 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 25 2011, 02:55 PM)
the person you reply to was talking about the money changer exchage rate at the counter but you oppose it with FX trend in global money market. Both statement are partialy true, I just point out you are talking different things.

The person i replied to said the FX rate will drop because lots of people sell SGD and buy MYR during CNY. I did not dispute his observations of the FX trend, I disputed his reasoning.
Lester1987
post Jul 25 2011, 03:13 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 25 2011, 02:34 PM)
I can still pump RON95 if i want as my friend own a Shell petrol station but need to bring a drum to pump and bring back or he ask me to go there and he will tell his bangla to fill up for me, just that i decline as pumping RON95 openly will attract unwanted attention and later those "cari makan" man will come kacau.  tongue.gif

Added on July 25, 2011, 2:36 pm

Are you sure with what you are talking about or just simply talk.... tongue.gif
Malaysian can still pump ron95 la. my uncle (Singaporean) always pump. and 1 tank is around RM130 for his car.
When they ask, just show them ur Malaysian IC (my aunty is Malaysian), then its ok.

nippon car so makan minyak ar?
I drive Made in Malaysia car only need RM200. RM41.30 for toll. around RM50 for petrol.
r1v3r
post Jul 25 2011, 03:14 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 25 2011, 02:07 PM)
Selangor to be correct. Total cost is around RM400 (toll and petrol) per trip to and fro. Have to &%*#*^&^% the UMNO govt for stopping me to pump RON95 and this had made me incurred extra RM 100 per trip back home.  mad.gif
just pump 97. It is only S$50 per trip, you sure can affort it.

RON97 at RM2.8 is still cheaper than SG RON 98 at ~S$2
tayhaithian
post Jul 25 2011, 03:15 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 25 2011, 02:37 PM)
wow..
ok. urs submitted on 15th July and got the approval status today.
My appeal was submitted by the HR on 18th July, which was considered 1 working day after yours.
hmm.gif thinking whether possibly I can get my status tomorrow?
notworthy.gif pray hard pray hard..
MOM please approve my status... drool.gif
Good luck, god bless !

keelim
post Jul 25 2011, 03:17 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 25 2011, 03:13 PM)
Malaysian can still pump ron95 la. my uncle (Singaporean) always pump. and 1 tank is around RM130 for his car.
When they ask, just show them ur Malaysian IC (my aunty is Malaysian), then its ok.

I drive Made in Malaysia car only need RM200. RM41.30 for toll. around RM50 for petrol.
My friend and I were refused Ron 95. It doesn’t matter what IC you have, but is the car plate that matters. The petrol pump attendant was very observant that day.
deodorant
post Jul 25 2011, 03:18 PM

5,691 posts

is this another one of your 'grey area' things? haha. i won't be buying singapore car anytime soon so i don't care, but the press release seems to apply to foreign vehicles regardless of nationality leh.

KUANTAN: Foreign-registered vehicles will no longer be allowed to buy RON95 petrol from August 1, said Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

He said these vehicles would only be allowed to buy RON97 petrol as the fuel would no longer be subsidised but subjected to a managed float.

Tigerr
post Jul 25 2011, 03:31 PM

3,033 posts

haha...u a bit out-dated liao. tongue.gif

I think started from June they already banned all foreign vehicles pumping RON95 liao whether u r malaysians or with a Dato or Tan Sri...... tongue.gif

Err...my car is 2400cc and when i speed on the highway, the car seems like hungry leh.... tongue.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 25 2011, 03:35 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 25 2011, 03:31 PM)
haha...u a bit out-dated liao.  tongue.gif

I think started from June they already banned all foreign vehicles pumping RON95 liao whether u r malaysians or with a Dato or Tan Sri...... tongue.gif

Err...my car is 2400cc and when i speed on the highway, the car seems like hungry leh.... tongue.gif
wow 2.4 ahhh hmm.gif . teana or camry ?

Added on July 25, 2011, 3:37 pmhttp://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/more-foreign-talents-equal-better-society-growth-lee-133937815.html

was reading this,
can feel anger of the foreigner hater under the comment section

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 25 2011, 03:37 PM

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:19 AM