141 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet

ZhenMing
post Jul 28 2011, 01:32 PM

42 posts

Hmm... shall i unroot and restore my transformer to default and wait for FOTA?
mikeeeee
post Jul 28 2011, 01:38 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

whats the point of unrooting to get FOTA ? and to reroot it only moments after ?

its not like the changes fixes critical problems that must be installed ASAP or the Transformer will have major flaw. Wonder why everyone must be the first tongue.gif (not referring to anyone, just a general statement from my observation)

My way, wait till i see feedback from 3.2 users first. Stable n good, then i'll update, if buggy i'm happy to stay at 3.1 while the issues are iron out tongue.gif
gn9746203
post Jul 28 2011, 01:51 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jul 28 2011, 09:54 AM)
the name's BBXiong, and i prefer it that way, lol  >.<

glad that i can help someone, this is still my first android device, so imma spend some time to explore it. too bad my TF still in repair, cant wait to get it back, i wan try native Ubuntu on it, iirc it's fully functional without graphic acceleration driver

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:29 am

iirc the WW version is normally 7 days behind US, so that means we still be getting it early August, way faster then other non google tablet
alright bbXiong tongue.gif
mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 02:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 01:38 PM)
whats the point of unrooting to get FOTA ? and to reroot it only moments after ?

its not like the changes fixes critical problems that must be installed ASAP or the Transformer will have major flaw. Wonder why everyone must be the first tongue.gif (not referring to anyone, just a general statement from my observation)

My way, wait till i see feedback from 3.2 users first. Stable n good, then i'll update, if buggy i'm happy to stay at 3.1 while the issues are iron out tongue.gif
i'll like to see how this smartzoom thing does...

installed one racing game but the game appears only as a small box. so wondering is this smartzoom will enlarge the image to full size. sorry, can't really remember the name of the game. its a trial game... but quite nice.
BBXiong
post Jul 28 2011, 02:11 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 01:38 PM)

mainly the smartzoom feature, and also, 3.2 also claims to marginally improve the frame rate issue for homescreen and menu on non default orientation. last time it took Asus 2-3 weeks after the 3.1 release to release their 3.1 kernal source code, so rooted users need to wait 2-3 weeks to get a proper working 3.1 kernal, previously since they built their own kernal, there wasnt NTFS support, camera not working, audio driver crashing etc etc..

btw, i think pure rooted users(those that didnt install CWM) can update right away as their recovery module is still the same as stock
Atsutane-Shirane
post Jul 28 2011, 03:36 PM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jul 28 2011, 10:37 AM)
we tot 28th release would just be the US version, but wow, they release WW edition together...
According to Asus FB 28 only for US & TW... other will follow soon...
faizalmzain
post Jul 28 2011, 03:40 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jul 28 2011, 03:36 PM)
According to Asus FB 28 only for US & TW... other will follow soon...
hong kong also updated already.

asus singapore also announced it will be updated today.

i don't think asus malaysia & singapore misunderstood the news given to them by their HQ.
mikeeeee
post Jul 28 2011, 03:41 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

exactly what i'm trying to say, nothing crucial enough to make me change my current setup to get this official 3.2

by the way, rooted users doesn't need to to wait for Asus to release the source code, I remember i was already on Prime long before Asus release the source. I think what you referring to is those OC kernels.

I'm hoping the zoom feature will not be similar like what ipad is having, IMHO that is UGLY !!! images are stretched and things looks rough

BBXiong
post Jul 28 2011, 03:47 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 03:41 PM)
exactly what i'm trying to say, nothing crucial enough to make me change my current setup to get this official 3.2

by the way, rooted users doesn't need to to wait for Asus to release the source code, I remember i was already on Prime long before Asus release the source. I think what you referring to is those OC kernels.

I'm hoping the zoom feature will not be similar like what ipad is having, IMHO that is UGLY !!! images are stretched and things looks rough
but early kernals are unstable and doesnt have some of the Asus only feature, like NTFS support and the keyboard dock info, and looking to the trend right now, new kernals will only be available once asus has release their source code also, means if they don release at all, rooted users will not get any updates, unless using back stock kernal
specat
post Jul 28 2011, 04:10 PM

35 posts

Not sure if this has been asked here before. Anyone manage to use whatsapp on TF? I googled and seems like only rooted machine is able using backup and restore method.
tracktion3
post Jul 28 2011, 04:11 PM

532 posts

Gameloft games like NOVA HD etc now can be played on 3.2, saw a video on youtube for that. Thats a great advantage. Many more games and apps can be used on 3.2

Added on July 28, 2011, 4:15 pm2 questions left:
1. 1080p HD video playback capability and hardware accelation support. This one my guess may not happen... hmm too bad.

2. lagging in browser. I guess this one could be solved.

Anyway.. hope both resolved.

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Jul 28 2011, 04:15 PM
mikeeeee
post Jul 28 2011, 04:19 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jul 28 2011, 03:47 PM)
but early kernals are unstable and doesnt have some of the Asus only feature, like NTFS support and the keyboard dock info, and looking to the trend right now, new kernals will only be available once asus has release their source code also, means if they don release at all, rooted users will not get any updates, unless using back stock kernal
i think u got it mixup , rooted users doesnt necessarily uses different kernels.

i'm rooted and on custom rom Prime and the kernel it uses is 100% same same with the Asus default kernel and i really prefer stock kernel as of now cuz i don't see value for OC "yet" hehe

Added on July 28, 2011, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jul 28 2011, 04:11 PM)

Added on July 28, 2011, 4:15 pm2 questions left:
1. 1080p HD video playback capability and hardware accelation support. This one my guess may not happen... hmm too bad.

have you tried DicePlayer ? I don't have 1080p videos so cant test, but 720p is working beautifully with hw acceleration and support dts/ac3 soundtrack as well

This post has been edited by mikeeeee: Jul 28 2011, 04:22 PM
BBXiong
post Jul 28 2011, 04:25 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 04:19 PM)
i think u got it mixup , rooted users doesnt necessarily uses different kernels.

i'm rooted and on custom rom Prime and the kernel it uses is 100% same same with the Asus default kernel and i really prefer stock kernel as of now cuz i don't see value for OC "yet" hehe

have you tried DicePlayer ? I don't have 1080p videos so cant test, but 720p is working beautifully with hw acceleration and support dts/ac3 soundtrack as well
what i meant was for users on custom kernals and roms, for u, u will need to wait for Prime to cook up another rom version to update, and that would be days later... i didnt got it mixed up, it's just that i'm kinda assuming ost root users will be on custom roms/ kernals, OC has some value, especially if u are playing Asphalt 6(seriously), some other games also show improvement like big bang racing, it became smoother also

if u don mind, can u find out the video/audio detail of the file u are playing, is it a high profile? and what bitrate it has, etc etc
gn9746203
post Jul 28 2011, 04:30 PM

302 posts

Tap tap on Ota ing....no luck
mikeeeee
post Jul 28 2011, 04:34 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jul 28 2011, 04:25 PM)
what i meant was for users on custom kernals and roms, for u, u will need to wait for Prime to cook up another rom version to update, and that would be days later... i didnt got it mixed up, it's just that i'm kinda assuming ost root users will be on custom roms/ kernals, OC has some value, especially if u are playing Asphalt 6(seriously), some other games also show improvement like big bang racing, it became smoother also

if u don mind, can u find out the video/audio detail of the file u are playing, is it a high profile? and what bitrate it has, etc etc
Yeah, i prefer to wait few days for Prime rather than the stock rom, few days is ok. It will be a different story though if this release is IceCream, hahaha then i would jump into it immediately tongue.gif

one of the video i tried, the detail here

if i play this same video via all other players, it still stutters

tracktion3
post Jul 28 2011, 04:44 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 04:19 PM)

Tested the diceplayer, same problem also. is more to the hardware accelaration support. Software acce not good enuf.

I prefer Vplayer or BSPlayer. BSPlayer is free, but Vplayer more user friendly for me. Vplayer also play more format from MKV, RMVB, MOV, WMV and AVi.
N900user
post Jul 28 2011, 04:46 PM

54 posts

android 3.2 is ready to update.. woohoo..
but is our TF upgradable to 2.4 (ice cream sandwich)?
BBXiong
post Jul 28 2011, 04:47 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 28 2011, 04:34 PM)
Yeah, i prefer to wait few days for Prime rather than the stock rom, few days is ok. It will be a different story though if this release is IceCream, hahaha then i would jump into it immediately tongue.gif

one of the video i tried, the detail here

if i play this same video via all other players, it still stutters
interesting, as far as i know high profile starting 2.x already having some performance issue, this one can be smooth with CABAC and 4.0 profile... looking forward to test it when my TF is back home...
btw, u got test using anime? wanna see how ASS behave in it, does it align properly, or just convert back to srt style
mikeeeee
post Jul 28 2011, 04:48 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jul 28 2011, 04:44 PM)
Tested the diceplayer, same problem also. is more to the hardware accelaration support. Software acce not good enuf.

I prefer Vplayer or BSPlayer. BSPlayer is free,  but Vplayer more user friendly for me. Vplayer also play more format from MKV, RMVB, MOV, WMV and AVi.
huh ?? Diceplayer does support hw acceleration and v1.5 officially supports Tegra 2 leh ..

mydragoon
post Jul 28 2011, 04:48 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(specat @ Jul 28 2011, 04:10 PM)
Not sure if this has been asked here before. Anyone manage to use whatsapp on TF? I googled and seems like only rooted machine is able using backup and restore method.
i think apps like whatsapp and viber requires the gadget to be able to receive sms. so, rightly speaking, its not really possible.

there's a thread on viber (supposedly official viber support) and they mentioned something similar though they said if wanna activate a tablet, we need to use another account (mobile number) to generate a new set of code.

141 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:51 PM