9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet

mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 07:59 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 3 2011, 10:20 PM)
yes you can by going to the settings > applications section and find the app that you have set as default then click on "clear defaults" button
i thought this is always mentioned whenever we are prompted to set an apps as default... lol...
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2011, 08:02 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eejey @ Sep 4 2011, 10:29 PM)
2 to 3 seconds ?
feels more like 5 - 6 seconds to me....

try holding the power button until the logo comes out,
or, alternatively, just plug the power cord to your unit, and charge it,
it will auto on by itself.

if both fail, only then, its confirm that something is wrong with your unit.
ya, i was going to suggest the same. normally, i just press and hold the power button till i see the logo.

2-3 secs for me... not enuff.
mydragoon
post Sep 6 2011, 08:50 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 5 2011, 07:20 PM)
i am plagued with all sorts of problems with the stock browser...

fresh reflash and wipe data sure ok... after a while start to lag like hell for no reason...

honeycomb still has a long way to go...

at least opera mobile is tons better...

i wish chrome / chromium comes to honeycomb...the default 'browser'sucks...

google planned to merge both browsers... hopefully by the time ICS launches...
if you mean lag in browsers, yes... it affects stock browsers and also browsers like dolphin hd (from what i understand, dolphin uses the stock browser).

i think other owners reported using other browsers like opera -- no lag.

sure Google got mention merging Chrome and Android? i have not heard of such news. Honeycomb and Gingerbread... Yes.
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2011, 09:06 AM

7,044 posts

speaking of chargers...

i know our charger set is in 2 parts...

#1 is the 3 pin plug with a hole for the usb cable.

#2 is the cable -- one end is usb and goes into #1 and the other end goes to the tablet/ dock.

so... when we say buy the charger, it means #1 only, right? it basically must have the usb3 hole, right?

what about the cable (#2)?
mydragoon
post Sep 9 2011, 01:46 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Sep 9 2011, 12:43 PM)
Either they replace or fix it. At the moment, usually replace.
sure they replace? 1-to-1? wah... then i dun mind trying my luck with the screen bleed. smile.gif

Added on September 9, 2011, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 9 2011, 10:33 AM)
anyone recently do an exchange/fix with asus centre for light bleed and/or dead pixel issue? I'm thinking of sending mine in but scared take too long..cant live without my transformer tongue.gif
yours is both? or just screenbleed? din hear you mention got dead pixel.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 9 2011, 01:47 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 13 2011, 08:09 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Sep 13 2011, 01:24 AM)
Hi all, i want ask does this eee pad's Flash can play fb games like Sims social?
i tried backyard monster before... but it was slow... very slow. never tried after that. i tried it a few mths back. before firmware updates, etc...
mydragoon
post Sep 13 2011, 08:19 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 13 2011, 08:11 AM)
+1.
mydragoon
post Sep 19 2011, 11:20 AM

7,044 posts

just a general observation... no 'scientific' tests done.

* lots of FCs since i updated to the new firmware. but could also be coz my son keeps pressing the same icon while waiting for apps to load. but the FC comment was also observed by wife.
* TF not really sleeping when its on sleep/ standby?!? over the weekend, one night, we heard sound coming from somewhere in the bedroom. then found it was from the TF. it's supposed to be on standby/ sleep (quick press on TF's power button). but the sound was coming from the TF -- every few mins, got some sound, then no sound. i turned on the TF and ya, one apps was still running and the sound was coming from the apps.

exit the apps and power down the TF. all ok after that.
mydragoon
post Sep 19 2011, 05:45 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vista enthusiasist @ Sep 17 2011, 11:03 AM)
well it all depend on your friend's need.

If your friend want something that is simple and work out of the box just get ipad2.

On android you may want need to tweak your device to get the best out of it.
actually, i would say even Android is good for this...

reasons...?
#1. BT works already. no other apps required.
#2. watch movies? just copy to microSD, plug it... watch. ok, maybe you might wanna download some other players. but no need to convert existing files, unless it's over 4GB.
#3. office? hmmm... polaris office comes to mind.

but with ipad2... almost everyone has ipad/ iphone. so these ppl would already be the first level tech support. with android, you'd probably need to ask someone who owns the same device, coz otherwise, the feel, etc would be different.
mydragoon
post Sep 20 2011, 08:05 AM

7,044 posts

for the read/ write speed... there's the sequential speed and there's also the random speed. i think for big files, it is supposed to be sequential or sth...

there are lots of articles and debate about this. generally, a class 4 from a 'good' brand should be good enough. i'm using a 32GB Class 4 SanDisk on my sgs2. so far, no problem recording 1080p videos. that was 2mths back @ rm230. came with adaptor & reader, i think.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 20 2011, 08:06 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2011, 11:40 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 20 2011, 10:27 PM)
that is where you are mistaken...

hardware wise, SDHC and SDXC are similar

i am pretty confident the 'modern' micro sd card reader in the Asus Transformer comes with the latest firmware.

unless Asus picked a 'cheap' 'outdated' card reader for the TF.

AFAIK, linux/unix does not differentiate between SDHC/SDXC. I am pretty sure Android kernel works somehwat similar.

i am just worried about the filesystem being used, exFAT, which belongs to Micro$oft.  doh.gif

Asus (and other manufacturers) need to pay Micro$oft in order to use the exFAT filesystem.  doh.gif

I miss good old FAT32  thumbup.gif
if i'm not mistaken, the difference between SDHC/ SDXC is not the issue. its whether the card reader on the TF is able to read such high capacity cards or not. and i recall the TF specs saying only up to 32GB cards.

Added on September 21, 2011, 11:44 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 21 2011, 02:48 AM)
can you play 720p smoothly? I can't, no matter how I tried. Most players load slow, very sluggish and no subtitles.

only 1 player does the job so far, that also not at a good 25fps.
i think this one has got more to do with the codecs... read somewhere that asus wanted to keep the cost low, so didn't wanna pay royalty, etc... so we have raw processing power but have to rely on software to decode the AV files.

well, its sth like that la... so, bigger files, it becomes not so smooth.

i can see very obvious difference when i play the same movie files on my sgs2. what appeared jerky on the TF was really smooth on the sgs2. i tested with same file and player -- moboplayer & almost 300mb fullHD (1080p) movie file -- a Bluray trailer.

Added on September 21, 2011, 12:04 pmasus TF vs samsung tab10...
http://www.fudzilla.com/reviews/item/23938...mponent&print=1

no need to bash each other... all androids and bros and sis... but we should be glad that we own a pioneer device. TF came out first (not taking into account those old type of tablets).

i believe that asus has the TF right... only needs to fine tune it. having a dockable tablet is the way to go! smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 21 2011, 12:04 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 22 2011, 07:54 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Sep 21 2011, 07:21 PM)
orait then. will consider the docking k/b too but cant find any place in JB selling this. too lazy to turun KL but if KL where's the place to buy this?
i think earlier on, some members also mentioned this tablet is selling in jusco or sth like that...

but yes, consider the dock. think of it as an external battery. rm300 for an external battery that lets your tablet last another 6hrs? why not? and honestly, the keyboard really changes the tablet experience.

Added on September 22, 2011, 7:56 am
QUOTE(prescott83 @ Sep 22 2011, 07:43 AM)
anyone facing sensor brightness problem?
what kind of problem? not working? brightness level changes too often? never change?

i never really rely on sensors for the brightness... usually brightness is manually set.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 22 2011, 07:56 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 22 2011, 08:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Sep 22 2011, 08:07 AM)
Noted. biggrin.gif thanks bro.
aight kk. hoho you're a TF owner too dragoon? nice~~ btw which jusco? i'm pretty sure jusco tman u doesnt have it. haha.
dunno which jusco got... maybe can do a search here and see the results. quite sure jusco was mentioned.

i was one of the pioneer batch... and yes, experience with evernew was not that smooth. wink.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 22 2011, 11:39 AM

7,044 posts

just sharing... tablet was charged on mon night (or was it tue night?!?). it was powered off... turned on last night (wed night)... tablet was at 94%. dock was at 97%. but of course this is powered off and not on standby/ sleep.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 22 2011, 11:39 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 22 2011, 02:41 PM

7,044 posts

this drums apps is nice on the tablet.
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.arxnet.drumsads

my son loves it. the image is HD, so looks good on the TF. the sounds... ok la. would have preferred if it was louder. but maybe coz shy speaker... heh heh...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 22 2011, 02:43 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 28 2011, 03:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 22 2011, 11:39 AM)
just sharing... tablet was charged on mon night (or was it tue night?!?). it was powered off... turned on last night (wed night)... tablet was at 94%. dock was at 97%. but of course this is powered off and not on standby/ sleep.
confirmed... tested 2nd time. powered off... the drain is minimal... similar to the above... only like 3-4% after 3-4 days...
mydragoon
post Oct 7 2011, 08:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 7 2011, 03:50 AM)
Also, any recommendation for note-taking (handwriting and/or keyboard) apps?
i'm using note everything on my sgs2. never tried it on tf101. but i think it should work. this is one of the best free apps around... i'm really impressed by this apps... and free! smile.gif
mydragoon
post Oct 8 2011, 06:24 PM

7,044 posts

I think some how our tf dun seem very powerful... played destroy gunners on both tf and sgs2. laggy on our tf.

btw, destroy gunners is good.
mydragoon
post Oct 10 2011, 08:09 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vista enthusiasist @ Oct 8 2011, 06:33 PM)
well SGS2 has mali-400 gpu on their exynos soc and it definitely win in term of raw power

Meanwhile more game is optimised for Tegra ULV GPU on our Tegra 2 soc like those game in tegra zone

correct me if i'm wrong
dunno if its actually due to raw power or maybe need to do more work due to large screen size.

my bro said it wasn't laggy on his incredible s.

i'll try again later today -- see maybe it was a one-off thingy. but seriously, the destroy gunner game is nice!
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2011, 11:09 AM

7,044 posts

for those curious about TF101's soon-to-arrive younger sibling... TF #2... here's a bit of rumour:

Quad-core Asus Eee Pad Transformer 2 tablet may be set for November 7th launch
http://www.bgr.com/2011/10/11/quad-core-as...ber-7th-launch/
Asus’s followup to the popular Eee Pad Transformer tablet maybe be set for a launch early next month. The LambdaTek Component Shop currently lists the Asus Eee Pad Transformer 2, referred to as model number TF201-1I020A, for £537.85 including VAT. Other details on the retailer’s site are limited, though the Transformer 2 listing mentions a quad-core Tegra 3 processor from NVIDIA, 32GB of storage, 1GB of RAM, a 10.1-inch display and Android 3 Honeycomb. LambdaTek also lists an in-stock date of November 7th, suggesting we might finally see an official unveiling in the coming weeks.

checked out the website and search results for tf201 shows 2 listing:
http://www.lambda-tek.com/componentshop/in...ing=tf201&go=go

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 12 2011, 11:09 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.2041sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:47 PM